If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you part 479

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

and they're feckin TYRES, TA'ed at American spellings.....

American spelling is a pain, but the brand name is Bridgestone Tire so I had to go with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Stop the world, I want to get off. When everyone wants something from you and you just want to hide.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

razorblunt wrote: »
    1. That fake scream that's inserted to movies as an in-joke/nod to the first movie that's ever used it. It's so jarring when you hear it and think "FFS, another movie that has it".

When you are reading a post on boards and the song you are listening to references the same thing -> Wilhelm Scream. 3.10 into this song:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Saying 'alympics' for Olympics and 'amediately'
    for immediately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I had an awful nightmare last night where a good friend was killed in a car accident. I can't get it out of my head. I hate remembering my dreams/nightmares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I wrote last week that I wasn't sure if I was getting a cold or not; that I was in limbo between being well and being ill.
    Well I have a cold now.

I can't taste anything, my nose is blocked, my nose is running...I just feel bleurgh.
    All I want to eat is salt and vinegar crisps but what I am going to have is salmon and vegetables.
    Someone mind me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zanablue

fussyonion wrote: »
    I wrote last week that I wasn't sure if I was getting a cold or not; that I was in limbo between being well and being ill.
    Well I have a cold now.

I can't taste anything, my nose is blocked, my nose is running...I just feel bleurgh.
    All I want to eat is salt and vinegar crisps but what I am going to have is salmon and vegetables.
    Someone mind me.

Fair play to you for going for the healthier option, its so easy to give in when you feel sick. Hope you feel better soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Zanablue wrote: »
    Fair play to you for going for the healthier option, its so easy to give in when you feel sick. Hope you feel better soon.

Ah sure I would have given in months ago, without a second thought, but I'm half a pound shy off losing 2 stone since July so I'm trying to be good.
    Plus, I know salmon and veg is better for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

KatW4 wrote: »
    I had an awful nightmare last night where a good friend was killed in a car accident. I can't get it out of my head. I hate remembering my dreams/nightmares.

I had an awful one about my youngest being taken last week. It was so realistic, it stuck with me for days and really shook me :(

My TA....
    Sleibhins :mad:
    I hate to lose my cool with anyone, especially when the circumstances will be worse for others if I do pipe up.
    But by jesus, its killing me to have to keep my trap shut :D:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Saying 'alympics' for Olympics and 'amediately'
    for immediately!

pronouncing ONLY with a D in it, ONDLY,
    and controversy as controversy...:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Previous love conquests showing up in my dreams(/nightmares) has put me off kilter for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

I always see stupid 'Disney princess' posts on my FB timeline these days.. 'this is how these Disney princesses would look if they were real people', 'this woman dressed up as all the Disney princesses and it's amazing', 'this is how the Disney princesses would look aged 40' etc etc. who cares about the ****ing Disney princesses? Why are there so many posts about them all the time??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

miezekatze wrote: »
    I always see stupid 'Disney princess' posts on my FB timeline these days.. 'this is how these Disney princesses would look if they were real people', 'this woman dressed up as all the Disney princesses and it's amazing', 'this is how the Disney princesses would look aged 40' etc etc. who cares about the ****ing Disney princesses? Why are there so many posts about them all the time??
    You probably clicked on it the first time it came up and now you are getting similar ones. Click on the wee down arrow beside the ad and select "I don't want to see this".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Shyness and bad hearing are a terrible combination! I either can't speak up because I'm shy and afraid of miss-speaking or I can't follow what is being said because conversation is being drowned out by background noise. It's grand if I'm face to face with someone - I can read their lips, but if someone is speaking beside me or behind me I might not even know that they're talking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    Shyness and bad hearing are a terrible combination! I either can't speak up because I'm shy and afraid of miss-speaking or I can't follow what is being said because conversation is being drowned out by background noise. It's grand if I'm face to face with someone - I can read their lips, but if someone is speaking beside me or behind me I might not even know that they're talking!

I am half deaf too so I agree on that one. Total conversation in pubs pass me by because all I can hear is a loud murmur. I end up with a gormless smile on my face pretending to follow what is going on!
    Thankfully I no longer have the shyness though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭NOS3

About to go to bed and you spill a full glass of water all over your bed sheets. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,004 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

degsie wrote: »
    People who speak with their mouths full of food. Wtf is that all about?

I always find when I'm eating in a restaurant, that the waitress always seems to ask is everything ok, when my mouth is full.

I generally have to reply with a thumbs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Menas wrote: »
    I am half deaf too so I agree on that one. Total conversation in pubs pass me by because all I can hear is a loud murmur. I end up with a gormless smile on my face pretending to follow what is going on!
    Thankfully I no longer have the shyness though.

Yeah! And I often get caught out because I smile and nod and I actually have no idea what I'm nodding at - then when I'm asked to explain why I'm agreeing I'm like "ehhhh... I dunno!"

I've mostly grown out of my shyness too, but so much in my life is new at the moment that I've gone back into my shell a little bit. I'm sure I'll come back out of it soon, though, as I'm meeting lots of lovely new people :) .

Rosie Rant wrote:

I'm the same, it's really frustrating!

You probably clicked on it the first time it came up and now you are getting similar ones. Click on the wee down arrow beside the ad and select "I don't want to see this".

Yeah will do that next time. I don't remember ever clicking on one of them, but who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Christmas ads on the radio in September.

*sigh* there's no magic anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭pew

take your suitcase off the seat and put it in the luggage rack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Serjeant Buzfuz

murph226 wrote: »
    Women that put lipstick around their mouth to make their lips look bigger.

Non existent District Court Juries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Non existent District Court Juries

Mod

Keep your crap from other threads/forums out of AH

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

that's just because you're old, embrace it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

We have our Christmas work night out booked since early August:o Couldnt get the early sitting so not eating until 9pm:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

People say this every single year, but it has been like this for fifteen years at this stage.

Maybe the magic is lost because you've gotten older, and not because signs of it are appearing around you earlier than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Dramatik

When you're doing something that you've done hundreds of times before but this time you have someone watching you and just as you're about to do the task the person says "ohh watch, out mind yourself!" or something along those lines and then immediately something goes wrong and they say "I told you so!" :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

When you wake up in the morning dying for a piss but can't go until your erection goes otherwise you will urinate all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Rosie Rant wrote: »

+1. I find bars with loud music impossible to socialise in. I spend more time with my ears in other people's faces. I've got some sort of cognitive distortion in which all noise, no matter how far away, sounds equally loud. My hearing's perfect otherwise, I could hear a pin drop!

I was in the toilets at work last week and a colleague stopped to talk to me as I was on the way out. With other colleagues flushing toilets, running water, using the hand dryer I couldn't hear a word of what she was saying! I just had to nod and agree and hope she wasn't telling me there was toilet roll stuck to my shoe...:o