Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming with a hangover

• 07-03-2015 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭

I don't drink that much these days anyway but I was out with a few friends last catching up as we hadn't seen each other in a while and well I stayed out longer then I should have. The Mrs picked up and took me home rolled into the sofa (I dint make the bed).

Anyway woke about 10 this morning so was well behind schedule but 'twas a very long day.

It's been a while since I have to work that hung over and I'd say every job took even longer. It took me an hour to put in the silage and feed ration to the cattle and the smell of the silage wasn't that appealing either.

Now I know lads who like a few pints and will get nicely merry but how they can do anything the following day is beyond me. It's not worst I've been but was up there.

Now that I'm getting to be an "ol lad" ( the big 4O isn't that far away) I know I wouldn't be able to do it too often. I was wondering what's your hangover day on the farm? Mine was the day after we won an east cork football title and the folks were on Hols so When I got home I had to go milking the cows and feed the cattle before I could sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭C0N0R

I only milk at the weekend and public holidays most the time but try my best to avoid the drink. Had maybe half a dozen pints and a few brandys last Saturday and felt it Sunday morning, wasn't bad that I was useless but everything was that bit more difficult. Remember in new zealand getting home from the pub at three then out the door at four, some fair hairy motorbike experiences. Worst in a while was Stephens Day, took into a bottle of brandy Christmas day and was well hung Stephens day. Milking was like a form of torture. Once I get that out of the way I'm not to bad but that feeling useless doesn't dissappear and come evening milking it's a real chore. Find midweek drinking easier on me now!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

C0N0R wrote: »
    I only milk at the weekend and public holidays most the time but try my best to avoid the drink. Had maybe half a dozen pints and a few brandys last Saturday and felt it Sunday morning, wasn't bad that I was useless but everything was that bit more difficult. Remember in new zealand getting home from the pub at three then out the door at four, some fair hairy motorbike experiences. Worst in a while was Stephens Day, took into a bottle of brandy Christmas day and was well hung Stephens day. Milking was like a form of torture. Once I get that out of the way I'm not to bad but that feeling useless doesn't dissappear and come evening milking it's a real chore. Find midweek drinking easier on me now!!!

New side effects of brandy? I thought people normally complained of the opposite?! haha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

Farming while hung over is extremely dangerous as you still might have a fair amount of alcohol in your system. It is grossly irresponsible behaviour to be around animals or driving tractors while under the influence, which you WILL be for at least half the day.

Besides that, drinking to the point of being hungover and not being able to function the next day is problem drinking no matter what you work at. It is not healthy.

Six pints and a few bradys is not social drinking, it's binge drinking and will eventually damage your health to some degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Farming while hung over is extremely dangerous as you still might have a fair amount of alcohol in your system. It is grossly irresponsible behaviour to be around animals or driving tractors while under the influence, which you WILL be for at least half the day.

Besides that, drinking to the point of being hungover and not being able to function the next day is problem drinking no matter what you work at. It is not healthy.

Six pints and a few bradys is not social drinking, it's binge drinking and will eventually damage your health to some degree.

Have a few pints chemical Byrne, maybe throw in the odd chaser, it'll cheer ya up a bit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Jaysus I'm an alcoholic so. I might go out once a month Beering I have a good sup
    might have 4-5 pints and the same in spirits
    wouldn't be too bad next morning thiugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

What would you be doing with these Brady's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Ya, there's a big push now by the Anti-Binge drinking campaign. It's like the anti drink-driving campaign a few years back....and that has worked. Most people now ashamed to even consider drink driving.
    I always admire the old people that go religiously to the pub and only ever have the 2 pints or whatever. I wish I knew their secret. I've had whoppers of hangovers the last few times I was out.

I'll not tell you what I intend to drink this weekend then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

I don't disagree with you in a way Chemcial - farms can be dangerous.
    And I'd say binge drinking regularly is bad for you...

But feck it - you must live too...

I think 'breaking-out' and having a few pints every now and then might be a good thing, everyone needs a bit of a break, let loose a bit... But I guess the thing is peoples interpretation of "now and then" ;)
    When I was young, "now and then" was a lot more often than it seems to be lately... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭White Clover

I don't disagree with you in a way Chemcial - farms can be dangerous.
    And I'd say binge drinking regularly is bad for you...

But feck it - you must live too...

I think 'breaking-out' and having a few pints every now and then might be a good thing, everyone needs a bit of a break, let loose a bit... But I guess the thing is peoples interpretation of "now and then" ;)
    When I was young, "now and then" was a lot more often than it seems to be lately... :)

Spot on john. A few pints and a bit of a laugh now and then wouldn't kill anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

^^^ but it could land you in trouble ...

ir1q3.jpg

There's nothing wrong with a few social pints now and again. Sure I do it myself but I pace myself and know when enough is enough.

What I am railing against is the notion that going for six pints and then six brandys or whatever is normal social drinking. It's not. It's a binge. It's not alcoholism as one of ye said. (binge being more than 8 standard units, ie 4 pints. 6pts & 6 spirits is 18 units) And it is totally irresponsible to go out working on a farm the next morning when you've still got drink in your system and your judgement is impaired.

The reponses on this thread are illustrative of the problem we have here in ireland. We think this sort of thing is acceptable.

i like a drink as much as the next fella but I do it in moderation and don't wreck myself with drink. I can tell you I'll have a much better night having 2 or 3 pints as I get merry enough without being langers and there is no hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

food-drink-drunks-drunkards-alcoholic-alcohols-knowing_when_to_stop-07637827_low.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

went out last Saturday morning and found a cow dead, - I was mad but if I was hungover I wouldn't have gone out till a while later, then I would be really kicking myself thinking if I wasn't hungover id have had some wee chance to save her if I went out on time.

I'm going to a wedding up the country this weekend, don't know many going so I'm going to have a few (i'll be the quiet lad at the bar on his own!) and I haven't had one in weeks, not even a can in the house. looking forward to the mass too (just in case mrs H2FF is reading)
    glad I don't have to get up and work on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 FishhookKY

grazeaway wrote: »
    I don't drink that much these days anyway but I was out with a few friends last catching up as we hadn't seen each other in a while and well I stayed out longer then I should have. The Mrs picked up and took me home rolled into the sofa (I dint make the bed).

Anyway woke about 10 this morning so was well behind schedule but 'twas a very long day.

It's been a while since I have to work that hung over and I'd say every job took even longer. It took me an hour to put in the silage and feed ration to the cattle and the smell of the silage wasn't that appealing either.

Now I know lads who like a few pints and will get nicely merry but how they can do anything the following day is beyond me. It's not worst I've been but was up there.

Now that I'm getting to be an "ol lad" ( the big 4O isn't that far away) I know I wouldn't be able to do it too often. I was wondering what's your hangover day on the farm? Mine was the day after we won an east cork football title and the folks were on Hols so When I got home I had to go milking the cows and feed the cattle before I could sleep.

You lucky fecker, in bed till 10 o clock. Was out lately and like it happens stayed out way to late we got home @ 2:30. Alarm went of at 6:30 didt hear it till the mrs said are you getting up. Rolled out at around 7. To face pigs and milking first the farrowing house an 6 new litters that's 77 bons to clip teeth of then milk 35 cows, and stopping to puke now and then head against the cold bars.
    Back to feed rest of pigs weaners and fats.
    Took me ages,and things only half done. Went back to bed at 1 slept till 4. Not worth it but when your out your out !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I think chemical you dont understand that farming isnt a 9-5 5 days a week job, also most of us dont meet anyone unless we go out to socialise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

FishhookKY wrote: »
    You lucky fecker, in bed till 10 o clock. Was out lately and like it happens stayed out way to late we got home @ 2:30. Alarm went of at 6:30 didt hear it till the mrs said are you getting up. Rolled out at around 7. To face pigs and milking first the farrowing house an 6 new litters that's 77 bons to clip teeth of then milk 35 cows, and stopping to puke now and then head against the cold bars.
    Took me ages,and things only half done. Went back to bed at 1 slept till 4. Not worth it but when your out your out !

You reminded of myself a few years back
    Didn't mind milking cows with hangover too much at least their was fresh air.
    Clipping teeth in the farrowing house was tough going if you didn't puke from the drink the heat and smell from the pigs was bound to help.
    One night had a free house and we stayed up all night drinking at around 7am I stood up and said
    Right lads I'm off to work and staggered out the doar as my bemused friends watched me out the back window falling around the field after the cows.
    I felt it would be easier to milk them while still pissed drunk than when I had a hangover

I think chemical you dont understand that farming isnt a 9-5 5 days a week job, also most of us dont meet anyone unless we go out to socialise!

So growing up on a busy farm and working on neighbours farms during summers and now doing most weekends on my sister's place after my regular job obviously never taught me that?

I am well able to socialise but I think you equate socialising with getting scutthered drunk.

If that were true I haven't "socialised" since I was 22 or 23. Nowadays I have the few pints, a chat with the mates of a bit of dancing with the gf and space the drinks with a ballygowan. I don't need to be dosed up with alcohol to be able to mix with people and have a good time. If I know I'm going at something I just have the one or just stay on the sparkling water n soft drinks - also much to the amusement of my friends - who also equate socialising with drinking.

djmc wrote: »
    Right lads I'm off to work and staggered out the doar as my bemused friends watched me out the back window falling around the field after the cows.
    I felt it would be easier to milk them while still pissed drunk than when I had a hangover

Do you mind me asking what age you are? Sounds like something a 17 or 18 yr old would do to show off to their friends.
    At the end of the day this type of thing is nothing short of plain stupidity!
    You put your life at risk. You're lucky you weren't trampled or kicked. Your judgement would have been way way off.

So growing up on a busy farm and working on neighbours farms during summers and now doing most weekends on my sister's place after my regular job obviously never taught me that?

I am well able to socialise but I think you equate socialising with getting scutthered drunk.

If that were true I haven't "socialised" since I was 22 or 23. Nowadays I have the few pints, a chat with the mates of a bit of dancing with the gf and space the drinks with a ballygowan. I don't need to be dosed up with alcohol to be able to mix with people and have a good time. If I know I'm going at something I just have the one or just stay on the sparkling water n soft drinks - also much to the amusement of my friends - who also equate socialising with drinking.

Do you mind me asking what age you are? Sounds like something a 17 or 18 yr old would do to show off to their friends.
    At the end of the day this type of thing is nothing short of plain stupidity!
    You put your life at risk. You're lucky you weren't trampled or kicked. Your judgement would have been way way off.

I'm in my forty's now that happened when I was in my early twentys around 20 years ago
    And yes something's I did were just plain stupid
    I still probably drink too much sometimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

There's nothing wrong with a few social pints now and again. Sure I do it myself but I pace myself and know when enough is enough.

What I am railing against is the notion that going for six pints and then six brandys or whatever is normal social drinking. It's not. It's a binge. It's not alcoholism as one of ye said. (binge being more than 8 standard units, ie 4 pints. 6pts & 6 spirits is 18 units) And it is totally irresponsible to go out working on a farm the next morning when you've still got drink in your system and your judgement is impaired.

The reponses on this thread are illustrative of the problem we have here in ireland. We think this sort of thing is acceptable.

i like a drink as much as the next fella but I do it in moderation and don't wreck myself with drink. I can tell you I'll have a much better night having 2 or 3 pints as I get merry enough without being langers and there is no hangover.

Jeezuz Chemical I've just read through this thread and I have to say that you come across as the health & safety pontificating type that I can't stand.
    If someone is drinking to excess it's their own business!!
    Once someone is over 18 then away with ya!!
    Have your soft drinks/mineral water but don't push your views...you come across like a reformed smoker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭tomieen jones

mom is that you? When did you join boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

It's a binge. It's not alcoholism as one of ye said. (binge being more than 8 standard units, ie 4 pints. 6pts & 6 spirits is 18 units)

It completely depends over what time period. Having 5 pints from 9pm to 2am is clearly not a binge in reality but over here it would be technically considered one. Agree with the rest of what you said, farming is one of the most dangerous things you can do round here and doing it hungover is really asking for serious trouble.

On a serious note what lads would want to watch this time of year is coming home from a night out and checking to see if a cow is calving.
    If you get hurt at 1 or 2am you probably won't be missed tell morning and all it takes is a slip or fall or over protective cow mad heifer etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

FishhookKY wrote: »

A real gluten here as well, rarely go out anymore (late 30's and kids the cause!) but when I do I go all out. My wife says she's never met anyone with less willpower!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

A real gluten here as well, rarely go out anymore (late 30's and kids the cause!) but when I do I go all out. My wife says she's never met anyone with less willpower!

Kinda like myself, I drink as much as I can cos don't know when I'll get out again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Dawggone wrote: »
    Jeezuz Chemical I've just read through this thread and I have to say that you come across as the health & safety pontificating type that I can't stand.
    Have your soft drinks/mineral water but don't push your views...you come across like a reformed smoker.

You're dead right. There is too much agency/government involvement in every single aspect of life now. It's a real nanny state. I know what you are saying too chemical Byrne, I like my pints but rarely on a session now. But you have to let each to their own and especially may their own mistakes to keen from. You also gotta take into account two things-age and time of incidents, ie what decade. You can't compare twenty years ago to now. And every young lad needs to go on the lash, have no sleep and work his ass of for the day. It's all experience. I know when I was 18 I could drink a hell of a lot over long period and be able cope good, way different up now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Dawggone wrote: »

Lol reformed smokers, bastards the lot if them

Mrs Frazz looks after the twine here as I can't be trusted. She has the cards as household budget means phuck all to me

When I go for pints all too infrequent lately I drink what she gives me. I get full die the next day and blame her for giving me too much money going out

Mrs Frazz looks after the twine here as I can't be trusted. She has the cards as household budget means phuck all to me

When I go for pints all too infrequent lately I drink what she gives me. I get full die the next day and blame her for giving me too much money going out

Lol!!!

That sounds like a better understanding than I have here, when we go out together I get my friends to go up and get a few late rounds before they stop serving and pretend all 'what did u get that for, sure we were just heading off, ah well it would be rude not to drink them now!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Would get to the pub every few weeks as it's a local farmer thing where wheeling and dealing gets done 2/3 pints other than that wouldn't be able to say when last out in a pub. Pretty much put off being drunk back in college drinking to oblivion regularly, other than odd party much prefer to spend free time with herself being honest as both tend to work alot of hours though that will need to change very soon.

Had to rush a Lady to hospital at 3am for a CT scan and an LP last night....

The one thing that is SOOOO noticeable was the complete lack of drunken eejits.
    If that was in Ireland on a weekend night there would be a steady stream of them clogging up A&E....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

mayota wrote: »
    Kinda like myself, I drink as much as I can cos don't know when I'll get out again!

Worked with a guy who had a load of kids. He was allowed out the odd Sunday evening. He'd hit the liquor at a mental rate for the first 2 hours, could horse in 6-8 pints, getting completely scuttered and then level off for the next few hours. Arrive home half sober then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Bad plan there frazzled. The money will get less each time then and you'll have no money for a taxi or worse still....the greasy kebab at the end of the night :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    Bad plan there frazzled. The money will get less each time then and you'll have no money for a taxi or worse still....the greasy kebab at the end of the night :D

If I had no money for Taxi I'd ring her, shed give me enough the next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

If I had no money for Taxi I'd ring her, shed give me enough the next time

The older I'm getting, the less money it takes to feed me with drink.
    5 or 6 pints is plenty for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

The older I'm getting, the less money it takes to feed me with drink.
    5 or 6 pints is plenty for me.

Same as that. The mind is willing but God the body has long since given up. Plus the hangover seems to last longer and longer. Drinking is a young persons game:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,534 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Taking the pledge and giving up the sauce.mother of all hangovers this am .cows milked grass allocated calves fed and bedded .off to the cot now before dinner.farming with a hangover is some chore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Taking the pledge and giving up the sauce.mother of all hangovers this am .cows milked grass allocated calves fed and bedded .off to the cot now before dinner.farming with a hangover is some chore

Wimp :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Think I'll join you on that one, milking sobered me up but hangover kicking in now

Went out Friday night ended up well on. Didn't have to milk yesterday morning, yesterday evening was tough. Bed for ten last night and up this morning fresh as a daisy feeling great, such a joy to not be hungover!!

How do u get away with going back to bed? I'd have to be in a v bad way to get away with that. What about family day?!!

too much like a hol. SOFT!!!

Shout at the kids twice be a grumpy as FOOK and you'll be let off to bed

You're a bad bad man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭queueeye

Having conducted exhaustive but not altogether unpleasant research into this particular topic on everyone's behalf, I have come to the following conclusion.

The few minutes you spend after you get home drinking two pints of water will pay handsome dividends in terms of increased relative productivity the following day. These few minutes can be further spent wisely by consuming the lukewarm snack box that you almost forgot about in your jacket pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Paddy's morning will be an interesting 1 lambing a few ewes.. and will still be in a bad way from the night before !!

queueeye wrote: »
    Having conducted exhaustive but not altogether unpleasant research into this particular topic on everyone's behalf, I have come to the following conclusion.

The few minutes you spend after you get home drinking two pints of water will pay handsome dividends in terms of increased relative productivity the following day. These few minutes can be further spent wisely by consuming the lukewarm snack box that you almost forgot about in your jacket pocket.

Wise words indeed!

Ye should try the following text
    "With the lads having the last pint and then home, if I'm not there in 15 mins read this message again"

The gf away this week. Gonna have no one to bring me home when I get awfully messy tomorrow night