Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finally the end of 535d, 2 liter on the logbook?

• 17-03-2015 11:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭

Every time I see an ad with something along the lines of "2.3 liter, but 1.4 on de logbook!" it pisses me off. If you can't afford the proper engine, don't resort to fraud.
    Anyway, your car will be very kindly taken off you by the boys in blue:

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/gardai-seize-cars-for-under-declaring-engine-size
    The Dublin Metropolitan Region (DMR) Traffic Division have seized 18 BMW cars as part of an ongoing investigation into the under declaring of engine size.

.... that article is from last week, there's been a topic on here too :)
    Interestingly, that topic turned into put motor tax on fuel, 2008 on low rates etc etc etc.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Augeo wrote: »
    .... that article is from last week, there's been a topic on here too :)

Haven't been on here much, looks like I missed it.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Haven't been on here much, looks like I missed it.:pac:

They're only at that since the manufacturers started fitting toy engines to two-ton behemoths knowing Paddy'll go mad for them. If there's one thing that thar god-dam Revenoo hates, it's another, legal, joker. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I reckon it'll be a flash in the pan.
    Business as usual for cute hoors in 2 weeks time.

I wonder if the NCT could test this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Out of principal I wouldn't buy a misrepresented car and I like big engines, tax doesn't phase me. If someone is willing to be dishonest in the eyes of the law and cheat out of a few quid, who knows what they have done to the car itself. The mentality infuriates me. Its a big block, it costs more to tax, get on with it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

ironclaw wrote: »
    Out of principal I wouldn't buy a misrepresented car and I like big engines, tax doesn't phase me. If someone is willing to be dishonest in the eyes of the law and cheat out of a few quid, who knows what they have done to the car itself. The mentality infuriates me. Its a big block, it costs more to tax, get on with it.
    I'm exactly like this. If I see that in the ad, I skip on to the next one.

Asside from the fraud, It's an interesting project car. How did they fit the GT4 gearbox without the 4WD setup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Reported and I enailed gardai in Roscommon giving his registration number in case he or Donedeal remove the ad.

Re my earlier point. This ad says "just NCT'd".
    How the fcuk do you get that through the NCT? Do they not check? That is fcuked up. Try that in any other country and you'll be walking away as your car is fed into a crusher. What the fcuk is wrong with this country?

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    Asside from the fraud, It's an interesting project car. How did they fit the GT4 gearbox without the 4WD setup?

I shudder to think. And they wonder why they're being rode sidesaddle by insurance outfits... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I doubt it will fix the problem. The impression I got is that a small number of people incorrectly registered a large number of cars deliberately and were traced. It won't make any real difference in the end.

Re my earlier point. This ad says "just NCT'd".
    How the fcuk do you get that through the NCT? Do they not check? That is fcuked up. Try that in any other country and you'll be walking away as your car is fed into a crusher. What the fcuk is wrong with this country?
    Surely it'd fail on emissions as the emissions from the GT4 engine wouldn't match what they're expecting from a Corolla?

I don't think it makes any difference, the emissions tests read in parts-per-million so the engine size/gas volume wouldn't come into it.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I don't think it makes any difference, the emissions tests read in parts-per-million so the engine size/gas volume wouldn't come into it.

In the case of this Corolla, wouldn't it be obvious even to an NCt tester that the logbook says 1.3 and under the bonnet lives a massive turbo charged beast? One wouldn't need much training to see that this is not the original engine and not the engine on the logbook.
    It must mean they don't check. Since I have also never seen the cops check, no wonder everyone is taking the piss.

In the case of this Corolla, wouldn't it be obvious even to an NCt tester that the logbook says 1.3 and under the bonnet lives a massive turbo charged beast? One wouldn't need much training to see that this is not the original engine and not the engine on the logbook.
    It must mean they don't check. Since I have also never seen the cops check, no wonder everyone is taking the piss.
    It's not that they don't check, it's that they don't care. Unless the car fails for something deemed dangerous or emissions wise, they're not looking for anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

The gaurds do check Iv had them pop the bonnet of my car on two separate occasions before, both separate cars.

And fair enough it's easy to tell the difference compared to a 1.3 but a gt4 is far from a "massive turbo charged beast" it's a 2l inline 4. Id wager you couldn't tell the diffrence in say a GSR engine or an Evo engine? Or a 1600 VTi compared to a b18c? Or many of the other common swaps people do. In reality a lot of the time it is extremely hard to tell the diffrence unless you are an expert on that particular model which testers are not so I can never understand people saying they should kop this.

As for the posters asking how can a gt4 engine pass "1.3 emissions" it just shows complete ignorance of the subject on their part.

On topic I'v never been too bothered by the whole thing, the motor tax system in this country is an extortionate joke so I won't begrudge anyone who is being cute enough to screw that particular system over.

JC01 wrote: »
    As for the posters asking how can a gt4 engine pass "1.3 emissions" it just shows complete ignorance of the subject on their part.
    It is ignorance, but isn't that why we ask questions? To inform ourselves so that we are no longer ignorant of that information?
    There's no need to be a prat about it. Spelling "Gards" with a "u" shows ignorance on that subject also, but who cares?
    There's no such thing as an ignorant question, only an ignorant statement.

The gaurds do check Iv had them pop the bonnet of my car on two separate occasions before, both separate cars.

And fair enough it's easy to tell the difference compared to a 1.3 but a gt4 is far from a "massive turbo charged beast" it's a 2l inline 4. Id wager you couldn't tell the diffrence in say a GSR engine or an Evo engine? Or a 1600 VTi compared to a b18c? Or many of the other common swaps people do. In reality a lot of the time it is extremely hard to tell the diffrence unless you are an expert on that particular model which testers are not so I can never understand people saying they should kop this.

As for the posters asking how can a gt4 engine pass "1.3 emissions" it just shows complete ignorance of the subject on their part...

I'd consider it a fair-dinkum enough question, chief. It isn't intuitively obvious to most normal people that emissions testing doesn't really enter into it. And I think most people are referring to 3.x V6 vs. smaller IL4 when they suggest that the NCT people might be able to spot major engine discrepancies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

It is ignorance, but isn't that why we ask questions? To inform ourselves so that we are no longer ignorant of that information?
    There's no need to be a prat about it. Spelling "Gards" with a "u" shows ignorance on that subject also, but who cares?
    There's no such thing as an ignorant question, only an ignorant statement.

Granted but iv seen that question answered on this forum countless times, I mean it's been answered 2 or 3 times before I ever even mentioned it in this thread alone. Reading the same questions over and over gets tiresome an I'm cranky today.

On a side note my Irish is shocking, why is there no "u" in gards if it's plural?

...On a side note my Irish is shocking, why is there no "u" in gards if it's plural?

The word is "Garda", the Irish word for "Guard". The plural is "Gardaí", or "Guards" in the durty Sassenach talk. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

Checking a cars engine size is not part of the NCT test. As long as the engine is securely mounted, has no oil or fuel leaks and the car passes the emissions test...happy days, it's a pass!

Granted but iv seen that question answered on this forum countless times, I mean it's been answered 2 or 3 times before I ever even mentioned it in this thread alone. Reading the same questions over and over gets tiresome an I'm cranky today.

On a side note my Irish is shocking, why is there no "u" in gards if it's plural?
    I haven't.
    Guard is an english word, in use for coastguard, guard at a gate of a castle, that sort of thing, An Garda Síochána are our Irish police service, so no u in the word.
    It doesn't matter though, I was only trying to be pedantic back to you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭shabalala

Reported and I enailed gardai in Roscommon giving his registration number in case he or Donedeal remove the ad.

Dear lord have you nothing better to do??

It could potentially fail on a Carbon Monoxide test if it was fitted to a post 2002 reg car, as the allowed value is higher on the older engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Absolutely report it. The same type of person who isn't declaring engine swaps for insurance/tax reasons is most likely the same type of person who is tend to drive far too fast, and isn't exactly concerned with having bald tyres on the car.

And when they do hit you, and their insurance is found to be invalid, good look getting the money out of them or MIBI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭bidiots

shabalala wrote: »
    Dear lord have you nothing better to do??

Could ask you the same question...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Irish begrudgers at their finest.
    I love it when enterprising folk find a way around our shocking motor tax system.
    It's not as if they're not paying any tax at all is it? They're still paying far more than what it would cost in England to tax a similar car.
    Fair play to them I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Out of curiosity, would people mind if those on large money wrote some of it off against charitable donations? Even if the donations were minute compared to the tax bill it saved them? Or declared a business as a charity when in fact its a money making operation? Or off-shored it all? Or, just flat out refused to pay income tax?

Instead of paying €1809, I say pay €710. I've knocked 60% off my tax bill. So what's the difference between that and say not paying €600k of a €1 million tax bill?

What's the difference between that and avoiding motor tax? Because if getting around a 'corrupt tax system' is honourable then Denis O'Brien is a hero by all accounts. Complete double standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭bidiots

Two wrongs will never make a right.
    And comparing to the biggest cowboy this state has ever witnessed won't help
    The motor tax system is a f**king shambles. The sh*t o'brien gets away with deserves a kangaroo court to deal with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

I love it when enterprising folk find a way around our shocking motor tax system.
    It's not as if they're not paying any tax at all is it? They're still paying far more than what it would cost in England to tax a similar car.
    Fair play to them I say.

There is nothing enterprising about it.
    They are driving with no insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

magentis wrote: »
    There is nothing enterprising about it.
    They are driving with no insurance.

Might be down wrong on the tax book but that's irrelevant to insurance companies if it's insured correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

DoneDeal replied to me saying that there is no mention of 2.0 litre in the ad so replied to them and told him it states GT4 engine and 260bhp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

You probably think benefit fraud is okay too? :confused:
    I'd love a 5ltr V8 but since I'm not prepared to pay the tax on one, hence I drive a supercharged/turbocharged 1.4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

If you can't afford the tax, you can't afford the car.

Can't imagine what else is skimped on if the extra 1000 a year (over a 2 litre) is such a big deal.

It's like the anecdote of the lad with the M3 buying budget tyres.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Perhaps if everyone paid the tax they were supposed to, then the rates could come down for all (never going to happen I know :) )

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Absolutely report it. The same type of person who isn't declaring engine swaps for insurance/tax reasons is most likely the same type of person who is tend to drive far too fast, and isn't exactly concerned with having bald tyres on the car.

And when they do hit you, and their insurance is found to be invalid, good look getting the money out of them or MIBI.

The third party extension if their policy will still be valid.

fletch wrote: »
    You probably think benefit fraud is okay too? :confused:
    I'd love a 5ltr V8 but since I'm not prepared to pay the tax on one, hence I drive a supercharged/turbocharged 1.4

Why would I think that? How could you even come to that conclusion? Do you need a lie down?
    My friend in England drives an 01 M5 V8, he pays 1/3 of the road tax I pay on a 1.9 diesel.
    The fact that you drive a 1.4 instead of a 5.0 proves that our tax system is a complete rip off.
    Big engined cars can be bought for a pittance over here but not many people can afford to tax the damn things. If it cost you the same money to tax both cars would you still have bought your Golf?

Caliden wrote: »
    If you can't afford the tax, you can't afford the car.

Can't imagine what else is skimped on if the extra 1000 a year (over a 2 litre) is such a big deal.

It's like the anecdote of the lad with the M3 buying budget tyres.
    That is absolute nonsense, the cars could easily be afforded but most people won't pay the rip off price of tax on principle.
    I've no problem paying for the petrol I burn or the maintenance of a high performance car but it kills me handing over so much money to the tax office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Honestly I don't think principles come into it for most of them. There's nobody put a gun to their head and made them buy the prestige model rather than the boggo low capacity version. The only reason they get away with it is because the majority of people are legit.

If everyone was to resort to cute hoorism I think measures would be put in place to sort it out fairly quickly. The boys at it now wouldn't be long complaining if everyone was at it and there was a crackdown. We'd see their principles then alright.

Honestly I don't think principles come into it for most of them. There's nobody put a gun to their head and made them buy the prestige model rather than the boggo low capacity version. The only reason they get away with it is because the majority of people are legit.

If everyone was to resort to cute hoorism I think measures would be put in place to sort it out fairly quickly. The boys at it now wouldn't be long complaining if everyone was at it and there was a crackdown. We'd see their principles then alright.

I was actually talking about the principles of us true petrol heads.
    If we had a tax system like the one across the water I'd have an older M3 or a 3 litre Supra just for the weekends.
    As it is though, there's no way I could stomach handing over that sort of money just to put the car on the road before insurance, fuel and maintenance.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Bullcrap I hate that saying

I could buy a M3 tomorrow and put good tyres on it and put petrol in it. I couldnt however fork up 1600+ for tax though.

Then you can't afford to run it, so you can't afford it...

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Not saying I cant afford the tax, I am just not forking up that kinda money for it.

OK, makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Scrappy600

Doesn't say gt4 gearbox, says celica gearbox, I'm guessing he's mated it to a ss111 2ltr box or a gt box.
    Edit: Mr2 turbo seems to be the box of choice for these conversions after a cursory Google search

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Why would I think that? How could you even come to that conclusion? Do you need a lie down?
    My friend in England drives an 01 M5 V8, he pays 1/3 of the road tax I pay on a 1.9 diesel.
    The fact that you drive a 1.4 instead of a 5.0 proves that our tax system is a complete rip off.
    Big engined cars can be bought for a pittance over here but not many people can afford to tax the damn things. If it cost you the same money to tax both cars would you still have bought your Golf?
    Drop the tax to €150 per year and see what happens to the second hand values.

I'll glady take that risk thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Like the enterprising people who don't pay income tax??
    If you don't like high level of taxation vote for a party that's going to reduce taxes.
    Funnily enough they've never been that popular in this country.
    They're still paying far more than what it would cost in England to tax a similar car.
    Different country with different taxation/spending.
    You can't really compare them.
    I'll glady take that risk thank you.
    The value of large engined cars would shoot up if the tax on them was reduced to €150.
    And the saving you made from cheaper motor tax would disappear straight away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭joe912

you are a bellend