Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Customs question

• 14-04-2015 8:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2

If customs seizes a package - how long does it take them to notify you? And what is likely to happen thereafter.

The package does contain illicit materials but a very small amount €70.
    Are they likely to just destroy it or go down the whole prosecution route. It would be easy enough to link it to me - parcel motel, credit card and so on. Stupid I know, on many different levels - but what's done is done so no point in crying about it.

I'm not looking for any advice to do anything illegal or anything like that - I just want to know has anyone been in this situation and if so what happened?

I post / lurk a fair bit around here but I thought I'd keep this one on the QT. Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭KTR1C

customs? wrote: »
    I post / lurk a fair bit around here but I thought I'd keep this one on the QT. Thanks

LOL, QT ??

Yet you post on the interwebs in After Hours on boards.ie !!

Why dont you give us the sordid details so we can gloat over it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

If customs seizes a package - how long does it take them to notify you? And what is likely to happen thereafter.

Are they likely to just destroy it or go down the whole prosecution route. It would be easy enough to link it to me - parcel motel, credit card and so on. Stupid I know, on many different levels - but what's done is done so no point in crying about it.

I'm not looking for any advice to do anything illegal or anything like that - I just want to know has anyone been in this situation and if so what happened?

DO NOT LEAVE YOUR HOUSE. A SWAT SQUAD ARE ON THEIR WAY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

You post? We'll know who you are when both accounts are banned. Your day isn't getting any better mate :D

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

If you listen carefully, you may hear helicopters. If you listen really heard, you might be able to tell if it is black. If it's black, you don't know me, and I don't know you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

You're looking at 3 to 5 years minimum OP.

Don't bend over for the soap in the shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

What was in the parcel?!

It depends.

If it's €70 of prescription drugs that you got on the cheap from India, in my experience they simply destroy them. They know that going to Court is making a song and dance, at expense to the State, that a Judge will not appreciate.

If it's €70 of illegal drugs, it might depend on the drug. Some of the prosecutions of the "ex head shop" drugs are pretty technical, so they may not bother.

If it's €70 of something serious, child porn images, get out of Dodge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

What's in the box?!
    *breaks down*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Call down to customs and ask for Gerry, he'll probably charge you but he will make the problem disappear.

Failing that report your credit card stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,646 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

are these illicit materials possibly drug related? If so expect a knock on the door from the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

If it is going through parcel motel, would it not be UK customs that get a first look at it ?

Or did you have it delivered to the Dublin Parcel Motel address ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Stupid on many different levels

Like Sarah Palin in a lift.

are these illicit materials possibly drug related? If so expect a knock on the door from the guards.

Again, in my experience it depends on the drug.

I have never heard of anyone getting a Garda visit for buying those cheap knock off prescription drugs from Asia. It's hardly even worth the petrol money to send the Gardai around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

My 'friend' told me that if it's a bit of weed they'll probably send a letter saying 'Hey, so we have this parcel for you. Why not drop in and collect it?'

Of course if you were stupid enough to put your actual name on it or if it's class A stuff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

I've had small amounts of coke seized before, a couple of grams each time. Never got anything more than a notification letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

kylith wrote: »
    My 'friend' told me that if it's a bit of weed they'll probably send a letter saying 'Hey, so we have this parcel for you. Why not drop in and collect it?'

They are also known to send out letters saying you have won a free yacht. This sting should be easy to avoid unless you have entered a yacht raffle recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

you bought drugs with a credit card?

Turtyturd wrote: »
    They are also known to send out letters saying you have won a free yacht. This sting should be easy to avoid unless you have entered a yacht raffle recently.

Note to self:do no enter any yacht raffles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭hopgog

you bought drugs with a credit card?

There is this thing called bitcoin, duckduckgo it

hopgog wrote: »
    There is this thing called bitcoin, duckduckgo it

the OP mentioned credit card
    parcel motel, credit card and so on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

As kylith says they'll send a letter hoping your stupid enough to come and hand yourself in. They may also try to deliver it and get you when you accept the package.

If someone tries to hand deliver it to you tell them you don't know what their talking about, you're not expecting any packages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

What was in the parcel?!

illicit materials... sounds like dodgy porn to me -_-

smash wrote: »

buying porn? are you nuts.

Rosebudding films aren't free anywhere :(

i have no idea what rosebudding films are. nor shall i be googling the term.

I need specifics!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Turtyturd wrote: »

I'd fall for that every time... I'm a sucker for a free yacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Expect a letter anywhere from a week to several months from now. It will say something to the effect.
    A package containing nefarious article has been seized. Please tell us where you ordered it from. If you think it has been seized in error, let us know and we will forward package on to you.

Don't ask for package to be forwarded to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Pataman

Forward on to someone you dont like!

I need specifics!!

Lets face it, no matter what I tell you it's not going to better or even match what goes on in your mind. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Expect a letter anywhere from a week to several months from now. It will say something to the effect.
    A package containing nefarious article has been seized. Please tell us where you ordered it from. If you think it has been seized in error, let us know and we will forward package on to you.

Don't ask for package to be forwarded to you.

Send a letter back clearly stating that the package was ordered by older boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭KeithTS

How did you think this was ever going to work out well?
    When did you make the purchase of whatever it is?

If it was only last night and you regret doing something stupid just call the bank and say you noticed a dodgey transaction on your online banking - open the banking page first as they know your last log in time/date etc.

You do run a small risk of making things worse by making a fraudulent claim but it's a tiny amount so just tell them that it must have been your mate taking the piss, could they cancel the order. I'd imagine they won't ask too many questions, I wouldn't when I worked in banking.

If you're worried because the package is taking too long and you think it has been held up then there is very little else to do but wait and hope for the best.

It's bad people like you that are making things hard for the everyday drug dealer on the street and you should be ashamed of yourself.

Lets face it, no matter what I tell you it's not going to better or even match what goes on in your mind. :pac:

Is it you??!!!

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Oops. Outed. :D

You know nothing of my mind! Pure as the driven snow!

http://photos-ak.sparkpeople.com/nw/1/2/l1228580906.jpg

Ye may both ask my surprisingly perky behind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Football jerseys from the Aisan sweatshops......this guy is keeping those kids in a job, God bless him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

No reply from OP... They've got him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 customs?

Nah - I've just been getting a fake passport, a gun and stack of cash to disappear with. That's what they do in the movies anyway!

Ah, I'm not too concerned that anything will come of it - just wanted to get a bit of feedback. Contents are head shop type shenanigans. I suppose it basically boils down to the mood of whoever stopped the package on the day - I just hope the missus/boyfriend/cat came across with some sweet loving before they went to work that morning.

I agree it is a stupid thing to do - but I was just playing the odds and got unlucky this time. On maybe 50 or 60 previous occasions no issues whatsoever. If indeed that's what's happened at all - I haven't heard anything from anyone the package just hasn't turned up. With a bit of luck I've just been robbed by a dodgy vendor! Ha, not often you get to say that and actually mean it.

Anyway, thanks for your advice. I have to run, there's a large pizza delivery van with a nice satellite dish on the roof parked outside my house, must be lost he's been there for hours!

Drugs are bad boys and girls - let this be a lesson to you all

Anyway, thanks for your advice. I have to run

Off to get SMASHed ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

OP you've been red flagged & will now be on a customs watch list.

That'll put a stop to your shenanigans :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 74 ✭✭Just Be Yourself

Anyone here giving serious answers or is everyone just trolling op?

For a while there I was seriously thinking of importing a telescopic baton for self defence (Ireland being a pussy nanny state they're illegal).

Would I get in serious trouble if the package was intercepted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

They'd beat you within an inch of your life with it.
    Seems fair enough:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Would I get in serious trouble if the package was intercepted?
    I'd say it would just be confiscated. I think there is something in Irish law where they have to catch you in procession.

For a while there I was seriously thinking of importing a telescopic baton for self defence.
    ScumLord wrote: »
    I'd say it would just be confiscated. I think there is something in Irish law where they have to catch you in procession.

Would that not be for a majorette's baton ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

What ever happened to the show 'The Knock' would be great remade and set in Dublin. Da Nough Lad or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

When I worked in Microsoft some chap had narcotics posted to him. Never saw him again. They probably killed him (the Microsoft overlords, that is!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

So using the Customs calculator, that would be a street value of €100k. You had better stay inside, disconnect all devices, throw your phones battery out the window and don't answer the door to anyone.