Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheep handling race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭roosky

Anybody get some sheep equipment from o'donnell engineering in limerick.

I have odonnell stuff, great stuff and affordable but its 6 years since i bought it, they do their own turn over crate which is terrible so I have an IAE turnover crate, also their non return gate is poor but everything else is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭orm0nd

roosky wrote: »
    I have odonnell stuff, great stuff and affordable but its 6 years since i bought it, they do their own turn over crate which is terrible so I have an IAE turnover crate, also their non return gate is poor but everything else is good.

odonnell's are well fabricated but their designs and measurements are terrible,

hard to beat somebody that has experience of handling sheep, like cormac or stanley's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

orm0nd wrote: »
    odonnell's are well fabricated but their designs and measurements are terrible,

hard to beat somebody that has experience of handling sheep, like cormac or stanley's

Have a load of cormac equipment and I’m abit disappointed with some of it. Got a batch of 5ft gates off them a few years ago, every second one is cracking at the welds. Also have their 6ft pens which have a supporting mid section and are way stronger. Also have their ring feeders and Im frustrated at the poor design. Think I’ll try some Stanley next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Have a load of cormac equipment and I’m abit disappointed with some of it. Got a batch of 5ft gates off them a few years ago, every second one is cracking at the welds. Also have their 6ft pens which have a supporting mid section and are way stronger. Also have their ring feeders and Im frustrated at the poor design. Think I’ll try some Stanley next time.

Ya the ring feeder seems a bit more like an oval than a circle tbh. But have races and 5ft gates by cormac and cant fault them

Think the space between the bars is too wide. Grand if you’ve big Suffolk’s but medium size sheep can climb in and out of the feeders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Mf310

Apologies for digging up this old thread. Just wondering after a few years of using them , how are lads getting on with their stanley units ? Or have other products overtaken them on the market ? Just getting around to buying one here , thanks in advance ?

Bought a Stanley mobile sheep race with footbath and 2 way drafting 3 years ago.... very well made never caused any bother.. very easy nice design to take off wheels so it wouldn't be stolen as easily. Actually selling it atm as getting out of sheep if anyone is interested. ..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Mf310 wrote: »
    Bought a Stanley mobile sheep race with footbath and 2 way drafting 3 years ago.... very well made never caused any bother.. very easy nice design to take off wheels so it wouldn't be stolen as easily. Actually selling it atm as getting out of sheep if anyone is interested. ..

Will send you a DM

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Ashill5

I got accepted in Tams ll for a mobile sheep race, 1 of the conditions is that I will have to have 40 sheep by the time the grant is drawn down.

Just wondering if it has to be 40 ewes or would could hoggots be included in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Ashill5 wrote: »
    I got accepted in Tams ll for a mobile sheep race, 1 of the conditions is that I will have to have 40 sheep by the time the grant is drawn down.

Just wondering if it has to be 40 ewes or would could hoggots be included in that.

what exact word does the letter say?
    if it says sheep i'd be counting ewes, hoggets, rams and lambs

searched every handling unit on the market. Have it down to the Stanley, Ritchie and Wh Rea. hard to decide. The Rea one was the option of stockboard instead of sheeting in a race. Anyone ever work with stockboard for outdoor handling ? Does it fade or crack over time ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 dglhills

Does anyone on here have a combiclamp? Have they every used it with horned sheep and are they any good? Have to do a lot of work on my own usually in a hurry would love to try one but afraid the blackies wont run through it as when scanning its a brave job to get them through and when I've figured out its no use the supplier will hardly take it back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

dglhills wrote: »
    Does anyone on here have a combiclamp? Have they every used it with horned sheep and are they any good? Have to do a lot of work on my own usually in a hurry would love to try one but afraid the blackies wont run through it as when scanning its a brave job to get them through and when I've figured out its no use the supplier will hardly take it back?
    I gonna bite the bullet soon and buy one, along with a a proper race. Put up a post here looking for peoples opinions and they all seemed positive. I would love one on Trial like yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,851 ✭✭✭White Clover

In the market for a mobile handling unit. Is the Stanley still one of the best out there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,851 ✭✭✭White Clover

Does anyone know if an iae turnover crate will work with a Stanley sheepeze set up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

If ye were installing a new set up, would you incorporate/build a dipping tank? Is there advantages having a tank over going with clik? Wouldn’t be hard install at the start and could be done to take the real hardship out of it. Or would a batch footbath be more benifical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

If ye were installing a new set up, would you incorporate/build a dipping tank? Is there advantages having a tank over going with clik? Wouldn’t be hard install at the start and could be done to take the real hardship out of it. Or would a batch footbath be more benifical?

if the choice was footbath or dip trough i'd go footbath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

ganmo wrote: »
    if the choice was footbath or dip trough i'd go footbath

When I was developing my handling unit, I put the dipper beside the batch footbath, I used a jfc dip bath, if I was doing it again I'd use the precast concrete dip bath, it's difficult to stop the jfc from bulging in when backfilling even if you fill the dip bath with water.
    I was putting them in an existing concrete yard so treated myself to a microdigger for the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭DJ98

https://www.odonovaneng.ie/product/iae-sheep-handling-yards/

Anyone any experience with the IAE handling yards, are they value for money, was interested in the A system, the total cost is around 3k I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Iae make the best gear in this country or Britain. Th jenkinson up the north night be a bit cheaper n if you haggle they will deliver. Also, if your getting tams the bugle system looks like the business. They also make a top notch foot bath that will attach to it. Make life easier on yerself, it’s better spent on that than doctors bills !