Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"The Toughest Trade" 12th of March TV3 10pm

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

It will be on TV3 sometime in March, and then will be available on YouTube afterwards - great idea though

Bentley is working in Kernan's property management office, and apparently was late to work yesterday morning - playing a challenge game tonight. Kernan is over in Sunderland this week training. Schneider will be working in Glanbia while he is here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Great idea is right. Really looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Bentley played tonight
    scored 3 points - 2frees and a goood point from play by all accounts, handpassing was a little suspect but sure I'd allow him that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Think this is on Thursday at 10pm for anyone interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

Think this is on Thursday at 10pm for anyone interested

cheers have set a reminder on tv just in case i forget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

This is starting in 5 minutes on TV3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,218 ✭✭✭zetecescort

ha, the Yanks amazed at Jackie catching the ball without a glove

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Was surprised at how quickly the baseballer adapted to the nuances of hurling. Very good documentary for TV3 standards though. Although, they could have at least given Aaron Kernan some game-time instead of a fitness test. Wasn't a fair trade at all.

Could have made two episodes,show more training and that

But still though a good documentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Yea I was bit disappointed kernan didn't see action and would have love too see jackie get a few more goes at batting, Bentley had potential too!
    Overall not a bad documentary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Probably would have been best if they had a separate episode for each rather than trying to cram them all into one.

Ya thats what I was thinking as well,could have seen more of the training and more off the field stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Jaysus Jackie Tyrell is some animal catching the baseball barehanded!!, the Yank was amazed.
    He did better than I thought.

I was at a stag in Galway last year and we were at a sport activity place, trying out diff sports, one was baseball and you had the ball coming at you and had to hit
    it with the bat, had 10 shots at it, you think I could hit one? not a hope!!
    Goes to show the skill in it with hand to eye co ordination and posture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

STIG83 wrote: »
    Jaysus Jackie Tyrell is some animal catching the baseball barehanded!!, the Yank was amazed.

I was at a stag in Galway last year and we were at a sport activity place, trying out diff sports, one was baseball and you had the ball coming at you and had to hit
    cricket is the same. Saw the odd highlight of Ireland in the last world cup and its amazing they hit any ball at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

In professional baseball, over the course of a season getting a 'hit' 3 times out of 10 considered very good.

Serious? Never knew that.

To put it another way, in the 140-150 or so years of MLB, only 28 players have averaged a hit 4 times out of 10 over a season and it hasn't been done since 1941.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

To put it another way, in the 140-150 or so years of MLB, only 28 players have averaged a hit 4 times out of 10 over a season and it hasn't been done since 1941.
    so watching baseball is basically watching fellas miss an average of 80% of balls thrown? And a lot of waiting about inbetween the misses. That's bonkers.

At least in Cricket the lads seem to churn over scores with most balls.

so watching baseball is basically watching fellas miss an average of 80% of balls thrown? And a lot of waiting about inbetween the misses. That's bonkers.

At least in Cricket the lads seem to churn over scores with most balls.

Well they do hit them, but they go foul, are caught or fielded and thrown to the baseman before the guy runs to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

I watched this last night. Interesting idea.

Former England international, David Bentley playing for Crossmaglen is a bit surreal when you say it out loud.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

I think they completely underestimated the interest in this, and they definitely could have made 4 episodes out of it, or at the very least 2. Whilst good, it was very short, and each segment was very stop start, there wasnt much flow to it. I'd say they had a load of footage they could have used but due to the time constraints were left on the cutting table.

Aaron Kernans was probably the least interesting or enjoyable bit, through no fault of his, but it was just him running about, and did a bit of a fitness test. It would have been far more interesting had he played in a reserve friendly or even an intra club game. At least with the others they got stuck in with the team part of it and mingled well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Jackie is an animal of a competitor :) Catching baseballs with his bare hands, they were amazed and the praise he got from the ex-Marlins pitcher, he was amazed by Jackie too.

Had to laugh though, Jackie talking to the guy who signed the 13 year contract with the Marlins for $325m :eek:

I really enjoy that show. Like Bruschi says, could have made it into a small series or so with 3-4 episodes. The 4 stars all seemed like nice blokes as well and embraced their new sports quite well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Boots234

You would think with the lack of programmes that TV3 have at the moment that they would have been pushing for a second or even a third episode

Barehanded Jackie Tyrell.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

At least it gives you plenty of time to get some beers in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Anywhere to watch it today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

shaunac93 wrote: »
    Anywhere to watch it today?

It's on the TV3 Player.

Bumping this thread

The Toughest Trade is back next Tuesday night on RTE 2 at 9.55pm.

Brendan Maher tries his hand at Cricket and Cricket player Steve Harmison tries his hand at Hurling

Aidan O Shea takes on American Football while Roberto Wallace has a cut off the Football

Any reason why it's switched from TV3 to RTE?

Viewership probably climbed so so did tender id imagine. Not complaining. tv3 really need to get their act together re high definition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

I got a few shots of Roberto Wallace when he was in MacHale park there a few weeks ago. Didn't know at the time what it was all about, camera crew were recording him all through the match.
    http://michaelmaye.com/the-toughest-trade/

mayo.mick wrote: »
    I got a few shots of Roberto Wallace when he was in MacHale park there a few weeks ago. Didn't know at the time what it was all about, camera crew were recording him all through the match.
    http://michaelmaye.com/the-toughest-trade/

Enda telling him about his own playing days :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Enda telling him about his own playing days :D

I hope he wasn't giving him any political advice :pac:

mayo.mick wrote: »
    I hope he wasn't giving him any political advice :pac:

" Roberto these are my whing...i mean my people " :pac:

Enjoyed tonight's episode.

Both Steve and Brendan came across so well (tbf we already had an inkling Brendan was anyway).

Love the format for this show and surprise it isn't adapted by other networks. it would be great to see a mixture of sport stars swapping.

It actually struck me how small the world is tonight. Declan Ryan for example is a cousin of Tim Horan the Australian Rugby player afaik. You'd wonder if they ever got a glimpse into each others sport.

wonder will anyone do mma in the future ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Enjoyed tonight's episode.

Both Steve and Brendan came across so well (tbf we already had an inkling Brendan was anyway).

Love the format for this show and surprise it isn't adapted by other networks. it would be great to see a mixture of sport stars swapping.

It actually struck me how small the world is tonight. Declan Ryan for example is a cousin of Tim Horan the Australian Rugby player afaik. You'd wonder if they ever got a glimpse into each others sport.

wonder will anyone do mma in the future ? :D

Totally agree,it was very enjoyable.Both lads came across very well.Steve Harmison was one of the finest seam bowlers in his heyday,made some awesome contributions to a few Ashes wins.He appears to have put on a bit of weight,he'd struggle with the fitness levels required for inter county hurling.Cricket would obviously not entail as much constant motion as in hurling where it's a hundred miles an hour stuff.Having said that he was quite adapt at picking up the skills required for playing hurling.

Very interesting the respective attitudes of Brendan Maher and the cricketers to the consumption of alcohol,much stricter in the amateur code.It appears blatantly obvious that inter county players are professional in all but name in terms of their commitment.Excepting they head off to a demanding day job like Brendan and this greatly affects their recovery times.

Very interesting to hear the great Declan Ryan is a cousin of the Wallabies wonderful centre Tim Horan.

I'd imagine there would be plenty of viable candidates for trying out the MMA with the frequent unsightly schemozzles on the GAA pitches as exemplified last Sunday.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Totally agree,it was very enjoyable.Both lads came across very well.Steve Harmison was one of the finest seam bowlers in his heyday,made some awesome contributions to a few Ashes wins.He appears to have put on a bit of weight,he'd struggle with the fitness levels required for inter county hurling.Cricket would obviously not entail as much constant motion as in hurling where it's a hundred miles an hour stuff.Having said that he was quite adapt at picking up the skills required for playing hurling.

Very interesting the respective attitudes of Brendan Maher and the cricketers to the consumption of alcohol,much stricter in the amateur code.It appears blatantly obvious that inter county players are professional in all but name in terms of their commitment.Excepting they head off to a demanding day job like Brendan and this greatly affects their recovery times.

Very interesting to hear the great Declan Ryan is a cousin of the Wallabies wonderful centre Tim Horan.

I'd imagine there would be plenty of viable candidates for trying out the MMA with the frequent unsightly schemozzles on the GAA pitches as exemplified last Sunday.

Come to think of it Kieran 'Geezer' Mcgeeney has often sparred with Mcgregor in SBG as far as i know. I recall reading that somewhere in the past.

I dont know alot about cricket but Maher seemed to have been put through his paces earlier on and also underwent skinfold tests so its more professional then we think id say. Yer man made a remark on brendans 'love handles'. To be honest, id kill for Brendan Mahers level of body fat. Not a pick on the lad.

Cricket looks nothing on tv to the untrained eye but the speed of the ball and spin on it is outrageous. It definately made me see cricket which admittedly i would have maybe scoffed at up to now, in a different light. Gas thing is Freddie Flintoff has done his own toughest trade a while back (he became a pro boxer for a time). Steve came across as such a genuine nice guy and done really really well on the hurling field. id say Freddie though would be some craic altogether.

I thought it was very good but they only had a week to get the basics of the sport,I think they should have been given more then a week

Looking forward to next week's episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I definitely think Harmison had the tougher job of the two, to be fair! He picked up the basics pretty quickly though. If I remember correctly from the last time they did this, the baseball guy was quite good at picking up the basics of hurling too. You can tell they've played sports in a professional capacity before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

Interesting to hear Brendan Maher saying what we all suspected, that GAA is taken far too seriously. The cricketers seems to be having so much fun while the hurlers cant be seen to smile at training. This should be a major concern for the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

There's nearly nothing you can do about that though. You can't introduce rules to tone down training and effort. It's like a truce in a war, it only works if everyone agrees to abide by it, but everyone is ready to spring back into action at any second, and if they even suspect someone isn't abiding by the rules, they'll start at it again.

Like the drinking example above, how can the GAA tackle drinking bans? Outlaw them?

Any limits on training would hit similar problems. The training ban is totally ignored as it is. If you toughened up rules against winter training they'd just train in more secrecy. Who's going to report you, your own county board?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Inter county GAA players drink a lot more than you'd think. I can only speak for my own county anyway but you'd often see a lot of the county players out most weekends over the Winter and after most games in the Summer.

Obviously they don't do the dog on it but its not a Nazi like regime, they're still able to enjoy themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

hefferboi wrote: »
    Inter county GAA players drink a lot more than you'd think. I can only speak for my own county anyway but you'd often see a lot of the county players out most weekends over the Winter and after most games in the Summer.

Obviously they don't do the dog on it but its not a Nazi like regime, they're still able to enjoy themselves.

I agree that they go out more often than is sometimes suggested but I'd disagree with you when you say they "don't do the dog on it" they most certainly do.

I know a good few lads that play intercounty (mostly Galway but a few other counties too) and they all approach drinking in virtually the same way.

I agree that they go out more often than is sometimes suggested but I'd disagree with you when you say they "don't do the dog on it" they most certainly do. Because they don't be allowed out too often when they are out they'd absolutely go to town on it, they wouldn't see any point in "wasting" a night they are allowed out drinking by just having a few (a very Irish attitude in ways but I assure you that its true)

Over the winter when they are free most of them would go out every weekend really once their club campaign is over and then more so around Xmas, just like any of us. And in the Summer they'd be almost always out after a championship game with the county and often after club games too. And when they're out they wouldn't be holding back I assure you.

What they'd never do during the season for example is say have maybe two pints in the pub watching a soccer match or something like that. It's very much "all duck or no dinner" during the hurling season anyways. Like the example in the toughest trade showed the cricket lads having a few cans to relax and chill out, in my experience GAA players never really drink like this, during the season anyway.

I hope that post doesn't read as though I'm saying their commitment is overstated or anything, these guys dedication is unreal and I think there should be a more relaxed attitude towards drinking. But there isn't and that's why the attitude prevails then that when they can drink and they absolutely "do the dog" on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Once common sense is applied. No serious inter county hurler or footballer is going to go on a mad one in between games. You just wouldn't survive training, let alone games.

In Dublin I've seen two very different approaches to this. Pillar was totally puritanical about drinking as was Gilroy to a lesser degree. Both of them dropped players for pretty harmless misdemeanours.

Anthony Daly on other hand was pretty liberal and you'd see Dubs players having a pint or a bottle or two after league matches in Parnell Park. One of players told me that it was not only harmless, but was great way of bonding with other fellas and indeed supporters, especially after some of Dublins wins over big teams when they got to savour what beating the Cats or Tipp actually meant, rather than throwing your bag in a car and going home to watch Donwton Abbey with your ma!

Jackie Tyrell made a good point though last year. He was debating whether to have a biscuit and then the other half of his conscience told him "Maybe there is a lad down in Clare or Tipperary not having a biscuit". Its no longer a thing of being a choice for the players solely. The thirst of fans, coaches, players and co board members alike for success has almost a life of its own.

Wasnt all fun and games in Dublin either. They were big fans of utilising these senseless army ranger bootcamps when they should have been focusing more on their touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

I agree that they go out more often than is sometimes suggested but I'd disagree with you when you say they "don't do the dog on it" they most certainly do.

I know a good few lads that play intercounty (mostly Galway but a few other counties too) and they all approach drinking in virtually the same way.

I agree that they go out more often than is sometimes suggested but I'd disagree with you when you say they "don't do the dog on it" they most certainly do. Because they don't be allowed out too often when they are out they'd absolutely go to town on it, they wouldn't see any point in "wasting" a night they are allowed out drinking by just having a few (a very Irish attitude in ways but I assure you that its true)

Over the winter when they are free most of them would go out every weekend really once their club campaign is over and then more so around Xmas, just like any of us. And in the Summer they'd be almost always out after a championship game with the county and often after club games too. And when they're out they wouldn't be holding back I assure you.

What they'd never do during the season for example is say have maybe two pints in the pub watching a soccer match or something like that. It's very much "all duck or no dinner" during the hurling season anyways. Like the example in the toughest trade showed the cricket lads having a few cans to relax and chill out, in my experience GAA players never really drink like this, during the season anyway.

I hope that post doesn't read as though I'm saying their commitment is overstated or anything, these guys dedication is unreal and I think there should be a more relaxed attitude towards drinking. But there isn't and that's why the attitude prevails then that when they can drink and they absolutely "do the dog" on it.
    Agree entirely with this.

I actually meant they don't do the dog on it as in they don't go out every weekend, just occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Loved it.

Physically and on footwork AOS way behind those combine guys (thats not the national combine but a local combine with guys expected to go at the end of the NFL draft or go undrafted but get picked up for preseason).

However, his route running looked really smooth, even on some of the more challenging ones. Cool to see.

Loved the meeting with the 'Flying Doctor'.

Roberto was extremely humble and seems like a massively intelligent guy. Physically spectacular, but couldn't kick off his hands at all.

Really cool to see the crossover in some skills and the difference in others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

That was early Feb so most inter county guys are only back in full training or just out of weights so some of it was expected .
    As roberto was retired his foot speed was impressive