Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Staff at Dunnes Stores vote for industrial action

• 06-03-2015 5:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭

Staff at the retailer Dunnes Stores have voted to undertake industrial action in a dispute over pay, contracts and representation rights.
    The trade union Mandate said 67 per cent of its members at the company voted in favour of industrial action.
    The union’s assistant general secretary Gerry Light said its national disputes committee would consider the result of the ballot early next week and determine the nature and timing of any industrial action.
    Mandate said its members in Dunnes Stores were seeking the implementation of banded hour contracts which would give workers security of hours and earnings, fair pay for workers, a review of “excessive use” of temporary contracts of employment and individual and collective representation rights in the company.

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/staff-at-dunnes-stores-vote-for-industrial-action-1.2129165

Fair play to the workers. Dunnes are renowned for treating staff poorly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Wide Load

Good to hear. Anyone I've known who has worked in Dunnes had some horror stories for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

That job was so bad that I got my hands tattooed to ensure it could never happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Wonder how long before they start laying off now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Fair play to them. And people say trade unions are no longer necessary.

When companies take the absolute Michael with 6 hr a week contracts and the like, it's great that employees fight back.

But it has been like that forever. And when i worked there, you had to join the union and pay dues to a huge organisation which had no interest in little things like retail staff. **** that.

I don't like the "having to join" part; it should always be voluntary.

Don't forget Dunnes went on strike back in the 80s when workers refused to handle goods from South Africa (before Apartheid ended). Worked out fairly well, plenty of other companies followed suit in boycotting goods from SA (my father was the one who stopped Clerys stocking SA footwear :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I know a girl working on short hour contracts which has the hours split over the week so she can't even claim the dole due to being "unavailable for work".Rather than giving her the hours over consecutive days,they are split up over the week,4 hours one day,6 another,2 another,etc.

I worked for Dunnes back in the day when I was just young and had to resort to threaten violence on one Jr.Manager to get off work on time to attend an important meeting,my working day was actually over but he did all he could to delay me just for spite.Came into work the next day expecting the worst but found he was being moved on after other employees threatened to walk if he didn't.
    I had a chance to go back there recently as work was slack with me,needless to say,I avoided it like the plague.

I used to work for Dunnes if we finished at six we weren't let go until seven until the place was clean, The doors would be locked and the manager had the keys so we couldn't get out when I asked to let out I was told were not finished yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Am I the only person who worked for Dunnes and thought it was a normal part-time shelf stacker job?

Yes. Its an internship now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I used to work for Dunnes if we finished at six we weren't let go until seven until the place was clean, The doors would be locked and the manager had the keys so we couldn't get out when I asked to let out I was told were not finished yet
    Memo to Joan Burton: That is false imprisonment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

My first ever job - and bear in mind this is over 30 years ago - was supposed to be part-time in Dunnes as some sort of shop assistant/shelf stacker. Started at 11 or 12 and was packing shelves, telling customers where stuff was, packing bags etc. At about 3 I asked when you could get a cup of tea. I got a glare that would melt stone and was told "part-timers don't get breaks". After the place closed it was out with the pricing gun and putting up stuff on shelves. Got out of their about 8.45.9.00. Never went back.

Why would anybody take a internship stacking shelves? It takes the whole of a hour to learn, has no little to no career prospects and pays peanuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

When I first worked for Dunnes back in 2005 it was normal. Went back in 2011 and it was totally different. I was full-time flexi and always worked over 4 days, even when I only got 15 hours. I was promised a permanent contract if I did well but they let me go just before my 2nd temporary contract ran out. Turns out they haven't given a permanent contract in years. It's cheaper to just rehire new, cheaper staff every few months. A girl I know who has worked there for years is always telling me about how badly the permanent staff are treated, it's like they're trying to make them miserable so they will quit, leaving all the temporary staff. They have all had their hours cut to the bone, but were made to hand out fliers advertising job positions to the customers. It's absolutely shocking treatment and I don't know if there's regulations for that kind of thing but there should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Why would anybody take a internship stacking shelves? It takes the whole of a hour to learn, has no little to no career prospects and pays peanuts.

It's customer care and stock control operative or something along those lines now .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Unfortunately not everyone is in a position to turn down work, even if it is a poorly paid internship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

rawn wrote: »
    When I first worked for Dunnes back in 2005 it was normal. Went back in 2011 and it was totally different. I was full-time flexi and always worked over 4 days, even when I only got 15 hours. I was promised a permanent contract if I did well but they let me go just before my 2nd temporary contract ran out. Turns out they haven't given a permanent contract in years. It's cheaper to just rehire new, cheaper staff every few months. A girl I know who has worked there for years is always telling me about how badly the permanent staff are treated, it's like they're trying to make them miserable so they will quit, leaving all the temporary staff. They have all had their hours cut to the bone, but were made to hand out fliers advertising job positions to the customers. It's absolutely shocking treatment and I don't know if there's regulations for that kind of thing but there should be.

Interesting, I would have worked there during 2000-1. I do remember the unions striking for a period over something really stupid. A fair number of temp staff were hired Ireland wide easily enough during that period, with the strike having no noticeable effect on operations besides driving some customers away. I suppose looking back the unions actions at the time might have been counterproductive in the long term for employees.

...with the strike having no noticeable effect on operations besides driving some customers away.

I know I would not, in good conscience, be able to cross a picket line to do my shopping. I was raised to believe scabs were scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Are junior managers part of the union too? They are retail staff too after all

Or is there a sharp divide and managers not matter how lowly paid won't join?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

It should be illegal to advertise stacking shelves or the likes as an internship. But hey if it helps the reduce unemployment figures.................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I know someone who left Dunnes as they cut his hours to 15 per week over four days, seems they dont want people to be able to sign on the other days of the week, probably saves paperwork and allows them to call them in when it suits them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Are junior managers part of the union too? They are retail staff too after all

Or is there a sharp divide and managers not matter how lowly paid won't join?

No manager junior or otherwise would join a union.
    Even those wanting to climb the ladder wouldn't join.Strictly for plebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

My brother works there and his hours are brutal.

If there was a strike it would be disastrous for Dunnes Stores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭macker33

The problem with strike action is that the people voting in favour of strike action are the people who can afford to strike.

My sister wont cross the picket even though she still has to pay her mortgage, even one day actions are going to fvck her up.
    What the fvck is wrong with dunnes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

macker33 wrote: »
    The problem with strike action is that the people voting in favour of strike action are the people who can afford to strike.

My sister wont cross the picket even though she still has to pay her mortgage, even one day actions are going to fvck her up.
    What the fvck is wrong with dunnes?
    To much money, out of touch.

Perma-tanes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Baby Jane

Yeh I'd say the horror stories might be branch specific (I have known people to have found it grand to work in, and decent for hours flexibility if they were in college - also not the lowest paying of supermarkets/department stores) but there are still a lot of horror stories.
    Fair play in this case I think. I know unions can take the piss but it's still important for workers in the private sector to have some sort of protection (because god knows not all of them do).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

I hated every minute I spent in that place. Well done to them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    I hated every minute I spent in that place. Well done to them!!

I went for a job with Dunnes years ago. Nothing special, wouldn't give it to me on the grounds that I was 'overqualified.' She was quite rude about it actually. Not surprised they're going to strike. Anyone I've ever spoken to about their experiences working for the company have only had negative things to say.

SD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭aziz

Holy Christ , what I have read here I think all dunnes stores should be burnt to the ground.i knew things were **** there as I have a sister working there but this is unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Absolute scumbags

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Absolute scumbags

Steady your compass there Aero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

What can the normal everyday joe soap do. Smash some glasses and refuse to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

back in early 90s, worked there in a summer job, i coudnt believe how the management treated staff, i kept my head down, spent 3 months and couldnt wait to get back to do the leaving cert, just before i left, i was offered a junior mgt course as they claimed they saw"value in me", i refused point blank, and have never shopped there since, theres no ethos of respect between management and floor staff, i wouldnt mind but when i was there, the floor staff were actually terrific, and very helpful to me, and any customers, its just management didnt realise, or even care, and still dont i believe,i wont ever shop there, with a company that has no respect for their staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

niallo27 wrote: »

And get arrested?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,967 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

niallo27 wrote: »

No, what you can do is stop shopping there. Aldi is way cheaper and they treat their staff much better. With your savings from Aldi go to either your local Supervalu or Centra (my local Centra is great for employing local people) and buy the few brand specific items you can't get in Aldi. You save and local businesses get a bit of business. Make sure you let the manager in Dunnes knows why you won't be shopping there. That's what I did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

About time the staff stood up for themselves. They get treated like absolute dirt by middle management and above.

Hopefully Dunnes profits take a hit after this. It'll only be then that they might start to take any notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Never realised they treated their staff like that. How can anyone get by on a zero hour contract, absolute scumbags. I don't usually shop in Dunnes but as a matter of principle they will never see a cent of my hard earned now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Never heard a good thing about working in Dunnes, at the same time though the staff in Dunnes are useless and grumpy and wouldn't last a second in one of the German retailers which require speed and efficiency.

Since this thread has lots of Dunnes employees, is it true that the real difference is what contract people are on, with the older (90's and before) staff being overpaid and unfirable (but still useless)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Never heard a good thing about working in Dunnes, at the same time though the staff in Dunnes are useless and grumpy and wouldn't last a second in one of the German retailers which require speed and efficiency....
    I have rarely had reason to think that staff in Dunne's Stores performed badly - but I am realistic about the level of service I would expect in a place like that: customer service is not a high priority.

You can't reasonably expect that staff would happily go the extra mile if they think they are badly treated by their employer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

I have stopped doing my shopping in Dunnes because of the way they treat staff especially the way they get the no marks in their shiny trousers to treat floor staff.

But will gladly turn up at their doors with my shopping bags and walk to the line and turn back around in support of these workers.

Its disgraceful that people live in fear from week to week wondering if they will get enough hours to pay their mortgage never mind if they can plan any sort of a life not knowing when some no mark decides on a whim if they want you in at anytime.
    Cant believe that no one has went postal on these some of these nasty little dictators in this climate we are in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

15 hours over 4 days. Come home with about €117 I reckon - who could live on that?

Dunnes have a real divide and conquer mentality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Was also my first job in my teens, (as I'm sure they were for a lot of people of a certain age) working after school a few evenings a week about 25 years ago. To be fair, I don't remember anything too bad although the managers were cnuts. I've heard some pretty poor stories these days though. I've no problem boycotting them if there's a strike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭SoftMicro

Horrible kip of a place. Hope the staff get what they're looking for.

When I worked there and when the lady that owned the place, (can't remember her name but she was one of the Dunnes clan) when she would visit the store all the managers running around as if Cleopatra herself had entered the store. Used to crack me up every time, especially her wearing the sunglasses in the store. Would have a few minions follow her every move. When you walk into a Dunnes Stores you leave this dimension of reality and enter the alternate reality of Dunnes. That place is nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

SoftMicro wrote: »
    Horrible kip of a place. Hope the staff get what they're looking for.

When I worked there and when the lady that owned the place, (can't remember her name but she was one of the Dunnes clan) when she would visit the store all the managers running around as if Cleopatra herself had entered the store. Used to crack me up every time, especially her wearing the sunglasses in the store. Would have a few minions follow her every move. When you walk into a Dunnes Stores you leave this dimension of reality and enter the alternate reality of Dunnes. That place is nuts.

and Victorian values in reference to care of their staff !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I presume the result of this will be fixed or longer hour contracts but for a greatly reduced number of staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I know a few people who work there as well, apparently its absolutely misery. Good on them if they strike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I cant see how anyone on a flexible contract in Dunnes alone would qualify for a mortgage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

efb wrote: »
    I cant see how anyone on a flexible contract in Dunnes alone would qualify for a mortgage

Partners or from a previous job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Gawd, Dunnes really does have a shockin' rep.

I worked at Tesco for a summer and had a lot of problems with the place (mainly moronic, power-tripping supervisors, lots of corporate bullshít and customers bitching at you about how shít Tesco was and how much better Superquinn was. Errrrrr, shop there then?) but in a lot of ways, it was grand. But Dunnes just like a truly awful place to work. I have never heard anyone say anything good about the experience.