Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman ‘humiliated’ by bus driver awarded €10,500

• 14-04-2015 3:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/woman-humiliated-by-bus-driver-awarded-10-500-1.2175394

Well deserved in my opinion. I have nothing against bus drivers personally but sometimes they can be total dicks.

For those who didn't read the article, the bus driver fancied himself as some sort of vigilant enforcer of correct fair and decided to stop the bus and turn off the engine until she left because in his opinion she didn't pay enough to use the bus. The woman was using a prepaid card which gave her a discount on the regular fee.

Hopefully this will send a message to the rest of the bus drivers in this county that you better have your facts straight before you kick someone off the bus.

I was living in Waterford when I was in the college there. I used to take the bus to college. One very wet morning, the bus driver decided that he didn't want to stop at the bus stop despite the stop being full of students carrying school bags. He stopped a few meters up and then wouldn't let people on the bus, eventually he let people on, but not before driving off on an old man who was slow to get to the stopped bus.

When I was getting out, I asked him why didn't you stop the bus, he said because nobody put out their hand. I said, I know you are just a bus driver and all but when in future, when you see a bus stop full of people you can use a bit of cop on and stop, it is kinda your job. The he opened up his gate and started throwing shapes at me. I then said, "what are you going to do? Hit me in front of all these people and the security camera, you really are an idiot" and left the bus.

What's your bad bus driver story?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

I said "thanks" getting off the bus, and the driver said "you're welcome".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Valetta wrote: »
    I said "thanks" getting off the bus, and the driver said "you're welcome".

You should call the woman lawyer, he might get you a good settlement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I wonder how they come up with €10k? I thought about about €100 would be enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

What does 'I know you are just a bus driver' mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

kjl wrote: »
    I said, I know you are just a bus driver and all but when in future.......

Lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Patww79 wrote: »

I agree with him losing him job but to my mind 10 grand seems a lot for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

Cienciano wrote: »
    I wonder how they come up with €10k? I thought about about €100 would be enough

Dublin Bus offered her €7,500 which she turned down in favour of taking it to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Haha!

Mini-Hitler dublin bus arsehole.

Privatise the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

It means he probably didn't have another profession aswell.....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

He can't, he's a civil servant working for Dublin bus. Probably on a nice chunk of change to do an unskilled job along with a massive guaranteed pension. the unions would be up in arms if he was disciplined in any way for being a complete arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Fair play to her for standing by her guns when offered the initial settlement and 'apology'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Idiotic of the driver. Article made me think of a certain ask me anything thread, purportedly headed by a Dublin Bus driver.

Cormac... wrote: »
    Lovely

Kinda skews the sentiment of the OP for me too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

a fine is enough. losing his job is a bit OTT

dmc17 wrote: »
    It means he probably didn't have another profession aswell.....:p

Yeah, most likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

That's quite a bit of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

I don't know about losing his job. It seems to me he wasn't properly trained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

Went to get the last bus at 11.30 on a Saturday a while back, arrived to the bus stop at 11.25 and he was pulling off, I knocked on the door to let me on and he started shouting ' Do you think I've nothing better to do instead of waiting around here while you decide to join us' I just said sure it's not even half yet and he replied with ' I know what time it is and when I'm due to leave, you're lucky I even let you on' this was to a packed bus but I just kinda laughed and shook my head, I was a bit embarrassed but I needed to get the last bus home and couldn't afford a taxi so didn't bother to fight my corner.I was slightly annoyed and the driver was an obvious arsehole as he drove by a few stops at speed without letting anyone on and the whole Dublin Bus twitter complaint process is absolutely useless, so a quick Google on my phone and I got one of the directors names so on my way off I said ' Just so you know mate my Aunt is *** ***** on the Board of directors for Dublin Bus, I'll be passing on the feedback from our exchange along with the details of the time and route' As I was getting off I heard a ' Sure I didn't even say anything.. etc' Smart prick, hopefully it had him ****ting bricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

A bus driver where I'm from managed to drive about 20 miles with an elderly woman trapped in the luggage hold. He either got fired or moved to another parish route, either way I was glad to see the back of him, one of the most unpleasant people I've ever met. Previous highlights included shouting at another elderly woman on Christmas Eve when she asked him if an unexplained twenty minute stop was going to be much longer as her brother lived nearby and he could give her a lift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I have never had a bad experience with a bus driver. The only problem I have with is with other people on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

he's a civil servant working for Dublin bus.

How did he manage that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I am less than honest about the quantity of my fare when using the services of Dublin Bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

A bus driver where I'm from managed to drive about 20 miles with an elderly woman trapped in the luggage hold. He either got fired or moved to another parish route, either way I was glad to see the back of him, one of the most unpleasant people I've ever met. Previous highlights included shouting at another elderly woman on Christmas Eve when she asked him if an unexplained twenty minute stop was going to be much longer as her brother lived nearby and he could give her a lift.

Often pondered and wondered what it would be like in the luggage compartment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Sounds like the type of Arsehole that would leave old ladies standing in the cold at a Terminus while sitting in a warm bus on his Fat hole reading the paper

a scene ive witnessed many times!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Peter Anthony

Crazy settlement in fairness. Some woman gets embarrassed on the bus by some pr!ck of a bus driver and gets 10.5 plus costs?!

Most people who get viciously assaulted get nothing like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

10k.....holy sh1t.

I'd take a lot more abuse than she did if I thought 10k was at the other end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Well, I was pissed off with him and that's what I said, at the time I did mean it to be a little degrading. I do understand it was disrespectful but was really trying to point out that this particular one was an idiot with no cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Company is insane. A family member had the cops in on one of his staff who was caught thieving from another employee. Could he sack the guy as a result? Nope, unions wouldn't have it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

I wonder why Irish Times choose to put the 'humiliated' in the headline in inverted commas....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Once on a Dublin bus it came to a stop and as the passengers were getting off the bus driver started shouting at a black guy that he should have got off a few stops back and didn't pay enough. The black guy just turned and said "I did pay the correct fare" and that's when it all went a bit mad...

Bus Driver "You fcuking didn't, I know your face, you'll never be allowed on this bus again"
    Passenger "I told you I paid the correct fair"
    Bus Driver "You're all the fcuking same, you lot"
    Passenger "Go fcuk yourself you racist cnut"
    Bus Driver "I'm calling the police on you!"

Then engines off, bus stopped and driver calling in to the station to get the Gardai out as he's just been verbally abused by a fare dodger. The guy was well gone now and after 10 minutes and a few people shouting "I've better things to be doing than this!" the driver decided to dive off and called the station again to say he was back on route but he wanted the footage reviewed by the Gardai.

With the way he spoke, I don't think he would have got very far with any case even if he'd found the guy.

But worst I came across personally was in the rain at the top of a queue and the bus pulls up and I'm told "only 5 spaces left" as he points out a few women in the crowd and says "Can't be leaving the girls out in the rain". I put in a complaint and never heard anything back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Crazy settlement in fairness. Some woman gets embarrassed on the bus by some pr!ck of a bus driver and gets 10.5 plus costs?!

Is it though, being verbally abused and publically humiliated on your normal route to work.

So everyday after that people on the bus look down at you as if your some sort of thief. Yeah that sounds dreamy doesnt it.

hope the prick was given some other ****e route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Dublin Bus offered her €7,500 which she turned down in favour of taking it to court.

Does that mean the judge has to award more? OR can the judge put his own number on it and go lower?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Cienciano wrote: »
    Does that mean the judge has to award more? OR can the judge put his own number on it and go lower?

The later.

A settlement avoids court but you run the risk of losing and ending up with having to cover your own legal costs*.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

She was singled out on a bus full of people and called a fraudster, made get off to walk the rest of the way to work, it's called defamation. Put yourself in her shoes and have a long hard think about that.

I'm surprised it's not more tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

She was singled out on a bus full of people and called a fraudster, made get off to walk the rest of the way to work

I don't understand this.
    How can you equate X amount of money to the grievances endured above?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    I don't understand this.
    How can you equate X amount of money to the grievances endured above?

I know of someone who was awarded €12,000 because a security guard took her to the side to and tried to search her handbag because the shop's alarm went off. It turned out there was a security tag inside a box of an item she purchased and the cashier hadn't noticed it. There was a big crowd and it was a bust shop. The guard played it very stupidly and went well above what he was allowed to do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    I don't understand this.

If you don't understand it nothing I say will change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭Danger781

Something similar happened a friend of mine on a morning he was trying to go to college. Bus driver wouldn't let him on the bus because according to the driver he was intoxicated the night before, was loud and abusive to passengers, and made a huge mess. He hadn't been on the bus the night before, and had not been drinking.

Bus Eireann didn't take him too seriously when he submitted a complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

Paz-CCFC wrote: »

All except one of those were Garda compensation cases (which are famously generous and cannot be compared to civilian compensation).

The other involved permanent facial disfigurement - not in any way comparable to a bus driver merely making a scene to embarrass a passenger.

All except one of those were Garda compensation cases (which are famously generous and cannot be compared to civilian compensation).

The other involved permanent facial disfigurement - not in any way comparable to a bus driver merely making a scene to embarrass a passenger.
    Indeed.

Case Closed.

She was singled out on a bus full of people and called a fraudster, made get off to walk the rest of the way to work, it's called defamation. Put yourself in her shoes and have a long hard think about that.

I'm surprised it's not more tbh.

If I could get 10 and a half grand out of it I wouldnt be too annoyed at the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

That money should come out of the bus drivers salary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

people do stupid things. people make mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DavidRamsay99

Most bus drivers are grand but there seems to be a minority who have a chip on their shoulder.
    It can be a lonely stressful job I suppose so some of these guys end up with mental health problems hence their anti-social behavior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

kjl wrote: »
    What's your bad bus driver story?

The one where the adult got over it and lived happily ever after.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 74 ✭✭Just Be Yourself

**** if I was a woman I could make a fortune suing asshole bus drivers.