Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show: March 20th 2015

• 20-03-2015 11:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

Hello and salutations, fellow Citizens of the Boards. I hope this day has been good to you so far, and that it gets better before it's over.

My name is Maximus Decimus Meridius, commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius. Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next.

No, I haven't been drinking (yet) - those aren't my words. You might remember them from the Motion Picture 'Gladiator'.

Yes, it's one of those rarer than a Solar Eclipse you can actually see because the clouds aren't blocking everything moments, a proper A List Oscar winner comes to the LLS.

Russell Crowe is/was in town to plug his new film The Water Diviner which he directed and starred in. Its about an Australian man going to Gallipoli to find his sons after the World War I massacre. Russell isn't known for patience, so if the questions are misery intensive, it might get interesting.

And there's another Hollywood person on the show. Star of Seventies films like Love Story and What's Up Doc Ryan O'Neal was talks about his role in the Stanley Kubrick epic Barry Lyndon, which was filmed in Waterford, Carlow, Tipperary and other places in 1975. He probably thinks he is here to plug some new project, but that's not how the LLS rolls.

The current Rose of Tralee Maria Walsh is on. I'm sure she could talk about lots of happy things but no, she is here to talk about her recent visit to Chernobyl. How come the Rose of Tralee never returns to defend her title? They could have a Dance Off or a Sandwich Making Contest between last years loveliest girl and the best of this years lot to decide who is the best. She might bring Adi Roche with her.

Sure there's probably a bit of music too and some filler, you know yourself.

Update: A live performance from the stars of the Jersey Boys Musical

Update#2: Barry Murphy plugs the new series of Irish Pictorial Weekly.

PJ Gallagher and Joanne McNally do the same for their new show 'Separated at Birth'
    I think this is meant to be a humorous live show about Adoption

And a discussion of Locked In Syndrome

gladiator-dog-costume.jpg

Is Russell Crowe a legend? 66 votes

Yes
    0%
    Yes
    100%
    _Kaiser_yopmaebeehardCopymad mMr.Nice Guyjos28twilight_singerbarbiegirlbrian_rbktampopoZimmerframepinkypinkyMadelineXTenzor07delbertgradySundewLady ChattertonR0COl' Donie 66 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Russell was on BBCs The One Show during the week and actually behaved himself. Even though he was cut off mid-story by the presenter at one point. So he must be on his happy pills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ryan better not do anything foolish to annoy Russell.

Cutting him off in interview mid-flow to show a YouTube clip, for example :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Yes
    "Skid wrote:

Yes, it's one of those rarer than a Solar Eclipse you can actually see because the clouds aren't blocking everything moments, a proper A List Oscar winner comes to the LLS.

Ha, brilliant. Post of the day already! Bravo, Skid.

*crosses fingers*

Please let Ryan keep interrupting Russel Crowe.

Please please please please please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Yes
    There will also be a Jersey Boys performance thing tonight.

Probably something like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

I guess it's too much to hope that Russell Crowes clouts Tubs around the chops...

Yes
    For the record, here is some more guest information

Barry Murphy plugs the new series of Irish Pictorial Weekly.

PJ Gallagher and Joanne McNally do the same for their new show 'Separated at Birth' which a new live show about the funny side of being Adopted. Something like that, anyway.

And something about Locked In Syndrome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Crowe loves interviewers who a bit humourless and very straight down the line. A very serious man. He doesnt like probing interviews by people who are more into celeb gossip than his latest film. So it's possible Tubs could be thrown to the lions tonight..... :D

Though he's such a fawning sycophant, I can't see how he won't win him over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Yes
    Russell Crowe!!!

***faints***

And Doggeh Maximus Mostest!!!.......

***gets brandy***

Medicinal of course......... :)..............................yeah.......................

On the ball Skid!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Yes
    Skid X wrote: »
    And something about Locked In Syndrome

This is an awful condition, it's absolutely heartbreaking.

Yes
    cofy wrote: »
    This is an awful condition, it's absolutely heartbreaking.

I wouldn't mind being locked in with Russell Crowe........:eek::o

It's to early for sad stories cofy.....xxx

Yes
    Barry Murphy? Huzzah!!

*gets out party balloons and streamers*

Wait a sec, PJ jaysus Gallagher?

*balloons deflate and everyone is sad*

I poxy swear, if Barry Murphy gets less time than...I'll be on the news after for a rampage in Donnybrook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Yes
    Story in the news tonight about Russell Crowe.. Apparently he's considering taking over Leeds United...

55Vwt4.jpg

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3003358/Russell-Crowe-getting-impatient-Leeds-step-buy-Yorkshire-club.html

Tubridy would want to watch himself tonight.. If he's already impatient and irritable, then Tubridy wouldnt want to annoy him with a) showing him endless clips of himself and asking stupid questions and b) fawning all over him.... Crowe doesnt suffer fools at all... One stray word and Tubs could very easily end up wiping blood from his nose with his West Wing hanky...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Can't wait to see Maria again. She is just great!

Yes
    Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Barry Murphy? Huzzah!!

*gets out party balloons and streamers*

Wait a sec, PJ jaysus Gallagher?

*balloons deflate and everyone is sad*

I poxy swear, if Barry Murphy gets less time than...I'll be on the news after for a rampage in Donnybrook.

Three Hail Mary's and a Glory Bee Donie...........:pac::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Yes
    Good evening all .. Happy Friday! :)

Evening all!

gl4.jpg

Yes
    Is it me or do these RTE News reporters look like teens - particularly that political correspondent fella in studio a minute ago?

Yes
    _Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Is it me or do these RTE News reporters look like teens - particularly that political correspondent fella in studio a minute ago?

It's a sign you're getting old Kaiser......:D

Yes
    It's a sign you're getting old Kaiser......:D

True enough :p Big 4-0 in a few months!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

They all sound the same anyway. Finishing each sentence with a saaaad tone. No individuality any more.

Yes
    True enough :p Big 4-0 in a few months!!

Where's the party?...

I have to need the time to order a new wig.........:D:D:D

Yes
    Where's the party?...

I have to need the time to order a new wig.........:D:D:D

I MUST be getting old... a party really has no appeal! Just another day to me

Yes
    Oh jaysus.. Bonnie Tyler and all!

Yes
    I MUST be getting an old... a party really has no appeal! Just another day to me

Pub so.

***deflates balloons***....:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Evening all.

I dunno what I'm happiest about...Russell Crowe being on, or the fact that I just found an unopened bag of Bitsa Wispa at the back of the fridge. :D

Yes
    ProudDUB wrote: »
    Evening all.

I dunno what I'm happiest about...Russell Crowe being on, or the fact that I just found an unopened bag of Bitsa Wispas at the back of the fridge. :D

Yum!

I'd love to find a nice bottle of wine under the wilted lettuce....:pac:

Yes
    ProudDUB wrote: »
    Evening all.

I dunno what I'm happiest about...Russell Crowe being on, or the fact that I just found an unopened bag of Bitsa Wispas at the back of the fridge. :D

Ooh they're nice.. me and the little fella went through a bag of those in about 20 mins the other day!

Too cloudy to see the eclipse...months wasted building that pinhole camera :(

Yes
    Jean wearing a leather jacket made for a nine year old........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Yeah, 'tis deadly. And they are lovely and firm and hard.

Just how I like my chocolate.

Get yer minds outa the gutter, yiz shower of durty bastards ! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

Yes
    Guaranteed Ryan will drag out Russell's friendship with Richard Harris, the "Irish Connection". Between that and the constant YouTube clips I can't imagine he will have time for anything else

Yes
    I have to admit that Dulux ad is pretty funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Yes
    Evening all.

Is Crowe really going to be live?

Yes
    Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I have to admit that Dulux ad is pretty funny.

Ya the TG4 girl in it is pretty good alright! :p

Yes
    Full of Sugar.

Sick of Coke ads now....

Yes
    Evening all.

Hiya AD.

I'd say a big no.

And I know nothing....

Yes
    Guaranteed Ryan will drag out Russell's friendship with Richard Harris, the "Irish Connection". Between that and the constant YouTube clips I can't imagine he will have time for anything else

Don't forget the thousands of Australians and New Zealanders who died at Gallipoli. The man who thought Lockerbie was a suitable topic last week won't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭cruhoortwunk

Yes
    · Part One
    · Interview with Maria Walsh and Adi Roche
    · Performance by Jersey Boys
    · Break – Part Two
    · Interview with PJ Gallagher and Joanne McNally
    · Performance by Jon Allen
    · Interview with Ryan O’Neal
    · Break – Part Three
    · Interview with Russell Crowe
    · Performance by Mark McMullan
    · Break – Part Four
    · Interview and performances by Barry Murphy and Paul Woodfull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Yes
    Too cloudy to see the eclipse...months wasted building that pinhole camera :(

Evening all, that's a shame. I had a good view from my back garden. Glad the neighbours didn't see me in me Penneys pjs and a welding helmet !

Evening all.

If Ryan walks out on set with a black eye, then we'll know :D

Yes
    jos28 wrote: »
    Evening all, that's a shame. I had a good view from my back garden. Glad the neighbours didn't see me in me Penneys pjs and a welding helmet !

Hiya jos! :)

Did golden boy :) come home?? xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Fei30

Hopefully Russell has been on the lash all day and comes out swinging.

Have had a bad week need some car crash entertainment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Damp Weather

ah strobe lighting my favourite type of lighting behind florescent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

Yes
    Skid X wrote: »
    Don't forget the thousands of Australians and New Zealanders who died at Gallipoli. The man who thought Lockerbie was a suitable topic last week won't!

I missed it last week, but I'm sure he played a blinder

Yes
    Was Tubbs goose-stepping there for a sec as he came on screen??

Yes
    Me. T looks very well in fairness.

I like his suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Yes
    Oh he's really nervous already...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Yes
    Hiya jos! :)

Did golden boy :) come home?? xxx
    Hi GSW - D.Day is Tuesday !! Have to spend the weekend clearing some space for his stuff. He left work today and will be home with car load on Tuesday. Can't wait !!

Yes
    PJ Gallagher... dear god no!!!

Yes
    jos28 wrote: »
    Hi GSW - D.Day is Tuesday !! Have to spend the weekend clearing some space for his stuff. He left work today and will be home with car load on Tuesday. Can't wait !!

Happy Days jos!!....:):):)

Save some cake for me!! xxx