Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show: March 21st 2015 9.40pm

• 21-03-2015 8:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

Coming up on the show this week, Brendan speaks to Kieran O’ Reilly known as the undercover cop in Love Hate and then it was revealed that he was an actual real-life Garda in the National Drugs Unit. Kieran will also be performing the track “Headstoned” with his band ‘Hail the Ghost’. Sinead Quinn, wife of former Ear to the Ground presenter Ronan Clarke who passed away last year, will be in with oncologist Dr Charles Gillham to highlight the importance of early diagnosis of cancer. Brendan will also be talking to Mark Kavanagh, AKA Rasher, who is a huge success in the art world, about why his new exhibition could be his last. Sam Blanckensee and Vanessa Lacey will be in to discuss their extraordinary experience of transitioning from one gender to another.Tune in at 9.40pm and enjoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,447 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Noswaith dda!

Congratulations to Ireland in the Six Nations - thoroughly well deserved :)

And commiserations to England

*desperately tries to keep a straight face*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm not very optimistic about that line-up.

...But as Welsh Megaman said, Ireland won the Six Nations!!

I'm not very optimistic about that line-up.

...But as Welsh Megaman said, Ireland won the Six Nations!!

Brendan should just go crazy for the last few shows!

Get Ryan AND Tatum O'Neal for the finale! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I remember many years ago on Kenny Live on Saturday nights, Pat used to phone up the Hotel where Ireland were staying and ask to speak to the Irish Rugby Captain (after an away game).

Eventually the Captain would come on from the celebrations and give a brief interview with Pat before returning to the bar. I'd say it was the last thing any Rugby player wanted to do (and that was in the serious drinking amateur days).

But seeing as Brendan is on the way out, it might be worth renewing the tradition just for the craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,972 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Skid X wrote: »
    I remember many years ago on Kenny Live on Saturday nights, Pat used to phone up the Hotel where Ireland were staying and ask to speak to the Irish Rugby Captain (after an away game).

Eventually the Captain would come on from the celebrations and give a brief interview with Pat before returning to the bar. I'd say it was the last thing any Rugby player wanted to do (and that was in the serious drinking amateur days).

But seeing as Brendan is on the way out, it might be worth renewing the tradition just for the craic!

Celebrations of what exactly ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Brendan should just go crazy for the last few shows!

Get Ryan AND Tatum O'Neal for the finale! :D

And Twink AND Linda Martin :D

Celebrations of what exactly ?

Ah you know, an away win was big news back then

But sure you can always rely on Pat to feature in an Irish Rugby celebration!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

May as well watch tonight's episode, and all the other remaining episodes, following last week's dreadful (yet not entirely unexpected) news. :(:(

I stopped watching the SNS, and posting on the threads, in earnest around a year ago after my patience was tested by a string of terrible line-ups and that Pussy Riot interview.

In the months afterwards, I looked at the line-ups now and again, but wasn't enamoured by them enough to resume posting on the threads full-time. :o

Yet Brendan and the team must have been doing something right, because the show's viewing figures were catching up with and then beating those of the Late Late. Even in my eyes, that was a Good Thing. :o:D;)

But of course, in the eyes of the folks at Montrose, it was the complete opposite... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

It would be nice if the SNS went out with a proper bang, with some genuinely great line-ups and maybe even a sing-song from Brendan (even if it's just "My Way").

It's probably not likely that Dr Norah Patten will make another appearance, though... :o:o:o:D;)

16bzuqr.jpg

The Irish match was great... but the English match was even better. :o:D;)

And I think Brendan should be thanking the French. :o:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Leprechaun porn must be grim stuff.

OH NO HE DIDN'T! :eek:

By the way, if anyone has a burning ambition to start an SNS thread, don't be shy.

You have about 8 more chances :(

Lepreporn :cool:

Jaysus a guard wouldn't ask ya that.... Oh wait....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭United Chester Men

I like Brendan a lot but if there is one fault, and one thing I have to turn over when they come on, it is those auto cue jokes at the start. He looks very awkward and the audience never gives a good response to them!

*sound of RTE's legal team jumping out of the window*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Better than leprosy porn where bits fall off...

Little man syndrome:cool:

"I'm delighted to be going out on a high, and I'm very excited about the future."

Unfortunately, after the end of May, the future for Saturday nights on RTE1 looks pretty bleak... :(:(:(

I like Brendan a lot but if there is one fault, and one thing I have to turn over when they come on, it is those auto cue jokes at the start. He looks very awkward and the audience never gives a good response to them!

Imagine if Ray does these jokes... :(:(

By the way, if anyone has a burning ambition to start an SNS thread, don't be shy.

You have about 8 more chances :(

*saves several hundred kitteh and puppeh gifs on laptop*

I thought Gardaí were barred from doing any other paid job?

Awkward face.

A guest who can't talk so he won't get in trouble...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

I'm in stitches at this interview. Kieran is not going to give Brendan an easy time. It's priceless.

Does Garda pay not go far enough to buy the occasional razor blade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

not going well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I am not enjoying this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭SimonTheITGuy

This is almost as awkward as the Noel Gallagher interview a few weeks back.

This is a strange interview. There is so many things that Brendan wants to ask him but can't. We aren't going to learn ANYTHING from it except his band sound.

I wonder is the grey hair natural.

Wonder if he is as good as Russell Crowe with the singing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Huge interest for me here tonight as Dr Gillham is a friend of mine. His kids and mine are great friends. He's a very funny man - with such a serious topic as cancer we probably won't get to see his humour come to the fore!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭tampopo

I wonder is the grey hair natural.

and yellowed teeth....:eek:

Well he definitely isn't undercover anymore. Unless he's undercover as a musician to blow up a crime ring in RTE.

God this is boring.

For someone who is a Garda, and has acted as a Garda, He doesn't look or sound like a Garda.

RobertKK wrote: »
    Wonder if he is as good as Russell Crowe with the singing.

Wonder, too, how good he would be at owning a rugby team like RC... :o:D;)

He's not great at speaking, he doesn't come across the brightest tbh, imo

''Balls in the air''

ooh-matron.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,418 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

For someone who is a Garda, and has acted as a Garda, He doesn't look or sound like a Garda.

You'd absolutely know he was a garda - cute as f**k and I don't mean his looks!!

Wouldn't be a garda for love nor money. Used to go out with a girl who's brother was guard. Had his face slashed open with a broken bottle. **** that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Nice voice

Well, this is a toe-tapper.

"Hail the Ghost" really isn't the most imaginative name in the world for a band... :o;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

''Balls in the air''

ooh-matron.gif

:eek: Straight after he said that he had a few kids :eek::eek:

He'd want to put them away.:D:D

I like it. Background music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I'm late lads but I have a ridiculous silly smile on my face........

Tried to repair some gammy Chariot but sure, I made a hames of it.......

Yeaaaaaaa!!!! :)

Great sound

Can't help thinking they are a rip off of The National though! No embaresment that, though!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KehwyWmXr3U

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭CH3OH

That song would put you in an early grave