Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hyundai ix 35

• 22-02-2015 9:19pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭

Hi

I was always under the impression that the Hyundai ix35 was launched in 2011.

However I see a few for sale in 2010 and they are 2 litre diesels........whereas the majority of diesel ones in 2011 are 1.7 diesel.

Is this 2 litre Diesel engine any good ?

We're there feck all of them produced or wha ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The 2.0 was being sold at no extra cost at the start as the 1.7 was unavailable.
    Would have been carried over from the Tucson.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭tom_tarbucket

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The 2.0 was being sold at no extra cost at the start as the 1.7 was unavailable.
    Would have been carried over from the Tucson.

Oh ok. Thanks

Is this 2.0 engine ok ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

My parents bought a 2.0 ix35 in 2010 new it was kept for a year and was just a bit of a dog tbh. That engine is the most tractory Diesel engine I've ever heard in a car. It was sooooo loud at anything over 2.5k revs. Interior is grand infairness reasonably comfortable. Infairness the engine pulled very well even in 6 th they are a reasonably quick SUV that's a positive. Biggest problem out of everything though economy 35 mpg on longish trips short trips were worse you couldn't keep diesel in the yoke.

Yeah, as far as a know.
    Its a nice engine too, good low down grunt, then a big shove of mid range power. Not very refined though.

Bpmull wrote: »
    My parents bought a 2.0 ix35 in 2010 new it was kept for a year and was just a bit of a dog tbh. That engine is the most tractory Diesel engine I've ever heard in a car. It was sooooo loud at anything over 2.5k revs. Interior is grand infairness reasonably comfortable. Infairness the engine pulled very well even in 6 th they are a reasonably quick SUV that's a positive. Biggest problem out of everything though economy 35 mpg on longish trips short trips were worse you couldn't keep diesel in the yoke.

Great reply.

Any idea if the economy on the 1.7 is any better ?

Great reply.

Any idea if the economy on the 1.7 is any better ?

The 1.7 economy was suppose to be abit better but then less power. If the mpg don't bother you and you don't mind it being noisey the 2.0 is nice to drive in the fact it pulls really well and is very good for over taking. But just refined is one thing it doesn't do.

What do people think of the ix 35 overall ?

Compared to what?

Just in general

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,965 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I don't know if it's much help to you but I downsized from an old battered RX300 to a 2012 2.0l auto ix35 just over a year ago and had an even older HRV before that so don't have a newish car to compare it to. MPG is great for me having downsized from a petrol 3.0l lol!! :p I always have the radio/music on (love the apple integration) so don't have any issues with engine noise. It's nippy enough, smooth and steering much lighter than the old yoke. I'd prefer if the back seats folded flat for the dogs (2 retrievers and an additional red setter at the weekends) but probably not a major issue for most users.

Only gripe I have with it is the eco mode - pedal down say taking off from lights and the car crawled along but that might be just the autos - it's like it wants to be at certain speed before it changes gear? You can turn eco off so not a big deal I suppose. I did go back to using it once I'd driven the car for a few months and had a better feel for it compared to the power of the 3.0l when I first changed over and haven't had an issue with it since.

tk123 wrote: »
    I don't know if it's much help to you but I downsized from an old battered RX300 to a 2012 2.0l auto ix35 just over a year ago and had an even older HRV before that so don't have a newish car to compare it to. MPG is great for me having downsized from a petrol 3.0l lol!! :p I always have the radio/music on (love the apple integration) so don't have any issues with engine noise. It's nippy enough, smooth and steering much lighter than the old yoke. I'd prefer if the back seats folded flat for the dogs (2 retrievers and an additional red setter at the weekends) but probably not a major issue for most users.

Only gripe I have with it is the eco mode - pedal down say taking off from lights and the car crawled along but that might be just the autos - it's like it wants to be at certain speed before it changes gear? You can turn eco off so not a big deal I suppose. I did go back to using it once I'd driven the car for a few months and had a better feel for it compared to the power of the 3.0l when I first changed over and haven't had an issue with it since.

Thanks for input.

So people have commented saying the 2.0 diesel is a very very noisy engine. But is it really that bad ?

Are you comparing it to modern quieter diesels ? Or is it noisy in comparison to a 2000 era diesel car even ?

So people have commented saying the 2.0 diesel is a very very noisy engine. But is it really that bad ?

Are you comparing it to modern quieter diesels ? Or is it noisy in comparison to a 2000 era diesel car even ?

I suppose it's all relative to what your use to but I would of considered them loud when reving the engine at even compared to early diesels. I suppose in sixth gear on the motorway it won't be very loud but just general driving around revving it at all it's quite loud. But also it's just as Diesel engines go it's a sh!tty kind of sound real rough all the time you'd almost swear there was something wrong with the engine even though there isn't. But look you might drive one and think they are fine it's a while since I've been in one. Chances are the radio will drowned out most of it. Test drive one either way to see what you think.

Thanks.

Wonder would the economy of the 2 litre diesel be much worse than the newer 1.7 diesel ?

Why did your parents change after only a year ?

Thanks.

Wonder would the economy of the 2 litre diesel be much worse than the newer 1.7 diesel ?

Why did your parents change after only a year ?

It was primarily because I was learning to drive and couldn't get insured but also the amount of diesel it was burning was getting very expensive. On a reasonably long trip 37mpg that would be driving it right and on shorter trips a lot less. The 1.7 is suppose to be abit better but nothing amazing. There is no crossover SUV vehicle that will beat qashqai for economy. If I was buying one Id go for a vw Tiguan followed by a qashqai.

It was primarily because I was learning to drive and couldn't get insured but also the amount of diesel it was burning was getting very expensive. On a reasonably long trip 37mpg that would be driving it right and on shorter trips a lot less. The 1.7 is suppose to be abit better but nothing amazing. There is no crossover SUV vehicle that will beat qashqai for economy. If I was buying one Id go for a

vw Tiguan followed by a qashqai.

Thanks.

I was gonna say is the only mediocre mpg of these suv's purely down to the shape of them and their big bulk heading in to a wind etc.

But then you say the Qashqai is good for mpg and that's got big bulk also.

Thanks.

I was gonna say is the only mediocre mpg of these suv's purely down to the shape of them and their big bulk heading in to a wind etc.

But then you say the Qashqai is good for mpg and that's got big bulk also.

Hyundai were never great at building refined or economical Diesel engines well upto recently anyway. The 1.5dci engine in the qashqai is just an economical engine. But the the size shape wouldn't help things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bodonnell

I think the 2.0 were 4wd & the 1.7 are all 2wd which probably makes the 2.0 thirstier.

bodonnell wrote: »
    I think the 2.0 were 4wd & the 1.7 are all 2wd which probably makes the 2.0 thirstier.

Our 2.0 litre was 2wd fwd only very few were 4wd they were a good bit more expensive.

Our 2.0 litre was 2wd fes only very few were 4wd they were a good bit more expensive.

Good to know. I'm not looking for 4wd anyways.

Can anyone tell me if the 2 litre diesel ix35 from 2010 has a Belt or a chain ?

All ix35 engines are chain driven.

Good to know. So supposedly they will last the life of the car.

Any known issues like timing chain rattle in BMW's.

Hard to say as the previous Tucson was belt driven, and there aren't a huge number of ix35s out there in 2.0
    I don't think hyundai have any well known timing chain issues on diesels

mmmm, these chain driven 2.0 ix35's so could be a bit of a worry,.............

Why so?

Why so?

cause there aren't a huge number of the 2.0 chain driven engines so less of them mean maybe no one bothers going to public forums etc giving out about them.

I'd imagine they sold a few in the uk.

cause there aren't a huge number of the 2.0 chain driven engines so less of them mean maybe no one bothers going to public forums etc giving out about them.

I have literally never heard of chain issues with that engine. Tbh if you are going to start looking at things like that you would be far better of buying a new car or demo with warranty. Every second hand car will potentially breakdown or have a mechanical failure that's just life.

good to know

I should have said, im one of these people that suffered the n47 timing chain issue in the past and it cost me a lot of money

so hope you can understand, one bitten, twice shy and all that, when it comes to cars

id love to buy new or demo but don't have the dosh to be honest

Hi

I was always under the impression that the Hyundai ix35 was launched in 2011.

However I see a few for sale in 2010 and they are 2 litre diesels........whereas the majority of diesel ones in 2011 are 1.7 diesel.

Is this 2 litre Diesel engine any good ?

We're there feck all of them produced or wha ??

Herself has decided she 110% definitely wants an ix35 now.

With our budget we can only afford a 2010.

These are roughly about 16,900 Euro.

What do people think of this price for a 2010 diesel ix 35.......bit steep or ok ?

We have a trade in also so not a straight cash price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,487 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

€17k seems expensive for a 5 year old example when these ones which are a year younger with low mileage is asking just over a grand more:

http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Hyundai/ix35/IX-35/68714074095930840/
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Hyundai/ix35/IX-35/43313960271622580/

Or a higher spec Sportage (which is the same car as the ix35) for a little more:

http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/KIA/Sportage/1.7D-EX/140114230403033300/

bazz26 wrote: »
    €17k seems expensive for a 5 year old example when these ones which are a year younger with low mileage is asking just over a grand more:

http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Hyundai/ix35/IX-35/68714074095930840/
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Hyundai/ix35/IX-35/43313960271622580/

Or a higher spec Sportage (which is the same car as the ix35) for a little more:

http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/KIA/Sportage/1.7D-EX/140114230403033300/

Mmmmm, food for thought alright.

Thing is we have a budget and don't want to be spending greater than 17,000

Herself has decided she 110% definitely wants an ix35 now.

With our budget we can only afford a 2010.

These are roughly about 16,900 Euro.

What do people think of this price for a 2010 diesel ix 35.......bit steep or ok ?

We have a trade in also so not a straight cash price.

Would their trade and upgrade promotion be any use to you? Not sure if it's only for people taking out finance though - it's not very clear imo..

I don't understand what your saying.

http://www.hyundai.ie/trade-upgrade/index.html

Ah ok. With ya now.
    As you allude to.......clear as mud.

From the brief look, it would seem to suit people with a scrappage car or a car worth feck all.......and then you have to buy a brand new car........I think.

Yeah when I heard it on the radio they made out I could drive my ix in and drive a santa fe out lol! :p

Am ringing around with a few garages trying to get some prices. Two similar mileage same spec and colour ix 35's.

1. 2010 ix 35 costing me 7000 to change.

2. 2012 ix35 costing me 8950 to change.

Both have similar service record etc

Is the better choice here equal to number 2 ?

Am ringing around with a few garages trying to get some prices. Two similar mileage same spec and colour ix 35's.

1. 2010 ix 35 costing me 7000 to change.

2. 2012 ix35 costing me 8950 to change.

Both have similar service record etc

Is the better choice here equal to number 2 ?

1950 to go up two years it would be a no brainer to choose number two.

Agreed. If you can afford it, go for it.

1950 to go up two years it would be a no brainer to choose number two.

Yeah. That's what I thought. These bloody garages are so up and down with the figures they are giving me. Some have this 2000 scrapage crap and adding that on to car cost. ( my car is not scrapage )

The higher value ix35's are giving me up to 3000 more for my car.

It's all a cod really and playing with figures.

This one in particular is way over priced. It's essentislly 19,900 straight cash deal for a 2010 !!

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Hyundai/ix35/Crossove/150514263576314790/advert?channel=CARS

Yeah. That's what I thought. These bloody garages are so up and down with the coat they are giving me. Some have this 2000 scrapage crap and adding that on to car cost. ( my car is not scrapage )

The higher value ix35's are giving me up to 3000 more for my car.

It's all a cod really and playing with figures.

This one in particular is way over priced. It's essentislly 19,900 cash !!

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Hyundai/ix35/Crossove/150514263576314790/advert?channel=CARS

When trading a car the only figure you need to worry about is cost of change how much do you have to give the garage along with your own car to get the new car. How much they are giving you for your own car is almost irrelevant as a place offering you 2k extra for your car but looking for 4k more for a similar car to the other dealer who was offering you 2k is actually a worse deal. Salesmen tend to go on with all this scrappage crap and how they are giving you extra. Just worry about comparing cost of change thats it which infairness you already seem to be doing that anyway.

Can anybody tell me the difference between these 2 steering wheels on the ix35 is. One has more buttons on the right.

It's for voice control iirc. I.e. You press it and say something and the car will try and figure out what your saying not sure how good or bad it is tbh it was never used in our one.

The extra buttons are for cruise control ;)

Sorry actually read that wrong I thought you were wondering what the button on the bottom right does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,487 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

One has cruise control, the other hasn't? I think the bluetooth buttons are located on the left hand side on the lower steering wheel spoke.

bazz26 wrote: »
    One has cruise control, the other hasn't? I think the bluetooth buttons are located on the left hand side on the lower steering wheel spoke.

You are right alright on the lower spoke of steering wheel left two buttons are to answer and hang up the phone and the right is voice control. Then above you have radio and cruise control controls.

The buttons for making calls are on the bottom left and right. The bottom right one seems to work better than the green/call button on the left in mine? Dealer told me not to bother with it because it doesn't work but I haven't had a problem with it. The green button you have to tell it if you're calling by name or number/prompts you more but the bottom right button I just say "Call X" then "Yes" and it works no probs