Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alternatives for 'How are you' ?

• 26-02-2015 10:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭

Since I moved to London, i've noticed that saying 'how are you', is the most overused, meaningless phrase in existence. There's a kind of irony to it actually, London being a cold, impersonal rat race. At least us Irish say, 'whats the story' or 'whats the craic', it doesn't come across as insincere as 'how are you', when you really couldn't give a ****e :o

A worker in starbucks asking me how I am kind of sums up the inhuman corporate world we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

So...how you doin'?

Story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

I hate "how are you"

The speaker doesn't want a genuine response, its utterly pointless.

A straight "Hello" is all you need.
    Maybe followed by a "hope your doing well" as that doesn't explicitly require a response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Stinjy

i usually say "how's things" though most people here (canada) don't actually catch what I've said and I have to revert back to 'how are you'.. >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

How's it cutting? :o :pac::pac::pac:
    Sound a right culchie saying it mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

Try a few of these sayings

"Alright governer,tis it St. Swithin's day already"

"Kippers for breckfast is it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Owwight mate. Formitchabiy. Aroo good. Eee, 'Oway tha day wor lad. Greetings and salutations, obscure, comical carbon-based life-form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I never know what to answer when someone says "whats the craic". At least 60% of the time it seems to be a rhetorical question anyway.

If it's morning I say Morning, if it's not, I say howaya, or how's it goin'

For people I know I'll say story bud, but in a slaggy way, not in a scobie way.

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

How's it hanging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

syklops wrote: »
    I never know what to answer when someone says "whats the craic". At least 60% of the time it seems to be a rhetorical question anyway.

I just usually reply with 'crack of me arse'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

"Howya boss! How's your wife and my baby?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Don't some English people also say "what's the craic" though? They definitely know the term craic/crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

WAAAAAAZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZUPPPPPPPPPPPPP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Greetings and Salutations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭tmh106

lufties wrote: »
    Since I moved to London, i've noticed that saying 'how are you', is the most overused, meaningless phrase in existence. There's a kind of irony to it actually, London being a cold, impersonal rat race. At least us Irish say, 'whats the story' or 'whats the craic', it doesn't come across as insincere as 'how are you', when you really couldn't give a ****e :o

What would be the point of an alternative? If the person asking the question really doesn't give ****e (and I think that's rather a generalisation anyway), then any alternative would be equally insincere. Far better in those circumstances not to say anything; it might be unpleasant, but it would be honest.

tmh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

How do you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Most people I know say how are you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Always said

Alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,762 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

WAAAAAAAASSSSAAAAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPPPPPP

Showing my age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

How're they hanging?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

'Well'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Top of the mornin to ya

tmh106 wrote: »
    What would be the point of an alternative? If the person asking the question really doesn't give ****e (and I think that's rather a generalisation anyway), then any alternative would be equally insincere. Far better in those circumstances not to say anything; it might be unpleasant, but it would be honest.

tmh

I mean an alternative greeting..Perhaps, hello your looking well or hey, what good things are happening with you at the moment? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Howya boss!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭circadian

Bout ye?

In Derry it's common to just greet someone with a 'Yes' or 'Yes, hi'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

circadian wrote: »
    Bout ye?

In Derry it's common to just greet someone with a 'Yes' or 'Yes, hi'

Or the more formal form used in parts of Tyrone, "See 'boutye hi, ye wee bollocks!!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

I have this weird idiosyncrasy where I have to respond with an alternative "how are you ?" when someone asks first.

"Howiye goin ?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

A worker in starbucks asking me how I am kind of sums up the inhuman corporate world we live in.

Woah, you're like, totally clued in, maaaan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

'aye up me duck' is used around these parts

I bet if you answered with "actually I'm having a really really shyte day" you'd get your coffee for free or get a free biscuit or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

"Gimme your fúckin' money before I knife ya, bud!!"

That's usually how I say hello to strangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I bet if you answered with "actually I'm having a really really shyte day" you'd get your coffee for free or get a free biscuit or something.

Paying for biscuits is what separates us from animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I was once greeted by the woman behind the bar at BHX railway station with:

"Alright me duck? 'Ow are ya babs? What can I get you darlin'."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I say ¿Buenos Dias or ¿Que tal? because I live in Spain.

So there.

So there.

Spain? Since WHEN?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,667 ✭✭✭✭blade1

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Howya boss!?

Followed by "will ya buy a carpet?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

How-de-doo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I practice the 'quick jerk upwards of the head combined with briefly raised eyebrows' rather than actual words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Spain? Since WHEN?

Since I moved here. To Spain.

Spain.

whys that then? Ah poor fella never could afford a starbucks coffee, Personally i hate the place.

Tell ya what..Stick to reading the sun, wearing a man utd jersey and eating breakfast rolls ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Alright feeeeeeeeeeen

Shtory horse

How's the bollocks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Zippie84

Reminded me of this... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Howareyeah. Said in about a tenth of a second. The can of Dutch gold is optional

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I've been English my whole life and I've never heard anyone say "how are you?" It's always "Alright mate."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

"Hows she cuttin'"

To be honest, just about every single person you'll ever meet anywhere will beexactly as you've described. Best get acquainted with that fact. No one wants to know how anyone actually is. It's just that they look worse if they don't ask. The world runs on small talk, mate :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Alright Horse.

Howya Schnackbox.

That kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

So there.

Buenos ding dong diddly dias

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

How are the balls of your feet