Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cats: Are they evil?

• 26-02-2015 10:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭

After spending the last fifteen minutes watching my kitten slaughter a catnip pillow I've come to the conclusion that he definitely has an evil streak. Doesn't stop me loving the little fúcker though. :D

Is your cat evil? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

No, they're just only semi-domesticated. So still have a certain wildness in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

Only the purrsian cats are

i52zd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

http://wanna-joke.com/tag/pure-evil/

No....not evil at all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

They may very well be evil but I respect that more than attention seeking over-energetic dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

If you die by your dog, it'll stay by your side.

If you die by your cat, it'll rob your wallet, claim the deeds to your house and car, distort your will enough so that nobody gets anything but the cat itself, sell your belongings, and then move abroad to live the high life with it's mistress.

And, most likely, have a laugh on a beach with a cocktail in it's paw about how it got away with your murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Some o' the we scunners are frae' Glesage, they'll set aboot ye:

https://flic.kr/p/9oPb2U

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

Not evil.

You know who I always seem to find really dull and boring though? People who proclaim that they utterly despise cats, as if their completely irrational hatred of them is somehow a badge of online e-dweeb honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The interwebz only exists because of peoples love and want to share cat pics to fellow cat lovers around the world, so no.... cats are not evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Exactly. The internet is made of cats. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Myself and cats have an unspoken agreement; they leave me alone and I leave them alone. We may have our differences, but I can't see how they can be evil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

My favourite various breeds of cats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

RomanKnows wrote: »
    You know who I always seem to find really dull and boring though? People who proclaim that they utterly despise cats, as if their completely irrational hatred of them is somehow a badge of online e-dweeb honour.

I suspect there's a degree of 'control freakery' in these rather dim folk too. Most cats aren't very good at taking orders and retain a self-reliant wild streak that some people dislike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

ALL HAIL OUR KITTY OVERLORDS, AND BLESSED BE THEIR TINY FEET!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

iDave wrote: »
    They may very well be evil but I respect that more than attention seeking over-energetic dogs

You're gonna do well here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Lazy, peaceful tabby and mad, wild eyed skinny black cat (both neutered females). For some unfathomable reason tabby is alpha cat when it is feeding time, black cat is totally subordinate and waits her turn. However. At all other times black cat lays in wait for tabby and jumps on her in completely unprovoked attacks. Tabby looks bullied and put upon and usually goes and finds a high and unassailable spot. Other times she fights back with a good deal of hissing and quick spats of fighting, and black cat backs off. Otherwise they totally ignore each other.

Black cat is the one that climbs all over me though, and wants to be petted, the other one just sleeps, demands food, and sleeps again. Evil? Nah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

People have pet dogs. Cats have pet humans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

When I was small we had a cat and I think he thought he was a dog. Any time I was upset about something he would come over and lick my hand and keep walking around me exactly like a dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

If we didn't have evil cats the Hamsters would stop running around in their wheels and the internet would stop running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

As much as we love Mr.Jenkins in the Brick's household, there is no doubt he would wait for us to burn to death until we're well done like a fillet steak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Make no mistake, a cat would kill you and everyone you love, given half a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Make no mistake, a cat would kill you and everyone you love, given half a chance.

Says the Cat mod :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Sure.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

No animal is evil. Except for spiders, earwigs and Lone Star ticks.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

I like that we have an "Isis are evil" and a "are cats evil?" on the very same page :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I like that we have an "Isis are evil" and a "are cats evil?" on the very same page :D

Are ISIS cats?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Dogs have owners, cats have staff.

I've nothing against them mind, probably going to get two kittens for the girls now they're old enough to look after them. I would prefer dogs as I always had dogs when growing up, but we really haven't got the space for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

looksee wrote: »
    Lazy, peaceful tabby and mad, wild eyed skinny black cat (both neutered females). For some unfathomable reason tabby is alpha cat when it is feeding time, black cat is totally subordinate and waits her turn. However. At all other times black cat lays in wait for tabby and jumps on her in completely unprovoked attacks. Tabby looks bullied and put upon and usually goes and finds a high and unassailable spot. Other times she fights back with a good deal of hissing and quick spats of fighting, and black cat backs off. Otherwise they totally ignore each other.

Black cat is the one that climbs all over me though, and wants to be petted, the other one just sleeps, demands food, and sleeps again. Evil? Nah.

Sounds familliar. We've 4 of them.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

How could this be evil?

Enjoy the thread while it lasts, it won't be long until the psycho's arrive advocating doing nasty things to cats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭phater phagan

Cats are the most wonderful of creatures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

They're less domesticated and more evolved hunters than dogs.

That said, the whole spiel that all cats have less personality or are less affectionate than dogs is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Cats are two faced, disloyal, bony,horrible yokes that go around with their arse holes on permanent display. Yuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

73Cat wrote: »
    Cats are two faced, disloyal, bony,horrible yokes that go around with their arse holes on permanent display. Yuck.

Only If you're looking very closely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I love cats.

Their 'don't give a f**k'-ness is very endearing.

73Cat wrote: »

You just haven't met the right cat.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

RomanKnows wrote: »

Indeed. It's a vogueish thing to say these days. Now, if you have a phobia of them, fine, but otherwise kindly STFU.

You just haven't met the right cat.;)

:):):).
    We have owned cats in the past, but honest to God, all it took was for someone else to start feeding them, and they were gone. One of them we spent a fortune on at the vets after it had an accident, only for it to feck off somewhere else. You'd meet them on the estate, for them to look at you all smug and slitty eyed!

Cats - it's apparent - are very smart and know when not to stay with people who don't deserve them.

Whatever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Do not meddle in the affairs of cats, for they are subtle and will piss on your computer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Sounds familliar. We've 4 of them.:D

Au contraire , the four of them have you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Are ISIS cats?

Isis was the egyptian god of cats.

Another good reason to call the middle-eastern terrorists by their proper name, Daesh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

No animal is evil. Except for spiders, earwigs and Lone Star ticks.

Earwigs, now there's a creature that has thankfully become less over the years.
    I remember hating them as a kid, feckers seemed to have been everywhere then .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Isis was the egyptian god of cats.

Another good reason to call the middle-eastern terrorists by their proper name, Daesh.

Wasn't that Bastet?
    I thought Isis was the mother-goddess, the one with the wings?

Isis was the daughter of God of the Earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Shenshen wrote: »
    Wasn't that Bastet?

Ah your right, I got the two mixed up.

Anyone that has more than 2 cats is in danger of this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I've always loved them, obviously they're adorable looking but they're also strong willed and assertive as well as being capable of showing genuine love and affection to their owners. It takes time to win their trust and they'll never forgive people who mistreat them, a very proud and dignified animal.

Shenshen wrote: »
    Wasn't that Bastet?

You're right. Bastet was known as the soul of Isis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I've always loved them, obviously they're adorable looking but they're also strong willed and assertive as well as being capable of showing genuine love and affection to their owners. It takes time to win their trust and they'll never forgive people who mistreat them, a very proud and dignified animal.

What a lovely way to describe them...that was really nice😊