Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good dog breed for security?

• 10-03-2015 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭

Can anyone recommend a good (intimidating) dog breed for security in a rural farming area, preferably one that is relatively low maintenance and not going to cause problems with sheep or other livestock?

Anyone have any experience with boxers around sheep/cattle/horses? They definitely look intimidating, a friend has two of them and no one in their right mind would enter the property when they're free. Best security I've seen but there are no livestock near them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Any boxer I've been around have been dotes. A dog that makes lots of noise at intruders would be better than one that looks intimating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

R0C wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a good (intimidating) dog breed for security in a rural farming area, preferably one that is relatively low maintenance and not going to cause problems with sheep or other livestock?

Anyone have any experience with boxers around sheep/cattle/horses? They definitely look intimidating, a friend has two of them and no one in their right mind would enter the property when they're free. Best security I've seen but there are no livestock near them.

The folks dog is the off spring of my collie and our neighbours lab cross. She is a great gaurd dog, not over aggressive but will bark at any stranger that comes into the yard and will make herslf known. Has woken them a few times when a car comes into the yard late at night too. Happy out lying in front of the fire and going for a spin in the car too.

As she has the sheepdog breed in her she does need to kept active though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

doberman pincher no messing with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Roquentin wrote: »
    doberman pincher no messing with them

Guy from Dublin bought a place near here as a holiday home. Has three of those yokes running around the garden every couple of weekends. Scare the bejaysus out of me even looking at them.

Kovu wrote: »
    Guy from Dublin bought a place near here as a holiday home. Has three of those yokes running around the garden every couple of weekends. Scare the bejaysus out of me even looking at them.

you wouldnt be able to outrun them either. theyd hunt you down and tear you to pieces if you broke in to a house.

I have no plans of going near them! I just hope their radio collars never fail :pac:

Every time I see a Doberman I think of that one from Up when his voice goes all squeaky :p

i dont know what they are like around livestock. i suppose you could train them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭R0C

My friends boxers certainly make noise and bare their teeth. Wouldn't cross them, but they're dotes when their owners are present and they know you're welcome.

A sheepdog would seem the most likely option but I'm just not sure if they are off putting enough for an unwanted intruder entering a yard.

Personally I'd enter a yard with a barking sheepdog without much fear but I wouldn't set foot on a property if I saw a loose Alsatian - they're meant to be very bad around livestock though.

Property would be vacant for most of the day so I'd like a dog to be free to roam within the perimeter (maybe with a radio collar to keep him within the boundary) but i'd need to trust he won't do damage to livestock when I'm not watching him.

i dont know what they are like around livestock. i suppose you could train them.

If anyone here happens to know of one around livestock I'd be curious to hear how they are, thanks.

http://www.chronofhorse.com/forum/showthread.php?181639-Dobermans-as-farm-dogs

rottweiller or a german sheperd but youd have to train them from a young age and like you said boxers

over in china they used and use tibetian mastiffs to guard flocks of whatever. probably have to pay a lot for one of them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

i'd need to trust he won't do damage to livestock when I'm not watching him.

There is no breed of dog that I know of that could be guaranteed not to do damage to livestock.
    If you require this, it's up to you to put the time and work into a dog to train him to your requirements.
    The Collie Bitch at home is a right dog around the place. Nobody comes or goes without her barking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

There are two beside us and they don't bother with the cows but I couldn't speak for the others . I reckon every dog is different with regards temperament whether they are scary looking or not . The doberman beside us is fierce stupid, I wouldn't get one for love nor money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Jack Russell

Agreed that every dog is different and it's not possible to predict their behavior fully based on a specific breed but I believe it gives some idea of what to expect.

I grew up around Labradors and my family still have a black lab. Without any training, the Labs I've known never had any interest whatsoever in sheep, cattle or horses. We could let an adult lab into a field for the first time with a fairly highly strung horse and there was no interest or reaction from the dog.

I find labs too high energy though for the first half of their life (even with several hours of daily exercise) and in need of a lot of attention constantly - I'm looking for a dog who can stay in a yard without human supervision for several hours of the day and not get themselves into bother within my boundary. Based on personal experience, I'm ruling Labradors out (though the black ones do look fairly intimidating if you don't know them).

I said wrote: »
    Jack Russell

My last dog was a Jack Russell. Plenty of bark but a bit fond of chasing sheep the second we turned our backs. Also probably too small to intimidate intruders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Two rotties here and no thinker would dare enter the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

My boyfriend's parents have 2 German Shepherds. The oldest one is huge and intimidates everyone... he would lick you to death on reality. A lot of people won't get out of their cars when they see him.

The other is a puppy but is getting big too. Can't imagine anyone will want to pass him either. The size/noise from them is definitely what scares people the most!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Midlandsman80

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/392083/268892.jpg

My two dobes are fine with cattle but I would not let them alone with calves or pigs.
    Dobes are really really bad at being solitary, they don't live outside well and need a minding.
    If it's going to be a farmyard dog living outside and not by the fire a dobe is wrong choice, will wreck the place.,.
    A german Shepard may suit best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

over in china they used and use tibetian mastiffs to guard flocks of whatever. probably have to pay a lot for one of them though.

I googled some images of those boys. Have to be the most intimidating breed out there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭vinnie13

KatW4 wrote: »
    My boyfriend's parents have 2 German Shepherds. The oldest one is huge and intimidates everyone... he would lick you to death on reality. A lot of people won't get out of their cars when they see him.

The other is a puppy but is getting big too. Can't imagine anyone will want to pass him either. The size/noise from them is definitely what scares people the most!

+1 for gsd,you wont find a better dog to protect,they are good with sheep etc naturally and like working been kept busy,
    i have a bitch that is a big softy but that can change in a flash if she dosent like the situation.she can go from getting a pet been a softy to full on agro at a bump outside..
    there is no such thing as a bad dog or one that wont learn its the thick person trying to train it.
    take your time,use the same word and make sure ANYONE else uses the words yo do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

To be honest op the dog you're looking for and low maintenance does not exist especially if on their own for large chunks of the day. We've had everything from jack Russell to labs to rotties chase our stock simply because the owners couldn't be arsed walking them or keeping them on their own property, owners who then go on to deny it every time. One lad was telling me his dog can't get in to the field just as the ****er jumped the fence straight into it. The dogs you are looking for need training and mental stimulation or they get bored and that is when things go wrong. If you need one get it trained professionally or else invest in cctv or some other security

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭flossy1

KatW4 wrote: »

I think a German Shepherd is best .I had one he minded the house very well.I had lots of sheep around and he wouln't look at them.

Milked out wrote: »
    To be honest op the dog you're looking for and low maintenance does not exist especially if on their own for large chunks of the day. We've had everything from jack Russell to labs to rotties chase our stock simply because the owners couldn't be arsed walking them or keeping them on their own property, owners who then go on to deny it every time. One lad was telling me his dog can't get in to the field just as the ****er jumped the fence straight into it. The dogs you are looking for need training and mental stimulation or they get bored and that is when things go wrong. If you need one get it trained professionally or else invest in cctv or some other security

Looking for the dog on top of cctv and other security. It is possible there is no such dog, that's why I posted this as I'm hoping someone can recommend a breed from their personal experience.

Livestock I refer to is my own. If I do find a suitable security dog, he will be kept within my boundaries (isolated location not near anyone else hence requirement for barking dog). But I don't want to have to worry about him nipping at my own sheep/horses when I turn my back.

I'm willing to get him trained professionally, if there is a good watchdog breed out there who also gets along with other animals.

And he will be adequately exercised. But it's definitely more of an outdoor/barn dog I'm seeking than an indoor fireside pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Malinois or German shepherd that's been properly trained would do the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

If I could have any dog for security I'd go for presa canario or cane corso or similar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Looking for the dog on top of cctv and other security. It is possible there is no such dog, that's why I posted this as I'm hoping someone can recommend a breed from their personal experience.

Livestock I refer to is my own. If I do find a suitable security dog, he will be kept within my boundaries (isolated location not near anyone else hence requirement for barking dog). But I don't want to have to worry about him nipping at my own sheep/horses when I turn my back.

I'm willing to get him trained professionally, if there is a good watchdog breed out there who also gets along with other animals.

And he will be adequately exercised. But it's definitely more of an outdoor/barn dog I'm seeking than an indoor fireside

Ah Fair enough, have had bad experiences with dogs and owners unfortunately and it's all cows we have no sheep. We have a sheep dog, a cross between a collie and a german shepard and a jack Russel here, all from pups. Main reason they don't chase the stock is that they are with me when I'm handling the stock and have become used to them so if you could bring the dog with you when dealing with the animals it helps to normalise them to it and you could nip the livestock chase in the bud. If you're willing to get them trained perhaps a trainer could offer advise on suitable breeds? The jack Russel is the noisier of the three, the sheepdog is 12 now so more interested in her sleep and the cross is seriously energetic and barks a bit but not always at the car coming up, looks the part alrite.tho. All three would just look for a rub off everyone tho. Friends parents have a german shepard that.makes some serious.noise whenever anyone enters the yard and circles cars. His mother was on her own one evening and an unmarked van came in to the yard and the van drove around twice with the dog after it and a phone book was thrown out the window and yer man sped off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Anyone see the documentary 'Wolves Vs Buffalo'. The Alpha Male 'Storm' on that is some animal. See him here at 2.30 mins.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tCG1I-Ssgww

Anyone see the documentary 'Wolves Vs Buffalo'. The Alpha Male 'Storm' on that is some animal. See him here at 2.30 mins.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tCG1I-Ssgww

I wouldn't like one of them lads nipping at my heals ! Some strength in the big wolf !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Have 3 dogs hear boxer shepherd and springer
    the only one I would trust to protect the place is the shepherd she is fantastic a lad called a few months ago selling tools and she just stood there staring at him no tail waging he would not get out of the van . Boxers will bark but that's about all and half the time thay only want to play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Button_y

German Shepherd would get my vote. We have horses and cows around, dog has no interest. Unless a dog is trained correctly around sheep and used to them I wouldn't trust them especially if more than one dog around. They are easy train, intelligent and very loyal. Ours seems to be a very good judge of callers I'm not sure if that's by reading our reactions to visitors or his own take on them. He will bark at almost everyone, Jehovah witnesses called one day and he was very aggressive with them! Extended family he will bark at but halfheartedly. It would take a very brave person to come into the property if they didn't know him. His bark is very loud and he looks the part. He is a gentle giant though and would possibly let any kid in big or small in. They are very intelligent so radio collars and the like might not work to contain one on the property, they will figure them out. Running through at speed, circling the boundary to wear batteries down etc. Ours can open gates and doors, for the most part he has no interest in wandering but if other dogs around he would look to get out.

Thanks for all the replies lads, keep them coming! So far looks like the general consensus is German Shepherd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Thanks for all the replies lads, keep them coming! So far looks like the general consensus is German Shepherd.

A good German Shepherd is a great dog. But be aware there are some desperate bad ones being bred. A Nervous temperament you don't want. Structurally there's plenty of them available with no back end on them. Avoid these humpy roach backed dogs.
    A good straight confident dog is what I'd prefer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

A good German Shepherd is a great dog. But be aware there are some desperate bad ones being bred. A Nervous temperament you don't want. Structurally there's plenty of them available with no back end on them. Avoid these humpy roach backed dogs.
    A good straight confident dog is what I'd prefer.

Aye the look like frogs

I used to swear by good breeding in dogs, but the best bred Labrador I know (from champion heritage) is also the dumbest clumsiest dog I've ever encountered.

They say there's always one dud in a litter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭doubter

A german shepherd. they ARE actually sheepdog by inheritance, as their name states.However, a high attack drive has been bred into them. So, if you go for a shepherd, get a puppy and put in plenty of training.Really PLENTY of training. I have a sheppie girl, she's no interest in sheep. She's no guard dog either. She will however protect e personally without any hesitation.

Same goes for the Rottweiler.

The dogs were known as "Rottweil butchers' dogs" because they were used to herd livestock and pull carts laden with butchered meat and other products to market.
    I'd have more respect for a Rottie than a shep, but thats just me.

There's something about the black and tan colour scheme that intimidates me; I wouldn't be inclined to spend a whole pile of time thinking into the dog's breed or taking a chance on his temperament if I pulled into a yard with either a German Shepherd or a Rottweiler.

As mentioned above the Malinois or Belgian Sheperd are similar to the German Sheps but come without a lot of the bad breeding. Can be extremely stubborn though. But they're bred for herding and retain a lot of the intelligence and characteristics. There's four types (the Groenendael, the Laekenois, the Tervueren or the Malinois.) and all sort of look like German shepherd crosses.
    My brother has a malinois cross in Finland and they take it to the greyhound track to chase the mech hare to tire her out. One of the Finnish gypsies wanted to use the phone at 3am and she chased him out of the house. She only wanted to play but he wasn't to know that.....

I love the Groenendaels, they look like the Grim from Harry Potter books in my opinion....definitely menacing looking.

Kovu wrote: »
    As mentioned above the Malinois or Belgian Sheperd are similar to the German Sheps but come without a lot of the bad breeding. Can be extremely stubborn though. But they're bred for herding and retain a lot of the intelligence and characteristics. There's four types (the Groenendael, the Laekenois, the Tervueren or the Malinois.) and all sort of look like German shepherd crosses.
    My brother has a malinois cross in Finland and they take it to the greyhound track to chase the mech hare to tire her out. One of the Finnish gypsies wanted to use the phone at 3am and she chased him out of the house. She only wanted to play but he wasn't to know that.....

I love the Groenendaels, they look like the Grim from Harry Potter books in my opinion....definitely menacing looking.
    Totally agree. I owned a dutch shepherd once, very large and intimidating dog-but the sweetest guy ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Rhodesian Ridgeback.

Excellent family dog but woe betide any strangers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Kuvasz

Hungarian livestock dog that was also traditionally used as a royal guard dog.

It's exactly what you are looking for. Males can weigh up to 52kg. They look like a cross between a white retriever and a goddamn polar bear. My friend had one and she used to scare the living **** out of me.

Here's one eating a coconut. That's right, a ****ing coconut.

Size difference between a 3 year old Kuvasz and a 9 year old black lab

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I googled some images of those boys. Have to be the most intimidating breed out there!!

yea they look like lions

Dawggone wrote: »
    Rhodesian Ridgeback.

Excellent family dog but woe betide any strangers...

Gorgeous dog , nearly too good as guard dogs unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Whatever you do dont buy a Japanese Akita.... Uncle was attacked by his own one a few years ago when putting the dog in his kennel for the night. Chewed most of his leg badly. Only way he could get the dog off him was to choke him out by the collar. (Lucky the uncle is insanely strong). The harrowing thing is that his 11yo son used to feed the dog morning and night as part of his chores. The dog just flipped and attacked for no apparent reason.

Parents have a jack russell at home and although they wouldnt be frightening this one is a great guard dog. Will bark the house down if it hears anyone outside during the night.

Whatever you do dont buy a Japanese Akita.... Uncle was attacked by his own one a few years ago when putting the dog in his kennel for the night. Chewed most of his leg badly. Only way he could get the dog off him was to choke him out by the collar. (Lucky the uncle is insanely strong). The harrowing thing is that his 11yo son used to feed the dog morning and night as part of his chores. The dog just flipped and attacked for no apparent reason.

Parents have a jack russell at home and although they wouldnt be frightening this one is a great guard dog. Will bark the house down if it hears anyone outside during the night.

Pinching their nostrils closed will help stop the air getting into them if they are locked onto you aswell .

Kuvasz

Hungarian livestock dog that was also traditionally used as a royal guard dog.

It's exactly what you are looking for. Males can weigh up to 52kg. They look like a cross between a white retriever and a goddamn polar bear. My friend had one and she used to scare the living **** out of me.

Here's one eating a coconut. That's right, a ****ing coconut.

Size difference between a 3 year old Kuvasz and a 9 year old black lab

On the restricted list and needs serious training.Not a beginners dog at all

Most of the dogs mentioned are on the restricted list