Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aston Martin general info/advice needed

• 07-04-2015 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭

Hey everyone,
    Well I've been on this forum in hard times over the years and the last time I posted I said the next car I would have would be an Aston Martin. I got completely screwed over on my old Honda Jazz, it broke down and I had to sell it quickly as I was leaving the country. I made it abroad, sold it for a nickel, and swore I'd get an Aston Martin to compensate myself for the trauma!

So, I will be soon in a position to finally get the Aston and would really like your help on models, costs, etc. I just checked the website and I love them all but I don't see anything on pricing. Does pricing vary around Europe at all and what would be the starting, end prices, etc?

Thanks for any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Special 1.6 diesel version with €180 motor tax available on the Irish market. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭pog it

Yep, brand new. I will keep it for years after and really just want to have no issues from previous owners but mainly cause I've been through hell and I finally feel entitled for the first time in my life.

I won't be buying it in UK, will be in Germany or Ireland probably, but I was hoping prices might be lower in some of the poorer european countries. Would this be the case at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,923 ✭✭✭goochy

is this a joke thread?? if not more suited to aston martin section of pistonheads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Abit of a leap from a Honda Jazz :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

goochy wrote: »

We heard you the first three times.

OSI wrote: »
    To be honest, it's very much a case of, if you have to ask, you probably can't afford. You know what the running costs are going to be like on something like an Aston? If you're worried about issues, a hand built bespoke sports car really isn't where you should be looking.

Nope, to be honest I expected 6 figures, and yes I can afford it or I wouldn't be buying one, would I?

Abit of a leap from a Honda Jazz :p

Exactly. But the jazz is a nice design and it was the best option for me at the second hand price range I had back then.

But at the time I said I would achieve it not one person ridiculed me on this forum for the ambition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

rocking up to an aston martin dealership and trading in a 2nd hand honda jazz :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

rocking up to an aston martin dealership and trading in a 2nd hand honda jazz :pac:

We'd all do the same if we could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

If things have come right for you and you can afford it man then go for it!
    We will of course want pictures :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

OSI wrote: »
    OK, well if you buy one new, you'll be needing to get it serviced at an Aston Martin service center to keep the warranty. Annual services are between €1,000 to €2,500. Tyres are €1,000 a set and you'll be going through them at pretty regular intervals, 15,000km or less. Brakes are close to a grand per axle. Clutch replacement, knocking on 5k.

If you can afford a brand new AM they these costs are nothing.

OP if you are going to Germany , Contact the following

http://www.astonmartin-kronberg.de/go.to/modix/now/startseite.html

Here are the Prices in Germany

http://suchen.mobile.de/neu/auto/suche.html?ref=FirstRegNewCar&mke=1700

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Is this going to be a daily driver? Without being funny, even the fuel bills will burn a hole in your pocket and then the maintenance on top of it (And I like big block, fuel guzzling cars. So that's an easy thing for me to say!) Using it as a daily will also rack up the mileage, meaning your long term sale ability will be reduced. Guy Martin had an Aston, probably the ultimate petrol head, and hated it. I'd try get some time in it before fully committing.

If you can genuinely afford the car, I wish you all the very best with it. Fair play. But your going to need the bones of 5 to €10k extra per year to keep it and run it on the road. An M5 or R32 is about €5k more a piece for me per year than a 'standard' car, and that's a low projection with absolutely nothing going wrong. A gearbox, as has been said, could easily be €6k+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Just as an example, i drive my e36 daily and my fuel bill since January 1st is €1960 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭GavMan

If the guy has built up the cash to buy a brand new AM then servicing and fuel costs probably wont be an issue as he's obviously earning hats of cash to build that kind of cash pile

GavMan wrote: »
    If the guy has built up the cash to buy a brand new AM then servicing and fuel costs probably wont be an issue as he's obviously earning hats of cash to build that kind of cash pile

I'm a woman actually...

The honda jazz is a really decent car! Nice design for the price bracket, and if you look after it like any decent car, it will last you, and it is relatively easy enough on petrol and maintenance costs, etc.

Had I been able to afford an Aston Martin back then I would have, but even then, had I had another 10k to use, I wouldn't have been interested in wasting money on a new polo, or new average car. That to me is the ultimate farce. I'd rather drive a cheap second hand car that do that.

ironclaw wrote: »
    Is this going to be a daily driver? Without being funny, even the fuel bills will burn a hole in your pocket and then the maintenance on top of it (And I like big block, fuel guzzling cars. So that's an easy thing for me to say!) Using it as a daily will also rack up the mileage, meaning your long term sale ability will be reduced. Guy Martin had an Aston, probably the ultimate petrol head, and hated it. I'd try get some time in it before fully committing.

If you can genuinely afford the car, I wish you all the very best with it. Fair play. But your going to need the bones of 5 to €10k extra per year to keep it and run it on the road. An M5 or R32 is about €5k more a piece for me per year than a 'standard' car, and that's a low projection with absolutely nothing going wrong. A gearbox, as has been said, could easily be €6k+

Nope, won't be daily car. It will be spins and longer trips. Rest of the time I get by on train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

THe OP is a lady who passed her driving test in the last year and has a bunch of penalty points
    With other threads on applying for grants, starting small business and being a part time carer there are two options. Either this thread is dreaming or she has come into some money.

OP if you have come into some money then fair play. Expect to pay between 150,000 - 300,000 for a aston Martin new. Expect fuel bills to be in the region of 5-10k a year depending on the engine ( a 12 cylinder aston willl drink huge amounts of fuel). Expect it to depreciate 20% in the first year. Insurance will be 5-15k a year for you at least as a new driver with loads of points. Servicing will be expensive but in this grand scheme nothing much.

Go up to Charles Hurst's in the North, they carry a lot of high value exotics and do the servicing. If the money you have come into is massive then work away, if its a more minor windfall (less than a couple of million) then consider buying a property or two and using the rental income to service a pcp or HP finance option on one, its a much better way to own a car such as this and it leaves your windfall reality intact.

Good luck.

YbFocus wrote: »
    If things have come right for you and you can afford it man then go for it!
    We will of course want pictures :)

They will come lol! Give me 6 -12 months, not buying straight away.

Yes, Jazz's are nice cars tbf. My neighbours have one and never had an issue with it.

Im pretty sure all brand new cars depreciate the same so its a false economy buying a polo or an aston martin if you think that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

Contacting Corgi would be your best bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭11wingnut

POG IT... Do what makes you happy. and best of luck. A spin in the passenger seat would be nice!

THe OP is a lady who passed her driving test in the last year and has a bunch of penalty points
    With other threads on applying for grants, starting small business and being a part time carer there are two options. Either this thread is dreaming or she has come into some money.

OP if you have come into some money then fair play. Expect to pay between 150,000 - 300,000 for a aston Martin new. Expect fuel bills to be in the region of 5-10k a year depending on the engine ( a 12 cylinder aston willl drink huge amounts of fuel). Expect it to depreciate 20% in the first year. Insurance will be 5-15k a year for you at least as a new driver with loads of points. Servicing will be expensive but in this grand scheme nothing much.

Go up to Charles Hurst's in the North, they carry a lot of high value exotics and do the servicing. If the money you have come into is massive then work away, if its a minor windfall then consider buying a property and using the rental income to service a pcp or HP finance option on one, its a much better way to own a car such as this and it leaves your windfall reality intact.

Good luck.

1. Nope, didn't come into a penny.

2. Penalty points aren't that many. There were 6, now 4 after 2 expired. Any I got came about from having to drive from one end of the country to another and for very good reasons could not be late. Big deal. I was never disqualified from driving and rate myself as a very good driver. I got the points mainly from going a few km per hour more than what was the allowed limit.

3. Yes, I was a part-care for my dad. So what? All of my siblings were... what's the point? That means I can't make money?

What you don't know anything about are my qualifications, knowledge and in what subject, and that's where the money talks. I haven't been posting on boards.ie in about 2 years in any significant way and there are lots of things i keep private ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

If you have the bobs then good luck to you. It'll be a hugely expensive car to buy/run however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

This might work for someone with 6 penalty points in a Honda Jazz?

cygnet.jpg

Also - the new fords look kinda Aston Martiny if you squint a bit?

pog it wrote: »

2. Penalty points aren't that many. There were 6, now 4 after 2 expired. Any I got came about from having to drive from one end of the country to another and for very good reasons could not be late. Big deal. I was never disqualified from driving and rate myself as a very good driver. I got the points mainly from going a few km per hour more than what was the allowed limit.

3. Yes, I was a part-care for my dad. So what? All of my siblings were... what's the point? That means I can't make money?

What you don't know anything about are my qualifications, knowledge and in what subject, and that's where the money talks. I haven't been posting on boards.ie in about 2 years in any significant way and there are lots of things i keep private ;)

your account has you posting in the last few months ;)
    Hopefully you have passed your driving test since, might push down your insurance premiums too

your account has you posting in the last few months ;)
    Hopefully you have passed your driving test since, might push down your insurance premiums too

You didn't read what I said. I said I hadn't posted in any 'significant way' in the past 2 years. That shouldn't be hard to understand ;) I think my most recent posts were about recipes and I can't be bothered looking them up!

If you dad has passed OP my condolences.

Your age and the point (regardless of how you got them) will mean 10k a year in insurance.

I dont know anything about you expect what you post online. If you are a online trading mogul and have not suddenly come into some money then you have certainly not allowed the gradual accumulation of wealth, or the carrier by which you have so deservedly earned this vast fortune to colour your posting history. Up to a year ago you were interested in the cost of fixing a car window or the price of a couple of driving lessons, free legal aid and tenants rights, not generally things that people with the kind of income, that makes saving for a new Aston martin possible, think about. But maybe that's why you have the big bucks and I don't.

I begrudge you nothing. Certainly if its not a windfall thats good, cause you will need plenty of regular income to keep a motor like that on the road. I have a wealthy friend who bought a DB9 Volante new in the UK as an investment and it nearly killed him financially.

Not having or having a licence along with penalty points could be construed as significant to this thread imo when looking for advice/info on costs. Its all relative I suppose to what one considers significant or not.

but yeah.

Nope, won't be daily car. It will be spins and longer trips. Rest of the time I get by on train.

I presume then you have a suitable dry storage arranged? Because you can't leave a car like this parked up for any length of time sitting up. It will either be robbed or need to be suitable maintained for weathering (Especially in an Irish climate)

The way I always look at these things is if a car costs X, you need to earn at least twice X under the Irish tax system to afford it, and then some. And that's assuming no other outgoings. People who own these cars clear of all finance and loans are genuinely wealthy as to sink €100k into a car, they needed to earn a minimum of €200k for the car alone.

Your talking someone who is probably on €500k+ for a significant period of time (Doctor, Barrister or Trader money)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

How about an Aston Martin Cygnet? Might suit you better coming from a Jazz...

image.jpg?OriginalImageUrl=%2Fuk%2Fassets%2Fcms%2F182607fd-cde6-43f2-b53b-74287ac0e0d9%2FLarge+Image.jpg%3Fp%3D091216_12%3A33&Width=600&Height=339

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

OP by all means go for it , but keep in mind a car like that is a licence loser and a massive target for gardai at any time. You got points for speeding in a honda jazz.

Also I don't know where you live but on a car like that insurance is going to be expensive anyway, if the only parking you have is on street or you live in a not so good area the cost will rise massively. Id even look in to building a garage and fitting security bollards before bringing the car home , no matter where you live.

If you dad has passed OP my condolences.

I begrudge you nothing.

Disgusting. Worse for you, you are incapable of accepting that you were wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

wtf :confused:

ironclaw wrote: »
    I presume then you have a suitable dry storage arranged? Because you can't leave a car like this parked up for any length of time sitting up. It will either be robbed or need to be suitable maintained for weathering (Especially in an Irish climate)

The way I always look at these things is if a car costs X, you need to earn at least twice X under the Irish tax system to afford it, and then some. And that's assuming no other outgoings. People who own these cars clear of all finance and loans are genuinely wealthy as to sink €100k into a car, they needed to earn a minimum of €200k for the car alone.

Your talking someone who is probably on €500k+ for a significant period of time (Doctor, Barrister or Trader money)

I don't work or live in Ireland. I live on the mainland.

wtf :confused:

Passing me condolences 'if' my dad has passed? He is very much alive and well. I find it utterly disgusting that someone could post that. I already said I didn't inherit a penny... just accept it as fact, or else, move on. don't try and insult people. My father is still unwell.. I don't want any disgusting remarks such as condolences if he has passed on. Absolutely disgusting.

This might work for someone with 6 penalty points in a Honda Jazz?

cygnet.jpg

Also - the new fords look kinda Aston Martiny if you squint a bit?

Honda Jazz is nicer!

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Passing me condolences 'if' my dad has passed? He is very much alive and well. I find it utterly disgusting that someone could post that. I already said I didn't inherit a penny... just accept it as fact, or else, move on. don't try and insult people. My father is still unwell.. I don't want any disgusting remarks such as condolences if he has passed on. Absolutely disgusting.

I think given your posting history and this subject this post seems to be a wind up.

Anyone with the means to buy a €200k car new wouldn't come onto boards.ie looking for advice :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

2. I was never disqualified from driving and rate myself as a very good driver.

In your humble opinion of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

its 'the continent' not the mainland.

Eh, what :confused:, you refereed to him in the past tense

"Yes, I was a part-care for my dad. So what? All of my siblings were... what's the point?"

I would never joke about something like that. Thats unfare of you and not the reaction of somebody rational.

listermint wrote: »
    its 'the continent' not the mainland.

Nope.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mainland
    Mainland Europe, another term for Continental Europe used in many parts of the English-speaking world, but generally not in the United Kingdom; usually in Great Britain, and sometimes in Ireland, mainland Europe is referred to as The Continent or just Europe.

Eh, what :confused:, you refereed to him in the past tense

"Yes, I was a part-care for my dad. So what? All of my siblings were... what's the point?"

I would never joke about something like that. Thats unfare of you and not the reaction of somebody rational.

I referred to my part-time role in the past, not my father's health. Besides I had already told you I hadn't inherited anything when said this. You did so to keep going with your insinuations.

I'm beginning to see why I'm the one buying the aston martin.

I think given your posting history and this subject this post seems to be a wind up.

Anyone with the means to buy a €200k car new "ON THE MAINLAND" wouldn't come onto boards.ie looking for advice :cool:
    FYP. ;)

Custard proof and we'll admit we are jaded sceptics but until then - wumming and a poor attempt at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,526 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Im still very much on the "This is a troll" thread.

But for the sake of genuine contribution ill ask, why an Aston Martin?

There are luxury sport cars out there that are cheaper and more reliable than AM.

Aston Martins are usually for people who dont need to post on boards looking for advice on which one to get.

Id rather this:

2014-nissan-gt-r-photo-489447-s-986x603.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Rabies wrote: »
    We'd all do the same if we could

I'd buy something specifically for the occasion. I'd throw on my work boots and snickers too for the laugh.:D