Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drones, license required or not?

• 13-03-2015 3:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭

Hey guys... I've had a quick search and am hoping someone in aviation can direct me to a source on this.

Was out in my back garden and heard a buzzing. Saw a drone with a camera flying overhead. It flew over a few of my neighnours back gardens, and off it went.

I walked out onto the street following it, and found a pair of guys controlling it. They landed it, and I asked them what they were up to?

They said they were doing a private photography project. I asked if they had a license, and they said nope, license is only required for commercial use.

tbh, I was concerned about whether they were casing the place for a burglary, or generally up to no good. Now, this was an urban area, cork city specifically. From newspapers, all I can find is stuff like this.
    "In Ireland, small drones (under 20kg) can generally be used non-commercially if kept below 120 metres in altitude, within 500 metres from the operator and at least 150m away from anyone else or any "structure or vehicle".

But they cannot be used "over any assembly of persons", in residential areas or near airports unless special permission is granted. The IAA also suggests - but does not appear to require - that third party insurance is to be taken out when purchasing one."

So, that makes me think that they should not have been flying over houses without permission or a license. Is that the case?

Anyone got a link to something other than a newspaper article?
    I found this... but it doesn't mention anything about urban areas or flying around people's back gardens.

https://www.iaa.ie/index.jsp?p=100&n=107&a=406&pp=253&nn=488&lID=283

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

They need a license if they want to operate it over a built up area. However if they were flying over say a field, then they would be fine.

But they definitely need a license to operate a drone over someone's property if they don't have permission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭martinsvi

on this note, do slingshots require licenses/permits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    They need a license if they want to operate it over a built up area. However if they were flying over say a field, then they would be fine.

But they definitely need a license to operate a drone over someone's property if they don't have permission.

Thanks, anywhere official I can reference for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

pwurple wrote: »
    Thanks, anywhere official I can reference for that?

Look at the IAA website. It should be there somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭notharrypotter

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

martinsvi wrote: »
    on this note, do slingshots require licenses/permits?

No need to be a troll

Tenger wrote: »
    No need to be a troll

I did not intend to come across like a humorous little chap, my question was quite genuine - if I see one of those little bugs coming above my head, I will not hesitate to put one down.. yes, I do realize I'm a bit anti-social, but I guess form legal point of view, the question remains valid - do I have the right to play with a slingshot in my back yard and if so, if some drone gets in my pebble's way - do I have to pay for the damage done to drone or does the drone owner has to pay for the damage done to my pebble?

I do realize my question might seem like I'm having a laugh, but I'm not.. I think OP raised a very valid point regarding the security, burglaries and so on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Panda_Turtle

I did not intend to come across like a humorous little chap, my question was quite genuine - if I see one of those little bugs coming above my head, I will not hesitate to put one down.. yes, I do realize I'm a bit anti-social, but I guess form legal point of view, the question remains valid - do I have the right to play with a slingshot in my back yard and if so, if some drone gets in my pebble's way - do I have to pay for the damage done to drone or does the drone owner has to pay for the damage done to my pebble?

I do realize my question might seem like I'm having a laugh, but I'm not.. I think OP raised a very valid point regarding the security, burglaries and so on...

I doubt you would have the right to knock it down, I mean you can`t just shoot at a plane that happens to be in the airspace above your property. Interesting point though, your allowed use force against a burglar.

On a related note, here is a kangaroo knocking a drone to the ground presumably protecting itself and its joey :)

I doubt you would have the right to knock it down, I mean you can`t just shoot at a plane that happens to be in the airspace above your property.

Airspace above my head is regulated by law, it dictates that aircraft shall not fly lower than 1500 ft over town (except when landing or taking off at airport).. Planes pass my head at safe altitude every day and I'm fine with that (even happy, I have something to look at)

drones, however, that often fly around just few meters over ground, at window levels is a completely different story. I don't think I'm unreasonable by saying - if that thing is lower than the highest part of my house, it's in my property and I shall do with it what ever I want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭jimbis

There's also the law against photography on private property.
    The cctv on my house isn't allowed see into my neighbours garden so I assume a drone flying over my house is breaking the same law. If it has a camera fitted of course.

Thanks guys. I phoned the IAA. Basically, they don't require a license for the drone, but they did require my permission, and were breaking the "rules of the air".

Rules about flying over urban areas are the same that apply to model aircraft. For safety, privacy and security reasons it is not allowed without explicit permission. Crashing into people is a whole lot more likely when you are in their garden! This thing was about ten feet from me and a couple of kids.

I didn't consider the photography law aspect, but yes, it had a camera, it was videoing the area.

As far as I can tell though, there is no method of enforcing these rules? Think i'd have to go to the gardai if I wanted to push it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Xpro

Thanks guys. I phoned the IAA. Basically, they don't require a license for the drone, but they did require my permission, and were breaking the "rules of the air".

Rules about flying over urban areas are the same that apply to model aircraft. For safety, privacy and security reasons it is not allowed without explicit permission. Crashing into people is a whole lot more likely when you are in their garden! This thing was about ten feet from me and a couple of kids.

I didn't consider the photography law aspect, but yes, it had a camera, it was videoing the area.

As far as I can tell though, there is no method of enforcing these rules? Think i'd have to go to the gardai if I wanted to push it.

Jeysus, I wouldnt want to be your neighbour:rolleyes:

Xpro wrote: »
    Jeysus, I wouldnt want to be your neighbour:rolleyes:

These guys were not my neighbours, they were filthy-looking dudes with a clapped out car, flying video cameras over my two small children playing in our back garden.

So yeah, if you are the type who likes to film little girls without their parent's knowing about it, damn right you wouldn't want to be my neighbour.

I did not intend to come across like a humorous little chap, my question was quite genuine -........

Ah, I see where you were going with that now. Apologies for jumping to conclusion

Might be a resurgence in airsoft gun ownership?

These guys were not my neighbours, they were filthy-looking dudes with a clapped out car, flying video cameras over my two small children playing in our back garden.

So yeah, if you are the type who likes to film little girls without their parent's knowing about it, damn right you wouldn't want to be my neighbour.

oh man... contact Garda.. even if it's retrospective and you don't have any specifics, such as licence plates or anything, it's good to let your local station know what's going on.. it's all about awareness and from what you've described, it needs to be raised..
    Ah, I see where you were going with that now. Apologies for jumping to conclusion

and I should have explained myself a bit better... keep up the good work!

I mean are you sure they were not some 3rd year college drop out hipster art project doing types? Could you smell Starbucks on them? again not trying to be funny, it frightens me to think that your average crook is turning advanced and investing proper bucks into top notch technology to get to the goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭cppilot98

You should have called the police. Taken their number and reported them. Nobody has any business over flying anyone's property. Simple as that.

All hindsight of course. But duly noted for the future.

I have an airsoft gun. If a drone flew over my garden while I happened to be practicing. I can't be responsible for potential ricochets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭jimbis

Can anyone else see this..... 10, 20 or 50 years time we'll all have our own household drone that sits on the chimney watching over us. Any foreign drone that inflicts our property gets blasted out of the sky by ours.
    Or even better if an unrecognised person tries to gain access to our house the drone tasers it. :D

Yes I'm going slightly off topic but it is plausible in the near/distant future :eek: and I like to dream lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

I mean are you sure they were not some 3rd year college drop out hipster art project doing types? Could you smell Starbucks on them? again not trying to be funny, it frightens me to think that your average crook is turning advanced and investing proper bucks into top notch technology to get to the goal

Drones are cheap enough... But yes, even though i have plates etc i reckon they are probably photography enthusiasts, i won't be calling guards. We live in an old part of the city, there are ruins, graves, statues etc around that are interesting to people. We get people wandering in here looking for historical stuff the odd time, and normally if anyone engages with us, we are more than happy to let them look around.

But flying cameras over us on our own place with no permission is a totally different thing. It would have taken about two minutes to say it to us first if they were legit, and we would have gotten the kids out of the way and let them at it. We are also surrounded by elderly people, who have been burgled, so that is on my mind too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 forrestgolfer

I have been reading about drones on here trying to find my best answer to this. I have a drone which I received as a gift and the photo/video quality is quite good. As a student I have absolutely no money, I work weekends but that usually does me for petrol money, food and sometimes a night out, So is there anything to stop me from say offering people aerial photographs of their house for 30-50 euro? I have already had some requests from friends and family but was unsure. I know they say you need a license to do all this commercially, public liability insurance etc. But if I do one or two a week and make a small bit of money on the side who's going to catch/stop me? Any thoughts on this anyone?

if you're doing this for your friends and family, no one will bat an eyelid, except maybe the revenue office for undeclared income (but they have bigger problems to deal with so let's assume they will not come after you)..

now the problem starts when you actually advertise a service.. some guys actually take the effort to go through licencing (they exist, I've seen them doing their "exams" at EINC), they take out insurances which adds cost to the service.. if you're going to put an add up adverts or someplace else advertising a service for half-price to what it actually costs to cover legal fees, my guess the first people trying to ground you will be those guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 forrestgolfer

if you're doing this for your friends and family, no one will bat an eyelid, except maybe the revenue office for undeclared income (but they have bigger problems to deal with so let's assume they will not come after you)..

now the problem starts when you actually advertise a service.. some guys actually take the effort to go through licencing (they exist, I've seen them doing their "exams" at EINC), they take out insurances which adds cost to the service.. if you're going to put an add up adverts or someplace else advertising a service for half-price to what it actually costs to cover legal fees, my guess the first people trying to ground you will be those guys!

I would think that I would do one to two a week max and rely solely on word of mouth and/or maybe offer the pictures to some businesses for their websites. I realise the implications advertising would have. Plus I'm not looking to take these guys business, just make a small bit on the side to help me through college! I think I'm just going to go ahead with it and say nothing to anyone :)

So now you're saying they were potential pedofiles flying around your garden. :rolleyes:

I better get my kids in so as there's an aerlingus plane just about to land and he is flying over my house pretty low. hmm you never know who the captain is.

Get a life dude, somebody was having a bit of fun flying the drone and you are making it sound as if they were scoping your house or your kids.

You might aswell get on to google as Im sure your house and the street you live in can be seen online;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

So now you're saying they were potential pedofiles flying around your garden. :rolleyes:

I better get my kids in so as there's an aerlingus plane just about to land and he is flying over my house pretty low. hmm you never know who the captain is.

Get a life dude, somebody was having a bit of fun flying the drone and you are making it sound as if they were scoping your house or your kids.

You might aswell get on to google as Im sure your house and the street you live in can be seen online;)

The peadofile thing may be unlikely but it's entirely possible. What I'd be more concerned about is drones in cases like these being used to scout out houses for burglaries.

With these drones, gone are the days of vans driving slowly past houses, now they can use drones and get a birds eye view of the place from whatever angles they want, get a good layout of the place and even look in windows.

So it's possible it could be a perfectly innocent, but if that's the case then go fly them in a public park or something, and not around other peoples property. The OP is entitled to be concerned about the drone flying close to the house.

The peadofile thing may be unlikely but it's entirely possible. What I'd be more concerned about is drones in cases like these being used to scout out houses for burglaries.

With these drones, gone are the days of vans driving slowly past houses, now they can use drones and get a birds eye view of the place from whatever angles they want, get a good layout of the place and even look in windows.

So it's possible it could be a perfectly innocent, but if that's the case then go fly them in a public park or something, and not around other peoples property. The OP is entitled to be concerned about the drone flying close to the house.

Absolutely. But I think the OP has taken this a step to far, with ringing IAA,etc and his major concerns. Could have been a 100% genuine person flying about.
    I would love to hear the other side of the story too.

I live beside a park and see drones flying quite a lot, so Im well used to them, and they are definitely not cheap and it does take some skills to fly them.
    I haven't seen a cowboy flying one yet I must say but ya never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 821 ✭✭✭eatmyshorts

"Paedophile".... It's spelt "paedophile".

Carry on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭cppilot98

The OP is right to be concerned. No one should fly a drone over someone else's property. There is no genuine reason for this. Not only is it illegal it's potentially dangerous and if nothing else creepy.

Same goes for our friend who wants to make money out of his drone. It'll only take one serious accident or injury for the buying of drones to be regulated and licensed. In fact it's likely that those who are operating legally will call for it to put a stop to cowboys.

Drones are so new they're still enjoying a honeymoon period. That won't last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 821 ✭✭✭eatmyshorts

cppilot98 wrote: »

Same goes for our friend who wants to make money out of his drone. It'll only take one serious accident or injury for the buying of drones to be regulated and licensed. In fact it's likely that those who are operating legally will call for it to put a stop to cowboys.

I'd assume you'd need some kind of public liability insurance. Crashing it into someone and causing an injury would likely result in a claim against the operator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭skallywag

I'd also have a gripe with someone flying a drone over my own property without my permission, I'm fully with the OP on that.

The paedophile angle is just sensationalist though in fairness ...

Absolutely. But I think the OP has taken this a step to far, with ringing IAA,etc and his major concerns. Could have been a 100% genuine person flying about.
    I would love to hear the other side of the story too.

I can't phone the IAA with a query? How is asking a couple of questions about the legality of these things "too far" . God forbid I speak to someone or educate myself. Eh gads the horror of gaining more knowledge. How very dare I.

While they are mostly used as a toy, there are plenty of other uses, misuses and accidents that can occur. It's common knowledge that it's the method of choice for getting drugs into prisons these days. A bunch of spinning blades with a video camera, zooming 10 ft over small kids who can neither get out of the way quickly, or have to cop on to do so, apart from being against the law, also isn't the smartest thing to be doing. I really don't know why you think it's ok.

You already know the other side of the story, some blokes are flying their drone about. Don't give two shlts about anyone else, their safety, their privacy, their security or their property... are surprised to be questioned on it and hear no more about it. The end.

Yeah, there's an aircraft 10ft from your children alright. You live on a runway perhaps?

You don't get it, I don't know these people from Adam. They could be anyone at all. From jimmy saville impersonators to the local locksmith. I don't know what they were doing, and I do not want them filming my house, me, or my children in my garden with a dubiously controlled unlicensed device without my permission.

I think that's both reasonable and normal.

But feel free to tell me I'm the lunatic, the law is all wrong, the world's against you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

http://www.verifly.com are supposed to be creating no-fly zones you can submit yourself

Hey guys... I've had a quick search and am hoping someone in aviation can direct me to a source on this.

Was out in my back garden and heard a buzzing. Saw a drone with a camera flying overhead. It flew over a few of my neighnours back gardens, and off it went.

I walked out onto the street following it, and found a pair of guys controlling it. They landed it, and I asked them what they were up to?

They said they were doing a private photography project. I asked if they had a license, and they said nope, license is only required for commercial use.

tbh, I was concerned about whether they were casing the place for a burglary, or generally up to no good. Now, this was an urban area, cork city specifically. From newspapers, all I can find is stuff like this.

So, that makes me think that they should not have been flying over houses without permission or a license. Is that the case?

Anyone got a link to something other than a newspaper article?
    I found this... but it doesn't mention anything about urban areas or flying around people's back gardens.

https://www.iaa.ie/index.jsp?p=100&n=107&a=406&pp=253&nn=488&lID=283

confused by this because S.I. No. 25/2000 - Irish Aviation Authority (Rockets and Small Aircraft) Order, 2000.
    The Irish Aviation Authority, in exercise of the powers conferred on it by sections 5 , 58 and 60 of the Irish Aviation Authority Act, 1993 (No. 29 of 1993) as amended by the Air Navigation and Transport (Amendment) Act, 1998 (No. 24 of 1998), hereby orders as follows:

1. Applicability

(1) This order shall apply, unless otherwise specified herein, to a small aircraft not exceeding a maximum total weight of 20 kilograms, less fuel but including equipment or cargo, and to unmanned rockets exceeding 1.5 kilograms in fuelled weight and with more than 100 grams of propellant.

(2) The Order shall not apply to:

(c) to a model aircraft of less than 1.5 kilograms maximum weight less fuel and constructed of wood, paper or frangible plastic containing no substantial parts and operated in a manner that does not create a hazard to persons, property or other aircraft.

and i presume the hobby drone is less then 1.5kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,192 ✭✭✭✭L1011

confused by this because S.I. No. 25/2000 - Irish Aviation Authority (Rockets and Small Aircraft) Order, 2000.

and i presume the hobby drone is less then 1.5kg

Its very unlikely its made of wood, paper or frangible* plastic though.

*shatters on impact

Also, 1.5KG is pretty light in reality - for instance there's few laptops under 1.5KG. That's VERY light to assume you can build a quadricopter with any battery life at all in.

L1011 wrote: »
    Its very unlikely its made of wood, paper or frangible* plastic though.

*shatters on impact

Also, 1.5KG is pretty light in reality - for instance there's few laptops under 1.5KG. That's VERY light to assume you can build a quadricopter with any battery life at all in.

but Phantom 2 vision 1160g
    http://www.dji.com/products/compare-phantom1284g 1180g 1030g

http://ardrone2.parrot.com/ 420g with indoor hull?

this says http://www.currys.ie/product/parrot-ardrone-20-elite-edition/330112/403.2.1 2.1 kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,192 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The 420g is without camera, a plastic that won't be allowed, and has a 10 minute battery endurance.

The 1.1kg ones definitely have "substantial parts", and a material that wouldn't be allowed.

That exception is basically for balsa wood gliders, not drones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Might be a resurgence in airsoft gun ownership?

Unfortunately if you're seen by your neighbours waving a Realistic Imitation Firearm around - even in your own garden - and they decide to phone the Guards, you could end up on a charge of "brandishing".

Really not a recommended solution. Sorry.

Go down the IAA route. Or buy a big net...

OzCam wrote: »

Go down the IAA route. Or buy a big net...

Now there's an image!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Guys please keep Airsoft talk to the Airsoft forum.

Just heard that National Flight Centre is now a fully approved and IAA registered organisation to train Drone Pilots and issue Licences..

• Site Banned Posts: 118 ✭✭browniepoints

Most of the cameras on these small drones are low quality image with no real zoom possibilities.
    Cant see any pedophiles wanting to make use of the pictures of kids in gardens .
    There exists small risk of use of the device for burglary but its loud way to case the place and burglars like to be low profile .

The nature of the these small drones its not always easy to see that it is over peoples property .
    If they are using a first pilot view camera shot looking forward that is sent to their mobile phone or to laptop it isn't always easy to figure your exact location.If the camera is is facing downwards you might spot your drifting over peoples property but it isn't always for sure if the craft is tilted some what to combat local wind you still might think your over the field .

In Phoenix park where years ago me an my mates used to fly radio control models before drones with cameras came to change the story In those times we often could try to fly through trees as judging the distance between you and tree were you in front of it behind it or flying through it was not easy to figure out .If you flew into tree you climbed up the tree to rescue the model planes.
    The cameras can help a bit but not completely as the vision can be upset with air turbulence rapid man-overs adding to confusion and if camera is pointing rewards or sidewards the camera advantage is negated and it back to model plane vision only flying.

The fact the guys were not clean and drove junky car fits with many of the model plane drone fans types .Some they can be mechanics like mechanical things and repair the cars in the day time.They see nice weather and run out for quick flight using any banger near to hand.
    Then you meet them a few hour later after they get home scrub up and head to disco in their real car you wont know them .

now if you said they had top of the range four wheel drive or Merc then i would be more concerned it was burglary or some such scam like tarmac drive way scams whatever . There they like to know your not in come tarmac the drive way you arrive home they demand the money for the work and its brave guy who will say he wont pay when there is twenty of these strong guys in your drive way looking for the money .

My money is they were just joes out for quick flight lost their bearing probably novices .
    Like most novices they fly a few times and forget the gadget and go to some other sport that has more kicks like trips to Russia to use AA12 shotguns .

Jed

theres the statutory instrument signed today http://opac.oireachtas.ie/AWData/Library3/IAADOCLAID141215_150807.pdf to commence 21st of December details on registration still not on website https://www.iaa.ie/Remote-Piloted-Aircraft-Systems will be published in December

the registers take on similar US FAA rules FAA introduces unworkable drone registration rules in time for Christmas
    All fliers must pay $5 to register with the government http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/12/14/faa_drone_registration_rules/

any drone over 250 grams sayys FAA anything over 1 kg says IAA

woops merge these threads http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=97721387

new website for the IAA drones is at https://www.iaa.ie/general-aviation/drones but registration detials 404 for the moment

new website for the IAA drones is at https://www.iaa.ie/general-aviation/drones but registration details 404 for the moment registration and lost and found drones soon

some more info https://www.iaa.ie/general-aviation/drones/drone-registration
    Two Step Registration Process

In order to register your drone, you must first register with ASSET, the IAA's online terrain mapping system. Once done, you will be able to register your drone via the ASSET system.
    Age Restrictions
    You must be over 16 years of age to register a drone. Drones operated by those under 16 years of age must be registered by a parent or legal guardian.

terrain mapping system? Asset Aeronautical Surfaces Screening
    Evaluation Tool http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:eSVxO5oe2C4J:https://www.iaa.ie/media/IAAPlanningPolicy.10October20141.pdf+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=ie
    It is clear that a collaborative, proactive and consultative approach between the aviation,
    construction and wind energy industries is necessary in the area of land use. To facilitate
    this, the IAA has put in place a dedicated cloud based system to assist all stakeholders in
    carrying out their respective functions. Known as the Aeronautical Surfaces Screening
    Evaluation Tool (ASSET), this software system provides the IAA with the facility to
    meet several of its aviation safety requirements, one of which relates to storage and
    publication of electronic data for obstacles, terrain, navigation aids, aerodromes and
    associated airspace protection surfaces. Furthermore, ASSET has advanced capabilities,
    including two-dimensional (2D) and three-dimensional (3D) visualisation and multi-layer
    functionality which facilitate the assessment of a proposed development from an obstacle
    perspective. It is user friendly and once data related to a proposed development is
    entered via the web, it will provide an initial indication as to whether it is likely to be an
    obstacle affecting aviation safety or if further evaluation is required. ASSET provides full
    traceability of data while meeting the stringent EU aeronautical data quality standards
    required for aviation
    ASSET can be used free of charge by developers, builders, aerodrome operators, air
    navigation service providers, aircraft operators, planning authorities, government
    departments, their agencies and any other stakeholder with an interest in the subject area
    saving time and resources by providing information on the potential impact on aviation of
    any proposed development or construction, temporary or permanent, in the State
    https://www.asset-international.com/etod.jsf

wonder how complicated its going to be, how tailored to people registering drones

You also need to ask how secure it's going to be. They're asking you to put your name, address, and (I'm assuming a drone heavy enough to need registration is expensive) the fact that you have a fancy drone and all the accessories worth stealing, and where to find it.

Especially since it looks like this is being launched in a hurry. Security-as-an-afterthought doesn't work.

Good Luck.

OzCam wrote: »
    You also need to ask how secure it's going to be. They're asking you to put your name, address, and (I'm assuming a drone heavy enough to need registration is expensive) the fact that you have a fancy drone and all the accessories worth stealing, and where to find it.

Especially since it looks like this is being launched in a hurry. Security-as-an-afterthought doesn't work.

Good Luck.
    well its seems to be the same system they use for registering things a lot more expensive then drones

video there now https://www.iaa.ie/general-aviation/drones/drone-registration

http://www.cghtech.com/partnersclients/international-clients/

free for now 5 euro in february http://www.independent.ie/business/technology/new-drone-rules-come-into-force-34295294.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 LCRS

Does this mean the IAA or ASSET has access to all flight log data also does anyone know?

well its seems to be the same system they use for registering things a lot more expensive then drones

And, pray tell, how often does someone break into your home to steal an aircraft?