Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bellator/WSOF/One FC etc events Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,370 ✭✭✭cletus

I had it in my head that they only went to Saturday nights when it doesnt directly clash with a UFC event (note, this is not based on even the most cursory of glances at dates for either organisation)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

3arena booked the 17th of December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

So more than likely this won't be sold out? We want to book Saturday morning and we want the 95 euro seats.

Thers's about 5 of us going and we've never been to an mma event before. The boys only got into mma because of McGregor and I've only ever watched the UFC. Just wondering if this is expected to be good with the match ups? I only know Gallagher and Tuke from the fights announced so far. Any chance of MVP??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

hefferboi wrote: »
    So more than likely this won't be sold out? We want to book Saturday morning and we want the 95 euro seats.

Thers's about 5 of us going and we've never been to an mma event before. The boys only got into mma because of McGregor and I've only ever watched the UFC. Just wondering if this is expected to be good with the match ups? I only know Gallagher and Tuke from the fights announced so far. Any chance of MVP??

I went to the last BAMMA in Dublin and it was excellent. Very entertaining. You should have no hassle getting tickets. The demand is lower than the UFC events. Booking Saturday morning should be no hassle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 131 ✭✭MartyDublin

hefferboi wrote: »

Wont be sold out but will be a great event. All events mainly are good nights. Fighters are fighters UFC,Bellator, BAAMA. If you enjoy MMA ya will enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,486 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Only twigged the Combate Americas event being broadcast at the mo is taking place from NY, I assumed UFC205 would have been the first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Incredbile submission from BJJ expert Mackenzie Dern last night at Legacy FC 61, some of the most high level jiu jitsu I've ever seen in the sport:

https://twitter.com/zpgifs/status/787130535218909184

(If there's a more appropriate thread for this, the mods can feel free to move it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

i was watching the this morning first thing...pre coffee and i was like...but..no...its an omoplata...and a RNC...no...thats not possible..

shes 115 right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

dashoonage wrote: »
    i was watching the this morning first thing...pre coffee and i was like...but..no...its an omoplata...and a RNC...no...thats not possible..

shes 115 right ?

Right. Only Dern's second pro MMA fight and the other girl has a number of submission wins on her record so I'm going to assume she's not too bad on the ground herself.

I can't stop watching it, I really hope she continues to grow as a fighter because I love seeing that level of BJJ in mixed martial arts, even though I don't watch a lot of jiu jitsu on its own. She's an ambitious girl too, told Helwani she wants to be fighting for the UFC title by the end of 2017. Her stand up needs major work though from what I've read, Joanna or Karolina or even PVZ or Rose would butcher her on current form.

I dont want to see Joanna beat on that pretty face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

Think she missed weight for the fight, was only her second fight so hopefully she isnt rushed into the UFC and has a few more fights first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Just noticed Cage Warriors is on BT tonight thought people might like to know!

Speaking of CW

Interested in Duffy going back

http://www.mmalatestnews.com/cage-warriors-boss-confirms-interest-free-agent-joe-duffy/

Bellator aligned with Bamma, Fishgold and the paddy resigning with CW a few weeks ago..... Its a brave new world folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Decent win there from Shaw. Completely dominated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Wow

12 seconds lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Paddy Pimblett v Julian Erosa set for Cage Warriors on the same night as UFC 205.

Artem finished him very quickly on TUF so I can see there being a bit of Twitter back and forth between himself and Pimblett unless Paddy wins it impressively :pac:

On another note, it's probably the only matchup in the world of MMA that I can think of that will have me hoping Pimblett wins. Very impressive from Cage Warriors to find someone more unlikeable than Paddy. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

martyos121 wrote: »
    Incredbile submission from BJJ expert Mackenzie Dern last night at Legacy FC 61, some of the most high level jiu jitsu I've ever seen in the sport:

https://twitter.com/zpgifs/status/787130535218909184

(If there's a more appropriate thread for this, the mods can feel free to move it)
    I attempted the same last week when a big massive guy lay back on me during an omoplata. He was quite big, so I couldn't reach for the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Pedro986

Anyone getting sick.of the influx of 'athletes' into the pro ranks of MMA. I watched WWE Wrestler Dave Batista victory over Lucero and it disgusted me that a soort I love is being adorned with this type of fighter, for want of a better word. He was exposed on his feet for 2 mins with no defence.to jabs and clinches, until he shot for a messy take down and used his size to dominate your man without doing too much.

This annoying anyone else, CM punk comes to mind, even Lesnar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Why do you care so much about something that happened over 4 years ago?

Athletes cross sports all the time. Deontay Wilder transitioned from Football to Boxing.

Schaub and Mitrione transitioned from football to MMA, Travis Browne was a college basketball player.

It's been happening since the dawn of time, find something worth while to give a toss about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Pedro986

Why do you care so much about something that happened over 4 years ago?

Athletes cross sports all the time. Deontay Wilder transitioned from Football to Boxing.

Schaub and Mitrione transitioned from football to MMA, Travis Browne was a college basketball player.

It's been happening since the dawn of time, find something worth while to give a toss about.

Travis browne had fought for 5 years before transitioning same as mitrione. People moving from Wrestling is where my beef lies. These men arent athletes, they are actors. And should be treated as such.

But he was able to take the guy down and beat him. So what's the problem? I've seen the fight, and its not pretty, but your argument would make more sense if you said that the dude who couldn't beat the pro wrestler shouldn't be fighting

Also, dunno how long your following mma, but the ties to pro wrestling go way back and are well documented

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Pedro986 wrote: »
    Travis browne had fought for 5 years before transitioning same as mitrione. People moving from Wrestling is where my beef lies. These men arent athletes, they are actors. And should be treated as such.
    I would actually pay money for you to go say that to any pro wrestler (I'm presuming you mean them and not wrestler wrestlers)

Or even for you to try do what they do as often as they do.

Anyone getting sick.of the influx of 'athletes' into the pro ranks of MMA. I watched WWE Wrestler Dave Batista victory over Lucero and it disgusted me that a soort I love is being adorned with this type of fighter, for want of a better word. He was exposed on his feet for 2 mins with no defence.to jabs and clinches, until he shot for a messy take down and used his size to dominate your man without doing too much.

This annoying anyone else, CM punk comes to mind, even Lesnar.
    The guy he beat was 300lbs, with 45 fights over 13 years as a pro fighter. If he is losing to an "actor" making his debut, hit doesn't say much for him.

Lesnar had more legitimate experience than most HWs entering the UFC.

CM Punk was an actor. Nobody dispute that. But he's one guy. There's no massive influx of fake athletes to MMA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭smilerf

so Tom Cruise can enter the ring and do what they do day?
    Come on man they are athletes
    They are only home about 40 days of year
    I don't watch pro wrestling these days but they put their bodies on the line too
    I actually don't think most mma fighters would handle the schedule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

smilerf wrote: »
    so Tom Cruise can enter the ring and do what they do day?
    Come on man they are athletes
    They are only home about 40 days of year
    I don't watch pro wrestling these days but they put their bodies on the line too
    I actually don't think most mma fighters would handle the schedule

Doesn't make them athletes, they are bodybuilder stuntmen, and I watch it the odd time!

This is kind of semantics. What they do requires a high degree of athleticism. Does that qualify them as athletes? The Oxford dictionary defines an athlete as:

noun. 1. a person trained or gifted in exercises or contests involving physical agility, stamina, or strength; a participant in a sport, exercise, or game requiring physical skill. Origin of athlete Expand. Latin.

They definitely fulfill a number of criteria above, the single criterion missing is sport.

The whole "athlete" debate comes up all over the place.
    There was a thread a while ago on the fitness forum whether of Bodybuilding was a sport, whether they were athletes, etc.
    Same with a heap of other is imagine.
    Why does it matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

to be fair, for the most part, pro wrestling doesn't market itself as a sport so this whole argument is a bit of a moot point

also, re punk brock and batista, before taking pro mma fights they were professional entertainers, however, wether you agree with it or not, they by definition became professional athletes upon taking pro mma fights. your opinion is kinda invalid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Chael v Tito set for Januaury