Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doing Half Marathon but very little training

• 03-03-2015 12:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭

So, i signed up for a half marathon at Christmas, with the best of intentions of doing plenty of training. Unfortunately, between the weather, a lot of travel with work and (i will admit) a certain degree of lack of motivation in my part, my training has not been as good as i would like it to be.

I'm not a complete newby to running, i run 5k and 10k relatively comfortably. Around 28mins for the 5k and 1hr and 1min for the 10k. I've managed two 16k runs the past two Saturdays (but in Dublin city centre, so plenty of traffic lights to let me stop and catch my breath). Last Saturday I went out again to attempt another 16k, but for some reason, I only managed 5k before I felt completely drained and had to walk home (even after taking a gel). Trust me when i tell you I did not feel drained for over training, probably because I haven't been getting too much sleep.

Anyway, the half marathon is on Sunday week, the 15th. I'm starting to get very nervous about it. I was hoping someone might have some advice that might help me on the day? I've kinda resigned myself to the fact that I will not run all of it, that there will be walking involved, but any advice would be very welcome.

Many thanks!

Sammy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

What speed have you been doing your long and short runs at? You are not going to make much change by training differently at this stage. tbh you should just take your time and enjoy the experience. Its the first one. The next one you will be better. The above sounds like you are running too fast which is very common. Training runs can be often 1-2 mins slower than race pace. Its a concept that is hard to get your head around. I have to constantly focus on slowing down otherwise the same will happen to me also. It took me a year to realize it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

If you can do 16k, you can do a 1/2 marathon. Just keep it nice and slow (especially at the start when people tend to go too fast, at a pace where you could carry out a conversation) and you should be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

My advice would be to HTFU. The weather is no excuse to not go running. Ireland is not exactly suffering from Siberian winters!

It's too late for this one. Jog/walk around if you see any point in doing so, but for future ones I'd recommend taking it more seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Don't be nervous about it, just go, leave expectation at the door and enjoy the race. You can look for improvements after.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    My advice would be to HTFU. The weather is no excuse to not go running. Ireland is not exactly suffering from Siberian winters!

It's too late for this one. Jog/walk around if you see any point in doing so, but for future ones I'd recommend taking it more seriously.

Are your sessions ever over an hour? :rolleyes:

rom wrote: »
    Are your sessions ever over an hour? :rolleyes:

Travelling to and from training, warm up, session, warm down, adds up to quite a few hours. Quite a lot of my spare time actually. But thank you for your concern.

Yours sincerely,
    Just a lazy Sprinter

Travelling to and from training, warm up, session, warm down, adds up to quite a few hours. Quite a lot of my spare time actually. But thank you for your concern.

Yours sincerely,
    Just a lazy Sprinter

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,868 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Sammy96 wrote: »

So, i signed up for a half marathon at Christmas, with the best of intentions of doing plenty of training. Unfortunately, between the weather, a lot of travel with work and (i will admit) a certain degree of lack of motivation in my part, my training has not been as good as i would like it to be.

I'm not a complete newby to running, i run 5k and 10k relatively comfortably. Around 28mins for the 5k and 1hr and 1min for the 10k. I've managed two 16k runs the past two Saturdays (but in Dublin city centre, so plenty of traffic lights to let me stop and catch my breath). Last Saturday I went out again to attempt another 16k, but for some reason, I only managed 5k before I felt completely drained and had to walk home (even after taking a gel). Trust me when i tell you I did not feel drained for over training, probably because I haven't been getting too much sleep.

Anyway, the half marathon is on Sunday week, the 15th. I'm starting to get very nervous about it. I was hoping someone might have some advice that might help me on the day? I've kinda resigned myself to the fact that I will not run all of it, that there will be walking involved, but any advice would be very welcome.

Many thanks!

Sammy

If you can run 16k you can run a half easily. Just go a bit slower and enjoy the day.
    Running is there to be enjoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Sammy96

Thanks everybody for thier replies. You are right, i should try and go slower and enjoy the day! It'll be my first half marathon, so definitely a PB!!

That's a great way to look at it, have a good day.

Your build up has not been ideal from your own admissions but you will not have an issue covering the distance. Go out an enjoy the day. At my first half I pretended to have tight calves and other ailments so that I could take walking breaks. Ended up having a 5 min chat with a guy at a water station (was hard to get away from him). I was hopelessly not prepared but I loved it all the same. Finding it hard to walk afterwards, the feeling of accomplishment that you are going to feel when you cross that finish line is something that I envy you for. Its the beginning of the journey rather than a destination. Let us know how you got on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

As above try and enjoy the run, like you say any time is a PB and there to be beaten when you do train properly.

Some advice from the mistakes of my first Half marathon - don't go out too fast at the beginning thinking you will "bag" time, doesn't work (I was walking by halfway). Try and get in a group with people of similar pace, try not to find yourself all alone (was pretty soul destroying running on my own against the wind losing ground on those ahead and people catching up to me from behind and passing me)

Some good things I learnt, enjoy the atmosphere at the start and the crowds at the junctions. Accept all jelly babies/beans offered by the crowd they do give you a quick energy boost. Try to give it your all for the last 200 metres, the crowd will notice this and really cheer you on over the line.

Enjoy the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Vito Andolini

This is what I imagine the runners support page to be like, I'd knock it on the head spend 10-12 weeks following a training plan then race and enjoy your 1/2 marathon. I don't see the point of slogging thru it I've no doubt you could but what's the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

I imagine the point is to use it as a training day and get to enjoy the day at the same time. if she's already done 2 16k runs then she's nothing to worry about

This is what I imagine the runners support page to be like, I'd knock it on the head spend 10-12 weeks following a training plan then race and enjoy your 1/2 marathon. I don't see the point of slogging thru it I've no doubt you could but what's the point?

You can enjoy a run without aiming for a time. The poster wanted to know would they be able for it, been able to run 16k, they be able for the half.

Won't break a world record but will get around, this site isn't about competitive running only.

No bad advice was given.

Same has been posted by someone up the thread whose exploits at long distance running are far from earth shattering. It is very negative and encompasses all that is wrong with the sport. Its all subjective. How would you like if a 30 min 10k guy said you were wasting your time? The OP has about 10 days to go to the race. They know they are under prepared. There is no guarantee that if they knocked it on the head they would commit to a 12 week program. However if they have a positive experience and are found wanting what they could have done if they committed 3 months back then this is a strong motivator for the next one to do it right.

When the OP is ready to commit they can come back here and look for advise when the window of training is a period of time that it will make an impact but they are not looking for training advise at this stage. No one is saying that they shouldn't have trained more but like life there is room in this world for those at all levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

Take your time, soak up the atmosphere and enjoy it. You know you haven't prepared right for it so don't take it too seriously, if you do have a good experience and want to do more you can put more effort into your preparations for the next one. Best of luck with it.

Same has been posted by someone up the thread whose exploits at long distance running are far from earth shattering. It is very negative and encompasses all that is wrong with the sport. Its all subjective. How would you like if a 30 min 10k guy said you were wasting your time? The OP has about 10 days to go to the race. They know they are under prepared. There is no guarantee that if they knocked it on the head they would commit to a 12 week program. However if they have a positive experience and are found wanting what they could have done if they committed 3 months back then this is a strong motivator for the next one to do it right.

When the OP is ready to commit they can come back here and look for advise when the window of training is a period of time that it will make an impact but they are not looking for training advise at this stage. No one is saying that they shouldn't have trained more but like life there is room in this world for those at all levels.

Ah Rom, don't be knocking down people's ego's. Don't u know they aren't just the best in Ireland, but also in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Vito Andolini

Op,
    I think my point was lost in all the jumping up on the high horses,
    If your 10k on is an hour your probably do the half marathon in about 2.5 hours give or take.
    Your under trained by your own admission, so if you head off too hard at the start you'll suffer in the last couple of miles. The last thing I'd want to see for anyone is to have a horrible time in a race and say after it, feck it this running crack is not for me.
    If you knock it on the head this time put in some training even if your time isn't any better you'll have a much better experience, you'll enjoy it much more.

That's my view sorry if it goes against the happy clappy view some people have. But I'd prefer to see you go out and have a good experenice

Best of luck either way if you do decide to run it take it easy,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

My 5k, 10ks were close to those of the OP, I've given myself 16 weeks to get ready for a HM.

If the OP pulls this out of the bag, I'm throwing the plan out the window ;-) (much to the chagrin of my "coach" who posts here!!)

Best of luck OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

She's ran 16k twice in training for the hm, why do you think she won't be able to complete it?

I've been offered a place in a hm on sunday and I know the only way I could do it would be if I took it easy. If i'm free, I'm going to go and enjoy the day, i've a few other friends that are running in it, why not?! I just see it as a very long slow training run with added enjoyment of race day with pals. It's also free :)

I'm not on a high horse or being happy clappy or a person that gives advice on that runners support page. It just seems like common sense to me. I'm not going to go out too fast, if anything it will be too slow as I know I need to take it easy.

So because I'm not a long distance runner I can't give advice?

This is an athletics forum, and I, as somebody who puts everything into my training, can point out if others aren't doing so if I feel like it. If the OP wants happy clappy "you can do it" drivel then that's what RSP is there for. That's the market it serves. And I speak as somebody who trained like a donkey for a marathon 5 years ago and deservedly got slated for it.

I personally think your advice is nonsense, but what would I know, I don't train hard because I'm only running for a few minutes per session.

Oh, and in peak 400m condition, on a quick course, I could go sub 19 for 5k, off not a bit of long running, not an "earth shattering" distance behind yourself so get down off your high horse.

razorblunt wrote: »
    My 5k, 10ks were close to those of the OP, I've given myself 16 weeks to get ready for a HM.

If the OP pulls this out of the bag, I'm throwing the plan out the window ;-) (much to the chagrin of my "coach" who posts here!!)

Best of luck OP!

Your plan will enable you to do your best at the half, that's why your following the plan. However you can complete a half without following the plan, it won't be your best half or anything like it. The OP has the stamina to finish the race if run at a slower pace than her 16k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭ger664

If you race a HM to the best of your ability I can guarantee it will not be enjoyable. Trained or not OP should still try and race it to the best of their current ability, in doing so they may learn a lot about themselves and why there is no shortcuts as regards training.

Telling someone to just go out and trot around soak up atmosphere etc is for #RSP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Your plan will enable you to do your best at the half, that's why your following the plan. However you can complete a half without following the plan, it won't be your best half or anything like it. The OP has the stamina to finish the race if run at a slower pace than her 16k.

You sound just like him!!

I wasn't serious about the throwing it out the window! :)

ger664 wrote: »
    If you race a HM to the best of your ability I can guarantee it will not be enjoyable. Trained or not OP should still try and race it to the best of their current ability, in doing so they may learn a lot about themselves and why there is no shortcuts as regards training.

Telling someone to just go out and trot around soak up atmosphere etc is for #RSP

Not everyone is in running for times, some people are in it for the enjoyment and there is no harm in that. Sonia O'Sullivan runs a lot of races at an easy pace without pushing herself, you going to slag her off to #RSP??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I did a very slow HM. I did consider not doing it but glad I did. It gave me the incentive to enter another and train harder. Do what feels right and enjoy.

Not everyone is in running for times, some people are in it for the enjoyment and there is no harm in that. Sonia O'Sullivan runs a lot of races at an easy pace without pushing herself, you going to slag her off to #RSP??

When you've pushed your body to the absolute limit for a couple of decades, winning virtually everything there is to win, you can do what you like after that.

Pointless comparison.

Ah ok, only ex world class professionals are allowed to run a race at a leisurely pace.

Thank god AAI doesn't have the same attitude, otherwise club membership would fall thru the floor.

Ah ok, only ex world class professionals are allowed to run a race at a leisurely pace.

Thank god AAI doesn't have the same attitude, otherwise club membership would fall thru the floor.

Maybe we should set up a "Jogging, Race Completion & Other RSP related matters" sub forum, or better still, a forum of its own, where threads like this can go, airy-fairy rainbows and pot-of-gold advice can be given, and where you are guaranteed the reassurances you are looking for. A place where people who do not view running as a sport can hang out and give each other high-fives.

Maybe we should set up a "Jogging & Completion" sub forum, or better still, a forum of its own, where these kind of threads can go, and where airy-fairy advice can be given. Could link it up with RSP even. Those who don't see running as a sport could hang out there and give each other high-fives, and you will get nothing but the reassurances you are looking for.

Running is a sport, but it doesn't have to something you time, its a physical activity.
    Doesnt have to be something you give a 100% at. Some people have stressful jobs and a family and see running as way to help them. If they want to run races at a pace they enjoy so be it.

I would run races for a PB, but won't be upset if i don't get it anymore, the reason for it, I am never going to be any good at it, will go sub 20 for 5k, but still not great, unless your competing at international level, it doesn't matter, your not that good and no one cares about your time.

As regard in creating a new forum, anyone who is a member of the AAI is down as an Athlete, like or not. So this forum is relevant to them!

unless your competing at international level, it doesn't matter

Absolute rot of the highest order. May as well do away with National Championships then. Actually those competing at national, regional or county level are hugely important. It is those who push those slightly faster, working its way to the very top, that help to create the few top class international athletes. Without the lesser runners around and below them, you don't get international athletes. That is how competition works.

Untrained individuals jogging/walking distances they are not ready for benefits nobody except the pockets of those organising the race (quite often a for profit organisation), and inflating the AAI membership numbers. And most of this demographic are not in clubs anyway so are not AAI members so your point there is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

Chivito550 wrote:
    Maybe we should set up a "Jogging, Race Completion & Other RSP related matters" sub forum, or better still, a forum of its own, where threads like this can go, airy-fairy rainbows and pot-of-gold advice can be given, and where you are guaranteed the reassurances you are looking for. A place where people who do not view running as a sport can hang out and give each other high-fives.

While we're at it why don't we set up a sub forum for grumpy ignorant users who enjoy making little of other people and get angry and aggressive at anyone who isn't trying to win every event they enter. Everyone could nag at each other that they aren't trying hard enough and unless they're going to set a new world record there's no point in them even leaving the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Rule #1. Never ever ever say "any advice welcome",...........and den wen said advice comes start bitchin..u asked for some advice,u got some,some of it was good,some of it was badsome of it was just plain bad...........now where's those bunnys everyone Is on about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭ECOLII

Running is a sport, but it doesn't have to something you time, its a physical activity.

Running is an activity, races are a sport

Would you tell a golfer not to hand in their card?
    How bout a 5 a side league not to keep scores?
    Or a powerlifting club not monitoring weight?

Running is welcoming and I would encourage people of all levels whether you are a 2 hour marathon or a 1 hour 5k person no problem but if you are not actually pushing yourself it stops becoming a sport.

Regards membership numbers they really don't mean squat if you can't get anyone to run races (for example just look at the dire straights interclubs XC is in despite the record membership numbers)

Again not discouraging anyone from the sport the more people running the better but if you don't train and just "get away" with completing not only is it not an achievement it actually demeans the sport.

OP if you don't mind me asking what was your motivation to sign up for the race? To run your best? To get fitter/healthier? Either way if you haven't put the work in the race will be no metric of how well you achieved your goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

RonanP77 wrote: »
    While we're at it why don't we set up a sub forum for grumpy ignorant users who enjoy making little of other people and get angry and aggressive at anyone who isn't trying to win every event they enter. Everyone could nag at each other that they aren't trying hard enough and unless they're going to set a new world record there's no point in them even leaving the house.

I really don't think he means that at all. Chivito is someone with a very high work ethic when it comes to running, like a lot of people around here and that's something I for one respect. He doesn't have much time for people making excuses as to why they can't be better than they are - whatever their level (key point). That's my take anyways, he can speak for himself of course.

It's not a sport for me. It's a pastime. I could probably run better and faster but I don't need to. Fair play to those who push themselves to their peak but it's okay to have another approach to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

eviltwin wrote: »
    It's not a sport for me. It's a pastime. I could probably run better and faster but I don't need to. Fair play to those who push themselves to their peak but it's okay to have another approach to it.

yes I agree it's ok, but it's not really what this AR forum is about and never really has been from what I have seen. I think 99% of the posters here are competitive runners (competitive with themselves and amongst others).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,824 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Many thanks!

Sammy

Just give it a bash. What's the worst that can happen? You finish last when everyone's gone home. So what. You can run 5 and 10 k without dying, so no reason why you cant's double that and have a good day. Not much you can do now to really improve all that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Guys, the tone of this thread has to change now. No more personal pops, we are getting too many reported posts from this one thread so cards will be next.

No issue with that, like you said its a past time and you might do it for health reasons or whatever the point is you got to the particular level you wanted and maintained it. If you set yourself a goal however (whatever it may be) then you need to address the starting point and the transition towards that goal.

Put it this way if you said to yourself I want to go to Vegas at the end of the year so I will put x amount away each week and save 1500 and between one thing or another you didn't and ended up being 1000e off your target would you still be hitting the blackjack tables in Caesars Palace?

ECOLII wrote: »
    Running is an activity, races are a sport

Would you tell a golfer not to hand in their card?
    How bout a 5 a side league not to keep scores?
    Or a powerlifting club not monitoring weight?

Running is welcoming and I would encourage people of all levels whether you are a 2 hour marathon or a 1 hour 5k person no problem but if you are not actually pushing yourself it stops becoming a sport.

Regards membership numbers they really don't mean squat if you can't get anyone to run races (for example just look at the dire straights interclubs XC is in despite the record membership numbers)

Again not discouraging anyone from the sport the more people running the better but if you don't train and just "get away" with completing not only is it not an achievement it actually demeans the sport.

OP if you don't mind me asking what was your motivation to sign up for the race? To run your best? To get fitter/healthier? Either way if you haven't put the work in the race will be no metric of how well you achieved your goal.

Now definition of a sport is " an activity involving physical exertion"

Now correct me if I am wrong, but going for a run is a physical exertion?

And your mixing competitiveness in to this. Not everyone is competitive, often played golf without marking my card, its just good to go out and hit some balls to relax!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Netwerk_Errer

walshb wrote: »
    Just give it a bash. What's the worst that can happen? You finish last when everyone's gone home. So what. You can run 5 and 10 k without dying, so no reason why you cant's double that and have a good day. Not much you can do now to really improve all that much.

I'm now convinced someone's kidnapped walshb.

Racing is the sport, running is just an action.

I'm now convinced someone's kidnapped walshb.

There's subtlety in that post. Pay attention!:pac:

Just lock the thread, its going no where fast (see what i did there :D)

Don't think its gotten personal at all.

Now definition of a sport is " an activity involving physical exertion"

Now correct me if I am wrong, but going for a run is a physical exertion?

Think you missed a bit of the definition there

"an activity involving physical exertion and skill in which an individual or team competes against another or others for entertainment."

otherwise our farmers would be claiming all our sports capital grants despite them being professional sports people.

Gym training is not a sport yet darts and chess are.
    And your mixing competitiveness in to this. Not everyone is competitive, often played golf without marking my card, its just good to go out and hit some balls to relax!

In many clubs not turning in your card is frowned upon

Just lock the thread, its going no where fast (see what i did there :D)

Don't think its gotten personal at all.

Except for the part where yer man who starts all the random threads had a go at me.

Ososlo wrote: »
    yes I agree it's ok, but it's not really what this AR forum is about and never really has been from what I have seen. I think 99% of the posters here are competitive runners (competitive with themselves and amongst others).

Okay I can understand a need for that but can the more casual runners not post here or is there another forum?

I'm casual, and I harass this place. Join in!