Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever meet your hero/someone famous?

• 15-04-2015 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭

I served George Best a spritzer(post his transplant). After delivering the glass I lingered waaay too long hoping he'd say more than just 'thanks'. I look back and wished he sparked conversation. He probably wished I fecked away earlier!

Met John Hume a few times. Diamond guy.

I worked in a hotel that had a 23 hour diner. I got the ****ty night shifts but Colin Farrell occasionally stumbled in and grabbed a booth. He had everyone eating out of his palm due to his sheer niceness.The oldish ladies I had to suffer where buzzing after he sauntered in. 'Is there a pint going or what?' Used to tip extraordinarily too. Top man, him.

Used to have a huge teen crush on Caroline Morahan from 'Off the rails'. She attended a fashion shoot where I worked and was told to ask me for a room to change. 'Xxxx said to ask you for a room?' I walked her to a room that was free and got chatting to her. If I could rewind that conversation back and sell it - I'd be millionaire. "How not to talk to girls 101"

The Portuguese team stayed with us and they had their own 'team area'. I briefly met Ronaldo by breaking protocol and asking him to sign a shirt. "My lil brother is a huge fan, can you sign this?" "Your brother and you share the same names?" He was lovely about it all and if he weren't, I'd have been sacked on the spot.

Have you met your heroes and how did that go down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Fingered Rihanna and Beyonce on junior cert results night a few years back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Fingered Rihanna and Beyonce on junior cert results night a few years back

And Samantha Mumba!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I nearly got Marty Whelan run over

I smoked a joint with b-real

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

smash wrote: »
    And Samantha Mumba!

Rode her in the queue. She passed out after some absinthe later on. Ruined the night.

I've met quite a few people I've admired over the years -

Scroobius Pip (rapper/spoken word artist). Absolute gent of a guy. Even wrote something calling my friend a c*nt when I asked him to.

Terry Pratchett - though, sadly I never got to shake his hand or speak with him personally, I did see him speak at the Science Gallery in Dublin a few years back. Bet there was a few other boardsies at there too!

Max Brooks (wrote Zombie Survival Guide/World War Z) - attended a talk on Zombies (yes, yes, I know) that he gave at NUIG a while back. Funny enough guy, but seemed very up-his-own-arse.

Brendan Gleeson - frequently came into the cinema I worked in. Lovely guy and absolutely towering as well. His son, Domhnaill, was there too.

I'm sure there's a few I've met, but can't think of them right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Held a bathroom door open for okie doke.

Yep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

These threads all descend into the same carry on.

"I seen Ronan Keatings sisters cousin go by in her car there about two years ago."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I served George Best a spritzer(post his transplant). After delivering the glass I lingered waaay too long hoping he'd say more than just 'thanks'. I look back and wished he sparked conversation. He probably wished I fecked away earlier!

Met John Hume a few times. Diamond guy.

Have you met your heroes and how did that go down?

I knew someone who said Hume went mental in Jurys when she told him that he wasn't the elected politician rate anymore seem as how he retired. Sounded like a right bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

Brendan Gleeson - frequently came into the cinema I worked in. Lovely guy and absolutely towering as well. His son, Domhnaill, was there too.

That's a guy I'd love to sup the froth with. Can you expand on what he's like in person?

These threads all descend into the same carry on.

"I seen Ronan Keatings sisters cousin go by in her car there about two years ago."

I heard Bono paid her bill that night too. Or was it sting?

Nobody super famous, but...

Robert Arkins (Jimmy Rabbitte Jr in The Commitments): Dropped his PC in my old job a few times
    Fiona Mulhall (of TV3/Play TV infamy): Again dropped her laptop into my old job. Couldn't have been nicer to me.
    Laura Woods, when she was on RTE. Just had a short chat but seemed alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I heard Bono paid her bill that night too. Or was it sting?

Was Bono, I didn't know twas him until Bruce Springsteen told me so about a week later.

That's a guy I'd love to sup the froth with. Can you expand on what he's like in person?

While I never had a proper conversation with him, only served him and chatted casually for a few seconds, he was pleasant, patient, and a very funny man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I walked past Tim Burton on a school trip to Paris.

I had sex with Eartha Kitt in an airplane bathroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭tritriagain

I had an Eartha kitt in an aeroplane bathroom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I had sex with Eartha Kitt in an airplane bathroom.

I had an 'Eartha Kitt' in an airplane bathroom

And Samantha Mumba!

I met her brother, back when he was trying to be a rapper or something. Came up with a plan to try and push him over someone bending down behind him, but never came to plan.

Oh, now I remember someone else - I once cock blocked one of the Hardy Bucks. I was drunk and thought it was absolutely hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Met Dinny out of glenroe in a hotel about 20 years ago.

I fingered her brother, back when he was trying to be a rapper or something.

Heard it here first folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Enda. He mumbled something to us and we all laughed. To this day, we have no idea what he said.

Macavity. wrote: »
    Enda. He mumbled something to us and we all laughed. To this day, we have no idea what he said.

Met him in my local once and asked what he was doing there, his response was that he'd just done a talk in a local school "and needed a pint after that's sh1te"

Heard it here first folks

And this is how lawsuits start. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Have a few numbers in me phone that would probably get me arrested if I gave them out, yes. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Have a few numbers in me phone that would probably get me arrested if I gave them out, yes. :)

You working for the BBC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I met Gerry Adams in I.T. Tallaght about 10 years. Chatted about elections and candidates. He seemed quite business like.

I met Martin McGuinness on O'Connell Street. He had broken his leg playing football. I told him that it served him right, playing that foreign game. He took it well and laughed it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Turtyturd wrote: »
    You working for the BBC?

Ha, have a couple of their numbers too! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

lulu1 wrote: »
    Met Dinny out of glenroe in a hotel about 20 years ago.

Well holy God!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I met Dennis Hopper on Camden Street in the mid 90s, told him 'I loved you in 'Speed'', regretted it ever since.

'I loved you in 'Speed'' Ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I've met quite a few people I've admired over the years -

Scroobius Pip

Funny lil' dude tethered to Jabba, right?

Elvis, Darth Vader and Dracula all turned up at this fancy dress I was at.

They came as the Three Degrees. Strange night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Met Gay Byrne at some town fair back in 85/86. I think he was having a bad day which is why I can remember it after 30 years.

Met many members of the Labour party a few years back. Pat Rabbitte was the only one who was less than lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Met both Dinny and Miley from Glenroe!

Yet another person I completely forgot I met. Jaysis, I get around, it seems.

Friend of mine was drunkenly chatting up this girl in a bar a while back in Galway. I was laughing away at him until this big hairy fella comes over and puts his arms around her. My friend, who, as nice as he is doesn't know when to shush when drunk, says that he looks like he should be someone famous. Yer man says that he was and my friend asks what he did. Yer man says he was a wrestler and my friend thinks this is hilarious, asks what his name was. Yer man says, "I'm Bret Hart".

My friend was drunkenly chatting up Bret "The Hitman" Hart's missus! The guy was one of my idols during my teen years, but hadn't seen anything about him since the late 90s (even if that), so hadn't recognized him!

Turned out to be an fantastic laugh - got to touch his bicep (I was drunk and that bicep has hit a lot of people!), he offered to buy us drinks, but we declined and left him with his missus.

Oh. And pretty sure I met BiBi Baskin when I was a young youngin. Not sure which is more impressive :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Andre Salmon

Didn't happen to me but wish it did, a load of friends were on a j1 in Chicago about 20 years ago. Two of them were going out together and had a blazing row in a club they were all at. My mate was shouting at his girlfriend and suddenly gets a tap on his shoulder, turns around and Johnny Rotten says to him 'you're a facking c*nt mate'
    My (now)wife and friends were standing beside them at the time.
    My mate was thrilled and still talks about it.
    John lydon saying you're a c*nt, deadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Ha, I did actually meet Samantha Mumba when I was a kid. She was much less enthusiastic than I was.

Calista Flockhart - Nice, normal. She came into work when she was on holidays in Galway and Harrison Ford rang her to see how things were going while I tried not to hum the theme to Indiana Jones.

Kristen Schaal (and Kurt Braunohler) at a party - Pretty much mowed Kurt down to get to Kristen. Made a complete tit of myself because I think she's great and I was drunk. She could not have been nicer. I cringe every time I think back on it.

I wouldn't count Hugh Grant and Eddie Izzard because I didn't actually have deep conversation with them to gauge their worth as people, just "hey, how's it going". But neither of them punched me in the face so it's a win.

John Green (famous to me anyway!) - very very nice man

Tyson Ritter in a pub - I told him I was a fan and he said he was a bigger fan of me. I giggled like a 12 year-old.

Tommy Wiseau (again, famous to me) - as off-the-wall as you would expect. Wearing multiple belts at the same time. Sunglasses indoors. Indecipherable accent. Threw a football at me. The works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I nearly knocked John Cleese over like a bowling pin when he walked out the side door of a theatre and directly across my path on a busy street in Sydney a couple of years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I nearly got Marty Whelan run over

I smoked a joint with b-real

How did that come about with Whelan? Did he get thick with you over it?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Marty Morrissey outside a chipper in Thurles on Munster final night. Legless, dishevelled and dominating a greasy quarter pounder. Never meet your heroes kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Agricola wrote: »
    Marty Morrissey outside a chipper in Thurles on Munster final night. Legless, dishevelled and dominating a greasy quarter pounder. Never meet your heroes kids.

I've met loads of quarter pounders. They were all lovely burgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

pauliebdub wrote: »
    Met Gay Byrne at some town fair back in 85/86. I think he was having a bad day which is why I can remember it after 30 years.

Nah he's just a cunce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

All the time.. An former Irish international player lives next door and one other visits.. He is on RTE..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Plenty of people who have met Roddy Doyle have actually met me. Once they're buying, I'm lying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Agricola wrote: »

Oh, I've actually met him when I was a young lad. Just forgot about it. Shook his hand as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

"Dominating a greasy quarter pounder". Upon such words are great porn movies based.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Zemuppet

Was once at a table script read for a potential Simpsons episode. Met most of the cast, found Matt Groening to be a gent, with Nancy Cartwright who plays Bart a lovely down to earth and friendly person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

pauliebdub wrote: »

Met many members of the Labour party a few years back. Pat Rabbitte was the only one who was less than lovely.

Prionsios derossa grabbed me when I was a kid to use as a prop in a telly interview. He was outside kilmainham during an easter commeration. He never noticed I was wearing a pin Easter lilly rather than the workers party sticky one.

Dick spring did the opposite, elbowed me out of the way the be the centre piece of a photo op. He's a miserable prick. Had a few drinks with Neil Kinnock that night, gas man.

Met Joan Burton too, she was using a venue during an industrial dispute, all smiles while she desperately tried to evade us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I met one of them: Dave Couse the leadsinger of A House. Met him in London at a solo gig about 10 years ago and went up to talk to him after. Told him a story about how I'd used his CD to put on mascara at work and had it propped up on the hand dryer at but it fell behind it and I couldn't get it out. He thought the story was gas and gave me a new signed CD and t-shirt and asked me if I'd like to go for a pint...but I said no because I was working the next day :confused:? I'm still kicking myself about that. He was very sound.

Would love to meet Michael D Higgins then my life would be complete!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Met one of my favourite singers, David Ford, a couple of times. Lovely guy.

I also met one of my favourite bands, Hope & Social, when they played in Liverpool. Went over especially for the gig, which was in a tiny pub. I mentioned on Facebook that I was going over for it and I met two of the band beforehand. They were delighted that they met the guy from Dublin that was coming over. I spent a few hours after the gig with them and even got asked for an autograph because someone thought I was in the band.

While working in the airport I served a good few famous people, the only one I be overly fond of was Neil Hannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Stayed in the same hotel as Chris Jericho at a stag in Cork a few years ago. Got a group pic with him the following morning when he was waiting to check out. To say I was star-struck is an understatement!

One of the members of Welsh rap band Goldie Lookin' Chain used the shower in my flat in UCD after they played in the Student Bar years ago. Had a party with them all after. Mad bastids.