Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"charity trips"?!?

• 17-02-2015 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭qwerty1991

*just before people say it, I am all for donating to charity and people volunteering, just not some of what is mentioned below*

I have just seen a facebook status by a fashion blogger that I follow and it has made my blood boil. To quote her before she edited her post:

"I don't mean this to sound in any way bitchy but my mum and a few friends made a realistic point that if everyone of my followers on this page have a euro, we would 100% come up with the money for the fund. But Im kind of taking a back that nobody wants to help or donate when it's going to be benefiting so many little children in a boarding school! I'm going to be teaching English and maths aswel as helping within the community. I can't do it if I don't raise the money. Please help :) "

Setting aside all the grammatical and spelling mistakes for someone going over to teach English, I find this sort of emotional blackmailing for some of these trips infuriating. She has subsequently stated that going over has always been a dream of hers and she doesn't work so she is just relying solely on people donating for her to go over in June. She has no mention of fundraising events, just that she underlying on others donating.

I am all for people volunteering, donating money to charity and also backing people going abroad to volunteer but I have donated so many times to peers going on these trips, many of which I think it is very cheeky to ask other people to fund under the guise of charity.

For example last year a friend aggresively went around my small town looking for funding for a trip to South Africa which involved 2 weeks going to a school to help teach and 1 week all expenses paid Safari and holiday around the coast. She paid for none and got others to donate all.

Maybe I am just super harsh but I think these sort of charity trips are once in a lifetime experiences that people should save for and pay for themselves. I find it unbelievable that it is expected that others donate money so that someone can go abroad for 3 weeks or so, stay in a nice hotel or hostel and "teach" in a school for a few hours a day With the last week or so a holiday.

The fact that some people like the girl mentioned above just expect others solely to pay for her to go on one of these trips to me is just so selfish. I am all for legitimate volunteering but most of these sort of trips are over priced scams and take away from legitimate volunteering efforts.

sponsored holidays? yeah i'm not really into that either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Couple of people in my area are pretty much career 'volunteers' at this stage - off to walk a section of the Great Wall of China for charity, or visiting schools in Africa (plus safari tour) for charity, or off to hike in Nepal for charity, going door to door every year demanding a donation from everyone in the area.

Funnily enough, there's never a 'volunteer in the slums of Calcutta for a month' variation of this theme....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

I'm alright with it if they're going somewhere crap like Haiti. When it's basically a holiday it's nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

It depends on the set up. My friend climbed Kilimanjaro for a charity close to her heart. She paid for all the expenses so 100% of the donations actually went to the charity. Grand.

But I know someone else who went to central america to do house building for a month and got sponsored a lot of money to do so, about 2 weeks into it, there's loads of pictures of her on Facebook in the Caribbean, chillaxing on the beach. That's fraud!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

Why don't you say it to her face instead of making us listen to you whine.

do you need a holiday :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

I feel like she owes me a euro for reading that.

But that's just my realistic point :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Don't trust anyone.Least of all people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,038 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I've done a couple of these trips (nothing so exotic though!) but I've paid every penny of the trip expenses myself. Everything people donated or that was fundraised went to the charity. I'd be mortified otherwise.

In fact, there's another one one on the cards later this year which I'm considering, and if I do it I'll be paying the whole lot myself, trip expenses and the not inconsiderable charity contribution. Don't feel able to go back to "my (fairly small) public" again and beg for even more money for a cause they don't give a hoot about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

mojesius wrote: »
    It depends on the set up. My friend climbed Kilimanjaro for a charity close to her heart. She paid for all the expenses so 100% of the donations actually went to the charity. Grand.

But I know someone else who went to central america to do house building for a month and got sponsored a lot of money to do so, about 2 weeks into it, there's loads of pictures of her on Facebook in the Caribbean, chillaxing on the beach. That's fraud!!

Sound's very similar these two girls who gave a speech in my local parish church about why we should give them money to go on their trip to central america to build houses for the poor .

Never seen them in the church before that encounter or after, but as soon as mass was over, they were standing outside bucket collecting. It's sad how charity can be hijacked by people to satiate their hedonistic desires at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

A neighbour of ours did this a couple of years ago, she even held an event in the local GAA club bar to raise funds to go off on the holiday of a life time somewhere exotic. It makes me sick, if they gave a flying fig about people living in poverty they'd just fund raise and donate all of the money, not take themselves on holiday with it. How much is left after flights, accommodation, vaccines etc, bugger all I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I wouldnt mind so much if it was professional builders or teachers but someone who never lifted a hammer before off to build houses in African heat? HA, probably get in the way more than actually help,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

Group of people should get together and wreck her house so that she's the one who needs the charity, then put that status on a big banner outside her house reminding people why she's a clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Absolutely hate this nonsense. People with no skills or experience going over to build schools or houses or hospitals or teach English. Save the money spent on your exotic holiday and hire a qualified local to do the work. Contribute a little to the local economy and spare my facebook newsfeed the nonsense.

Plenty of local charities that need volunteers and none of these folk are interested in lifting a finger there. And why do people always expect to be sponsored for fun stuff like sky-diving or climbing fecking kilimanjaro? Why can't they be sponsored for every hour they spend picking up litter or volunteering to help the homeless, mentally disabled or elderly?

If someone came knocking on my door and asked for a euro for every hour they spent volunteering with the daughters of charity with all proceeds going to building a hospital in the developing world I'd happily dig down the back of the sofa for a few quid. When they rock up asking for a few quid so they can go bungie jumping to raise money for an exotic holiday I tell them to **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

My brother and a couple of his friends went on a charity 'trek' a couple of years ago to Thailand. Someone like Marty Morrissey or Micheál O Muircheartaigh was the celebrity doing the trek as well. Most of the excitement leading up to it seemed to not be about helping the charity, but rather more about how much weed and opium they were going to smoke, and how many 'buckets' they were going to drink in Chiang Mai once the trek was over.

A complete waste of time, and I was always sceptical as to the amount of money the charity actually got as a result. Suffice to say I didn't contribute to this most cynical of charitable endeavours. I'd rather give money to the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

As a person with MS, I always find the sponsored walks to *insert pleasant destination* somewhat ironic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Grays Sports Almanac

Sheepy99 wrote: »
    Group of people should get together and wreck her house so that she's the one who needs the charity

"I wouldn't take that down if I were you. It's a load-bearing poster."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I wouldnt mind so much if it was professional builders or teachers but someone who never lifted a hammer before off to build houses in African heat? HA, probably get in the way more than actually help,

This. Woman at work was looking for funds for something similar lately. I wouldn't let her near IKEA shelves, let alone a dwelling for a family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I don't understand why the get students to help building houses , like come on !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

Could someone explain the logic of these house building charity trips?

I'd be happy to donate money for materials,tools, land and stuff if its a good cause. I could even be convinced to donate to send some experienced chippies and sparks and the like to share their experience.

But don't these countries have any local labourers that could do or be trained to do the job?

As you say, it's not like the people fund raising to go over have any house building experience so why in the name of God would you import unskilled labourers into poor countries with high unemployment?

I see them in the local supermarket in their tee-shirts at the back of the checkouts with a big tin beside them. Well thanks for packing my bag and all that Missy.......but I'd like someone to pay for my holiday too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I think its more about the rich westerner having cool photos to upload to Facebook and something good to put on their CV than helping these poor people.

bluewolf wrote: »
    do you need a holiday :(
    You have no ****ing idea. But doesn't everyone need a holiday right now?

I would do a charity trip but apparently it's been done.

As a side note. I do know three people who did go to Africa to do charity work. The three of them saved up whilst working. One guy was working here as a special needs assistant in the Irish school system. And he went over to a particularly bad area of Burundi. He was in Bujumbura for a while. He is a runner and he almost got arrested one morning for disobeying the 'jogging ban'. That is how crazy their regime is.

He came back the end of last year and had to get used to seeing people carrying around bags of food.

He did a lot of good work over there I have a lot of respect for people who do it.

Do you really think people go over with the idea of NOT helping?

Just because you can't do everything or solve everything or you don't know all the answers doesn't mean you do nothing.

There are no PERFECT good deeds ...but there are good deeds from imperfect people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

bb1234567 wrote: »
    I think its more about the rich westerner having cool photos to upload to Facebook and something good to put on their CV than helping these poor people.

Ah here.....how did you become so cynical?

Flyer28 wrote: »
    It's just an excuse to feel good about not doing it i think and to try and make good doers feel bad. Never underestimate how much people will blame you for being nice.:rolleyes:

I would probably be praised if I turned into the biggest bitch tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

Many of these trips to volunteer in schools or children's homes are at best counterproductive. Orphaned children need to form relationships and they can't do that with a stream of 'volunteer' students changing every few months. They need trained, experienced professionals, preferably local. Locals will help the local economy by spending their wages locally, no extra stress on the environment, the community and the children. And no obnoxious 'changed my life' posts after two wks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

"I wouldn't take that down if I were you. It's a load-bearing poster."

"So then I said to her, look lady, your car was upside-down when i got here. And as for your grandma, she shouldn't have been mouthin' off like that!"

There are no PERFECT good deeds ...but there are good deeds from imperfect people.

I don't know. It's hard to find the self-interest in the likes of people who go to Mali to care for ebola patients and live in really basic and sometimes dangerous conditions when they do, and other unfashionable and unsung causes.

It's a world away from looking for donations to fund a stroll on the Great Wall to 'raise awareness' or somesuch. There definitely are altruistic acts, but they're in the minority.

Candie wrote: »
    I don't know. It's hard to find the self-interest in the likes of people who go to Mali to care for ebola patients and live in really basic and sometimes dangerous conditions when they do, and other unfashionable and unsung causes.
    Here here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 JAMES VI

"I don't mean this to sound in any way bitchy but my mum and a few friends made a realistic point that if everyone of my followers on this page have a euro, we would 100% come up with the money for the fund. But Im kind of taking a back that nobody wants to help or donate when it's going to be benefiting so many little children in a boarding school! I'm going to be teaching English and maths aswel as helping within the community. I can't do it if I don't raise the money. Please help "

I'm about to sound really bitchy in every way but my...

Ah f*** it. I was gonna translate the whole thing but I wouldn't be f***ing bothered.

What a bullsh*ttin' b*%@&^d!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

I've met very few people doing good honest work for charity. I know someone who ran a show for charity(not going to get into the type, as I believe he posts on boards), the charity covered all the costs for him, and after the show, he came to me and said "If you ever want to run a show, get on to a charity, they'll cover the costs so you've no risk", at that point, I knew he didn't give a crap about the charity in question and was just using it to live out his fantasies. Another time I worked for a well known Irish charity selling scratchcards(Wasn't doing it for charity, needed cash and I viewed it as any normal job), and lets just say, with this specific charity in question, various people get a cut of the scratchcards, about 10 cent of the 3 euro someone spends on a scratchcard goes to actually helping someone. In my entire life, I've only ever seen one group of people who genuinely seem to care about charity, for the last 2 and a half years, I've ran into a group of foreign students practically every time I've been in Dublin City Centre from around 9 to 10, it seems nearly every single night they spend their free time giving tea and sandwiches to the homeless, that's genuine charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Taking jobs from local people and felling good about it!
    What's not to like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Zippie84

qwerty1991 wrote: »
    *just before people say it, I am all for donating to charity and people volunteering, just not some of what is mentioned below*

I have just seen a facebook status by a fashion blogger that I follow and it has made my blood boil. To quote her before she edited her post:

"I don't mean this to sound in any way bitchy but my mum and a few friends made a realistic point that if everyone of my followers on this page have a euro, we would 100% come up with the money for the fund. But Im kind of taking a back that nobody wants to help or donate when it's going to be benefiting so many little children in a boarding school! I'm going to be teaching English and maths aswel as helping within the community. I can't do it if I don't raise the money. Please help :) "

Setting aside all the grammatical and spelling mistakes for someone going over to teach English, I find this sort of emotional blackmailing for some of these trips infuriating. She has subsequently stated that going over has always been a dream of hers and she doesn't work so she is just relying solely on people donating for her to go over in June. She has no mention of fundraising events, just that she underlying on others donating.

I am all for people volunteering, donating money to charity and also backing people going abroad to volunteer but I have donated so many times to peers going on these trips, many of which I think it is very cheeky to ask other people to fund under the guise of charity.

For example last year a friend aggresively went around my small town looking for funding for a trip to South Africa which involved 2 weeks going to a school to help teach and 1 week all expenses paid Safari and holiday around the coast. She paid for none and got others to donate all.

Maybe I am just super harsh but I think these sort of charity trips are once in a lifetime experiences that people should save for and pay for themselves. I find it unbelievable that it is expected that others donate money so that someone can go abroad for 3 weeks or so, stay in a nice hotel or hostel and "teach" in a school for a few hours a day With the last week or so a holiday.

The fact that some people like the girl mentioned above just expect others solely to pay for her to go on one of these trips to me is just so selfish. I am all for legitimate volunteering but most of these sort of trips are over priced scams and take away from legitimate volunteering efforts.

I don't like people guilt tripping others into charity donations in any form, as some people have their chosen charities, and can't donate to everything, and of course for some people even a minimal amount is a big deal to them to donate, if funds are tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Flyer28 wrote: »

Do you really think african people need 18 year old irish boys and girls to come over and teach them english and build houses for them? without as much as a days experience in teaching or building between most of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The three of them saved up whilst working.
    Those who pay their own fare usually have the skills to help.

Those that get someone else to pay their fare are usually helpless.

=-=

Personally, I volunteer at a dogs shelter. I get to walk some of the dogs, and this is something I enjoy doing (dogs are awesome), but also help out with other tasks.

I find most people who volunteer do so as the reward is the deed itself.

The ones who volunteer to get money by fraud and deception are the ones that I despise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Big +1 for this. I got abuse from an acquaintance one night as she was doing a sponsored quiz in the pub I was in so she could go to Indonesia to teach English for 3 weeks. Her "volunteering" was for 2 hours a day for the 3 weeks and she stayed travelling around the area for 2 more weeks after that. I'd say she was about as useful as a chocolate teapot while she was there. She didn't pay a cent to it and got a great holiday out of it. But I was the one being mean by not helping children by donating...? :confused:

When questioned on if she was donating she told people that they could donate money, she was donating her time so she didn't need to donate money too! :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

I'm in the process of trying to get a fundraiser together myself, You see I want to help prostitutes in Hamburg to get away from a life of hedonism problem is I'd need donations from like minded religious types like myself.
    I'd say I'd need a fair few bob so I could spent a few weeks having a 1 to 1 chat with most of the girls. I'll show them the light.
    And after doing my good deeds there I'd really need to fulfill my mission by travelling on to Koln and Prague. Any charitable types please pm me your bank details, We can't save the working girls of Europe without cash and lots of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

I don't think much of the ones that are basicly a free holiday but I would ( and have ) contributed to sponsored skydives and the like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

It's a bit much alright. I went on a trip this Summer (not particularly exotic) and got sponsored for doing so in the process, but I saw none of the money - it went directly into an account for the family involved. I was a wee bit paranoid while I was trying to raise funds that people would think it was all for me or I'd get my share of it and I felt I had to make that very clear repeatedly whenever I asked. I wouldn't have dreamt of doing it any other way.

Your one in the OP has some neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭qwerty1991

Im in my early 20s so I know a lot of people my age who have gone or are going on these trips. I just don't see how unskilled students going to for example South Africa for 3 weeks is going to help. After flights, insurance, vaccinations, accommodation are paid for, I think these people would be better off just donating that money to a charitable cause.

If a builder for example, goes somewhere for 3 months to help construct homes, I would all be for donating towards his building materials but the causes I am always asked to donate towards (and I know it's not all cases) are glorified holidays for unskilled students or people just out of college who go to help build houses or teach English for a few hours a day with travelling after.

I think if the 3 grand or so people need to raise would be much better spent on a 700 Euro holiday, with the other 2,300 or so being actually donated directly to the charitable cause.

As one poster pointed out above, these trips have become sort of the done thing with people in their 20s, akin to a j1. You just have to spend part of your summer volunteering! The amount of photos taken and travelling done in these far flung places is fine, I just hate being pressured to donate mdone towards this And being made feel that the person going is going to save all the children by teaching English 3 hours a day for 3 weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Was looking up fundraisers for ICS yesterday and came across these, was very surprised they'd include travel expenses in the fundraising target. Don't think that's right

http://www.cancer.ie/get-involved/fundraise/challenge-yourself/trek#sthash.XZSYuqBz.dpbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I would need to be a very rich man to even consider contributing to some cheeky moocher's bucket list.

I would be a great believer in the concept of charity beginning at home, some thing as basic as visiting an elderly neighbour and making sure they're ok or volunteering with a homeless charity would be much more impressive than some "push button merchant " trying to convince me that he's really going to spend a month laying bricks in 40 degree heat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Part of the reason I donate only to Dublin based charities. I'm not paying for someones holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭hairycakes

I volunteer locally. I went on the volunteering website and picked something that I was interested in and suited me. There are so many charities at home looking for just one hour a week which would be a huge help to them. Sometimes there are positions for people with Failte Isteach (I think it's the name) to work with new migrants in conversational English classes. People who might be in more immediate need of help with their English. No need to swan off to a foreign country and the euros from her fb friends could be sent directly to a charity. This is not to take away from the people who go abroad and do sterling work, just to those who are looking for funding for a holiday.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

lynski wrote: »
    Many of these trips to volunteer in schools or children's homes are at best counterproductive. Orphaned children need to form relationships and they can't do that with a stream of 'volunteer' students changing every few months. They need trained, experienced professionals, preferably local. Locals will help the local economy by spending their wages locally, no extra stress on the environment, the community and the children. And no obnoxious 'changed my life' posts after two wks.

This a million times over. I have HUGE issues with people going volunteering with children for anything less than 3 months. It takes at least a month for the kids to feel comfortable with you.

If anyone asked me for sponsorship I would ask them how much of it is actually going to the organisation as opposed to covering their costs. I've seen firsthand the s***storm that happens when self entitled kids go over to Africa thinking they are going to change the world. Money would be better spent training locals to do the tasks.

That said, I have an amazing friend who is,covering her own costs completely, over in Sierra Leone working in a hospital in the Ebola centre for 5 months. She is a trained nurse with a masters in tropical diseases. Some people are just amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

I have stopped donating to charity, after years of supporting a very well known charity, I found out the CEO is paid very well out of the proceeds, and she gets to decide f a case is worth paying the money for. So, she gets to decide where the group put the money. If particular hospital equipment is needed, she randomly chooses or if she as a personal interest in the subject gladly gives funds. She is not qualified in any medical way, but makes every request for funds personal.

So, if you are donating to a charity, insist in writing the money is used for specifics, otherwise it goes for admin costs and into a big pot which doctors ave to beg for.

If you do donate, just make sure your donation is useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

mike_ie wrote: »
    Couple of people in my area are pretty much career 'volunteers' at this stage - off to walk a section of the Great Wall of China for charity, or visiting schools in Africa (plus safari tour) for charity, or off to hike in Nepal for charity, going door to door every year demanding a donation from everyone in the area.

Funnily enough, there's never a 'volunteer in the slums of Calcutta for a month' variation of this theme....

Funnily enough the same people never do "Im going to walk from here to Limerick and back for charity". Some people do of course, but, its never the same people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Daisies wrote: »
    This a million times over. I have HUGE issues with people going volunteering with children for anything less than 3 months. It takes at least a month for the kids to feel comfortable with you.

If anyone asked me for sponsorship I would ask them how much of it is actually going to the organisation as opposed to covering their costs. I've seen firsthand the s***storm that happens when self entitled kids go over to Africa thinking they are going to change the world. Money would be better spent training locals to do the tasks.

That said, I have an amazing friend who is,covering her own costs completely, over in Sierra Leone working in a hospital in the Ebola centre for 5 months. She is a trained nurse with a masters in tropical diseases. Some people are just amazing.
    I think that the bit in bold is the important thing. These kids go over to Africa or India to build schools, or whatever, and that's all very noble and good. But what are the African or Indian builders doing while this charity ships in students to provide building labour? They're not receiving a wage they can put into the local economy and use to feed their families, I'll tell you that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

-=al=- wrote: »
    I feel like she owes me a euro for reading that.

But that's just my realistic point :pac:

If just a few hundred people on boards paid into a fund we could have someone read threads to you, even perhaps type the replies you dictate.

Do you live anywhere exotic by any chance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭melon_collie

In the famous words of Homer J Simpson:

'if you can find it in your heart to forgive me . . . please donate 1 dollar to 'sorry dude', 742 Evergreen Terrace'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded