Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wellingtons

• 02-03-2015 6:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

i am trying to find a pair of wellingtons, wont crack after 2 month little use,
    not a trivial matter when your feet are wet!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

iro wrote: »
    i am trying to find a pair of wellingtons, wont crack after 2 month little use,
    not a trivial matter when your feet are wet!!!!

MuckBoots!
    Savage comfort!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

But more pricey, but I've recently been converted to Barbours. Not quite as comfortable as Hunters, but much cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

convert wrote: »
    But more pricey, but I've recently been converted to Barbours. Not quite as comfortable as Hunters, but much cheaper.

Hunters are great on fields but lethal on concrete. Found out the hard way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Le Chameau.
    Baudau.

2 good makes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Bekina, lined nicely on the inside too. 50 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

You either in bed or in boots. Have the best of both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

dunlop puro thremos have my pair 2 years most comfy/warmest i have ever had anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I've the bekina aswell. Great boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

Hunters are great on fields but lethal on concrete. Found out the hard way

Found they wore out in no time on concrete/gravel/machinery. Not even heavy use at that. A "Gentleman's" wellington boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Suckler wrote: »
    Found they wore out in no time on concrete/gravel/machinery. Not even heavy use at that. A "Gentleman's" wellington boots.

I agree. Have gone through a few pairs and the sole keeps coming away from the boot part. They are a bit expensive for this to be happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

The problem with the Bekina and Dunlop purfort is that they crack at the back /heel area ,and /or ankle area with not alot of work done. Comfortable I will admit. Hunters are fine and comfy, but a death trap on concrete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Aigle Paracours is what I wear. 100% recommend them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I always bought Dunlop prestige but they cracked at the heel after 2 months. I am using excel now with one month no problems yet. I bought them for €10 in an end of stock clearence, they dropped to a fiver now so I bought a few more pairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

I would wear wellingtons in the winter only, and at that its only the weekends. I went to the coop last summer to get a pair, a tenner, grand and light so they were perfect. tell ya one thing - they are freezing in the winter. i'll stick it out, for two more weekends and manage till October for a better pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭huwboy

Find the old nora dolomites hard to beat myself, good grip on most surfaces, comfortable, unlined inside so can wash them out if need be, maybe a little cold for the winter, but a good boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I always bought Dunlop prestige but they cracked at the heel after 2 months. I am using excel now with one month no problems yet. I bought them for €10 in an end of stock clearence, they dropped to a fiver now so I bought a few more pairs.

I went through 3 pairs very quick that cracked at heel. Brought back the last pair and got a new pair. It only happened on my right foot and put it down to the way I took them off. Changed the way I done this and the last pair I have a good while. Seems to have sorted it for mr anyhow

What difference in taking them off have you made?

joejobrien wrote: »

Flings them at the wall now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Man of Aran

I would wear wellingtons in the winter only, and at that its only the weekends.

What are they for ? Your " Sunday-going-to-mass" pair and night clubbing?

Hope you don't mind the bit of humour H2FT but on first reading your post, that's what came to mind, later on I understood perhaps part time farming.

BTW Aldi had some pretty decent lined ones for around 15e last week.
    Sure at that price, you could afford to wreck 3 pairs or so for same as 1 pair Dunlop.
    A nail or strong briar will puncture the dear one same as cheap one anyhow I find.

Cheers :)

MofA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Bought a pair of Goodyear thermal wellies in October past. Sole ripped off one this morning. Not amused.

http://www.whitesagri.ie/Section5/Page6.aspx
    I've the Tyne ones.
    One of the lads here wears them without any socks, notta bother to him!!

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Bought a pair of Goodyear thermal wellies in October past. Sole ripped off one this morning. Not amused.

Your driving them too hard nek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

What are they for ? Your " Sunday-going-to-mass" pair and night clubbing?

Hope you don't mind the bit of humour H2FT but on first reading your post, that's what came to mind, later on I understood perhaps part time farming.

BTW Aldi had some pretty decent lined ones for around 15e last week.
    Sure at that price, you could afford to wreck 3 pairs or so for same as 1 pair Dunlop.
    A nail or strong briar will puncture the dear one same as cheap one anyhow I find.

Cheers :)

MofA.
    that's exactly what they are for! mucky jeep and clean clothes gets them all talking!
    yep part time farmer, full time 9-5er.
    as for the punctures, I would wear a pair of workboots most of the time anyway, so that wouldn't come into it.
    Dad got a pair of hunters (as a gift) and they didn't last 6 months before they leaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Your " Sunday-going-to-mass" pair

On which subject, you might want to pair them with a smart pair of Snickers work trousers.

What Parish priest could turn his nose up at a fellow who brings his own kneelers?

Do remember to unhook the hammer before leaving home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

I've the Tyne ones.
    Jaysus, thems Dublin prices...

I've the Tyne ones.
    Mickey, does the **** tend to stick to the upper part of the wellingtons:o and how much use on a daily basis are they on for and how long do you have same

Muck doesn't really stick to them.
    I'd wear them instead of my work boots around the farm for fhe comfort of them. Depending on the day I suppose 1/2 the day any way!
    If ya do get them ye'll never get a diff pair ever again. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Let me rephrase, pure shyte. Lining dragged out the insole on both of them and completely fu@ked now. Do not buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Kinda hard to explain, you know when you put the toe of one against the heel of the other when taking them off? Well I found when I changed to do the other foot that's what caused the cracking as had my heel out of position but standing on the back of wellie caused it to crease as such. As said very hard to explain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Same here right heel cracks first. Those cheap excel wellingtons I bought, the first pair have split straight down above the heel not as bad though as it's high enough the keep water and mud out. I have them a month but they have been driven hard with high mileage :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

Same here right heel cracks first. Those cheap excel wellingtons I bought, the first pair have split straight down above the heel not as bad though as it's high enough the keep water and mud out. I have them a month but they have been driven hard with high mileage :)
    my thrmos have split at the heal now aswell 3 years on they owe me nothing right enough ha :L on for about 3 to 4 ours 365 days a year only fault i had was that they were far 2 warm in the summertime. other thing i have noticed is that even though they have cracked they still dont let in water so stick it back on and they will do me another while i think ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Dawggone wrote: »
    Le Chameau.
    Baudau.

2 good makes.

Le Chameau may be good but only folk you see wearing are those who arrive into farmers yards and try to look like they have farmed/do day to day grind/something in common with us peasants :rolleyes:... like land agents and such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Le Chameau may be good but only folk you see wearing are those who arrive into farmers yards and try to look like they have farmed/do day to day grind/something in common with us peasants :rolleyes:... like land agents and such.

Le Chameau are good for a day at the peg/farm walk/pt. to pt. etc. €200

Baudou are good for general work when moving all day. €22.

I agree with your comment re the type of person that wear the Chameau's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Conorh123

MuckBoots!
    Savage comfort!!

Muck boots are very comfy but my pair are now leaking