Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hector coming soon to Today FM

• 17-04-2015 10:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭

So he's coming soon to Today Fm in a few weeks according to himself on Anton Savage show.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Yuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭colinod0806

Nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Filling in, or his own show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭vulmac

Brilliant that I never listen to it. Thanks for the warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

vulmac wrote: »
    Brilliant that I never listen to it. Thanks for the warning.

why would you thank the poster for the warning if you never listen to the station anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

A weekend gig surely no way he fits in 7am -7pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

MrMac84 wrote: »
    A weekend gig surely no way he fits in 7am -7pm

Could he get early breakfast, with the current presenter moving to take the 7pm slot and the Colm moving more behind the scenes (I believe I read on here before that that was something that had been rumoured before).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

Saturday Afternoons when the Premier League is finished. hastag keep her lit ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

He's too big of a name to put in any graveyard shift, he's definitely Marmite and I'm not his biggest fan but he will most definitely get the 14:30-16:30 slot.
    He was one of the only shows on 2FM that had gained listeners when Dan Healy axed him.
    He has a following and while Louise is doing an ok job she is definitely too niche for a major slot, just take a look at the 1 or 2 likes on her Facebook posts,
    Today Fm clearly don't have any faith in her after moving her three times now and that's why they were moving her to 7pm until the unfortunate passing of Tony Fenton.
    As far as I can see she's still only a filler until they get a marquee name and like it or not Hector is that.

His name is the same size as mine and yours and he's not daytime material. Saturday Afternoon is good and dandy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

I think with all the hints of changes with 'expect something different', they will put Hector on the Dermot and Dave slot and move them to the old Tony Fenton slot. Maybe L Duffy can then go back to AA roadwatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

bbability wrote: »

I think so too, Louise had that slot, although 4hrs was a lot to take in & i never lasted that long.

Maybe the 2.30 slot i may have thought, it all depends on what he's doing now?

Can't remember what show Hector was on, but was asked on what happened to his 2fm show & he almost said he was treated badly after the commentator had said it to him.

Did i hear the early morning presenter is going to 7pm, i thought Louise was going there, or is she going the same way as Tim Kelly he was a filler for a long time.
    I wonder what happened to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Mr Snow

Tim Kelly went to 4fm.

His name is the same size as mine and yours and he's not daytime material. Saturday Afternoon is good and dandy.

And your dislike for him will have as much influence on the decision as Enda Kenny has on peace in the middle East. He'll be on the 14:30 shift from mid June. End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

His name is the same size as mine and yours.

Except it's not. He's a household name.

I see Paula MacSweeney got Sundays 4-7 maybe
    Hector will get Saturdays 6-10 in the evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Ector is a funny looking individual.

And your dislike for him will have as much influence on the decision as Enda Kenny has on peace in the middle East. He'll be on the 14:30 shift from mid June. End of.

Don't put words in my mouth. I don't dislike him. I just don't think he's daytime material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭PIORUN

They will put him in at 2:30 week days to see how much of the Darcy listeners they can get and at the same time give 2fm 2 fingers for letting him go when he was gaining listeners.

Mr Snow wrote: »
    I see Paula MacSweeney got Sundays 4-7 maybe
    Hector will get Saturdays 6-10 in the evening

Floody was doing the Sat show filling in as usual, but has she still got that show inc Sun as i heard Cawley say it on his show that she was on Sun, that was the slot Colm had wasn't it?

When is Louise going to 7pm, i heard her briefly today, if she's bringing Anne with her, it'll be full circle as didnt she start off with TomDunne doing the mystery sound segment by whistling :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭John Joe Jones

He'll be on the 14:30 shift from mid June. End of.

So is he moving out of Galway ? Hasn't he just opened a gym there ?

Well he is coming to Today FM, he confirmed that on the Anton Savage show, so whether he has to move or whether he'll broadcast from a local studio is probably all being thrashed out at the moment, I'm sure the gym wouldn't require him to be on site every day, how does Ben Dunne manage it?

Well he is coming to Today FM, he confirmed that on the Anton Savage show,

Yes but he never said he was getting a daily slot. you did.

Yes but he also never said that he wasn't getting a daily slot so why are you so sure that he isn't?

Floody was doing the Sat show filling in as usual, but has she still got that show inc Sun as i heard Cawley say it on his show that she was on Sun, that was the slot Colm had wasn't it?

When is Louise going to 7pm, i heard her briefly today, if she's bringing Anne with her, it'll be full circle as didnt she start off with TomDunne doing the mystery sound segment by whistling :P

yeah it was Colm Paula is finished on Saturdays

I second that by keeping her lit ;):P

From his interview on the saturday night show, it seems that he will be just doing holiday cover at today fm.

For some reason people are all of a sudden claiming that Hector's 2fm breakfast show was successful, NO IT WAS NOT, one gain in 3 years and still substantiality less listeners than Rick & Ruth, Marty Whelan and Colm & jim jim had during their stints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

Yeah I agree, I didnt find him too great on 2fm mornings, he needs the constant silly/loudsilly factor to keep him buzzing and it can just grate after about 10 fathoms of it. His programs going around the country in an old VW were him at his best a few years ago we here think.

Heard him on Anton Savage alright and he seemed to want to say he was back without actually being there, and then on Brendan O'Connor he seemed to be about 50/50 only on if he would be at all back on radio.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Hell be covering the premiership live slot when it finishes at the end of the season!

Just confirmed on The Anton Savage Show. He's returning to early mornings come mid June. So Dempsey is hardly going anywhere so it's cheerio Theresanne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭radioland

Just confirmed on The Anton Savage Show. He's returning to early mornings come mid June. So Dempsey is hardly going anywhere so it's cheerio Theresanne.

Oh god, please say it ain't so. Today fm is one of the few stations broadcasting live between 5 and 6 am (radio 1 starts at 5.30).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

That's a shame for Teresanne, she has a big future though. If they still want to go ahead with taking Colm O'Sullivan off-air then I'm sure she'll get the Mix-Up.

radioland wrote: »
    Oh god, please say it ain't so. Today fm is one of the few stations broadcasting live between 5 and 6 am (radio 1 starts at 5.30).

You'd imagine he will be live tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

With all things being equal... I eagerly await Hector's traffic reports on the Ian Dempsey breakfast show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭radioland

MrMac84 wrote: »
    You'd imagine he will be live tho

That's my concern😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

reg114 wrote: »
    With all things being equal... I eagerly await Hector's traffic reports on the Ian Dempsey breakfast show.

Let's be honest we're all waiting for "a truck has shed its load" aren't we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

Teresanne is a very accomplished broadcaster. I hope that they don't remove her from the station and replace it with this buffoon.

He'll do a nine month gig and then clear off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭iseegirls

When did Teresanne start for Today FM? Must have been a quick transition from Spin to today FM. She only left Beat a year ago.

I think he will be just filling in for Ian Dempsey for 3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Trebor176

I think he will be just filling in for Ian Dempsey for 3 weeks.

It looks like he'll be filling in for Ian for two weeks in June

http://www.goss.ie/2015/05/hector-set-for-war-with-2fm-as-he-lands-breakfast-show-gig-on-today-fm/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,695 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Can't wait for the segment when he gets someone from a tiny non-descript village to take part in a quiz with another person from another tiny non-descript village to show just how great little non-descript villages are and how only in Ireland could we have a radio segment like it.

Riveting stuff.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Can't wait for the segment when he gets someone from a tiny non-descript village to take part in a quiz with another person from another tiny non-descript village to show just how great little non-descript villages are and how only in Ireland could we have a radio segment like it.

Riveting stuff.

Almost as riveting as your post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

He's already straight in with the ah be de Jaysus me porridge is on the brew schtick on his ads that are playing at the moment.

Who's volunteering to listen to get the map clues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Expect plenty of calling everyone "lads". Talking of the "mad craic". Things like "sure aren't we known for it". Honourable mention for a "lock in" he had one night in some "rural parish".

Only so much of that gaa, ham sandwich, we're mad craic altogether carry on one can take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

mfceiling wrote: »
    Expect plenty of calling everyone "lads". Talking of the "mad craic". Things like "sure aren't we known for it". Honourable mention for a "lock in" he had one night in some "rural parish".

Only so much of that gaa, ham sandwich, we're mad craic altogether carry on one can take.

I listen to the Breakfast Show on Today FM most mornings but will be giving it a wide berth this week when Hectorrrrrrrr is on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

I think he's been ok the last week. He's very upbeat with a lot of energy. I know the culchie shtick isn't everyones cup of tea, but I think I'd prefer it to some mid atlantic generic accent. He seems to have good camraderie with callers and plays ok music. I'd like to see him in the mid afternoon slot. I think he'd be a good fit for it.

ncmc wrote: »
    I think he's been ok the last week. He's very upbeat with a lot of energy. I know the culchie shtick isn't everyones cup of tea, but I think I'd prefer it to some mid atlantic generic accent. He seems to have good camraderie with callers and plays ok music. I'd like to see him in the mid afternoon slot. I think he'd be a good fit for it.

Yeah, I think expectations are so low that he's never as bad I feared.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭Puddle Q

Yeah, I think expectations are so low that he's never as bad I feared.

Yeah. Not a fan but he compares favourably to that Breakfast Republic muck.

What was the deal with the Spanish commentary this morning?