Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cement mixer

• 01-04-2015 8:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭

So my bloody mixer died today. it seized on me. Owed me nothing in fairness to it.
    As I'm gonna have to replace it What mixers do ye use or what are good makes nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Reggie. wrote: »
    So my bloody mixer died today. it seized on me. Owed me nothing in fairness to it.
    As I'm gonna have to replace it What mixers do ye use or what are good makes nowadays.

Budget? I've a small bell mixer for little bits, good wee mixer for bits and pieces. I've a tractor one for bigger jobs around the farm that makes a super mix and I usually hire a tow behind on contracting work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Miname wrote: »
    Budget? I've a small bell mixer for little bits, good wee mixer for bits and pieces. I've a tractor one for bigger jobs around the farm that makes a super mix and I usually hire a tow behind on contracting work.

Just a small one for small bits such as concreting in posts and such

Get a bell mixer then. The wee petrol ones are seriously handy and last forever but dear enough. Around 600 mark, electric around 350.

Wouldn't mind paying money for good equipment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

We used mix it by hand if doing a small bit....pain in the balls setting up mixer washing it etc
    Painting wheelbarrow etc for a small tiny bit

Though you'll pick up right good second belle mixers on donedeal and parts are fairly easily available for them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I have one of these. Mixes well enough. The linkage/tipping geometry is suited for 135's etc, so if using on a bigger tractor, a hydraulic toplink may be needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I have one of these. Mixes well enough. The linkage/tipping geometry is suited for 135's etc, so if using on a bigger tractor, a hydraulic toplink may be needed.

Have the same, old one and added the hydraulic top link which is a mighty job. Reggie, for a farm you'd want a tractor one I'd assume as you could be making piers etc around the land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We bought a belle with a B&S engine at work a few years ago.. €850 :eek:

Think it was €200 cheaper with some crappy make of engine fitted..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

I bought a belle petrol mixer 2nd hand from a fella/shop in Newport co. Mayo ex UK 2003 for E300 .. Best little yoke ever .. Handy as a small pot! e60 a week to hire it ... Paid for itself over and over again!

Plastic running gear in Belle mixers during the boom .. They have reverted back to metal running gear in newest models .. Mine has the older metal running gear !

Have the same, old one and added the hydraulic top link which is a mighty job. Reggie, for a farm you'd want a tractor one I'd assume as you could be making piers etc around the land?

I find the little petrol ones handy for bringing to the in laws as needed

_Brian wrote: »
    We bought a belle with a B&S engine at work a few years ago.. €850 :eek:

Think it was €200 cheaper with some crappy make of engine fitted..

A lad from over your way let a couple go very cheap a few months back. 6 odd with a Briggs and Stratton is what I was quoted a couple of months back. They get a good bit of work through me so maybe that's the reason. But 850 is way too dear for those mixers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

A lad from over your way let a couple go very cheap a few months back. 6 odd with a Briggs and Stratton is what I was quoted a couple of months back. They get a good bit of work through me so maybe that's the reason. But 850 is way too dear for those mixers

Keep away from the Robin engines. Always found the Honda to be reliable. Plastic gears weren't that big an issue tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I have a an electrical one. It is over twenty year old. Never had to service it or put petrol in it. Best of the lot it is silent. Recently had a couple fella doing a job and they had to mix a bit. They taught it was brillant. No cord to pull just plug it in and away you go.

Buy a 110V one and you will never look back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Got an electric mixer in Aldi or Lidl years ago, didn't use it for years, then petrol mixer died on the job. Plugged in electric mixer and away she went, mix all day day long. Like Pudsey said it's quiet and I do like that about it. Petrol mixers are awful noisy. Fair enough an electric one isn't as portable. Now, unless I was out in the boonies I wouldn't look past the electric mixer.

No problems with waterproof issues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

We were working outside and I didn't get zapped, can't remember what the weather was like last time using it. Done a lot of the little walls around the PT with it, hummed along all day mixing away.

But a 110V mixer and a 110V extension lead. You can even mic concrete aftera few pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

An electric would be my preference too. Silent and reliable.

I never had cause or the work to buy one. Blocklayer or plasterer would have their own.

If concreting in posts, I go to local readymix plant, drive tractor trailer with box (lined with green damp proof membrane) in under plant and get a few m3 of a 'dry mix' dumped in ;) The only job. Good shelf life and you can shovel off into holes at your ease.

You have to get aggregate and cement anyway, so why not get them to mix it?? And you haven't half loads strewn around the yard that inevitably get wasted (driven or shat on).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Muckit wrote: »
    And you haven't half loads strewn around the yard that inevitably get wasted (driven or shat on).

****ting in the sand in this day and age is just animalistic Muckit, indoor plumbing isn't too dear you know !😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

they are also renowned for losing their load

only a month ago I drove up the road and was confronted by a hump of concrete in the middle of the road, I passed it out and caught up with the neighbour who was still driving away on the tractor, he hadn't a clue he lad lost his load :D:pac:

they are also renowned for losing their load

only a month ago I drove up the road and was confronted by a hump of concrete in the middle of the road, I passed it out and caught up with the neighbour who was still driving away on the tractor, he hadn't a clue he lad shot his load :D:pac:

Corrected that

Mate reckons that it will cost around 200 to repair the mixer so might end up going that way but might invest in an electric one for the handiness of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

I find electric one a good job. hired a petrol one before and it kept cutting out, arms were wrecked trying to start all day. have five foot bucket for tractor so just fill it if iv to go to an out farm with concrete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

Have the small electric bell one here for about 10 years and it's used fairly often. Can run a 110 lead out from the shed for most work around the yard and have a genny for out an about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭memorystick

Thinking of buying the Belle with the Honda engine. Has anyone bought a second hand one? There about €950 new. I'm a bit nervous of buying something second hand that someone like me might have owned!

I haven't bought anything like that lately but 950 sound wicked dear , have you priced around ?
    I wouldn't be afraid to buy secondhand if you can see it running and it's not too dear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,578 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Forget about petrol buy electric 110v one you will never go back to diesel or Petrol mixers

Slava Ukrainii

I didn't price yet only on done deal and google. I've no power on farm. Petrol is handier for field work. Going to make a few calls tomorrow

Would a PTO one not be handier?
    Easy to make up a mix in the yard where the sand is, then run out to the field to cement in a gate post etc.

Would a PTO one not be handier?
    Easy to make up a mix in the yard where the sand is, then run out to the field to cement in a gate post etc.

Yes and no. It ties up a tractor and any time I drove across field she often tipped!!! I hate a tractor ticking over at that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Have a Belle petrol mixer here the last 15 years or more. Only put a spark into since new, buy it new buy it once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

Yes and no. It ties up a tractor and any time I drove across field she often tipped!!! I hate a tractor ticking over at that job.

Oh I been there, fooker tipped and then the scramble scooping up the mix and avoiding earth and grass.

raypallas wrote: »
    Have a Belle petrol mixer here the last 15 years or more. Only put a spark into since new, buy it new buy it once.

Are all Belle petrol models the same? I'm looking at the prices before I phone and there's prices from 790 to 1100! Am I missing something? I assume there is only 1 type of petrol model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,578 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Are all Belle petrol models the same? I'm looking at the prices before I phone and there's prices from 790 to 1100! Am I missing something? I assume there is only 1 type of petrol model.

Unless the models are different in size or they have different makes of petrol engine. But I think they are all the same it case of shopping around

Slava Ukrainii

I know I'm a bit out of spec but if ye look on done deal you will see a few old lister diesel mixers that hold about 2 1/2 barrows and have a drawbar with axel on them
    I know its a different kettle of fish but they are a tidy job that can be moved easy, run on a sniff of green diesel and have a bit bigger capacity than a belle . Between 600 and a 1000 will get a decent one aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Bullocks wrote: »
    I know I'm a bit out of spec but if ye look on done deal you will see a few old lister diesel mixers that hold about 2 1/2 barrows and have a drawbar with axel on them
    I know its a different kettle of fish but they are a tidy job that can be moved easy, run on a sniff of green diesel and have a bit bigger capacity than a belle . Between 600 and a 1000 will get a decent one aswell

I know lister have a name for being bulletproof but small diesels can be a martyr to damaged injectors. I'd agree with your earlier post about the secondhand belles esp from a decent hireshop. They'd be well maintained. Drum might be a bit shook but the rest will be fresh. Keep away from later models with Honda engines. The Robin was much better which was a complete reversal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Have a petrol belle here, maybe 4-5 years old, was €800+ back then.

Great mixer and if minded will do 15-20 years of service.

I know lister have a name for being bulletproof but small diesels can be a martyr to damaged injectors. I'd agree with your earlier post about the secondhand belles esp from a decent hireshop. They'd be well maintained. Drum might be a bit shook but the rest will be fresh. Keep away from later models with Honda engines. The Robin was much better which was a complete reversal.
    Can new injectors be got or is it much trouble to take them out and get them reconditioned ?
    Ya I used one with a Robin engine and found it grand to start and maybe even quieter/smoother than the Honda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Doyle's in Carlow have an offer this weekend.

Is the robin the same as the belle?

Bullocks wrote: »
    Can new injectors be got or is it much trouble to take them out and get them reconditioned ?
    Ya I used one with a Robin engine and found it grand to start and maybe even quieter/smoother than the Honda

They can be got. I have a single cylinder lister generator, and last year it couldn't be got started after lying up all winter.
    Brought the injector up to a guy called Lambe in Shercock, and it was ruined. (Water in diesel).
    He had a new one in the stores, I think it was 80 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Got a secondhand Belle (petrol) a few years back. Good yoke, for all the use I give it, but it sometimes has a habit of cutting out when tipping over. Anyone else have this? Dealer serviced it and replaced plugs etc. but it still happens occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Who2

MfMan wrote: »
    Got a secondhand Belle (petrol) a few years back. Good yoke, for all the use I give it, but it sometimes has a habit of cutting out when tipping over. Anyone else have this? Dealer serviced it and replaced plugs etc. but it still happens occasionally.

If it’s low in petrol and you tip them the supply gets interrupted and they cut out. Keep it topped up and itll be grand it does on mine anyway. If anyone uses one regularly don’t throw out the idea of a fast tow mixer. Not overly expensive , you have a decent sized barrel on it and they don’t depreciate in value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

i have a petrol belle for sale if anybody is interested. Runs spot on. Be looking 425 for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

i have a petrol belle for sale if anybody is interested. Runs spot on. Be looking 425 for it

Put up a picture and start the bidding war.
    I will open the bidding at €62

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Hope to pick up my new cement mixer this weekend.

No half bag mixes with This girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Track9

Are you sure that's not a SuperTanker :D Happy Mixing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Track9 wrote: »
    Are you sure that's not a SuperTanker :D Happy Mixing?

1 meter cubed. Mix about 6/7 m3 an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Waternotsoda

1 meter cubed. Mix about 6/7 m3 an hour.

What price is something like that. What hp tractor is required to power it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Hope to pick up my new cement mixer this weekend.

No half bag mixes with This girl.

That’s the one I have but work it on the lift. Nearly 3ton full. I put 8 bags of cement into it. Bought for a specific job but just couldn’t part with it. New in McCord machinery. Nearly €4K if memory serves me right. Drive an IBC full of water over it and put same amount of water in each mix. Mixes a few dozen fills every year. Just after mixing a dry mix to stand pillars. Very handy yoke which should be used for a few days every year. By law. Lol.
    Half the price of ready mix I reckon.
    Bit more work but no waiting around for lorry with a few meters.