Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ring door bell prank

• 13-03-2015 11:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭

Had the door bell ring tonight after ten. Young lads. I could hear them run off as o went to the door I could see them.

Went off in car to find just to give them a scare . fools didn't know what to say when I pulled up.
    I know them from football.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,343 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Knick knack fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

cena wrote: »
    Had the door bell ring tonight after ten. Young lads. I could hear them run off as o went to the door I could see them.

Went off in car to find just to give them a scar . fools didn't know what to say when I pulled up.

That's a bit extreme

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Your tough op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,261 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

A scar was a bit much .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Ah the old door bell prank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

ScummyMan wrote: »
    That's a bit extreme

Quite clever actually. Chicks dig scars you see. If they're busy getting laid they won't have time to be ringing the OP's doorbell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Went off in car to find just to give them a scar . fools didn't know what to say when I pulled up.

Used to to this as a kid years ago..always went back the next night to anyone who gave us a chase,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭cena

It is scare not scar. Forgot the e

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Used to to this as a kid years ago..always went back the next night to anyone who gave us a chase,

I know all there parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

Haha you fail at life. All they want is you to give chase. Kids 1 - 0 Cena.

Actually kids 1- 7 cena. Not the first time it happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Zippie84

*sits waiting on the punchline*

Actually kids 1- 7 cena. Not the first time it happened

Chances are it won't be the last. They're clearly getting a rise out of you, which is encouraging them. In these cases you have two options. One is to ignore it, the other is to scare the absolute living daylights out of them. You've clearly opted for the latter & are failing miserably. Hope you like the sound of your doorbell, as you'll be hearing it a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

They're illegal again now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

We all did it when we were kids. Let kids be kids. Its happened to me and when I went out and got 'caught' I smiled and said 'little feckers'

Custardpi wrote: »
    Chances are it won't be the last. They're clearly getting a rise out of you, which is encouraging them. In these cases you have two options. One is to ignore it, the other is to scare the absolute living daylights out of them. You've clearly opted for the latter & are failing miserably. Hope you like the sound of your doorbell, as you'll be hearing it a lot.

I have never done it before . I really don't care for them to ring the bell but when you hear the heavy feet a running is the annoying. Prank fail on there half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭beyondbelief67

We all did it when we were kids. Let kids be kids. Its happened to me and when I went out and got 'caught' I smiled and said 'little feckers'

There's one thing kids being kids and another doing this prank after ten at night, happened to me a few times about 10.30pm as my kids were asleep waking them up, now sorry but that's not right or kids being kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

This reminds me of the knick knacking we did as kids.

We would pick the house of someone who we would get foaming at the mouth (someone like cena!), tie a fishing line to the knocker, go across the road behind a hedge and knock. Repeat for an hour. Absolutely hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I was part of a crew that used to hit up doorbells in the early 00s. Some of these guys I rolled with went on to become serious players in the organised trolling scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Why don't you prank them op.

Wait till they go home knock on their doors.

I would watch what they do dress up as a clown and walk out from behind a tree all the while holding a cock and mallet.

Faces and reactions would be priceless.

If punisher done pranks he would probably be the best in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

That's nice, dear.

I would watch what they do dress up as a clown and walk out from behind a tree all the while holding a cock and mallet.

I'm a 30 yr old person. Not going out of my way to prank them. More then likely I well see then around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Ah it's fun to nick-nack when you're drunk. I'd seriously wonder about anyone over the age of 12 who would find it funny when sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I'm a 30 ye old person. Not going out of my way to prank them. More then likely I well see then around

Oh get ya wink wink see them around.

Your like me more a punishment type of guy :-D:-D:-D:-D.

A kick in the teeth would be a good come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭GHOST MGG

young kids in my area were doing it more than usual lately..i caught one of them at the door while the rest ran off..he said he only did it "because i needed a sin for confession for my holy communion in may" i was like haha poor kid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Kids these days don't know how to knick knack right :rolleyes: ,what happened to setting a bag of dog poo on fire on the door step

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Does everyone call these "nick knacks"? Is that the universal name for it in different areas in the country among different age groups?
    My wife insisted they were called "ding dong runaways" where she lived and I don't know if she's taking the piss or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Went off in car to find just to give them a scare . fools didn't know what to say when I pulled up.

Bit ott going after them. Yes its annoying but OP, you were a kid once!

Knock Knock
    Whos there?
    Cena
    Cena who?
    Cena's gonna get u!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Do this and none of the parents will let their children anywhere near your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Cienciano wrote: »
    Does everyone call these "nick knacks"? Is that the universal name for it in different areas in the country among different age groups?
    My wife insisted they were called "ding dong runaways" where she lived and I don't know if she's taking the piss or not.

We called it Belfast. Ring the bell and run fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Tell the judge that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭thickhead

cena wrote:
    Went off in car to find just to give them a scare . fools didn't know what to say when I pulled up. I know them from football.

And your sure your not a pedophile ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Thats funny, same thing happened at my house tonight, a group of young fellas rang the door bell and I could see them running down the street into the bushes. Little ****s!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I'm 36 years of age and I still go knick knacking regularly.

It's usually a good night's craic.

People are always saying, there's nothing to do in Dublin except drink,....well, knick knacking is free, and you get exercise as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Cienciano wrote: »
    thats a great name for them. We called them tickynocks. We had another one that was seasonal where you would get handfuls of berrys from bushes or trees and pelts the windows in rapid succession until a door opened. that was called the "berrym'job."

thickhead wrote: »
    And your sure your not a pedophile ?

How dear you. I was there coach in football (gaa) last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Channel 4 have just pulled a variation of that prank on me, saw some crap called California Man coming on, turned it on, AND IT'S ENCINO MAN!!!! :):):):):)

How dear you. I was there coach in football (gaa)

Do you also work in journalism? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

Used to love knick knacks as a kid, Always went back to the houses that gave us a chase. Word of advice, if kids knick knack on your door never chase them, it'll just result in them doing in more..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

thats a great name for them. We called them tickynocks. We had another one that was seasonal where you would get handfuls of berrys from bushes or trees and pelts the windows in rapid succession until a door opened. that was called the "berrym'job."

Yea, I was part of a tough crew that pelted windows with berries too! We used a modified catapult, cut a plastic bottle in half use the top half and tape a balloon around the end of it, drop the berries in and you could fire them off at serious velocity, they would splat on the window!

We also put a cooked sausage in someones letter box, I sort of regret that now, probably a bit much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,899 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I never bothered playing it (too much effort) but I think we used to call it 'thunder and lightning'.

Cena, you should get one of those cheapo motion-activated lights from Lidl. Just as they are approaching, about to ring the doorbell, the light comes on and gives them a bit of a shock, since they wouldn't be expecting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Called knockadolly down here.

Used to do it years ago :)

cena they could be doing lots worse things.

Custardpi wrote: »
    Do you also work in journalism? :pac:

Nope why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Chickentown

I'm a 30 yr old person. Not going out of my way to prank them. More then likely I well see then around

Does this mean that the young lads concerned will hear through the grapevine that 'Cena is after them' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

How dear you. I was there coach in football (gaa) last year.

As there former coach and a person dealing with kids ,i would suggest you stop

(a) driving around after kids and putting them in fear

(b) making judements on kids you meet after getting keys, running to car starting it and moving /driving and meeting kids

(c) find a different approach to dealing with kids who just want to have fun ,before some child accuses you of somthing you cant defend for being hotheaded in the moment

(d) if your in the chasing mode ring the gardai sit back and watch them reply

dont post your hot headness on socail media ,where anybody can bring it up in pursit of a paypot for frightening johnny/mary

moral stance has now ended

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

We called it Cherry Door Knocking, no idea why. Not sure if it had capital letters though, never saw it written down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Op you need to put a stop to them permanently, get some matches, petrol and the next time they do it burn your house down, it's the only way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Their goddammit their.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭seamusk84

Used to get a great buzz out of knick knacks as a kid. Anytime the cousins were up from the country we would go on a spree.
    Funny story, I bought a house where we used to always knick knack as kids as a garda lived there then and gave us chase. So I used to always knick knack the house I live in now. Yes we called it knick knack.