Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feck

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Am I the only person who is annoyed by the word Feck? Its utterly pointless - either say f*ck or dont bother.

Every time I hear "feck" my brain sees the face of Ray Darcy and I get angry. Where did it come from???

It's not pointless, the manner you present it is wrong. It's meant to be a reference to throwing something away, discarding something or just an indirect exclamation.

It only became a replacement to fúck because of people watching Father Ted who didn't understand that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

You can't move for the bastards in her novels. It's wall-to-wall bastards!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭black & white

I thought "Feck" was from Halls Pictorial Weekly ?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Big Nasty wrote: »
    bjork wrote: »
    Feck
    Arse
    Girls

DRINK!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,247 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I love my brick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Tits.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

The money was just resting in my account

• Registered Users Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Oh fup off. The lot of ye are just backstards and grassholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I thought feck was short for feckless which means useless. Feck it I think I'll just stay here and have a bit of an old pray.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Feckless

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Bacchus wrote: »
    Oh fup off. The lot of ye are just backstards and grassholes.

"You address me by my proper title! Ya little boll*x!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Irish

Water.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Ya scutterin' gonsheen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    "You address me by my proper title! Ya little boll*x!"

You're worse than Hitler!> You wouldn't catch him playing rap music at 3am

• Registered Users Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Saipanne wrote: »
    Irish

Water.

*Puts on the thickest face humanly possible*

It doesn't just fall out of the sky you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

*Puts on the thickest face humanly possible*

It doesn't just fall out of the sky you know.

And dya know what else? When your husband is standing over you with his lad in his hand wanting you to degrade yourself, get a good mental image there now! Can you see it!!?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Where did it come from???

From the same people who brought you: begorah me jaysus, twidlle-le dum hee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Not if your bewitched and get done for saying it on live TV over in England.

• Site Banned Posts: 217 ✭✭Father Ted Crilly

This thread has nothing to do with the OP.

Anyway, "feck" is an Irish-English word which was highly popularized by "Father Ted". Feck and f*ck have the same meaning, but feck doesn't have any sexual aspect.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Shoddy workmanship, that's what it is: Shoddy! Shoddy! SHODDY!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

............ More Water