Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Faster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Tuesday, 17th May 2016

4 miles
    40:53
    10:13/mi

The plan called for 3-4 easy miles. Went with 4, and took it nice and handy. I've been trying to slow down my easy runs recently, so happy enough with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bluesquare

tailgunner wrote: »
    Thanks folks!

Monday, 16th May 2016

5.6 miles
    53:09
    9:29/mi

I've really picked the worst possible time to start training for a marathon, as I'm both moving house and changing jobs in the next couple of weeks. I'm already stressed out, and the mental gymnastics involved in trying to figure out when I'm going to fit in my running isn't helping.

I'm just going to have to run when I can, make sure I follow hard days with easy ones, and hope things settle into a regular routine eventually.

So even though the plan said "Off Day", and I didn't feel fully recovered after the 5k, I opted to do the first session on the plan. The alternative would have involved running five days in a row this week, so I think it was the lesser evil.

Anyway, the session. The plan said "4 x 1/2 mile at half marathon pace, 2 min jog in between", and I opted for a 2 mile warm up and 1 mile cool down. I tried to run the HMP reps by effort, as I knew I wasn't in any shape to be hitting the pace that McMillan suggested - 7:55/mi.

Splits were:

4:02.8 (8:06/mi)
    4:05.8 (8:12/mi)
    4:05.3 (8:11/mi)
    4:03.3 (8:07/mi)

Happy enough with that really. Legs were tired throughout, but the effort felt right. Hopefully I'll be closer to McMillan's suggested pace for my next half marathon in mid-August, but that'll do for now.

Recovery run tonight and a rest day tomorrow, so should be feeling much fresher for the first MP session on Thursday.

Are you targeting a particular race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Well done on the 5k... Can I borrow the little voice in your head... My little voice just tells me to slow down or stop :D. Loved the description of the battle with yer man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mbarr

Brilliant running TG, great report too :)

Thursday, 19th May 2016

7.38 miles
    1:09:40
    9:27/mi

The first MP session on the plan, and it was a weird one:

1-2 mile warm up,
    2 miles at marathon pace, 2:30 jog in between
    2 x 1 mile at marathon pace, 90 sec jog in between
    1-2 mile warm down

I was confused even reading that, so I set it up on the watch. I was aiming for around 8:50/mi for the MP miles, but I struggled to keep the pace even. Well the two-mile block was okay, but the individual miles were all over the place. Kept starting off too fast, then dialling it back too much, then speeding up, only to end up too fast again. Meh. Next time I'll just gradually ease into the pace.

I was comfortable enough during the run anyway, despite the inconsistent pacing, but felt pretty tired after. I think I underestimated how far I'd end up going and how long it would take.

MP splits:

8:49
    8:45
    8:51
    8:42

Friday, 20th May 2016

3.01 miles
    30:33
    10:09/mi

Won't have time to run this evening, so got up early to get this done before work. I don't know how people do this regularly. A morning person I am not.

Bluesquare wrote: »
    Are you targeting a particular race?

I'm signed up for the Burnham Beeches Half Marathon, which is near enough to me.

I think it's meant to be a tough course, so I might end up doing it as an MP session if I think racing it might kill me... I'll see closer to the time anyway!

Sunday, 22nd May 2016

11.01 miles
    1:51:43
    10:09/mi

Saturday was moving day, so I spent the morning horsing boxes of stuff (why do I have so much stuff?!) to the new place. Wrecked after it. Even went for a nap in the afternoon. A nap, like!

So the long run got postponed till this morning, which sort of messes up the plan for the coming week, but I was happy to get it done and have a solid week of training in the bag.

The plan was for 11-12 easy miles. I opted for 11, which would leave me with exactly 31 miles for the week. That's the minimum mileage the plan prescribed this week, but I didn't see the point in pushing things this early on in the plan.

Managed to keep each mile slower than 10 minutes. I used to do my long runs closer to 9:30/mi pace, but I think I was kidding myself doing that. Since I've been trying to slow down my easy runs, I've noticed a huge difference in how much easier my breathing is, how much quicker I recover, and how much more I enjoy the running.

Anyway, enough rambling. I have more boxes of stuff to move.

Monday, 23rd May 2016

4.01 miles
    41:01

The plan was for half mile reps at half marathon pace - same as last week - but I thought it would be a bad idea to attempt a session the day after a long run, so I postponed it till tomorrow and did a recovery run instead.

Found a new route near my new flat which took me into a grassy meadow. It was like a scene from The Sound of Music, but with hayfever-induced sneezing instead of singing.

Tuesday, 24th May 2016

5.6 miles
    52:33
    9:23/mi

Monday's postponed session - 4 x 1/2 mile at half marathon pace, 2 min jog in between. The 2 mile warm-up and 1 mile cool-down worked well last week, so I went with that again.

I was knackered before I even put on my running shoes, but felt okay once I got going. The effort felt about the same as last week, but I ended up with slightly quicker splits, so at least things are heading in the right direction.

Splits:

4:04.3 (8:09/mi)
    4:02.3 (8:05/mi)
    3:59.4 (7:59/mi)
    4:02.4 (8:05/mi)

Thursday, 26th May 2016

7.4 miles
    1:09:50
    9:26/mi

A fairly straightforward MP session this week, specifically 4 x 1 mile at marathon pace, 1 min jog in between, with what's becoming the usual 2 mile warm up and 1 mile cool down.

Probably should have left a bit more time after the giant lunch I had before heading out for this, as the first few miles were a little uncomfortable, but I was very happy with this session overall. MP miles were consistent (or at least they felt that way!) and I felt very comfortable once my lunch stopped squashing my diaphragm.

MP splits:

8:55
    8:41
    8:46

Friday, 27th May 2016

10.1 miles
    1:39:54
    9:42/mi

I'm away for the weekend and won't have a chance to run till Sunday evening, if at all, so I brought the long run forward to this morning. At least this way, if I have to miss a run, it'll only be 3-4 easy miles.

I'll be the first to admit that this is far from an ideal plan, given the session yesterday, but I'm hoping that following two hard days with two easy ones will balance things out... I'll be back to a normal routine next week anyway, so should be able to get each run done in the correct order.

Anyway, the plan said to run this at "general aerobic" pace, which seems to be a little faster than easy pace according to the pace chart on the BAA website, so I think I managed that okay. It was a bit of a slog by the end, but general tiredness was about as bad as things got.

Sunday, 29th May 2016

0 miles
    0:00
    0:00/mi

The plan, or what was left of it after all my chopping and changing this week, was for 3-4 easy miles. But by the time I got home after travelling all day Sunday, I was in no humour for running and chose the sofa for the evening instead

Was a bit annoyed with myself, but clearly not annoyed enough to change my mind... Anyway, I've written it off now. At least I had the foresight to get the sessions and long run out of the way earlier in the week. 27 miles in total for the week.

Monday, 30th May 2016

5.7 miles
    53:12
    9:20/mi

Same session as the previous couple of weeks - half mile reps at half mile pace. I wouldn't say I'm bored of doing it yet, but I'm looking forward to moving onto something slightly different next week.

Not the most consistent splits this week, and the last two were probably a little quick, but not a bad effort overall.

Splits:

4:01.1 (8:02)
    4:03.4 (8:07)
    3:56.7 (7:53)
    3:57.4 (7:55)

Tuesday, 31st May 2016

4.1 miles
    41:44
    10:11/mi

I keep hearing about how hot and sunny it is at home at the moment, so I wasn't impressed at the torrential rain and howling wind here in England today. I gambled on the wintry weather easing off later in the evening, and my luck was in for a change, so I avoided the worst of it. Really enjoyed this run - one of those ones where you drift off and end up back at your house 40 minutes later, wondering how your legs managed to steer themselves with no input from your brain.

Month|2015|2016
    Jan|7.86|103.61
    Feb|14.7|116.6
    Mar|23.53|127.35
    Apr|32.91|73.11
    May|45.88|119.75
    Jun|42.65
    Jul|23.26
    Aug|84.29
    Sep|106.61
    Oct|56.17
    Nov|81.45
    Dec|55.33
    Total|574.64|540.42

Any given month, I normally have a fair idea what sort of mileage I'm on track for, but I had no idea what May was going to look like. Can't complain about that at all really.

I feel like I'm in good shape lately. Long may it continue.

A bit of catching up to do here...

Thursday, 2nd June 2016

7.3 miles
    1:09:07
    9:28/mi

Slightly odd MP session again: a 2 mile warm up, 2 miles at marathon pace, then a 2 min jog, followed by 2 x 1 mile at marathon pace with a 1 min jog in between, and finally a 1 mile cool down.

Can't remember anything about it at all, so I guess I'll make up some stuff. I foiled a robbery in the third mile, accidentally gatecrashed a wedding reception in the fifth, and had to fight a swan at the end.

MP splits:

8:45

Friday, 3rd June 2016

3.11 miles
    32:34
    10:28/mi

Took to some grassy trails for this, which helped keep the pace right down. Not much to report - it was over before I knew it really.

Sunday, 5th June 2016

12 miles
    2:03:22
    10:17/mi

I should have done this on Saturday, but a hangover in the morning and visitors in the evening put paid to that. Nice weather has finally arrived in England, so I got up early to get out before it got too warm.

The plan was for 11-12 miles easy. Having gone for the shorter option for the last couple of weeks, I went for the longer one today. The first couple of miles were barely more than a shuffle, and the rest wasn't much faster. I made it my mission not to break 10 minutes for any individual mile, and though it was a close call in mile 8 (10:01), I just about managed it.

I realised afterwards that 10:17/mi pace would bring me in just under 4:30 for the marathon, so even if it all goes wrong on the day and I have to jog the thing, that's not a bad time at all for a debut marathon.

32 miles for the week. Happy out with that.

Monday, 6th June 2016

4.05 miles
    41:41
    10:17/mi

Having done my long run on Sunday, I postponed Monday's planned session and went for a recovery run instead. This was quite a slog, which I put down to the heat, as I was dripping in sweat by the end.

Thursday, 9th June 2016

9 miles
    1:32:03

I think Monday's struggles were mainly due to the onset of a headcold, and I ended up taking a couple of days off running. Felt like I was over the worst of it last night, so went out for a few easy miles to test the waters when the temperature had cooled down a bit. Wasn't planning on running this far, and it probably wasn't the greatest idea when I'm getting over a cold, but there you go.

I'm feeling much better today, but I'll stick to easy running until I feel 100% again. Bit annoyed at missing the sessions this week, but I think it's probably sensible. I'm still on track to hit my mileage target this week anyway.

Speaking of mileage, I passed the 575 mile mark for the year so far last night, which is one more mile than I ran in 2015. I didn't exactly crack open a PB beer, but I was pretty chuffed, so I had a celebratory cup of tea instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

"...so I had a celebratory cup of tea instead."

Ya mad yoke, you should have gone wild altogether and thrown in a Digestive biscuit :)

TbL

Not on a school night!

Friday, 10th June 2016

4 miles
    40:53
    10:12/mi

The same distance and pace as Monday's run, but it felt infinitely easier. I took this as a good sign that I was on the mend from the head cold.

Saturday, 11th June 2016

14 miles
    2:18:25
    9:53/mi

The plan was for "general aerobic" pace, and I felt well enough to give it a go, without pushing things too much. I was out pretty early, so while it wasn't too warm yet, it was very humid. I was sweating buckets within a mile.

I'd had the sense to bring a pound with me in case I needed to buy a drink, and stopped at a shop after 4 or 5 miles. All the bottled water was £1.19 (sake!) so I opted for two Capri-Suns for 98p. Not a bad deal. The guy at the till returned my change like he was handing it to a leper - did I mention I was sweating?

The rest of the run was uneventful, and bar a few dips here and there, it was comfortable enough. Happy enough with that given the longish run 36 hours previously.

Sunday, 12th June 2016

4.05 miles
    41:34
    10:16/mi

By now, the previous few days' mileage was catching up with me, and my legs felt very tired from the off. Nothing serious, but I'm well overdue a rest day.

I thought this would turn out to be a disaster of a week, but it wasn't too bad. I think I was better off skipping the sessions in favour of easy running, and 35 miles is a decent haul.

I'm on holiday in France now for a week, and though I've brought the running gear, I'm not going to stress too much about sticking to the plan while I'm away.

I've booked an extra day off work so I can get a long run in when I get back, and will try and get out every other day in the meantime to keep myself ticking over. If I manage that, great, if not, I won't sweat it.

Adieu!

Tuesday, 14th June 2016

6.22 miles
    1:04:48
    10:25/mi

I figured that since I'm on my holidays, there's no point flogging myself with sessions, so this was a nice, easy trot around the streets of Montpellier. It wasn't as glamorous as it sounds, as the route was very hilly and not particularly interesting. Ended up at the zoo before turning around and heading back to the hotel.

Went out for cocktails after and after staring at the menu for 20 minutes and deciding that my brutal French was getting me nowhere with the elaborate descriptions, I eventually settled on something called "The Art of Flight". I was hoping for something like a White Russian, but it couldn't have been further from the reality.

The waitress brought over a little jug with a dark liquor in it, some cigar ashes (?) on a tray, and an empty glass. Then she sprayed vermouth vapour into the glass, upended it, and placed it over the ashes, telling me to leave it for a while before serving.

I left it for a minute or two, and poured the liquor into the now smokey glass. Thinking that it was far from this craic I was reared, I had a tentative sip.

It was like drinking a cigarette. Absolutely rank. My girlfriend (who had a deliciously fruity cocktail) was in stitches.

We're down the coast now, only about 10 miles from the Spanish border as the crow flies. Should get out for some more easy miles tomorrow. I'll be sticking to beer this evening.

Thursday, 16th June 2016

8 miles
    1:14:34
    9:19/mi

The weather has been poor since we arrived in France, and it only got worse when we arrived in Argeles-sur-Mer, a seaside resort on the south coast. It also seems to be the off-season, so it's like a ghost town - genuinely eery seeing all these little touristy shops and bars completely empty.

On the upside, there are nice flat roads around the town, and 16 degrees with a light breeze is fairly ideal for running, so I decided I'd have a go at a session - 8 miles with 5 at marathon pace. It went really well. The pace was very comfortable, and even a bit quick towards the end. Clearly it makes a big difference to recovery when the most strenuous thing I do all day is eat my weight in white bread.

MP splits:

8:52
    8:47
    8:41
    8:40

The only downside was that I got caught in one of the many thunderstorms that have hit the region over the last few days. I don't think I've ever been so thoroughly soaked.

The forecast is the same till we fly home on Sunday, so this morning we said to hell with it, booked a hotel in Gerona, and drove over the border to Spain.

The weather is good, the city is populated, and I'm looking forward to an exploratory run tomorrow.

Highlights so far have included some delicious tapas, a very tasty Catalan beer called Moska, and coming across a vending machine that sells burgers and kebabs. Not even joking.

Saturday, 18th June 2016

4 miles
    41:21
    10:20/mi

The thunderstorms followed us to Spain, but I managed to get out for a short run when the weather eased a bit.

Girona wasn't just flooded with rain yesterday; there were also thousands of CA Osasuna fans filling the streets, here to watch the second leg of the second division final play-off against Girona FC. Osasuna won, meaning promotion to La Liga.

So at least half the run was to the sounds of cheers and chants as I ran past the various groups of away fans. A very vocal bunch, who clearly love watching amateur running as much as soccer.

The sun is back today, and we're not flying home till tonight, so I'm soaking up every morsel of sunshine that I can before returning to rainy England.

I'm very pleased with the running I got done this week - I honestly thought it would be a complete write off. I doubt I'd have been so diligent had the weather been better, but I'm sure I'll be thankful for that come September.

Monday, 20th June 2016

12 miles
    1:58:39
    9:53/mi

Despite taking an extra day off work for the sole purpose of getting the long run done, it was nearly 7pm by the time I got out. Struggled big time with this - it felt like I came close to bonking near the end. I was travelling most of the day on Sunday and probably didn't eat or drink enough, but I fueled and hydrated well all day yesterday, so I feel I should have been okay really. No point over-analysing I suppose, and at least I got it done.

Well done with the holiday running - hope I can follow your example and get the miles in when I'm away ! You make it sound like a nice treat!

Yeah it worked out well - I was able to fit in the running during downtime when I would have just been chilling out anyway, so it never felt like a chore. The only sacrifice was that I didn't make as much of a dent in my holiday book as I would have liked.

I would have done another session if I hadn't been away, but all the extra recovery left me feeling nice and fresh when I got back.

Although yesterday's long run has sent me right back to exhaustion city!

What marathon schedule did you settle on in the end?

I think your about a k ahead of me . Although I'm doing 23k on sat!

Your looking good - yesterday was probably dehydration after flight etc.

I settled on BAA Level Two, but I haven't been following it very closely for the last couple of weeks - just been trying to hit the weekly mileage targets. Hoping to get back on track with the sessions this week.

I'm on Week 9 of 22, so a long way to go yet. 14-15 miles scheduled this weekend - I'll be guzzling water the night before!

tailgunner wrote: »
    I settled on BAA Level Two, but I haven't been following it very closely for the last couple of weeks - just been trying to hit the weekly mileage targets. Hoping to get back on track with the sessions this week.

I'm on Week 9 of 22, so a long way to go yet. 14-15 miles scheduled this weekend - I'll be guzzling water the night before!

It's similar to my club plan - well the bits that have been sent so far . A lot a running at mp and half marathon pace . The club plan has some of the long runs including up to 12k at mp- not every week though and I only have till end of July so far.

Tired thinking about it.

This weekend will be the tester all right! I'm experimenting with Cocunut water and recovary drinks and drinking during the run ! Are u taking gels yet ?

I don't really like taking gels, so I'll try and avoid them for training. I'll try a couple on one of the 18 or 20 mile runs just to make sure my stomach can handle them over the longer distances, but that'll be it I'd say.

Coconut water is a great idea. I might jump on that bandwagon too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Never heard of coconut water until now so just Google it there . Sounds like good stuff and low in sugar . Think I'll be jumping on the bandwagon too and trying it out. Cheers for the info.

Tuesday, 21st June 2016

4.01 miles
    39:27
    9:51/mi

Opted for a recovery run instead of the planned session, and still had to drag myself out the door to get it done. Very muggy weather for it.

Wednesday, 22nd June 2016

5.6 miles
    51:46
    9:15/mi

The postponed session. The plan was for 2 x half miles at half marathon pace, with a 90 sec jog in between, then 4 x 400m at 10k pace, with a 1 min jog in between. A bit of a mouthful, but I set it up on the watch so it was handy enough.

Horrible soupy weather again, but I was in much better humour for running. I hadn't done any faster stuff in a while so wasn't sure how this would go, but apart from the legs feeling pretty tired from the beginning, it went okay.

The half mile reps were fine, but I found the 400s very tough. Some of these were pushing 5k pace at times, which didn't help, and the recoveries felt very, very short.

Fairly solid session anyway.

HMP splits:

3:58 (7:57/mi)

10kP splits:

1:54 (7:36/mi)
    1:52 (7:27/mi)
    1:56 (7:45/mi)
    1:51 (7:24/mi)

Friday, 24th June 2016

8.4 miles
    1:16:29
    9:06/mi

Nearly didn't bother with this. Was seriously depressed over the results of the EU referendum in the UK. What a tremendous victory for cynicism.

Eventually decided that a run might clear my head, so off I went. The plan was for 3 x 2 miles at marathon pace, with a 2 min jog in between. Cut the warm-up short as I was already ahead of my mileage target this week, but mainly because I just wanted to get to the faster stuff.

Glad I got it done, and it definitely lifted my mood.

MP splits:

8:44
    8:48
    8:44

Saturday, 25th June 2016

3.11 miles
    30:28
    9:48/mi

Legs were a bit stiff, and my breathing was quite heavy. Put it down to the session the evening before, and the humidity. Ran it a bit too quick as well.

Sunday, 26th June 2016

15.1 miles
    2:26:47
    9:43/mi

The plan was for 14-15 miles at aerobic pace. Wasn't looking forward to it given how much I struggled with the 12 miles last week, but it went really well. Conditions were perfect - cool and overcast with a light breeze, and several thunderstorms on Saturday had cleared all the mugginess from the air. I made sure to drink gallons of water the evening before, which made a big difference too.

You would think that over the course of two and a half hours of running, something vaguely interesting must have happened, but I'm struggling to think of anything. I'm not sure if that says more about my observational skills, or how quiet England is on a Sunday morning.

A little over 36 miles for the week. Things are ramping up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Be careful that you don't overdo it on the water intake, overdo it and it'll flush out the salts in your system and then you'll definitely dehydrate.

TbL