Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

De-horning calves

• 02-03-2015 9:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭

Have a few young calves to de-bud, just wondering do lads take the bud out all together or just put the ring of the gas burner around the bud (if that makes sense)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I don't scoop it out, see no sense in doing it if you kill the bud correctly by 'circling' the burner round the bud. Hard to explain as you said!

Tis all in the wrist action ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Kovu wrote: »
    I don't scoop it out, see no sense in doing it if you kill the bud correctly by 'circling' the burner round the bud. Hard to explain as you said!

Tis all in the wrist action ;)

Bullock knows all about wrist action seemingly:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Mac Taylor wrote: »

Bullock would be the right one to have on a de-horning thread to be fair!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

Been using the gas for a few yrs now without any problems,got a dehorning gel this year but haven't tried it yet .Anyone any experience good or bad of this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

We used to do ourselves but this year two chaps come in every week and do what's to be done. Great saving and calves done and not put on long finger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Kovu wrote: »
    Bullock would be the right one to have on a de-horning thread to be fair!!!:p

Don't leave the poor fecker with half a horn anyhow , happened me once and I was disgusted for a week after .

Serious reply , we scoop out the full horn . Would this weather be a bit harsh for dehorning ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Have a few young calves to de-bud, just wondering do lads take the bud out all together or just put the ring of the gas burner around the bud (if that makes sense)

I just burn a nice ring around the bud. Iron red hot. A little pressure N, S, E, and W. No gouging out the bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I just burn a nice ring around the bud. Iron red hot. A little pressure N, S, E, and W. No gouging out the bud.

Same.. iron good and hot, roll round the horn roots so there's a definite burn mark all way round.. never take piece out as it falls out after maybe two weeks when the skin is healed.
    Had a lad in years ago who dehorned for us and it was savagery he was scooping out so much..

Bullocks wrote: »
    Don't leave the poor fecker with half a horn anyhow , happened me once and I was disgusted for a week after .

Serious reply , we scoop out the full horn . Would this weather be a bit harsh for dehorning ?

A semi I think its called :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

A good hot iron and well restrained calf is the answer alright. I just flick off the horn to one side, don't gourge it as such. I make a 'X' shape then across the exposed flesh to cauterise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I scoop them out but I'm thinking I might stop. Takes weeks for them to heal up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I scoop them out but I'm thinking I might stop. Takes weeks for them to heal up

After this thread I think I'll do the same. Every day is a school day. I never knew you didn't have to take it all out.

Same here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

High bike wrote: »
    Been using the gas for a few yrs now without any problems,got a dehorning gel this year but haven't tried it yet .Anyone any experience good or bad of this ?
    Used the gel the last couple of yrs. No stress on the calf at all it seems. One drop is sufficient. Just keep them clear of the mother for couple of hrs after. We've used everything from gas, electric and saws etc and there is no beating the gel imo. However, you still need them restrained and clip away a little hair if needed. Gel all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

kay 9 wrote: »
    Used the gel the last couple of yrs. No stress on the calf at all it seems. One drop is sufficient. Just keep them clear of the mother for couple of hrs after. We've used everything from gas, electric and saws etc and there is no beating the gel imo. However, you still need them restrained and clip away a little hair if needed. Gel all the way.
    Do they have to be done under one week ? I got the gel but never used it , at a week old I couldn't find a trace of a horn but maybe that's how it should be done ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Ya used it here 5 or 6 years ago and had to saw off a load of them the following spring. Always take the bud out, once is enough to dehorn a beast I think. I don't try and dig it out straight away though, burn well around the base of the bud first and it practically falls out itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

interesting, we always scooped them out. how much of a "ring" do you need to put around the the bud? might give it a go at the weekend, there are a few that ready to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

I used it but dident care for it. Having done it 2 years ago i see a good few of my first calvers with little Butty Brennan's this year. Out with the snippers. Great. Another day lookin like Hannibal lector. Now i use the small gas one. Serious heat. And i scoop them out forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 j banks

Agree with above scoop out if u definitely want no butts

Do they have to be done under one week ? I got the gel but never used it , at a week old I couldn't find a trace of a horn but maybe that's how it should be done ?
    We do them under 2 weeks. Some don't show a bud for a while though especially aax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

If your doing just a ring make sure to rub off the burnt hair after the initial burn as it can seal the horn, you need a red hot iron which will leave a black ring on timber without putting on any pressure on it. make sure you do a full ring and the bud is fully detached and you cant go wrong have hundred's of calves done this way and never had a problem a lot easier on man and beast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

trixi2011 wrote: »
    If your doing just a ring make sure to rub off the burnt hair after the initial burn as it can seal the horn, you need a red hot iron which will leave a black ring on timber without putting on any pressure on it. make sure you do a full ring and the bud is fully detached and you cant go wrong have hundred's of calves done this way and never had a problem a lot easier on man and beast
    Do you go right to the skull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Do you go right to the skull?

full ring prob would go as far as the skull ill throw up a few pic when Im doing some later in the week. The ring burns off all the blood vessels leading to the horn buds they fall out after a week or two

The one I got says 8to 15 days old,clip the hair first and keep away from the cow for 2hrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Midlandsman80

Do any of ye inject calves with local anaesthetic before skulking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Yes of course, we all do...

I always scoop it out. The most important thing is a proper derhorner. With the right heat it's out in 2 seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

trixi2011 wrote: »

no need to scoop out .. when you detach it with sufficient burn and leave in situe .. it dries up like a mushroom and falls out in one lump.. shave their heads after that the following year and they pollies!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Do it here when using gas and the odd one that needs skulling - last year on BB inspection when yer one saw the adrenacane down on med records she was so happy to see it I think if everything else was wrong I think she would still have passed me - She just said its rare to see it and the BB crowd love to see it being used!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Def no need to take out the bud, it says it on the instructions of the dehorner I have(the one in the blue box as it's known). Just burn a ring around the bud, once u see that the skin is seperated from the horn u can stop. Haven't taken out a bud here for over 10 yrs, have a lad that works with for these kinda jobs, we've prob done over a thousand calves in the 10 yrs, and a horn has never grown. This guy has probably dehorned everyone of these with me. So when he dehorns his calves, he borrows my dehorner, and always takes the buds out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Mostly limo calves here, use a gas dehorner when they're a month or two old. Used to leave the bud in but found that there's more chance of butts growing later on.

Always scoop the buds out now, it's a far cleaner job and no butts grow after. My vet has seen some cases where the buds were left in to fall out and maggots appeared to feed on the bud as it died off, not a god job.
    That paste stuff is a waste of time imo.

ellewood wrote: »
    Do it here when using gas and the odd one that needs skulling - last year on BB inspection when yer one saw the adrenacane down on med records she was so happy to see it I think if everything else was wrong I think she would still have passed me - She just said its rare to see it and the BB crowd love to see it being used!!

Great to keep Larry and the boys happy. Lets hope none of those calves eventually kill out over 400kgs.

Don't use anaesthetic here as all calves are done Pre 2 wks old.

See on twitter where the kiwis put calves to sleep for dehorning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Don't use anaesthetic here as all calves are done Pre 2 wks old.

See on twitter where the kiwis put calves to sleep for dehorning

Permanently ? You never know with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

I've seen some photos of that in nz, it looked like it was a convenience thing to sedate the calves and do them on the ground as they hadn't a crate, they were dairy calves. Can't say if it was the rule there or just the custom?

Over here in Canada if I am doing any horns I give some sedation in with the local to make the job alot easier, go along and do all the local/sedation then come back and do the horns in a line. All tied up in tie-stall barns though...bit different!

Shot of Metacam really helps them not go back as much also for the bigger ones I find. Very cheap for 3 days of pain relief for small calves or weanlings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

I've seen some photos of that in nz, it looked like it was a convenience thing to sedate the calves and do them on the ground as they hadn't a crate, they were dairy calves. Can't say if it was the rule there or just the custom?

Over here in Canada if I am doing any horns I give some sedation in with the local to make the job alot easier, go along and do all the local/sedation then come back and do the horns in a line. All tied up in tie-stall barns though...bit different!

Shot of Metacam really helps them not go back as much also for the bigger ones I find. Very cheap for 3 days of pain relief for small calves or weanlings
    Adrenacaine and alaymycin La Spray for afterwards only costs a few euro, and no need for an expensive crate...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

Nettleman wrote: »
    Adrenacaine and alaymycin La Spray for afterwards only costs a few euro, and no need for an expensive crate...?

The local wears off after about an hour though and I often do bigger ones as lads are calving year round and leave a bunch to be done at once. The Metacam really helps those ones not be off their feed as much when they are a few months old.

I haven't seen a de-horning crate since I was at home in Ireland unfortunately. It's always a case of having them tied to a ring on the wall or the side of a pen so sedation helps massively as you often have no help! Completely different system to Ireland!

I was de-horning calves this evening and broke my scissors before I started. Drove me mad, very hard to see where the buds were.

Anyone have a little trimmers or something else they would recommend ?................... Are the curved scissors like the vets use, worth getting.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Are the curved scissors like the vets use, worth getting.

Absolutely, don't see how anyone could use a straight scissors. Get a good one though. Maybe ask your vet to order you one.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    Absolutely, don't see how anyone could use a straight scissors. Get a good one though. Maybe ask your vet to order you one.

Great. I'll do just that.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭johnny122

I was de-horning calves this evening and broke my scissors before I started. Drove me mad, very hard to see where the buds were.

Anyone have a little trimmers or something else they would recommend ?................... Are the curved scissors like the vets use, worth getting.

Didn't need any scissors here to see the ones I was doin!!!

Used that paste about a month ago,no good at all will have to get the gas out tomorrow

What brand was it? I find it great stuff. Ain't had a problem yet touch wood. Have to skull a few we missed entirely though before the Bastard flies start

Its called SH Plus ,did it by the book clipped hair around the bud and put plenty on but no good,the SH must stand for ****e :D

:D:D a neighbour of mine was boasting about how great the paste he used last year was. I see he had to skull most of his weanlings last month.

tanko wrote: »
    :D:D a neighbour of mine was boasting about how great the paste he used last year was. I see he had to skull most of his weanlings last month.
    Never used it before and maybe there's different brands but what I got was useless anyway.Had to skull one myself this year that we missed last year,messy job that I hate.

Hate skulling myself. Nasty job. However, I find the paste great tbh. Would go back to burning them otherwise. Can't understand how so many lads find it useless. Even different brands have the same ingredient.

What brand name is the stuff you use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

got a loan of a mullinahone gas dehorner lately .. a flame thrower against my candle of a calor....may invest I think

tanko wrote: »
    What brand name is the stuff you use?
    I'm nearly sure it's called Genia. Comes in a little white and blue tub with a sealed bag on it. Can't find it now lol. Old man may have moved it