Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

annoying fans

• 02-04-2015 4:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1

Are fans a reflection on the sportspeople they follow?? I've just watched the Conor Mcgregor press conference in Dublin and the more idiotic he behaves, the more the fans behave disgracefully.Young children shouting out insults at a champion who hasn't lost in ten years. I was cringing at the thought of other countries thinking this kind of behavior was acceptable in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,994 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

sarge293 wrote: »
    I was cringing at the thought of other countries thinking this kind of behavior was acceptable in this country.

Em, this type of behavior is acceptable in this country. It just that normally you don't pay it attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

that is the way Ireland is these days, a sad reflection on the country, that McGrgeor chap is an absolute disgrace to the place, a boorish lout. Zero Class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

God will the moaning about this event ever stop? Everyone gets it by now: some of you are very displeased -*tsk tsks* noted.

Love Conor and can't wait for the fight in July :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

So basically idiot fans shout idiot stuff at idiot who fights other idiots in idiot sport?

He is up there with Bono in the list of really annoying people who are not remotely as clever as they think they are.

But lest someone pull the begrudgery line, one of them is a great fighter and the other is a great singer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

This was done to the head on JOE yesterday ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

sarge293 wrote: »
    Are fans a reflection on the sportspeople they follow?? I've just watched the Conor Mcgregor press conference in Dublin and the more idiotic he behaves, the more the fans behave disgracefully.Young children shouting out insults at a champion who hasn't lost in ten years. I was cringing at the thought of other countries thinking this kind of behavior was acceptable in this country.

It's cage fighting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You have to give the guy credit for turning himself into a household name in a sport that few people would follow.

kneemos wrote: »
    You have to give the guy credit for turning himself into a household name in a sport that few people would follow.

He's no Sheamus!

Sheamus "I've had bigger sxxxes after a salad" line to McGregor was a little amusing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

This was done to the head on JOE yesterday ..

Was it, okay everyone, no more discussion on this subject, it was done somewhere else yesterday, that does it for me ,I'm off social media for life , the duplicity and repetition is getting too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

He is up there with Bono in the list of really annoying people who are not remotely as clever as they think they are.

But lest someone pull the begrudgery line, one of them is a great fighter and the other is a great singer.

7 million in his pocket from this fight, yeah not really intelligent alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

JustTheOne wrote: »

You think money earned in sport is a yardstick of intelligence?

Ha ha ha ha ha ha! That WB Yeats or Isaac Newton never made 7 mill, the dull donkeys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

All of these media events and prefight antics we're seeing are staged, wrestling style IMO. It's boring. I hope fights in this sport aren't fixed in the same way wresting Is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

The behaviour of the 'fans' was at times disgraceful. Calling Aldo a 'pussy' was terribly insulting and most of the 'questions' were stupid and when someone asked a good one, they were shouted down. Also why anyone would bring their ~7 year old to an event like that is beyond me.

That said, McGregor was an absolute genius and the taking of the belt was planned and executed to a tee. Watch the video again and see how he puts his feet on the table, sees Aldo react, push his chair back and copy him, and then he pounces instantly and takes the belt. McGregor might come across as unintelligent but he is an incredibly smart man, and not just in a business sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Usual wagon rules apply, those who are on it love, those who are not want him to lose and then the rest who couldnt give a single ****e about him or the "sport".

That said, McGregor was an absolute genius...McGregor might come across as unintelligent but he is an incredibly smart man, and not just in a business sense.

I have a very different idea of intelligence.

I think he comes across as fairly stupid but arrogant, as typified by his reaction to some German fighter, calling him a Nazi. Thinking back to all the people I would regard as intelligent and confident not one of them would have behaved like that.

I guess we'll just have to agree to disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

Ugh, I hadn't seen the clip but looked it up there after coming across this thread.

Cringe doesn't even begin to describe it. I hope yer man Aldo absolutely whups him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

This UFC malarkey seems to attract the same sort of manchild as the WWF did a few years ago. Think lots of beards, bellies and heavy metal t-shirts. The type who could do with spending less time watching men in shorts grappling each other, and more time in shorts themselves getting to grips with the concept of regular exercise.

I have a very different idea of intelligence.

I think he comes across as fairly stupid but arrogant, as typified by his reaction to some German fighter, calling him a Nazi. Thinking back to all the people I would regard as intelligent and confident not one of them would have behaved like that.

I guess we'll just have to agree to disagree.

I just thought the way he set a trap for Aldo and pounced was beautiful to watch, there's no way it was a spur of the moment, he planned that long before the event and executed it perfectly.

McGregor polarises opinion, but there's no doubt he garners attention, which is all he wants. Love him or loathe him you have to respect how much he has added to the ufc's profile in the media. I like Aldo, but if every fighter was like him, it'd be quite a boring sport; McGregor adds a spice to an event that nobody comes close to emulating.

Ha ha ha ha ha ha! That WB Yeats or Isaac Newton never made 7 mill, the dull donkeys!

He has been very clever in working his way to a title shot in two years through talking and bigging himself up, I really don't think that's how he is in real life, but he has got people's attention whether it's good or bad.

He will walk away a millionaire after it all, to me that's intelligent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,828 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

The fact that they chant "there's only one Conor....." Is quite amusing as they stand there in their top man suits, with their stupid haircuts, trash talking like mini McGregors.

I have a lot of respect for what he has done. The persona and no lack of skill in his field are going to make him a lot of money. Fair play to him for that and fair play to the UFC for capitalising on the void left by the decline of boxing.

I just thought the way he set a trap for Aldo and pounced was beautiful to watch, there's no way it was a spur of the moment, he planned that long before the event and executed it perfectly.

Again, to me that is not genius, some move at a press conference that had to be carefully planned. I would have thought you could train a monkey to pounce on something given the right signal.

He has been very clever in working his way to a title shot in two years through talking and bigging himself up, I really don't think that's how he is in real life, but he has got people's attention whether it's good or bad.

He will walk away a millionaire after it all, to me that's intelligent.

Equating money and success in sport with intelligence is depressing imho, and possibly highlights the OP's point.

Would that make David Beckham one of the most intelligent people ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I didn't know Conor McGregor could sing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Equating money and success in sport with intelligence is depressing imho, and possibly highlights the OP's point.

Did you not just say that on the last page..? Success in sport and intelligence, conversely, are not mutually exclusive. Vladimir Klitschko, for example, earned a phd in sports science and is a chess grand master. I'm not a fan of mcgregor or his sport, but fair play to him all the same.

Totally different Beckham married a spice girl and was good looking, lauded by young girls.

Conor has worked his way up, world and European champion and wiped the floor with every opponent in the ufc.

He has got the worlds attention, whether it's good or bad.

There is no sport that matches the skill and dedication.

Those bandwagoners the other day ruined the imaged and now people tar the sport and everyone in the same light.

Sure in Brazil fans where calling conors mother a tranny and abusing him from a height.

Every sport has idiots following it from rugby, soccer gaa.

What shows a lack of intelligence and ignorance is when people who know nothing about the sport but see a few drunken idiots mouth off, suddenly come to the conclusion it's like wrestling and staged.

Please try look at the sport before making lazy assumptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,828 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Boxing is bigger now than it was 10 years ago.

And how is that measured?

Again, to me that is not genius, some move at a press conference that had to be carefully planned. I would have thought you could train a monkey to pounce on something given the right signal.

Except that he managed to get a reaction from one of the coolest heads in the division. With Aldo, the usual behaviour of opponents is for them to act like McGregor and he just laughs it off, and then destroys them in the cage. This time however, McGregor did something, Aldo tried to copy which shows the tables have turned, and then McGregor took full advantage. Purely from a psychological standpoint it was beautiful to watch, and anyone looking to try and gain psychological advantage in any sport should take notes from this guy.

endacl wrote: »
    Did you not just say that on the last page..? Success in sport and intelligence, conversely, are not mutually exclusive. Vladimir Klitschko, for example, earned a phd in sports science and is a chess grand master. I'm not a fan of mcgregor or his sport, but fair play to him all the same.

I believe on this forum one is allowed to answer more than once, and is not limited to coming up with a novel answer each time!

I'm just surprised at the equation of success in physical sports with intelligence. You yourself, in your post, measured Klitschko's intelligence by matters other than boxing. Of course I accept that the two are not exclusive, see for example...

http://www.engadget.com/2015/03/22/nfl-player-publishes-math-papers/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

In a sport where the aim is winning, selling yourself and promoting yourself, conor mcgregor is a genius.
    Love him or hate him, if you can't see that you're just in denial for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

RomanKnows wrote: »
    This UFC malarkey seems to attract the same sort of manchild as the WWF did a few years ago. Think lots of beards, bellies and heavy metal t-shirts. The type who could do with spending less time watching men in shorts grappling each other, and more time in shorts themselves getting to grips with the concept of regular exercise.

I think that's Star Trek fans you're talking about.
    Totally different Beckham married a spice girl and was good looking, lauded by young girls.

Conor has worked his way up, world and European champion and wiped the floor with every opponent in the ufc.

Those bandwagoners the other day ruined the imaged and now people tar the sport and everyone in the same light.

Sure in Brazil fans where calling conors mother a tranny and abusing him from a height.

Every sport has idiots following it from rugby, soccer gaa.

What shows a lack of intelligence and ignorance is when people who know nothing about the sport but see a few drunken idiots mouth off, suddenly come to the conclusion it's like wrestling and staged.

Please try look at the sport before making lazy assumptions.

None of this disputes the point: successs at a sport does not imply being inteligent. Hard work, commitment, dedication - sure - but none of those qualities make you intelligent. Nor does marrying a Spice Girl make you hard working or dedicated: the fact that Beckham married a spice girl has absolutely no influence on anything he did on a football pitch.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ah come on now! "The world's attention"? "No sport matches the skill and dedication"? Let's not turn this into a comedy routine!

You are evidently a fan of the sport. Good for you. But know the limitations, don't assume that someone who is good at the sport you love is intelligent because of that.

And Beckham had the intelligence to not call a German a "Nazi". Plus has made a lot more than McGregor ever will, ability to make money being the yardstick you initially used to measure intelligence. And along the way he really may have grabbed "the world's attention".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

Footballers in particular are should we say not the brightest spark. Rooney has a good bit more than 7 million in his bank. His intelligence, erm.

As for this fighter, who?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You only hear the loud noisy fools because the more collected reserved fools just don't bother to speak over'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Don't begrudge the lad his success. As for his attitude, well everyone lapped Muhammed Alis self promotion back in the day. Seems to be how combat sports operate.
    The fans....well yeah a lot seem like clowns but haven't seen anything you wouldn't see when Ireland qualify for a football tournament, they just get the opportunity to abuse opponents at a media event instead of just the stadium.
    Hey at least its someone Irish they are supporting instead of the clowns who go around supporting the 'Titans', 'Cowboys' or 'Patriots' every February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Except that he managed to get a reaction from one of the coolest heads in the division. With Aldo, the usual behaviour of opponents is for them to act like McGregor and he just laughs it off, and then destroys them in the cage. This time however, McGregor did something, Aldo tried to copy which shows the tables have turned, and then McGregor took full advantage. Purely from a psychological standpoint it was beautiful to watch, and anyone looking to try and gain psychological advantage in any sport should take notes from this guy.

your giving FARR to much credit here.

Cienciano wrote: »
    conor mcgregor is a genius.

Look, well just agree to differ. I don't think anyone who calls a German a Nazi is that clever at all. But if he once pounced on something and hit people very hard, good for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

I think that's Star Trek fans you're talking about.

Yep the uniform of these lads is dodgy beard, slicked back hair with top man suit... and not forgetting the sleeve tattoo for added individuality.

There are different forms of intelligence, one aspect where his is highly intelligent is with respect to "body intelligence".

Could you describe this for me in more detail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

They're just going overboard at the moment to try and desperately grab some of the attention away from Mayweather v Pacquiao even though the Aldo v McGregor fight is still 3 months away. None of the hype as big as this should be happening this early because a lot of people will just lose steam until the actual fight happens. If they did all this in the two or three weeks leading up to the fight it'd be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

There are different forms of intelligence, one aspect where his is highly intelligent is with respect to "body intelligence".

Is that really a form of intelligence? I just googled it and it appears to be more a form of training and a form of intelligence.

Look, well just agree to differ. I don't think anyone who calls a German a Nazi is that clever at all. But if he once pounced on something and hit people very hard, good for him.

So calling someone a name they probably shouldn't equates to a lack of intelligence?

That's pretty much every person living or who has ever lived.

So calling someone a name they probably shouldn't equates to a lack of intelligence?

That's pretty much every person living or who has ever lived.

Actually, calling a German a Nazi is not simply vulgar, it betrays an ignorance of history, current affairs and so on.

But either way the argument is that he is intelligent. I don't think he is. And I don't think being good at sport or pouncing on something at a press conference because someone else leans away demonstrates it. Or making lots of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

I cannot understand how any sensible adult could fall for this nonsense. A load of knackers roaring and posturing at each other - full of booze and blood lust. Shameful.
    it should be consigned to the bin along with WWF/WWE/WWWFT.

Just because someone has little interest in history does not mean they aren'the intelligent.

They should at least know about it.

i'm not saying the guy is stupid - I'm saying he's not intelligent simply because he's good at sport. I know plenty of people who are intelligent and good at sport, but they're good at sport becaue the read a lot, go to arts events and learn how to use the knowledge they've learnt in order to interract with others.

Doesn't appear to be the case with McGregor.

LorMal wrote: »
    I cannot understand how any sensible adult could fall for this nonsense. A load of knackers roaring and posturing at each other - full of booze and blood lust. Shameful.
    it should be consigned to the bin along with WWF/WWE/WWWFT.

When you say "fall for" are you implying that MMA is staged and scripted?

The ability to understand the effects of physics on your body and use your body to great effect in its environment.

So John Terry, Frank Bruno, Pacman Jones and other sports stars are intelligent, qualifying through this "body intelligence" test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

iDave wrote: »
    Don't begrudge the lad his success. As for his attitude, well everyone lapped Muhammed Alis self promotion back in the day.

Ali has more wit and intelligence in his little finger than McGregor-and more importantly his handlers-could possibly fathom.

Even suffering from advanced Parkinson's, I feel he could still cut the legs (in a verbal contest) from under boorish, lowest common denominator chancers such as McGregor without breaking sweat