Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honor (Huawei) Holly 16GB 720p 5" Dual SIM-Free Smartphone - Black £74.99 @ Amazon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Niveus Tauri

Are you sure its Huawei ?

Their(Huawei's) official UK site didnt mention anything about it , and mobile phones look different
    http://consumer.huawei.com/en/mobile-phones/index.htm

Just be careful and make sure its not another low end Chinese company that took Huaweis model name as their Company name .

Btw , on website that you mentioned its just 75 EURO to pre-order .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,557 ✭✭✭droidman123

Their(Huawei's) official UK site didnt mention anything about it , and mobile phones look different

Just be careful and make sure its not another low end Chinese company that took Huaweis model name as their Company name .

75 pounds sterling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭NATLOR

Saying £75 for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,265 ✭✭✭Yggr of Asgard

Honor is Huawei's Secret Mobile Phone Startup.

More info:
    http://www.techworld.com/blog/from-garage-glory/honor-huaweis-secret-mobile-phone-startup-3596901/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭moodrater

If that was your brand name wouldn't you be trying to change it for a global market :pac:

Domain Name: hihonor.com
    Registrant Name: Roxanne Zhao
    Registrant Organization: Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
    Registrant Street: Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. Huawei Base, Bantian, Longgang District
    Registrant City: Shenzhen
    Registrant State/Province: Shenzhen

Zardoz wrote: »
    Amazon are selling the Honor (Huawei) Holly 16GB 720p 5" Dual SIM-Free Smartphone - Black for £74.99
    Its a preorder , due for release on March 6th .
    Its part of Honor's pre launch price promotion ,the price will go up after launch.
    http://www.hihonor.com/en/pages/campaigns/pricehacker

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00TQPOTTS/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE

This is a heck of a lot of phone for 105 euro

Feck anyway spent 79 on a crappy y550 for my wife on thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭Zardoz

moodrater wrote: »
    Feck anyway spent 79 on a crappy y550 for my wife on thursday.

Thats what I have now too,bought it a few weeks ago.
    The Y550 is a really good phone in fairness

Its grand, but even with an sd card 4GB becomes unworkable very quickly with thumbnail caches and application updates etc. etc. I end up having to intervene and integrate system update with titanium backup, manually delete stuff, move apps to sd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭jgbyr

Can't see anywhere if 4g is available with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Its grand, but even with an sd card 4GB becomes unworkable very quickly with thumbnail caches and application updates etc. etc. I end up having to intervene and integrate system update with titanium backup, manually delete stuff, move apps to sd.

Yeah 4GB is too little ,there's only 1.3Gb free out of the box.
    Did you root it ,its easy enough to do .
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/android/help/to-root-huawei-y500-t2923318

Install Link2sd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,284 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

jgbyr wrote: »

looks 3g

"Dual sim GSM/HSPA 3G"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭JTMan

jgbyr wrote: »

It's 3G only. That rules this phone out for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

This looks to compare pretty favourably with the moto g 2nd gen. I was planning on buying one to replace my nexus 4 which is on its last legs.

Any idea if the 32gb limit on microSD cards is actually a hardware limit, or just the most they recommend?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

If im going to upgrade id want 4 g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

JTMan wrote: »
    It's 3G only. That rules this phone out for me.
    sasta le wrote: »
    If im going to upgrade id want 4 g

Why you would need or expect 4G on a 100 euro phone is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Furzy

Hmmm ..... spent €79 on the Vodafone Smart 4 Turbo yesterday - but it does have 4G (which I probably won't use!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭soirish

How come the phone shows as new release (pre-order) if it's been available in India for a while?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

soirish wrote: »
    How come the phone shows as new release (pre-order) if it's been available in India for a while?

European version only now being released.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Why you would need or expect 4G on a 100 euro phone is beyond me.

Future proofing.

Also you might get a 30 day sim only plan with decent data limit. For those of us who don't want a long contract, or more control of the bills.

I assume you're thinking anyone using 4G will need to be on a decent bill pay plan for data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭TheChevron

Serious phone for the money.

Would only 1 gig of Ram make it sluggish?

I've went for it anyway, will update when it arrives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭NATLOR

TheChevron wrote: »
    Serious phone for the money.

Would only 1 gig of Ram make it sluggish?

My Moto g has 1 gig ram and its no way sluggish

The Moto g afaik is almost stock Android. Which helps a lot with speed. Dunno what's on the Huawei.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,641 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I actually need a dual sim phone. I'm sporing 3 phones and an iPad at the minute, which is juat a pain! Any other fast specced dual sim phones out there? Doesn't need a decent camera/internet/memory. 3g and one that actually runs fast will do. My main phone is the Z3 so I'll do all my hard labour on that

beauf wrote: »
    Future proofing.

Also you might get a 30 day sim only plan with decent data limit. For those of us who don't want a long contract, or more control of the bills.

I assume you're thinking anyone using 4G will need to be on a decent bill pay plan for data.

The only use for 4G is when using Tethering.

Future proofing on smartphones is pointless, its the software that makes the phone and the vendor eventually stops updating the software.

4G is only really useful when tethering, for streaming on a small screen 4G is unnecessary.

Thats just my opinion at the moment the coverage is limited anyway, but for 100 euros you will not get a phone with a 4G Radio in it :)

antodeco wrote: »
    I actually need a dual sim phone. I'm sporing 3 phones and an iPad at the minute, which is juat a pain! Any other fast specced dual sim phones out there? Doesn't need a decent camera/internet/memory. 3g and one that actually runs fast will do. My main phone is the Z3 so I'll do all my hard labour on that

Moto G Second Gen is the best implementation of Dual SIM I've used.
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/reviews/mobile-phone/3543534/motorola-moto-g-2014-review/

I use it daily crossing a border :)

You can get an ace 3 or Lumia 635 for under 100 with 4G.

We're still using a couple of phones on 2.3.6 so while I agree its software updates that are important. The phone doesn't stop being useful if its a decent spec to begin with. The bloat installed by Samsung and similar on Android is a real issue for older phones. Not to mention Android itself is heavy on resources.

I see a lot of people on public transport using streaming a lot and even video chat. Apart from that websites are getting heavier. I don't think 4G is solely useful for tethering.

Anyway this Huawei is a very good spec for the money. It's s pity the exchange rate is so poor.

Its now 99 euro from the link in the first post if you get an email from price hacker. I signed up to the honor club but no email yet.

Would I better off going for a Moto G 2nd Gen, or this Huawei phone?

The Moto G Second Gen.

This phone uses the MT6582 which does 3G on one SIM and GSM on the other SIM.

The Moto G lets you switch to 3G on either SIM and dual SIM implementation was actually built by Google (when Google owned Motorola)

When in Germany I have my German SIM on 3G, when I cross the border I just go to Settings --> SIM Cards and Switch Mobile data to my Dutch SIM, it then just switches 3G over to the Dutch SIM Card.

Any other Dual SIM I tried that was MTK Based did not do this, you were stuck with crappy slow EGSM Data.

Moto G Second Gen also has lollipop (stock) now too.

For me its a no brainer .. I wouldn't bother saving a few quid on a cheap dual sim... its not worth it.

The Moto G 2nd gen is roughly twice the price, and the better phone.

Also Huawei have their own custom Emotion UI skin and the Moto G is closer to Vanilla Android. So it will get updates faster. The build quality will be better on the Moto G.

But then its cheap. Its half the price of the Moto G. This is priced (in the OP) on almost at the budget Moto E.

If multi sim is requirement theres also the tri sim Acer E700. Massive battery (3500mAh) and 2GB RAM. No Gorrilla Glass tough.

Is there a better phone out there for 99 euro?

The only drawback of the Moto G is its twice the price for 8gb.

Holly looks amazing for the money with the following caveats.

Camera looks very poor on the holly from sample photos.

As keith says dual sim would be better on the moto g.

Huawei have been very poor in the past for releasing updates for old models if you're lucky you'll get lollipop and you'll be on your own then looking to the community for rom updates.

Huawei models tend to sell for very short periods before they release a slightly different variation. This means community support is fragmented. Even baidu os drops their models after a year or so.

You can pretty much guarantee long term community support for the moto g.

The only drawback of the Moto G is its twice the price for 8gb.

Holly looks amazing for the money with the following caveats.

Camera looks very poor on the holly from sample photos.

As keith says dual sim would be better on the moto g.

Huawei have been very poor in the past for releasing updates for old models if you're lucky you'll get lollipop and you'll be on your own then looking to the community for rom updates.

Huawei models tend to sell for very short periods before they release a slightly different variation. This means community support is fragmented. Even baidu os drops their models after a year or so.

You can pretty much guarantee long term community support for the moto g.

Ya .. I just stuck a 32GB MicroSD Card into it though :)

Support for moving apps and games to microSD changed between 4.x and 4.4 and 5.0
    http://www.talkandroid.com/225436-google-bringing-sd-card-support-back-to-android-in-5-0-lollipop/

Its annoying this varies between version and manufacturers
    http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_xperia_phones_getting_move_to_sd_card_via_latest_update-news-9058.php

I wonder how the Huawei handles it.

beauf wrote: »
    If multi sim is requirement theres also the tri sim Acer E700. Massive battery (3500mAh) and 2GB RAM. No Gorrilla Glass tough.

Do you know if the Acer has live tri-sim, or are they switch on/off (ie: only one active at a time?)

I think they are all active, but only one is active for data.
    http://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-Liquid-E700-Trio-Smartphone-Review.125505.0.html
    Camera on the 5" Moto G is probably better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭shovel

lads
    can I ask have any of ye had a problem with the moto g with when you are a couple of seconds into a call the audio goes all weird, like it is scrambled.then you get cut off and cannot make a call for a cou[ple of minutes

I am on my FOURTH moto g having returned 3 already.one was a 4g lte model and on my 3rd, 5" model-all the same.

its not every call but fairly regular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

have you changed your sim?

sounds like its not a phone problem if its happened on multiple phones.

RossieMan wrote: »
    have you changed your sim?

sounds like its not a phone problem if its happened on multiple phones.

If the phones were stock sim is a likely culprit alright or if you're on the threshold of reception for 3g/4g maybe its crapping out you could try setting it to 2g only. Could be something you're installing or fiddling with e.g. dodgy rooting script, overclocking, custom rom, root app etc.

I have changed the sim card. No rooting done .No major apps installed. Will try setting it to 2g only and see how I get On. Thanks

shovel wrote: »
    lads
    can I ask have any of ye had a problem with the moto g with when you are a couple of seconds into a call the audio goes all weird, like it is scrambled.then you get cut off and cannot make a call for a cou[ple of minutes

I am on my FOURTH moto g having returned 3 already.one was a 4g lte model and on my 3rd, 5" model-all the same.

its not every call but fairly regular

Do you have any videos loaded on the SD Card / Internal Memory ?

People have reported that MKV and some other file formats can cause issues as the Photo app tries to index them for thumbnails and can cause problems like this.

Put nothing On this phone. Will try the 2g for a while and see how I get On

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭househero

Flubit have it for £68 delivered to a UK address if that's handy for anybody

This arrived today, seems grand! 6% battery depletion after using it for 3 hours, rather than the 25 or more my nexus 4 had been reduced to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

TPD wrote: »
    This arrived today, seems grand! 6% battery depletion after using it for 3 hours, rather than the 25 or more my nexus 4 had been reduced to.

Can you upload a few photos? what is the display like, build quality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bondja80

I got this phone on monday and it's good and fast phone for 108e(75£), screen is nice, only colors are a bit washed out. Camera is ok for outdoor, but for inside is so so. I didn't get earphones and screenprotector. Did somebody else get earphones with this phone?

No earphones or screen protector with mine. Ordered screen protectors from Amazon, but they only came in multiples! Speaks volumes about the quality they'll be.

Will post some photos later.

bondja80 wrote: »
    I got this phone on monday and it's good and fast phone for 108e(75£), screen is nice, only colors are a bit washed out. Camera is ok for outdoor, but for inside is so so. I didn't get earphones and screenprotector. Did somebody else get earphones with this phone?

Its there a colour temperature adjustment under display settings, there is on the honor 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭0lordy

Just got mine yesterday - looks good, the dual SIM works great, very happy with it - except for one rather big issue - it doesn't connect to my Toyota bluetooth. Apparently it's not on the Toyota compatibility list (I know the phone is new to market, but didn't think that there would an issue with two bluetooth compatible devices...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bondja80

Its there a colour temperature adjustment under display settings, there is on the honor 6.
    No, there is not such adjustment.