Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have your car ever helped you pull?

• 03-03-2015 11:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭

Sparked by debate elsewhere. Have you ever owned a car that has actually helped you pull a girl/guy (whatever you're into). I haven't exactly but I do only know my current girlfriend through her brother through cars when I bought one from him, so that sorta counts, I reckon. But like I mean has it ever happened in the sense we all know, like in the films, to any of ye?

I dunno, I mean, I hear about it the odd time but I think its hearsay more than anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

The Mercs got a lot of attention, but the real lady wetter is the Jag....

So yes, some cars are pullers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

My old Megane was able to pull a trailer full of turf from the bog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Had a jap import Mitsubishi Strada a few years back. Pulled a VW Transporter out of a drain like it was nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Mine attracts a load of lads unfortunately :pac: Only women into cars really take notice :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've had a fair few fancy yocks in my time, but none could hold a candle to an oul Escort van I had for a while.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

I've had a fair few fancy yocks in my time, but none could hold a candle to an oul Escort van I had for a while.

A single matress fitted perfect in the back and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Had two 7s at this stage, and women tend not to bat an eyelid. I think if any car were to impress certain women, it has a new reg, two doors and a bright colour.

Sounds patronising, but that's my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Sparked by debate elsewhere. Have you ever owned a car that has actually helped you pull a girl/guy (whatever you're into). I haven't exactly but I do only know my current girlfriend through her brother through cars when I bought one from him, so that sorta counts, I reckon. But like I mean has it ever happened in the sense we all know, like in the films, to any of ye?

I dunno, I mean, I hear about it the odd time but I think its hearsay more than anything.
    No
    I had pulled before they saw the car, that was usually a good thing because I've had more bangers than nice cars.
    I have had me fair share of nice women though.wink.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

title reminds me of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

dgt wrote: »
    The Mercs got a lot of attention, but the real lady wetter is the Jag....

So yes, some cars are pullers :D

Frightfully sorry dahling, seem to have forgotten the old wallet. Must have left it in the Jaaaaag, with the sawn-off Purdey! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

It was the two BM's I had the 5er and the 7er that got the most female attention.

Last girl I was with was American who hadn't evern heard what an Alpha Romero was........:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

DB7 borrowed one night, I enjoyed the results!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

My car does now and again, but what really does it for me is the cupholder in it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Had two 7s at this stage, and women tend not to bat an eyelid. I think if any car were to impress certain women, it has a new reg, two doors and a bright colour.

I'm in luck so.

SG8.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

My old saxo got all sorts of attention........only because it was a blue car with a black door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

If you want to meet women , borrow a puppy or a few kittens , a car window is a barrier but walking around women, baby pets are a real conversation starter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I've a 2010 Honda Accord. I love it and think it looks well, but people generally seem to think it's probably belonging to a 45 year old carpet salesman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

I've a 2010 Honda Accord. I love it and think it looks well, but people generally seem to think it's probably belonging to a 45 year old carpet salesman.

What kind of price per square metre can you give on a medium shag houndstooth pattern for the daughter's bedroom? And will you put it in for that price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Bigus wrote: »
    If you want to meet women, grow a pair and talk to them

Fyp

It's not rocket science, women are humans too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭dingus12

Im 22 and have an e46 m3, yes it does help get attention, but won't make a girl stay around if your not pulling your A game and charming the knickers off her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭king_of_inismac

166man wrote: »
    It was the two BM's I had the 5er and the 7er that got the most female attention.

Last girl I was with was American who hadn't evern heard what an Alpha Romero was........:pac:

"Alpha"!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

"Alpha"!?

It is literal phact that everyone who doesn't know what exactly an Alfa is calles them Alphas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Yes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Any woman turned on by a Mondeo is probably not one I would want to pull anyway.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

As a female RX8 owner... yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

pull? no...

push? yes quite often

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I restored an Isetta from scratch when I lived in Germany, same colour as this one here.

Total magnet for women, they all come up and chat or just wave at you in the street. Irish guy speaking near fluent German and the red hair helped a lot too. Doesn't guarantee a woman, you still need to put the work in, but as an icebreaker no better car.

I had a 911, Espirit and a 300ZX at various times over there but nothing came near to the Isetta.

1956-BMW-Isetta-300.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

My wife, which first became my girlfriend 15 years ago.
    I set a date with her, and I said I'm going to pick her up and we'll go for a drive.
    I had Fiat Cinquecento 0.7 litre :)
    And it wasn't even mine, but my dad's.

We had a great drive, and she eventually became my wife.

So yes - without a car I'd be still single.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Probably to do with the fact that the person you expect to see driving a 7 series looks like this

OldMan.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

jenizzle wrote: »
    As a female RX8 owner... yes.
    You're back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

166man wrote: »

That would have been an absolute dealbreaker with me!

Besides, I seem to always stumble into women whose concept of car is "has wheels, moves" :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

H3llR4iser wrote: »

Besides, I seem to always stumble into women whose concept of car is "has wheels, moves" :/

Exactly, same as me!

I thought the e36 coupe would have been a winner but no, it's only lads Interested.

"uuugh its a 99, get it away from me"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

YbFocus wrote: »
    Exactly, same as me!

I thought the e36 coupe would have been a winner but no, it's only lads Interested.

"uuugh its a 99, get it away from me"

Lactose intolerant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

galljga1 wrote: »
    Lactose intolerant?

Should have seen that one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

H3llR4iser wrote: »

Hence why I'm here in Ireland and she's back in the U.S....! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

Met a girl in college; all I had was a bus-pass at the time.

But we both were 'into' cars; actually one brand in particular. We had an interest in the historic aspect of this manufacturer. I think this interest helped us in our fledgling friendship at the time.

25 years on and we're married and still have matching 'his' and 'hers' cars.. ha ha ha..

.....and she allows me to keep a few of them too to play with. I think secretly she just likes the serpent. :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    You're back!

I didn't go anywhere :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

Old VW campers do very well, its the best icebreaker on the planet as good as puppies or a baby. You also do need to splash out on a hotel to do the deed.

Tazio wrote: »

But we both were 'into' cars; actually one brand in particular. We had an interest in the historic aspect of this manufacturer. I think this interest helped us in our fledgling friendship at the time.

25 years on and we're married and still have matching 'his' and 'hers' cars.. ha ha ha..

.....and she allows me to keep a few of them too to play with. I think secretly she just likes the serpent. :)

COUNTLESS possibilities for double entendres on that one my man :D

krissovo wrote: »
    Old VW campers do very well, its the best icebreaker on the planet as good as puppies or a baby. You also do need to splash out on a hotel to do the deed.

They do very well indeed, especially if the rear windows are completely blocked - a roll of duct tape and some rope will help "keeping" the ladies "interested" :P:P:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭landmarkjohn

Probably to do with the fact that the person you expect to see driving a 7 series looks like this

OldMan.jpg

that's not the Nidge Weasel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

So this one time, I pulled into a space in the SuperValu car park, it was right beside the door, and a very elderly lady walks over to my car, opens the door and plonks herself into the passenger seat beside me. I was kind of lost for words since she wasn't carjacking me (never happened before) or propositioning me (this often happens you see), luckily enough a gentleman who I assumed was her son saw her/us and carefully removed her from my car, apologising for the inconvenience.

So yes, my car has got me a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Tazio wrote: »

it's a biscione

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

jenizzle wrote: »
    I didn't go anywhere :pac:
    Oh... I didn't notice you hanging around! Did you change your hair or something?! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭mossy50

THE GUARDS PULL ME ALL THE TIME

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

No, quite the opposite. I was openly mocked by an ex over my choice of vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

With the various fleet I have had I'm convinced that only the plate will get you a date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭alanmc

In the carpark at work. I was getting into the Z to go home after a crappy day. "Nice car!", I hear behind me. I turn round ... fingers crossed. Yes, she was a looker. "Is it a Porsche?", she follows up with. Me: " No, it's a Nissan three fif..." And before I can launch into a full on car nerd onslaught, she says "Oh!"

What followed was an awkward silence before she plucked up the courage to ... leave.

Moral of the story: When a woman you may be interested in asks you if it's a Porsche, you say YES.

alanmc wrote: »
    In the carpark at work. I was getting into the Z to go home after a crappy day. "Nice car!", I hear behind me. I turn round ... fingers crossed. Yes, she was a looker. "Is it a Porsche?", she follows up with. Me: " No, it's a Nissan three fif..." And before I can launch into a full on car nerd onslaught, she says "Oh!"

What followed was an awkward silence before she plucked up the courage to ... leave.

Moral of the story: When a woman you may be interested in asks you if it's a Porsche, you say YES.

Or, get an actual Porsche and then the combination of "nice car!" + looker happens, reply with "ever been in one?" :D

Ps. this sounds an afwul lot like the prank that Youtube channel played a while ago, the guy+Lambo stopping random ladies in the street and asking them to join him for lunch :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I can't say I have. If your trying to pull someone that's into cars then it could well work with many different types of cars. However if you are looking to pull an average girl that has no interest in cars or how they work then generally you need a Bmw, Merc or Audi and even at that any old bmw won't work it would want to be fairly new.