Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show April 4th 2015 at 9.50pm

• 04-04-2015 7:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

I was talking to my old friend Bobby DeNiro during the week.

He said "Skid, I'll give you two pieces of advice. If nobody has started the SNS thread by 8.30pm, do it yourself. And cut out the name dropping".

So here we go,

Marty Morrissey your man off the GAA commentary and other RTE things

Pippa O'Connor Blogger and wife of Brian Ormond

Pat Rabbitte Soon to be Former Politician. Talks a lot of crap

Duke Special Long haired Northern Ireland singer

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSoP_ojnIRplkeXoaHhAEPOg9zYrTeSyNa_rxlnSFef627iAwQI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

I will be here tonight. Had a glorious day, thanks for asking and Pat Rabbitte having a three way with Linda Martin and Twink couldn't dampen my spirits. Well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Is it Marty Morrissey on tonight, or 'Marty Morrissey'?

Bs2q-PeCIAAJFZU.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Evening all, Skid how is good auld Bobby doing these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

cofy wrote: »
    Evening all, Skid how is good auld Bobby doing these days?

He's in good form, cofy. Keeping the head down, doing the odd acting workshop
    here and there

While we are waiting for Brendan, I found this:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,407 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Once again the RTE canteen is visited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Pat Rabbitte should be fun, if he brings his serious face I could see him potentially walking.

Yo. :)

easter-kitty.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

If you haven't seen the photo of Marty in the RTE TEN article promoting tonight's episode - then you might be better off.

Uh-huh-huh. :o:o:D:D;);)

http://www.rte.ie/ten/news/2015/0403/691953-martys-party-comes-to-saturday-night-show/

M

They need to also build a Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal.

IMHO, the centenary of the Easter Rising should be only a time for remembering - and not a time for celebrating as well.

Just as the centenary of the Titanic should have only been a time for remembering.

:o:o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭United Chester Men

If I was an RTE exec and the only thing I saw of his show was that opening monologue he tries, I would fire him also. Painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

My eyes....my eyes....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

"A couple of cousins"

Or as they're also known, his parents.

Marty really does look like a man wearing a latex fat suit (with wig).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

They should have left Marty on the afternoon slot on Radio One.. It was such a difference to hear somebody with a positive attitude in the afternoons instead of somebody sighing and giving out.... (whether that be either Mooney or D'Arcy)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Evening all. Marty's hair is a personality in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭United Chester Men

So the two boys both got dumped for Darcy!

M

It must have been a pre agreed ceasefire with the ladies of the audience where they wouldn't throw up their knickers at him if he undone the top shirt buttons.

Two minutes into the interview and he has mentioned "the craic" three times already. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

He looks like a fat version of Callan!

Brendan mentioned his arch nemesis Ray D'Arcy :)

Spare a thought for poor Ger Canning here.

He has commentated on All-Ireland Finals for 30 years now, and in that time he has also commentated on soccer more often than not, and has presented RTE's greyhound coverage.

Yet it's Marty who gets all the attention.

Evening all. Marty's hair is a personality in itself.

And its all his own hair too.

He has the receipt to prove it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I will not have a bad word said against Marty- he's the soundest fella you could ever meet. We've a few mutual friends so I've met him a few times and he's a dote. Brilliant craic and never a cross word for anyone.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Two minutes into the interview and he has mentioned "the craic" three times already. :rolleyes:

Marty's a craic addict. Just as long as he doesn't mention this when he's going through New York customs, he'll be fine.

The glamour on my screen is something else.

It's about time Marty Morrissey and (Stephen) Morrissey teamed up for a duet

The last of the famous international playboys.

The RTE Live Player seems to have gone into widescreen mode :pac:

Cork man of the month.

Christ above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,552 ✭✭✭CH3OH

Cork man of the month.

Christ above.

With the week that's in it.
    Jesus is an appropriate choice

M

20 years time Google's self driving car will get many's a drunk home safely, the future is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,552 ✭✭✭CH3OH

20 years time Google's self driving car will get many's a drunk home safely, the future is good.

They haven't figured out how to handle the potholes

Aw, de mammies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Be still my beating heart, it's Marty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

It's nice to listen to someone who isn't grumpy or overly opinionated. And yet is articulate enough to have an opinion. Marty gets an awful slagging (sure look at this thread alone!) but in fairness I do think he's a good broadcaster so what to looks matter so long as he's doing a good job.

Feck off Marty. He just wants a free junket to Australia every couple of years.

So who agrees with Marty about International Rules? :o:);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Meangadh wrote: »
    I will not have a bad word said against Marty- he's the soundest fella you could ever meet. We've a few mutual friends so I've met him a few times and he's a dote. Brilliant craic and never a cross word for anyone.

You're right. Met him once at the all star awards and he was a genuinely personable bloke with no hang ups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Just tuned in. There is something just so decent and nice about Marty.
    And once again, it's just a relaxed chat, not a forced cue card effort.

Aw, de mammies!

My Mammy's comment about Marty was "Who is this? Has he had an accident? His face is too big for his head"

She hasn't fallen for Marty's Charms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Feck off Marty. He just wants a free junket to Australia every couple of years.

Sure don't we all? :D

That was a lovely clip.:):):)

It's nice to listen to someone who isn't grumpy or overly opinionated. And yet is articulate enough to have an opinion. Marty gets an awful slagging (sure look at this thread alone!) but in fairness I do think he's a good broadcaster so what to looks matter so long as he's doing a good job.

That's all part of the Marty charm. It's how he gets the women. Brian Ormond had better be afraid. Very afraid.......

Call that a party?!

No wet t-shirt contest, no 'Yard Of Ale' contest!

Boo-urns :(

You can just imagine who was in charge of the car pack. A young lad wearing a dirty woollen hat on the very top of his head directing people into a mucky field.

I think he is a rubbish commentator to be honest & that is part of why he gets slagged off as much as he does. He gets high profile sports broadcasting gigs because he is "a character" and is well in with powers that be in RTE. The likes of Daragh Maloney wipe the floor with him imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

I like the way Brendan says "lets look at a taster of the show." or some other way of introducing a video clip for a guest. Tubridy sounds so mechanical and rehearsed when he shows a clip. Its ticking boxes for tubs.
    I know its just a small presenting style but it really makes a difference after 4-10 clips in one show

At least we would not need subtitles for Marty!

But as I said in post #24, a thought should be spared for Ger Canning as well. :o

Marty has commentated on one All-Ireland Final, however - the first match between Kerry and Galway in 2000 (while Ger was in Australia commentating on the Sydney Olympics).