Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show: March 14th 2015 #BrendanForever #RayDarcyNever

• 14-03-2015 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

Update: Rumours are circulating that Brendan is to be replaced, details from Post #2 onwards.

Update #2: Sadly the rumours are true ...

Brendan O'Connor has announced that the current series of The Saturday Night Show will be the last. He will return with a new prime time entertainment programme in 2016, and Ray D'Arcy will host a new show on Saturday nights from the autumn on RTÉ One.

Here is the rather crappy OP I did before that news broke. A bit like the News Headlines on the Morning of September 11th 2001 ...

Nearly Nine o'clock on a Saturday
    Is anyone else tuning in?
    'Cos Brendan O'Connor is ready to chat
    And maybe he's wearing a sling

Tonight can you spare us the misery?
    We get plenty on most Friday Nights.
    It's cold and it's wet, so don't talk about death
    don't mention the rugby, it was shite ...

La la la, di da da
    La la, di da da da dum ...

Let's have a look ...
    Coming up on the show this week, Christina Noble and her sisters, Philomena and Kathleen, will be in studio to share their story having been reunited this week for the first time in 53 years after being separated as children. Brendan will exclusively launch and showcase images from the Here I Am exhibition. Photographer Dan Murphy and participating children and their families will join Brendan on the night to chat about their involvement in the project. Lynn Ruane, who was recently elected to take over as President of Trinity College Dublin Students Union in July, drops by to talk about life on and off campus and what lead her to run for President. Irish Poet Paul Durcan will also join Brendan O'Connor. Plus American singer-songwriter Ryan Adams and Natalie Prass will perform Gimme Something Good. Tune in at 10.10pm and enjoy!!

Not Good. Not good at all.

Ryan Adams might be decent. Congratulations Wales, can't win them all.

Take it away, Billy ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Just heard a few minutes of Marian Finucane's radio show this morning but she mentioned that Brendan would be making an important announcement on tonight's show.

I hope he's not leaving the Saturday Night Show :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

I'd say its something about Tony Fenton after the abuse RTE got last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

https://twitter.com/nicolatallantsw/status/576844558954299392

Feck off Darcy. That man can't interview for sh1te.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

What's a "TD boot"?

Just wondering has D'arcy ever had a show where he interviewed adults?

I can't think of any anyway.

Skid X wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/nicolatallantsw/status/576844558954299392

Feck off Darcy. That man can't interview for sh1te.

If the Sunday World story is true, I really will be very upset, I think Brendan has done very well over the last few years and the viewership figures back that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

I hope it's not true. I've got to like Brendan, he has mellowed over the years. He has a couple of really good interviews on his CV - Donal Walsh (RIP) for one. Not a fan of Ray Darcy at all :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Brendan was doing alright.Its the fella on Friday night needs replacing.

I'm going to be optimistic for a second... if Brendan is leaving the SNS, it would be wonderful if he was heading to the LLS studio.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Brendan was doing alright.Its the fella on Friday night needs replacing.

Never going to get rid of Golden boy with all hes political connections!

jos28 wrote: »
    I hope it's not true. I've got to like Brendan, he has mellowed over the years. He has a couple of really good interviews on his CV - Donal Walsh (RIP) for one. Not a fan of Ray Darcy at all :(
    I completely agree with Jos.

My dad is in his 60's and for as long as I've known him he has only watched the news and the odd documentary on RTE television.

The Saturday Night Show is the only exception to the rule, he used to dislike Brendan, he used to use colourful language to describe him but over the last couple of years he changed his view and never missed a show.

Ray Darcy is like a ridiculous drunk ebay purchase RTE made which they have no use for and cannot afford.

He is years past his best on Radio and Television. Brendan is doing a great job with a limited guest choice, and his ratings have been excellent this year.

This is rotten news, if it is true.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I'm going to be optimistic for a second... if Brendan is leaving the SNS, it would be wonderful if he was heading to the LLS studio.

Now THAT I like the sound of. I think Brendan has developed a genuine empathy with his guests when they have a sad story to relate. He hasn't lost his sense of humour or sarcasm either. He deserves a shot at the LLS.

That would be good, but I don't think RTE would do Ryan Tubridy the discourtesy of having Brendan O'Connor announce his departure on his show.

If it's true, we'll have to do a Jeremy Clarkson on it, we'll have to start a social media campaign to retain him :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Feckin Ray Darcy :rolleyes:
    This is typical of RTE - Find someone and give them every job on the planet until the viewers scream for mercy.
    For example
    Gráinne Seoige
    Kathryn Thomas...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Aghhhh I'm watching casualty on bbc 1.

Has he made the announcement yet??
    I'll cry if darcy has got sns, unless of course BoC is destined for LLS! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

If it's true, we'll have to do a Jeremy Clarkson on it, we'll have to start a social media campaign to retain him :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Maybe Jeremy Clarkson will take over?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭dealornodeal23

Hope it's not true I never miss his show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Losing Brendan would be a big mistake for the SNS.:o :(:(:(:(:(

Ray Darcy is like a ridiculous drunk ebay purchase RTE made which they have no use for and cannot afford.

He is years past his best on Radio and Television. Brendan is doing a great job with a limited guest choice, and his ratings have been excellent this year.

I think you're right about D'arcy, I've absolutely nothing against him but I don't see him as the great catch that some people in RTE obviously think he is.

It reminds me of when ITV sacked most of the morning television people and paid ridiculous money to poach Adrian Chiles and Christine Bleakley from BBC and we all know what a disaster that turned out to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

For me, it would be a case of 'I'm out', as a viewer. I don't get what RTE see in Ray D'Arcy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,320 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Noswaith dda :)

Whoa...tough crowd! What'd I miss?

LynnGrace wrote: »
    For me, it would be a case of 'I'm out', as a viewer. I don't get what RTE see in Ray D'Arcy.

Me neither :(
    He has a tremendous inability to listen to his guests. I've had to turn him off since his arrival on RTE Radio 1. I just don't get the attraction

I'm sure youd a great day WMM !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

WM thought you would be out celebrating yer win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭happysunnydays

.....stupid to replace the BOC man, bit shaky on his first season but he has only grown into the role to become a very relaxed and engaging presenter.

Aw, Brendan noooo

Would be a shame to see him go (if the rumours are true). :(

cofy wrote: »
    WM thought you would be out celebrating yer win.

I peaked too early in the alcohol department

I thought I would have a relaxing night in and catch up with my Irish chums :)

Fair play, good game, good game.

What is the mood like in Wales tonight? Have the rumours about Brendan ruined the Rugby Celebrations?

At least you are still awake. Mr Jos went missing in action after his trip to the pub to watch the Gold Cup yesterday. He eventually arrived home at 9.45 and was snoring in his chair beside the fire by 10pm !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

jos28 wrote: »
    Feckin Ray Darcy :rolleyes:
    This is typical of RTE - Find someone and give them every job on the planet until the viewers scream for mercy.
    For example
    Gráinne Seoige
    Kathryn Thomas...........

Craig Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

I dont think anyone gets what RTE see in Ryan Tubridy but he has been on LLS for about 5 years. D'arcy used to be a capable interviewer but is hopeless now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

What is going on? Awful late to have the kids up :D

God no. This seems like they are letting Brendan have a big send off. I dont think he is the greatest interviewer but he is miles ahead of Tubs and Darcy. I really hope he isnt being shuffled off

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Black Menorca

This is kind of awkward, though it shouldn't be.

I like Brendan but he messed it up to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

Great kids & great photos!!

The photos are excellent:)

Vorenus400 wrote: »
    I dont think anyone gets what RTE see in Ryan Tubridy but he has been on LLS for about 5 years. D'arcy used to be a capable interviewer but is hopeless now

I don't get what they see in Tubridy either.
    I genuinely never considered D'Arcy a good interviewer.

Does anyone really stare at disabled people anymore? I mean, really???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Does anyone really stare at disabled people anymore? I mean, really???

Well since Brendan has a daughter with DS, maybe he knows about the issue more that others and hence sees people starting.

I don't get what they see in Tubridy either.
    I genuinely never considered D'Arcy a good interviewer.

I remember him back in the day, ( God i am older than i thought) he used to do some good music interviews. When he had kids and took up running he became a pontificating old sod. He also had a lot of good will from the den.

But he really is terrible now

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Well since Brendan has a daughter with DS, maybe he knows about the issue more that others and hence sees people starting.

I don't think having a disabled child has anything to do with it. I'm talking about people staring at people with disabilities. Disabilities are neither shocking, new or unheard of. Can't see the big deal. I know it's something you have to drill home with kids but grown people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Looks freezing to be standing around out side with kids.
    Brendan has his hands in his pockets.

That was an ambitious piece of Television to do live outside, late at night, with DS children.

I think it worked quite well, and will hopefully raise the profile of the exibition and it's cause.

Vorenus400 wrote: »
    I remember him back in the day, ( God i am older than i thought) he used to do some good music interviews. When he had kids and took up running he became a pontificating old sod. He also had a lot of good will from the den.

But he really is terrible now

Never got him. Couldn't listen to his radio show. I definitely won't be watching whatever show he is on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

I dont think there is anybody in the country as unfunny as Eleanor Tiernan.. She'd give the unFunny Friday crew a run for their money.

I don't think having a disabled child has anything to do with it. I'm talking about people staring at people with disabilities. Disabilities are neither shocking, new or unheard of. Can't see the big deal. I know it's something you have to drill home with kids but grown people?
    You'd be surprised how ignorant some grown ups can be. Ask a parent of a child with autism about what happens if their child has a meltdown in public. A lot of them will tell you that strangers will tell them how they should control their child etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

CatFromHue wrote: »
    What's a "TD boot"?

Just wondering has D'arcy ever had a show where he interviewed adults?

I can't think of any anyway.

Please, somebody. It's been over an hour. What the heck is a TD Boot? :o

You'd be surprised how ignorant some grown up can be. Ask a parent of a child with autism about what happens if their child has a meltdown in public. A lot of them will tell you that strangers will tell them how they should control their child etc..

Crazy, crazy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Be a pity to see BoC go. The major problem with the show is not him but the standard of guests. If he had more interesting people on and had a longer timeslot to actually interview them properly, he'd be far better than Tubridy.