Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greasing machinery

• 16-02-2015 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭

How often do lads grease machinery ? I Greased up every point,on every piece of machinery we have here over the last few days. This came to mind as spend a day or so visiting some dealers yards looking for a clean secondhand fert spreader. I was shocked at the amount of broken and tatty ones they had lying about with bearings gone from lack of maintenance. As my own machinery is ageing, I said I'd try and avert costly repairs. What would ye recommend ? Planning on doing it every month or two going forward ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Grease as used..plough on at the moment, greased about every eight hours..fert spreader and crane , greased after use ( ten years old and perfect). Hedgecutter, greased before use and rotor head every day...loader, greased as used and so on and so on....
    All machines in shed nothing ever left outside except items like cultivators, harrows etc, just as important as maintainence IMO..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Grease as used..plough on at the moment, greased about every eight hours..fert spreader and crane , greased after use ( ten years old and perfect). Hedgecutter, greased before use and rotor head every day...loader, greased as used and so on and so on....
    All machines in shed nothing ever left outside except items like cultivators, harrows etc, just as important as maintainence IMO..

Agree on everything should be housed if possible. Grease everything here before use. It's worth reading up on machines as if you over grease the likes of a square balers knotters they start to miss knots.

A bit of knowledge goes a long way went it comes to machinery. Too many people just abuse machinery and then claim it's made of "soft" stuff.
    Loader here after about 7 days work.
    Tedder will be every time it's used
    trailers after each use and square baler is greased after each use (certain parts)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Spot on with that.
    Grease everything regurlaly here also. Loader once/ week, telehandler every second day,Harverst 2/day, all pto shaft daily when been used etc etc.
    Machinery is expensive but maintence is key then it becomes cheap. But this is where some lads cannot understand why something has to be changed 8/10 yrs later, just saying it was sh**t. In reality it the operator /owner is in the ***** Also high quality oils are essential ,not just multi purpose as is found on many yards Sold a digger here late last yr and she was fairly tight for her age, all bushing, piviots still good ................26years old . All down to maintence;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

First time I greased the diet feeder all winter was this morning :O got greased at start and that was it. Still tipping away fine after ten yrs

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I usually do the tractor and loader every time I fill the tractor with diesel. Pto shafts greased at the start of a day's work, fert spreader every time it's used, then hose it out, kettle of boiling water, and small bit of burnt back end oil keeps it fairly right. Little and often is better than bursting all the seals.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭locha

This topic stirred me into action. I am not the best at greasing, I should be better as the diet feeder, loader are on the go continuously... they get a shot every 3/4 weeks or so... Anyway, I hate greasing as the gun I have is circa 30 years old... was thinking of getting one that hooks up to the compressor... anyone have one of these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Landini got serviced here today and got greased up.
    I wouldn't bother with those compressor grease guns. The pump one is just as grand.

Landini got serviced here today and got greased up.
    I wouldn't bother with those compressor grease guns. The pump one is just as grand.

Blizzard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Amazing how much smoother the machine feels with a bit of grease in it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

As a fella said to me years ago, "grease is the cheapest mechanic" and he is dead right.. it is a time consuming operation if you have a fleet of stuff.. the digger has something like 60 grease points!

I would be a fan of correct storage and preventative maintenance rather than corrective maintenance... running to failure usually cost more in time and swearing in the long run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Reggie. wrote: »
    Blizzard?

8880 Evolution.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

larthehar wrote: »
    As a fella said to me years ago, "grease is the cheapest mechanic" and he is dead right.. it is a time consuming operation if you have a fleet of stuff.. the digger has something like 60 grease points!

I would be a fan of correct storage and preventative maintenance rather than corrective maintenance... running to failure usually cost more in time and swearing in the long run!

Farm machinery ain't exactly cheap to buy or replace

The tedder has something like 40 grease nibbles. As a boardsie said to be before you'll use a tube of grease every time you grease it for work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

locha wrote: »
    This topic stirred me into action. I am not the best at greasing, I should be better as the diet feeder, loader are on the go continuously... they get a shot every 3/4 weeks or so... Anyway, I hate greasing as the gun I have is circa 30 years old... was thinking of getting one that hooks up to the compressor... anyone have one of these?

Pain in the behind, just buy a decent hand worked one, can be done anywhere then, the compressor ones you have to be near the hose. and listening to the compressor while greasing stuff is a pain, plus the cheap ones are dirt anyways and you'll end up with as much grease on you as the machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Zr105 wrote: »
    Pain in the behind, just buy a decent hand worked one, can be done anywhere then, the compressor ones you have to be near the hose. and listening to the compressor while greasing stuff is a pain, plus the cheap ones are dirt anyways and you'll end up with as much grease on you as the machine.

Ive a gas canister with connections on in it and use it as a portable compressor.
    Some job if I say so myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

this is most important thing imo....why wait until stuff is broken to fix it:mad:

years ago when I was in fas....they had a pricing chart done up on preventative maintenance vs improper maintenance and the price difference was staggering

Ive a gas canister with connections on in it and use it as a portable compressor.
    Some job if I say so myself

Have seen that done before alright and it's brilliant job, can normally have enough in em to blow a car tire if it's stuck, or else one of those little sand blast pots turns into an oiler for gear oil for awkward boxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Tibulus

At the weekend I seen one of the nipples of the loader was not taking grease. Replaced the nipple but no success. I assume that it is grit or dirt blocking it. Will I have to dismantle the connection and clean it or does anyone have a trick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Tibulus wrote: »
    At the weekend I seen one of the nipples of the loader was not taking grease. Replaced the nipple but no success. I assume that it is grit or dirt blocking it. Will I have to dismantle the connection and clean it or does anyone have a trick?

grease gone hard inside in it
    take out nipple and drill out old grease...fill with wd40 and try again

if that fails....pumo grease in until it gets tight while getting someone to work loader up and down....failing that...youll have to take the pin out ASAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Have seen that done before alright and it's brilliant job, can normally have enough in em to blow a car tire if it's stuck, or else one of those little sand blast it's turns into an oiler for gear oil for awkward boxes!
    Yeah mainly used for car tyres handy to keep in at the garage. Came in handy with a slow leak on the plough. Just left it on the headland and used it when needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

If going to buy fancy grease gun get a battery powered one. milwaukee do 18v one it looks the business but costs over 200 euro excl batteries

Pump ones are fine with the fancy clamp on the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Local mechanic tells a story of an old lad that left in some piece of kit to get mended. When he comes to collect it he asks the mechanic what the problem was with it. Mechanic (sarcastically) says that it got too much grease. The sarcasm was lost on the old boy and he pipes up....'well it was fcukin me anyway!'. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭grizzlyadams

And I thought they were pricey @ €18 in local garage

Might get one as it would be handy for holding on the them awkward grease nipples

Might get one as it would be handy for holding on the them awkward grease nibbles

are ya that hungry when your looking at your shiney machinery that you have to snack on grease?

Don't knock it till you've tried it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭dunlopwellies

I bought one a couple of weeks ago. It's a great job.

Does it let any grease out the sides or does it clamp it enough to prevent it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Pump ones are fine with the fancy clamp on the end.

Leave it out Reg.

We're talking about grease guns!

Muckit wrote: »
    Leave it out Reg.

We're talking about grease guns!

In the gutter again I see Muckit ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭dunlopwellies

Does it let any grease out the sides or does it clamp it enough to prevent it

No spillage at all. Clamps on perfect like the valve of the tyres.
    Even put it on a grease nipple that was blocked and just pumped up the pressure in the gun and again no spillage.
    Defiantly would recommend it.

No spillage at all. Clamps on perfect like the valve of the tyres.
    Even put it on a grease nipple that was blocked and just pumped up the pressure in the gun and again no spillage.
    Defiantly would recommend it.

May have to pick one up so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

my problem is getting slim greaser head for tight places like 4 wd drive knuckles,
    when i started truck driving an old timer said get a shot of grease into knuckles each day not a tubfull, his point was fellas generally forget to grease and then pump in tubfull which spreads all over the place, dries out and takes in water doing much harm in process,

sandydan wrote: »
    my problem is getting slim greaser head for tight places like 4 wd drive knuckles,
    when i started truck driving an old timer said get a shot of grease into knuckles each day not a tubfull, his point was fellas generally forget to grease and then pump in tubfull which spreads all over the place, dries out and takes in water doing much harm in process,
    Its usually no for than or 3 pumps of grease here per nipple sandy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

two pumps and a squirt, job done. greasing I mean

visatorro wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

if you're squirting after 2 pumps then your gun is not working properly......:D:D:D:D:D

Dunedin wrote: »
    if you're squirting after 2 pumps then your gun is not working properly......:D:D:D:D:D

Good enough for twins. I'd hate to see it at full whack :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

had to get a few bits yesterday, picked up tube of grease with a picture of a john deere on it. 3.50. am sure it can be got cheaper. but still not expensive. grease gun on step of tractor here so you see it everyday and will use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

Air lines grease gun is good for clearing those grease channels blocked by dry grease, so it is handy in the workshop. But I use the normal manual one for day to day maintenance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

saw a picture a few years ago, the guy had a short bit of tubular bar welded to the cab of the tractor (outside I think) near the door - that's where the grease gun was kept - so no excuses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Still not as good as Jay on inbetweeners with his 'one pump orgasm!' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Muckit wrote: »
    Still not as good as Jay on inbetweeners with his 'one pump orgasm!' :D

"She'd get it , she'd get it and she'd get it and she would definitely get it " while he was watching women in the nightclub . Great show

had to get a few bits yesterday, picked up tube of grease with a picture of a john deere on it. 3.50. am sure it can be got cheaper. but still not expensive. grease gun on step of tractor here so you see it everyday and will use it.

Jaysus a tube of grease here is 1.50

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Jaysus a tube of grease here is 1.50

Ah but did yours have picture of a johnny dear on it though?:P

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

blue5000 wrote: »

Or just a Johnny ?

blue5000 wrote: »

Oh dear god no :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Our cultivatons/servicing guy is little like Reggie as in ex-army and EVERYTHING has to be in order and correct type mindset..
    Grease 99% of things before start off in field, have grease guns on each tractor and now a 15m airline on a reel with a lincon air greaser does a good job after a draper type did some arr miles across the yard in a fit of rage :/. Have a VERY high pressure low volume alemite gun for plugged holes in hope before surgery s needed.
    -Use a standard lithium EP2 for general
    -Molybendium for high wear areas like loader
    -Silicone lube spray (not the duuurty kind) on turnbuckles and shaft on pto to keep free as resist water and doesn't atract dust/grit to form a grinding paste