Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How's lambing going for ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Lambing very fast here, 27 ewes lambed today, getting a bit chaotic, have run out of individual pens, very few losses and lambing very easy, all Lleyn lambs of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

Thinga were going to simple haha
    had a ewe prolapse a small bit think i found her in time cleaned it stuck it back in and tied her up with a rope kinda like makeing your own harnesa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Lambing due to start here in 3 days time. Was up in the shed with them last night until 11.00 . Could hear a fox barking in the distance, so he knows the lambing is due to start as well.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭premier10

Does anyone know can a ewe lamb through this harness or does it need removing. Thanks

rangler1 wrote: »
    Lambing very fast here, 27 ewes lambed today, getting a bit chaotic, have run out of individual pens, very few losses and lambing very easy, all Lleyn lambs of course

You'll be hearing little baaaing in your sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Cran

Every year I go to bed with them ringing in my ears.

Bloody ewe down last night with twin lamb here, two weeks away from lambing. My own fault due to recent arrival guy who works here been doing all feeding and checking of ewes for last three weeks. He's very good but no stockman yet, two had got bit thin in with the twins so had to extract late last night into the shed.
    He got a training course over the phone this morning to check all bunches today for strugglers, fun of part time :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,422 ✭✭✭arctictree

I'm feckin waking up at night trying to find the lambs to put them in the childs cot....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,324 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Going alright 1 sheep aborted so far about 30 lambed since sunday only another 400 to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭paddysdream

rangler1 wrote: »

Early ones went grand as usual as lots of shed space to keep them in until weather suited for letting them to grass.No real problems and very few lamb losses or lambing problems.Suppose thats the beauty of mature ewes.

To be honest have never been as busy as this week.Between the main flock and a few late(?) ones plus ewe lambs had 480 or so in the sheds.

Never seen them to lamb as quick.Have had about 250 plus since last Saturday morning.Up to that were going along at a steady 15 or 20 a day.Normally you get one or two days of 50 or 60 but seems like they just want to get it over with this year!!
    Pens all full up and shed the same.Only getting them out every 2nd day or so with the rain.Problem with pens is the ones(weak,trebles fostered etc) that need a few days in individual pens soon fill up a lot of space.
    Hard to keep bedding dry also with the rain.

All that said has been one of the best lambing years so far,fingers crossed.
    Not one dead ewe yet,no beds or rolls out,miniscule lamb losses (think about 10 plus one outside last night with the rain ) no real problem lambings.Singles pretty big but nothing got stuck or even looked like it so far.Few small doubles but to my amazement they seem to fly it once they get a day or so.Other years would always lose some lambs born this small but havent even got the red lamps out yet.Trebles bit bigger than normal.
    Havent had a ewe lamb down with no milk yet but 3 or 4 dry on one side alright.
    E coli not an issue so far.Lost 1 lamb early last week with it in the shed but that was prob. cause I missed him for a day.Only using Baytril or spectrum on anything that looks weak or slow to suck.

Only real problems this year are the amount of lambs presenting with 1 leg back under them (100 at least I would guess)both doubles and singles as far as I can see,lack of sucess with dry fostering(less time to spend at it so far) plus a couple slipped lamb about 2 weeks before their time as well as a ewe lamb yesterday.Got a bit of mis mothering with the rapid lambing rate and have 4 or 5 pets from this alone with the 2yr olds lambing for the first time proving to be difficult to get to bond rapidly with their lambs.
    Also had a few very big strong ewes scanned for singles lamb the smallest little lambs(treble sized).Looks like they put all of the feed into themselves and not the lamb.

Bloody 7 lambs here last night in ne bunch not due for another 15 days. One ewe marked for Lleyn Rams dropped what look like Charollais, looks like we may have had a rouge ram

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭tom_k

Going fairly well, lost first lamb this morning, a huge single with a difficult delivery, he never even took a breath. Fostering one of a treble born last evening onto the ewe and she's inclined to accept the lamb, he's really greedy and lively.

Had one lamb from a double that wouldn't stand up last night, kept him tubed overnight and he was standing this morning. He's still very weak and doesn't have much inclination to suck or walk around but I expected to find him dead this morning so there's a little room for optimism.

All ewes so far have plenty of milk and the lambs are lively and quick to get up overall, touch wood it'll continue that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Still all going fairly straight forward here, ewe lambs stopped aborting,
    only 13 left to lamb in the first batch, second batch is due from Saturday next, so we'll get a break.
    will be cleaning out and disinfecting the lambing sheds this week.
    The east wind is slowing growth a lot,hopefully it'll turn soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

First double this evening. All lambed by herself when I went out to feed them this evening. Expecting a few around now as one of the Rambos broke in when I was doing the ram effect. Not expecting it to get busy until beginning of April.

Agree with you on the east wind ranger. A bit worried here as grass is going to be very tight unless it warms up quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ihatewinter

Not due till 1 April but already have 2 that prolapsed and a hogget lambed with no milk. I had to pull the lamb and barely got him out :mad::(

So 1 massive pet lamb. At least he'll be half reared before the rest start :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 whitetail

40 ewes left and 25 ewe lambs from April 1st all going good little bit of misfostering due to bad weather last week couldn't get them out and no space left never seen them to lamb as fast but not over yet hopefully growth kicks in

Anxiously waiting for the first lamb to arrive. had a due date of Saturday, but nothing yet. I'll be happy once the first one is safely on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭razor8

Going well here too, nearly 1/4 have lambed in first 5 days then nothing since 7pm yesterday, mortality very low even had 2 ewe lambs have 3 each and all survived
    Just need grass now

razor8 wrote: »

Just need grass now

I've a lovely sheltered paddock, fertiliser in ground,waiting for the sheep. Everything set, other then grass hasn't turned up yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Just after getting a mountain x hogget lambing a big Cheviot single,got a jet black Suffolk lamb off a Suffolk ewe(RIP) x Suffolk ram successfully adopted on hopefully....am thinking they will be a funny looking pair out in the field on a months time,
    Apart from that lambing going fairly well,only downside been at the mo could count about 5 dodgy enough lambs on sets that have bits of humps on their backs from hunger or ill thrift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭orm0nd

into the home stretch :D

ewe lambs started to day with 2 doubles and a single, probably be some to night as well , so far so good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Just after getting a mountain x hogget lambing a big Cheviot single,got a jet black Suffolk lamb off a Suffolk ewe(RIP) x Suffolk ram successfully adopted on hopefully....am thinking they will be a funny looking pair out in the field on a months time,
    Apart from that lambing going fairly well,only downside been at the mo could count about 5 dodgy enough lambs on sets that have bits of humps on their backs from hunger or ill thrift.

Some ewe hoggets here, Wicklow cheviot x sufflock and they were put back to sufflock ram. Of the couples they are have, one lamb could be jet black and look like the sufflock while his companion could be white and speckled after the mother! Strange alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Only just started here - 2 lambs last night.

Two nice handy sized even lambs, ewe has lots of milk, its a good start :):):)

(you're swear I had 100s to lamb) ;)

First batch done, 1.5 out in the field. I'm a bit short on grass so have to feed them outside for a few weeks.

Second batch being brought in on Saturday for a lambing due date of 24th March.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Just waiting in the tunnel for the first of my ewes tipped by my own ram to produce a football team, size of her.

Everyday is like Xmas at the moment. Going up to the shed each morning seeing what presents arrived overnight, hoping none of them are broken ...

getting geared up here, first due ewe lambing Saturday with twins a week early bit small but tough out. We had 10 ewes lamb last week with fully developed lambs, only thing can think off was guy that used to work here let ram out through a gate by accident and took a while to get him back. Lucky the weather was so good last week all the lambs doing well. Rest of ewes due Saturday, hope the weather stays good.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

5 ewes lambed so far, we had de rams raddled going out so we knew we were in for a slow start, should be a good number dropping this week

None of my second batch (of 15) have lambed yet. Ram went in on the 1st November so should be due any day now?? They are looking big though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ihatewinter

I have a feeling this will be a disaster of a lambing season. Only 7 lambed and already suffered one ewe with no milk, 1 ewe with one big and one small (fecking tiny) lamb and one lamb with no anus opening.

Plus 2 prolapses. Going to be a long time till it's over :mad::(:confused::(

Actually funny here. I let off two Rams a charley and a texel. Looking at pens here it's very evident who the father of lambs is. Also appears to be a few twins with 1 of each father. If they were human , they'd have some embarrassing questions to answer.

Have to look on the bright side of things , cause the sheep would break your heart otherwise !!!