Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buckfast

• 22-03-2015 12:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭

Is it really the Marmite of alcohol?
    I personally love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

The drink if the True alcoholic.... :pac:

We used to call it

-F*ckfast

-Blindfast

-On-yer-back-fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Omackeral wrote: »
    We used to call it

-F*ckfast

-Blindfast

-On-yer-back-fast
    Wreck the hoose juice
    Monk-ey punch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Gotta love the wiki on it, unless you're one of the monks that make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭VandC

Vile stuff!! Blugh! Recently I saw a naggin of the stuff for sale. Can't believe it's still available, never mind now in a 'smuggle me in the inside of your jacket/bag' size bottle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Patww79 wrote: »
    Aye, so I've heard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Ah Bucky, nothing gets my stomach contents on the street quicker than that ****ing vile ****e.

I'll take bottle a Buckfast and a violent assault please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

Id rather drink Petrol

Omackeral wrote: »
    I'll take bottle a Buckfast and a violent assault please.

That's just part of the buckfast triangle isn't it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Ye do know Bucky now comes in handy dandy 330ml cans now, too.

Apparently Bucksinthe is the new thing, Bucky and Absinthe. Mmmmm, I can taste the Public Order Offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Gotta love the wiki on it, unless you're one of the monks that make it.

A bottle of 'what the hell are you looking at?!' :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Bottled violence...though its not as bad as mad dog 20\20 that was pulled off the shelves fairly quickly here a few years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Bucky on its own isn't too bad. I like the buzz off it. It's when consumed with other drink that it'll get you. Cider and Buckfast is better than any amnesia ray.

Ah the more I hear of public order and stuff I think its got to do with what you drink along side it.
    Red bull is nice with it as it makes it less heavy on the stomach

djflawless wrote: »
    Ah the more I hear of public order and stuff I think its got to do with what you drink along side it.
    Red bull is nice with it as it makes it less heavy on the stomach

Heart would be racing off ya though. Used drink with pepsi during my underage drinking days as I couldn't handle the taste. You could see my heart motoring through my clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

The drink if the True alcoholic.... :pac:

In Scotland maybe,where it sells for about £4.Over here its about a tenner,a true alcoholic knows how to get the most bang for his or her buck.Its mostly teenagers that drink it,it does get you pissed,but even back in the days when my local was the Outdoor Inn I never had a taste for it.Mad Dog 20/20 was my weapon of choice when I wanted to get really drunk really quickly.

Heart would be racing off ya though. Used drink with pepsi during my underage drinking days as I couldn't handle the taste. You could see my heart motoring through my clothes

And if that didn't set your heart off...the shkirts on the chung wans drinking with would ;)

I found that all young wans would automatically remove their clothing upon seeing me sup upon the purified blessed liquid that is Buckleyfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I'd say that a bottle of Buckfast is about €12.50 or thereabouts, these days. Assuming that students are the main target market, doesn't it seem slightly overpriced?

And if its not students drinking it anymore, then who's drinking it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

sentient_6 wrote: »
    A bottle of 'what the hell are you looking at?!' :P

"Commotion Lotion" :pac:

I'd say that a bottle of Buckfast is about €12.50 or thereabouts, these days. Assuming that students are the main target market, doesn't it seem slightly overpriced?

Me :)
    Havnt been a student since me leaving in 2008
    We're paying 12.75 in the local garage.
    13.99 in SuperValu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Bucky Bombs ahoy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

I love it. I honestly enjoy sitting down with some at the end of the day with some ice. If you leave it in the fridge it really becomes something wonderful. I do get that it's not to everyone's taste though.

Noooooo the only time for cold buckfast is in a field at night

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

FOUR out of ten young offenders drank the tonic wine Buckfast before they committed their crimes, a new report has revealed.

Lidl alternative is Nobleman for a fiver. Good tack if you're looking to get mangled. I only drink bucky now if I am feeling nostalgic.

FOUR out of ten young offenders drank the tonic wine Buckfast before they committed their crimes, a new report has revealed.

But mary was pregnant before getting shafted :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Patww79 wrote: »
    Northy Buckfast > Irish Buckfast.

It all comes from the same monastery, no??

I love Bucky. About €14 where I live. Used to get a couple of bottles with my hun mate when Celtic played Rangers. I can get 2 bottle of cheap wine for €13 though and I have a job, so I doubt kids are drinking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Lidl alternative is Nobleman for a fiver. Good tack if you're looking to get mangled. I only drink bucky now if I am feeling nostalgic.

Me too. Or of course, if I want to stay up all night. However, I wouldn't hold out much hope for a fiver. :pac:

I really don't understand why someone would bother, can get 2 bottles of nicer wine at the same strength and a nicer flavour for the price of a bottle of Bucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Me and a man from Monaghan had three bottles a piece.

It shall not be surpassed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

I really don't understand why someone would bother, can get 2 bottles of nicer wine at the same strength and a nicer flavour for the price of a bottle of Bucky.

Its not wine you fool... my god

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

What is this beverage of which you speak?

Buckfast is like syrup in the south. Delicious and something I really miss.. Drank far more nobleman back in the day though cause of the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Only thing I seem to be able to get absolutely wasted on, yet still maintain a good degree of functionality. Of course, I wouldn't consider drinking Bucky, nor any alcohol before anything important, but it makes getting home after a night out a lot easier.

It's like a time machine to tomorrow morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I like it from the fridge too, although it's been a good while since I've had it. This will probably seem disgusting but way back in my student days, there was nothing better that using Buckfast to wash down a corned beef sandwich.
    Me :)
    Havnt been a student since me leaving in 2008
    We're paying 12.75 in the local garage.
    13.99 in SuperValu
    It's €13.59 in Tesco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Fond memories of it when I lived in the north. Well, the occasional thing I remember after drinking it is fond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Now youre all gonna laugh and I wouldn't believe it myself had I not been served it at a party.....buckfast and prosecco. It was made up in jugs over a load of ice, the dry prosecco diluted the sweet syrupy buckfast very nicely and the bubbles and ice helped to transform it into a totally different experience. It was honestly pretty damn good and after six bottles of each had been mixed and consumed, the party was in full swing. Relatively inexpensive and definitely different, it went down an absolute treat. As I say, had I not been there I would assume that it was rank but it really worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

When I was in college down in Tralee, the lads used to mix it with Calpol (6+) and they'd go MIA for a few days. Quite delicious though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,978 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Duff wrote: »
    When I was in college down in Tralee, the lads used to mix it with Calpol (6+) and they'd go MIA for a few days. Quite delicious though.

I like their style. Killing two birds with one stone. Get ya nicely loaded whilst clearing up a troublesome tickly throat cough.
    The thinking mans drink that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I worked a till for 4 years and sold it once to a biker in his 30s. Makes no sense here at the 10.50 price tag I sold it for* because as PPs have noted it costs less than a fiver up north and in Scotland.
    Biker told me "it gets ya juiced though bi!" which piqued my interest.

*that was only a couple of years ago but whoever said it is right, it's 13.59 in tesco now.

eternal wrote: »
    What is this beverage of which you speak?

http://www.vivino.com/wines/nobleman-full-cream-9999.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Its not wine you fool... my god

It is fortified wine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Sickly sweet. Drank one bottle over the course of an evening once. Didn't enjoy the last of it. Couldn't drink it at a party.

It does win the funniest sounding drinking game. Buckfast hands. Your mates sellotape a bottle to each hand and you cannot have them removed until both are consumed. You win if you don't piss yourself or die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Good puzzle would be cross Galway without passing a broken bottle of Buckie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

It's the caffeine in it that drives people cracked.

280mg in a bottle which is equivalent to 3 and a half cans of 250ml red bull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

A bottle of buckfast (each, obviously) when consumed with friends in a flat was the perfect aperitif to an evening's entertainment when in college.

I have many fond memories of this fortified wine, chock-full of vitamins, minerals and caffeine.

The first couple of swigs were undoubtedly difficult such was the sickly sweet cloying taste, but persevere and it rewarded the committed drinker with many powers such as;
    15% increased moshing ability
    attractiveness to opposite sex increased by 2.5 fold.
    Ability to run through hedges.

Wonderful tipple.