Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Nellys. Did you restore those you asked about

• 16-04-2015 5:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭

I have just got my hands on a Humber Duplex forked Mans Roadster.
    Searching Boards led to a good number of threads re restorations. Some looked like hard work others easier.
    So how did people get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 411 guy

Hi there.I spotted one of those duplex forked humber's at a car boot sale 2 weeks ago and was very tempted, is it anything special to cycle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

In Reality no.
    The Humber is alot heavier and I do prefer it to my Raleigh but I cannot genuinely say its because of the fork.
    I had been looking to get my hands on a HN for awhile and it happened that both appeared on Donedeal at the same time and were both within easy reach.
    The Humber was just that little bit unique as Raleigh, BSA and Rudge were the 3 top brands available here. Also it built before Raleigh bought them over and was not just a Humber branded Raleigh with generic parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

That looks beautiful, how much work was it and how did you go about it, if you wouldnt mind sharing your story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

padjo5 wrote: »
    That looks beautiful, how much work was it and how did you go about it, if you wouldnt mind sharing your story?

Here's the "before" photo

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/207479/352292.jpeg

seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Eamonnator wrote: »

Think the drive-side snap is in OP?
    Much work is probably the answer to my question!

Well firstly let me say that everything was learn as I went.
    This bike and a ladies Raleigh came up on Donedea.l I researched the duplex fork as soon as I saw the pic and although I had bought a Raleigh a week before I said why not as I wanted a Ladies anyway. 35 euro was what I paid.
    Its Serial number corresponds to the years between 48-52 before Raleigh bought Humber out

Now I had decided from Day 1 that I wanted to keep as much as possible origional and also that I would diy and spent as little as possible.

Wheels = After lots of rust remover and elbow grease using steel wool and tinfoil I actually got them to looking ok but the rust had actually gone thru the rim with tiny cracks. So I have a set of wheels that are grand for display but had to be replaced. New with cassette of old wheel( it is not the origional factory issue). local bike shop sourced

Handlebars = Again when cleaning up the rust I discovered cracks and also a break lever was missing so I got them replaced with used.

Breaking system= I cleaned up as much as I could and any bits I needed were again got used.

Cranks were very rusty but again elbow grease got them looking ok.

Frame /Chainguard and Mudguards. As I said I needed to keep budget down so Sandblasting/Powdercoating etc was out of the question.
    I also wanted to keep its history so all its little dints etc are still there.
    After cleaning it the rust on the frame was actually minimal and so again it was sanding until I was happy .
    I then painted with Hammerite and then rubbed it down with steelwool before spray painting. I have waxed it a few times with carwax.

The Brooks Saddle. It has a split on the front and the tensioner is rusted firm but loads of Neatsfoot oil and Coconut Oil have got it back to life. It now has a bit of MTB tube covering the split. All paint bought in local Hardware

All the bearings were replaced bar the pedals which I still have to do.

Dandyeleven of these parts was the source of all the used bits I needed and some great advice on freeing up the handlebars,seatpost and bottom bracket which were well siezed. He threw in extra bits on what I was looking for when I ordered it.

I did have loads of time for this as I have been out of action all year and this kept my hands and head busy.

As of now I have spent 146 euro + the 35euro and have what you see in the pics and a Ladies Raleigh which is all there bar wheels.

This is now my run around (I live 1mile from town) and its very comfortable. It runs on 46/16 and weighs a tonne ;-). I now understand why our ancestors were so fit.

If ye need anymore info just ask

Just a pic of the Chainring . As you can see its kids holding hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭dandyelevan

Great work Esroh!

Esroh wrote: »
    Just a pic of the Chainring . As you can see its kids holding hands.

That detail is great. And then they cover it with the chain guard.

Great info and story,you did a great job. where do you find production dates from the frame numbers?

411 guy wrote: »
    Great info and story,you did a great job. where do you find production dates from the frame numbers?

Cyclechat.net forums was a great help. Lads there did research in the veteran cycle club to save me joining. The years I have was gotby one of the lads there.

That detail is great. And then they cover it with the chain guard.

You paid extra for the full guard aswell.

Great work Esroh!

My stable of 3 is all coming together thanks to your help.
    My neighbour has now shown me 5 Ladies bikes in the old shed .
    There are 3 Raleigh.One of which is a childs frame. Definitely get 2 working
    The Rudge has a badly bent chainstay. But plenty of save able bits
    The Humber looks good it even has the skirt cover.
    He says take them all.

Great work.
    Any help or parts you need just give me a shout.

Cyclechat.net forums was a great help. Lads there did research in the veteran cycle club to save me joining. The years I have was gotby one of the lads there.

Thanks for that.I hadn't heard of them,
    Just so you know i did 1 nelly restoration very similar to your own,only replacing what i had to,as i found the repro parts to be of lesser quality than original,
    My bike is a HERCULES and it was bought in the mid/late forties.

Thanks for that.I hadn't heard of them,
    Just so you know i did 1 nelly restoration very similar to your own,only replacing what i had to,as i found the repro parts to be of lesser quality than original,
    My bike is a HERCULES and it was bought in the mid/late forties.

Have you any pics. I'd love to see it.
    The Nelly deserves a thread of its own and thats why I put the question in the Thread title :)

I never intended to do more than 2 . Having the 3 just happened. I had no idea my neighbour had the bikes in the old shed. He was admiring the Humber and was telling stories about how much freedom a bike gave them. he just said go down to the shed and have a look and if they were any use take them. There will be no rush.

I agree about the high nelly thread, I'm in the same boat when it comes to owning 1 and it turning into several ,its either getting another just for parts or for free from whoever? the neighbour down the road,the father in law,the cousin??? but its true they are a pure joy to use and the quality that was in them is amazing.
    i'll try post a pic later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Mec-a-nic

Ah, memories - I had this exact model many years ago, bought cheap by my Mum down the country after my student bike was nicked in Dublin...

Did me very well for years, including through several days of snow one winter. Came to an unfortunate end when I stupidly took a shortcut down the Berkeley Library ramp in TCD, the resulting crash twisted the forks out of use :(

Mec-a-nic wrote: »
    Ah, memories - I had this exact model many years ago, bought cheap by my Mum down the country after my student bike was nicked in Dublin...

Did me very well for years, including through several days of snow one winter. Came to an unfortunate end when I stupidly took a shortcut down the Berkeley Library ramp in TCD, the resulting crash twisted the forks out of use :(

Not sure which bike you talk about but its a good memory to have once you weren't too injured.

sorry,i cant post links yet,something about being a new user?
    you should see on the photobucket site if you look for 411 guy.
    its a big bike 24" frame and 26" wheels.Probably too big for me,but i love it .
    It really gets me up in the world while cycling,to see the great views,over the hedges

(I can't post pics either) but I've restored some of those Humber Duplex bikes in the past and still got a ladies 28" wheel Roadster, a really big bike.
    By God, but the women must have been really tall back in the day!

My favourite bikes to work on are the old Army BSA Mark V's or Mark IV's.

They arrive here in tatters, bits lost, wheels buckled, tyres in flitters, gun holders missing, etc, etc...but all those things can be replaced, though some bits can be hard to find.
    By the end of the week I hope to start work on my latest acquisition, another old war-horse, a 1942 Irish Military BSA Mark V...a sad sight in need of much work.
    It generally takes two weeks (and some expense) to transform these back to WW 11 condition, but it's worth the time and trouble.

Dandyeleven you should be able to attach them like I have as you are over 50 posts
    411 you just have to get busy.:)

I would love to see a full set of pics from start to finish on your next one Dandy.

Tried posting pics but durned if I can't get the hang of it !
    Anyways, if you pm me your email address I'll send all the pics you want !

Attached are photos of Dandyelevens rebuild. Its an ex army bike. Direct any questions to him
    1 and 4 are before
    2 and 3 after.
    Had trouble loading them

Lovely pic's, is that the bike you mentioned starting in august?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Mec-a-nic

Attached are photos of Dandyelevens rebuild.

You might want to put them in numerical order to illustrate the great before/after reveal.

Dandyelevens - Is that a rifle stock holder between the pedals on the before picture? It can't have been fun trying to to pedal along with a long rifle sticking up in front.

What army?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

You might want to put them in numerical order to illustrate the great before/after reveal.

Dandyelevens - Is that a rifle stock holder between the pedals on the before picture? It can't have been fun trying to to pedal along with a long rifle sticking up in front.

http://bsamuseum.files.wordpress.com/2010/08/smle_2.jpg

Lovely pic's, is that the bike you mentioned starting in august?

That's the one, but I was 'interrupted' by other work.
    It normally takes me a full day to completely disassemble one of these and while I wait on the sand-blasting process I clean all the small parts. When everything is ready, frame painted, etc, it takes a day or so to re-assemble the bike.

What army?

These Mark V BSA Military bikes were commissioned by the Irish Army (1939 /1942) They ordered 3000 of them and they arrived numbered 1 to 3000 ( a special numerical sequence for that particular order.)
    They were used mainly by special 'Bicycle Battalions' who were always on the move, the length and breath of the country. It must have been some sight. A thousand men, three by three, and in full uniform with kit.
    My father spent his WW2 service in one of those battalions headquartered in Letterkenny.

There were a few methods of carrying weapons by bicycle (including carrying a rifle slung across the soldier's back.
    Those in the pic were one version, and the most common.
    However, I came across two more which I have fitted to the other bikes in my collection.
    (I'll post pics later)
    Actually, and unfortunately, I'm old enough to have been in the Army when those bikes were still in everyday use. In 1966 (shortly after joining up) our recruit platoon cycled them from the Curragh to Wicklow where we spent a week riding those heavy machines around the Wicklow mountains.
    It's something my legs and ass will never forget.
    (One would have to have worn the hairy uniform to know what I mean!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

These Mark V BSA Military bikes were commissioned by the Irish Army (1939 /1942) They ordered 3000 of them and they arrived numbered 1 to 3000 ( a special numerical sequence for that particular order.)
    They were used mainly by special 'Bicycle Battalions' who were always on the move, the length and breath of the country. It must have been some sight. A thousand men, three by three, and in full uniform with kit.
    My father spent his WW2 service in one of those battalions headquartered in Letterkenny.

an even better sight is the famous dutch cycling band :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xo8DlBkSW_w

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

There is one of these on display in Collins Barracks in Cork

Pic didn't come out well on phone but you can see how the rifle was carried.

362763.jpg

Am I right in thinking there may have been some kind of trailer in use as well?

The front clip is missing from that bike, and rifles were never carried in that position (imo) because water got down the rifle barrel, for one thing.
    I have a bike fitted with one strap for the butt below the saddle (excuse the pun) and the rifle muzzle rested upon a rolled up poncho / ground-sheet on the handlebars.
    I never saw a rifle carried with the muzzle pointed in the air as in that pic.

Note - The bike in that Cork pic appears to be a Medics version, (if it's a Mk V) due to there being two hand- brakes, in this case an ordinary front brake and an old time -side-pull rear rod brake.
    For the most part, the 'Infantry' bike had just one hand-brake lever (the left) and an Eadie Coaster brake fitted to the hub of the rear wheel.
    If this is the case, then it's unlikely that the bike in question ever carried a weapon, as Medics were unarmed.
    Early Mark BSA military bikes (pre-1904, prior to the Eadie Coaster being invented, and some models produced during WW1 had two rod brakes fitted.
    Indeed, that 'Medics bike' in the Cork Museum could be one of those early models, but I can only go by the photo.

I have an old military bike, possibly a Phillips from pre-1910, made from BSA parts with both hand-brakes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

The front clip is missing from that bike, and rifles were never carried in that position (imo) because water got down the rifle barrel, for one thing.
    I have a bike fitted with one strap for the butt below the saddle (excuse the pun) and the rifle muzzle rested upon a rolled up poncho / ground-sheet on the handlebars.
    I never saw a rifle carried with the muzzle pointed in the air as in that pic.

Note - The bike in that Cork pic appears to be a Medics version, (if it's a Mk V) due to there being two hand- brakes, in this case an ordinary front brake and an old time -side-pull rear rod brake.
    For the most part, the 'Infantry' bike had just one hand-brake lever (the left) and an Eadie Coaster brake fitted to the hub of the rear wheel.
    If this is the case, then it's unlikely that the bike in question ever carried a weapon, as Medics were unarmed.
    Early Mark BSA military bikes (pre-1904, prior to the Eadie Coaster being invented, and some models produced during WW1 had two rod brakes fitted.
    Indeed, that 'Medics bike' in the Cork Museum could be one of those early models, but I can only go by the photo.

I have an old military bike, possibly a Phillips from pre-1910, made from BSA parts with both hand-brakes.

Renmore Barracks in Galway has one as well not sure if I have any pictures.

Mix (2).JPG

Mix (1).JPG

Mix (3).JPG

Mix (4).JPG

If someone knows how to embed them it would be better . They deserve it

I have one (spare) old Army Mark V BSA bike that I've decided not to restore. It's in good working order and complete, but taking up precious room in the shed.
    If anyone interested pm me.

I have one (spare) old Army Mark V BSA bike that I've decided not to restore. It's in good working order and complete, but taking up precious room in the shed.
    If anyone interested pm me.
    i've a workmate that was looking for a military bike/winter project,i cant seem to PM you,any chance you'd send a pic and price to me?

Hi 411 Guy, sorry but the bike sold today.