Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bus Driver AMA

• 04-04-2015 2:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭

DB driver here. 10-20 years experience.
    Set up a fake twitter using a fake email and a VPN to sign up to boards, so i can speak freely.
    Am pretty much disgusted by the lies posted here by a hardcore few posters.
    I see a few DB drivers try to tell the truth but get no where, no matter how many times they show certain posters are lying these same lies reappear a few months later.
    This being a long weekend I’m of work for a few days, stuck at home watching TV and web surfing so i said to myself why not do a Reddit style AMA and tell you what it is really like to be a Dublin Bus Driver, i will answer any questions asked this weekend, 100% the truth no bull.
    If you the public know what is really happening it will lead to myself and other drivers having a easier job, we are not the enemy plotting against you, we have nothing to hide, once you realise that everyone will be better off.
    Hopefully the answers contained in this AMA will be used as the foundation for Mods to create a sticky at the top of the page, containing answers for all of the complaints and perceived injustices that people have towards Dublin Bus Drivers.
    So if you have a question ask away.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Do you ever have days where you just want to go right, that's it, pitch a fit and throw everyone off your bus? How close did you get to it?

I wouldn't last a day in your job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Na you're grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Why are dogs not allowed freely on buses? It's so humiliating having to beg the driver to let me on to a half empty bus with my little pooch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭redpass

Silverfish wrote: »
    Do you ever have days where you just want to go right, that's it, pitch a fit and throw everyone off your bus? How close did you get to it?

I wouldn't last a day in your job.

No, we are not mental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Are there any progression prospects for a DB driver? Once you're a driver, is there a possibility you can progress to any higher position inside the company or is it just a case of hanging in there and getting pay rises in the long run?

Also, what is the average salary and what is the highest salary you can reach while being a bus driver?

Why are dogs not allowed freely on buses? It's so humiliating having to beg the driver to let me on to a half empty bus with my little pooch.

Dogs have been know to Pixx and shxx on the bus, guss who gets the blame? The driver.
    If a dog bites/nips a passenger the driver will be held responsible for letting it on the bus.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Are there any progression prospects for a DB driver? Once you're a driver, is there a possibility you can progress to any higher position inside the company or is it just a case of hanging in there and getting pay rises in the long run?

Also, what is the average salary and what is the highest salary you can reach while being a bus driver?

Have not had pay rise since 2007.
    Earn 40k a year, with overtime.
    Zero prospect of promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

redpass wrote: »
    Have not had pay rise since 2007.
    Earn 40k a year, with overtime.
    Zero prospect of promotion.

remember though red not all get 40k you have to do extra hours rest days etc to get up there.

Also remember been spare drivers have even worse conditions.

Dogs have been know to Pixx and shxx on the bus, guss who gets the blame? The driver.
    If a dog bites/nips a passenger the driver will be held responsible for letting it on the bus.

Doesn't help me transport my dog across the city :mad:

remember though red not all get 40k you have to do extra hours rest days etc to get up there.

Also remember been spare drivers have even worse conditions.

Agree 100% , im in the job 10-20 years.
    Have no reason to lie, i earn 40k year with overtime, i fully believe the more the traveling public know about the job the more they will support us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Expecting to bring your dog on a bus is a bit silly tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

How many wheels are on your bus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

OP Have you driven the nitelink buses? Any memorable journeys driving a nitelink?

and when your little dog takes a leak on a seat and someone sits on it when you get off the bus,or the little dog just playfully nips the leg of a school child, who do you thinks gets the blame?

Why do so many drivers not have a clue of correct leap fares? I'm always charged different fares, even though I take the same four buses to the same four stops each day!

Is it a lack of training, or crap machinery?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Are bus drivers qualified to drive all buses in the garage or are they assigned to a specific class?

What's wrong with the front doors on the GT? I often hear drivers having to reopen and close it again before setting off from a stop.

If you drive GTs or SGs, how do you utilise the centre doors? Every stop or just busy stops?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Any Dublin Bus drivers remaining who drove a Dublin Bus when it had the CIE logo? The last double deckers to sport this were the green bombardier types.

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    OP Have you driven the nitelink buses? Any memorable journeys driving a nitelink?

Remember a few years ago the school disco craze?
    A fight broke out on bus, man dressed in outfit like angus young acdc got beat up, men who beat him up ran away , guards arrived and the "school boy" went mad at me because i did not get out of cab to help him, became very violent, guard arrest him. i laugh at the idea of him spending the night in jail wearing school boys uniform.

Agree 100% , im in the job 10-20 years.
    Have no reason to lie, i earn 40k year with overtime, i fully believe the more the traveling public know about the job the more they will support us.

Why should you be paid more? 40k seems decent enough wage for what is essentially a low skilled job.

Why do so many drivers not have a clue of correct leap fares? I'm always charged different fares, even though I take the same four buses to the same four stops each day!

Is it a lack of training, or crap machinery?

Why dont you just ask for the fare that you want?

Didn't exactly answer my question, but - because the leap and db sites always said to state your destination!

Why should you be paid more? 40k seems decent enough wage for what is essentially a low skilled job.

What do you do for a living to be classing it a low skilled job?

Nim wrote: »
    Are bus drivers qualified to drive all buses in the garage or are they assigned to a specific class?

What's wrong with the front doors on the GT? I often hear drivers having to reopen and close it again before setting off from a stop.

If you drive GTs or SGs, how do you utilise the centre doors? Every stop or just busy stops?

Drivers trained to drive all buses in garage.
    So many safety features built into doors it can sometimes take a while for them to open.
    Not all stops are suitable for centre door usage. remember if something goes wrong the driver will be held responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭VG31

If a someone complains about a rude driver, what happens to the driver?

Do you use the centre doors when safe to do so? If not why?

Do you know why some drivers don't use the handbrake at stops on the GTs/SGs meaning everyone has to listen to that door alarm?

As a driver is there any particular bus type you prefer?

Dublin Bus are hiring at the moment, fill yer boots.

Are you just going to give snarky answers to questions you don't like?

Didn't exactly answer my question, but - because the leap and db sites always said to state your destination!

Ok, nothing to hide.
    Sometimes the stages that are on the web site and on the ticket machine are not the same, this can cause confusion when passenger say the fare is abc and the driver says the ticket machine says xyz.
    Just say which fare you want 99% of drivers wont quiz you.

Dozer Dave wrote: »
    What do you do for a living to be classing it a low skilled job?

What I do has no bearing on whether driving a bus is a low skilled job, Dublin bus determine that for me when they presumably only require someone with a leaving cert and a licence. Maybe not even a leaving cert is required!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

I thought it was an appropriate answer to an insulting question.

Expecting to bring your dog on a bus is a bit silly tbh

I bring him to work with me - I need to go on the bus to get to work,

I thought it was an appropriate answer to an insulting question.

Why is it insulting?

Some people's sense of entitlement is insulting. 40k is a good wage. If you think you deserve more then start giving reasons as to why??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Do you intentionally write so many of your posts to sound unpleasant?

VG31 wrote: »
    If a someone complains about a rude driver, what happens to the driver?

Do you use the centre doors when safe to do so? If not why?

Do you know why some drivers don't use the handbrake at stops on the GTs/SGs meaning everyone has to listen to that door alarm?

As a driver is there any particular bus type you prefer?

Driver complains are all investigated, who know if they are true?
    Not all stops safe to open center doors.
    Dont know why they would not use hand break, it would give your foot a rest.
    All the buses are basically the same to drive, VT just a bit more awkward.

Why you not apply to earn a fortune working for Dublin Bus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Get a car, then. The world owes you and your dog nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Delboy2015

Do you switch routes often?
    What would be your favourite route?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

OP, Is this the Feel Sorry for the Bus Driver thread because all your responses are " The Driver gets the blame"

Guide dogs are allowed.
    No driver would ever stop a guide dog from getting on a bus, in fact myself and many other drivers have helped visually impaired passengers cross the road when they have got to there destination.

What I do has no bearing on whether driving a bus is a low skilled job, Dublin bus determine that for me when they presumably only require someone with a leaving cert and a licence. Maybe not even a leaving cert is required!!

Go back to the high stool, your infantile comments are getting boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    OP, Is this the Feel Sorry for the Bus Driver thread because all your responses are " The Driver gets the blame"

I think what he's trying to say is that it's the driver's responsibility. I don't think he's looking for sympathy.

Saipanne wrote: »
    Get a car, then. The world owes you and your dog nothing.

Maybe Dublin Bus needs to come up with a better policy re. dogs rather than leaving it to the discretion of the driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

OK, Heres my Question

What are the Positives of being a Dublin Bus Driver? (Without mentioning Negatives )

Dont feel sorry for me, ignorance is the cause of most of the problems in the world today, im trying to tell you what is really happening.

If we where to believe the main stream media, it would appear most Muslims are hellbent on killing us in the west, but surprise,surprise i work along side many Muslims and they are exactly the same as everyone else.
    if i never met these Muslims i might believe the media, but i know from first hand experience it is not true.
    The more you know about Dublin Bus the less you hate, most of the problems are beyond Dublin Buses control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

He seems to me to be getting understandably defensive because he went to time and effort to do this and instead of normal questions, he's being used as a flak catcher for any issue that people might ever have had with Dublin Bus or their policies.

Delboy2015 wrote: »
    Do you switch routes often?
    What would be your favourite route?

When you are there 10+ years you get marked in on one route, so the only time you would do another route is overtime or swap duty.
    Every driver likes different routes for different reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Maybe Dublin Bus needs to come up with a better policy re. dogs rather than leaving it to the discretion of the driver.

You can't be serious :confused: The OP has explained the various reasons why dogs aren't allowed on buses - what part are you having trouble understanding? Get a car for you and your dog and cop on.

I don't particularly want people's animals - except guide dogs - on public transport with me and I'd suspect most people feel the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 coltrain

If you get the appropriate licences is it hard to get hired? I'm thinking about starting to get the licence for it but I'm afraid that after paying a lot of money for lessons and tests I'll just be told no in an interview.

Anyone who has ever worked for someone else knows what "you can do it at your discretion" means.
    It is management speak for "you can do it , but if anything goes wrong we will hold you responsible".