Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 5 | Episode 10 | Them [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭ron jambo

Kinda hope that it,s better than last weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Could a mod add a poll? :)

Really enjoyed that, had abit of everything. The imagery at the barn door was excellent. 8/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭LandoCalrissian

Yes I enjoyed that - things getting back on track and ready to launch the next story line

Glad that they have drawn a line under the recent deaths and that there isn't going to be people moping around and feeling sorry for themselves as in the past it has become annoying

Some really great images particularly -
    Daryl (I think)grabbing a zombie by the hair and their scalp coming off in
    his hand - also the zombie hanging from the tree after the storm class

Intro of a "new friend" - here we go .............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Washout

loved this episode. It was about the survivors getting hope back.

loved Ricks reference to the Walking Dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,367 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

again I wonder why they never mention maggie's other family members

I forgot that Maggie and Beth were half-sisters.

what about http://walkingdead.wikia.com/wiki/Shawn_Greene_%28TV_Series%29

Shawn Greene is Hershel's step-son, Maggie's step-brother, and Beth's half-brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Could a mod add a poll? :)

I always add the poll the morning after the episode airs, I can't do it earlier than that or else people vote 0 before the episode has even aired for some odd reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Wasn't that impressed with the episode. Knew they had to bring it back to Maggie and Daryl coping with Beths death but after such a long break during winter I think most of us have moved on so it is hard to be that interesting in watching them cope with it and eventually become a little more hopeful.

At times I was really losing interest that I started to wonder did anyone find suncream during their searches as the sun would burn you quick.

The only bit I found truly interesting was the last minute or so with the introduction of the new character (was his name Erin or Aaron). Seemed kitted out in fresh clothes so must have a good place the stay that's safe. (surely it's time for some of the cast to find fresh clothes, the smell of those rags would be awful at this stage!)

Wonder will it be another case again that he turns out to be a complete weirdo (kind of gave that vibe) and another Ricks Gang versus Bad Guys Gang will happen with the ending of the season being Aaron/Erins death, or will (hopefully) it turn out he's a good guy and the two groups merge and tackle Washington. Can't see them wanting to though if there safe house is so well kept.

Next week should be good though, all the slow coming to terms with lost characters is over for now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭naughto

Your man up on the tree was very funny
    b3bf183d331bfd7d6a31eba96e7c8132.png

naughto wrote: »

How on earth did he manage that! Haha didn't even notice that first time round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,464 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Adamocovic wrote: »
    How on earth did he manage that! Haha didn't even notice that first time round!

Caught up in the tornado, sent flying, met a tree, found his new home!

I liked that episode, but it was dragging on a bit until they got to the barn. Excellent scene when Daryl first noticed the walkers outside. Obviously the budget didn't go far enough to show the walkers getting stung by the tornado. And who's this Aaron guy (i think he said Aaron, had another listen and it could be the way he's talking, but it might also be Erin). Long week to wait to find out how he knows the group and that Rick is the leader/knows Ricks name!

And it only took them 4 1/2 seasons to mention the name of the show. That must be a record!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭naughto

I presume it was aron\eirin that left the water for them on the road

And it only took them 4 1/2 seasons to mention the name of the show. That must be a record!

I cringed so bad when he said that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,416 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

naughto wrote: »
    b3bf183d331bfd7d6a31eba96e7c8132.png

You could have circled the other 3 ? one on the far right is upside down...that takes talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

sonofenoch wrote: »
    You could have circled the other 3 ? one on the far right is upside down...that takes talent

Fascist zombies deserve to be ignored, just like fascist humans. ;-)

I thought they made a dogs dinner of this episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭DaisyD2

I loved that episode, the relentless heat, relentless searching for food & water, relentless walking, fighting to stay alive, fighting off TWD would have to exhaust survivors beyond their limits of all hope but am I the only one who had "Danger will robinson DANGER" ringing in her head when new guy showed up at the end?

I have Never read comics & no idea how to spoiler from phone (can mod plz if they think it warranted?) but my other thought was that guy was defintely a Wolf in Sheeps Clothing! Too clean cut good looking all american to be true (last weeks reference immediately came to mind)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭polydactyl

Is the clean shaven guy (as a side note I hate the way they never ever bother to freshen up) allied to Morgan maybe?? But I agree newbies are always bad :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Grays Sports Almanac

Hmmm. A bit slow. It was good in how it conveyed their struggle for survival against the elements though.

Interested to see who this 'Aaron' is. I've never read the comics so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Not a bad episode, bit of character development. Also enjoyed Tara and Rosita enjoying the rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Not a bad episode, bit of character development. Also enjoyed Tara and Rosita enjoying the rain.

wouldn't mind seeing Tara and Rosita enjoying each other

Ill get me coat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

For me it was an ok episode. Pretty funny how people enjoyed this one but hated the one last week (although I am enjoying seeing all the love for an episode that was mostly built on the fact people get tired). It had a little bit of the same old rehashed stuff of the start of season 3 before they find the prison. But I did enjoy how the conditions and the fact there is feck all resources left really got to the psyche of the group.

The storm and barn bit was pretty awesome, as was the fact that rain was welcomed with such joy after slogging in the heat for so long. The zombies strewn all over the place after it was awesome, though don't know how the barn didn't even have any cosmetic damage. Kind of a silly thing to pick up on but yeah.

And then we get to the best part of the whole episode. Aaron showing up. This is where things are going to get really good now. Aaron is a character in the comics too but that's all I'll say but once I saw him my eyes really lit up. Overall a solid 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,716 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I was bored to death. Felt like I was watching a boring families camping trip. Sometimes I'm in to these sorts of episodes so maybe it just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I also thought this was quite a boring episode. The last scene was quite interesting but the rest of it was pretty forgettable.

Not one I'd care to watch again.

I did like that Sasha was showing a bit of a rebellious, independent streak; I hope more comes of that. It looks like her and Maggie are struggling with their grief and while I expect Maggie to pull through and turn towards the group for support, I hope Sasha turns away from it. Her 'we're not friends' remark to Abraham leads me to believe this could be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    Aaron showing up. This is where things are going to get really good now. .

Yeah I knew he was coming down the line, but I thought they were gonna drag out the hopelessness on the road for a few episodes - the pacing of this season has been great IMO.

Was watching with two non comic readers and they felt the ending had a real LOST feeling to it - clean guy shows up from the bushes, knows their names and wants to speak to the leader :pac:

6/10 for me, looking forward to what's ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭CPSW

I was expecting a bit of a filler show after the events of the mid-season finale and last week's episode, and I think we got this, so gave it a 6.

Good to show them struggle with the heat and hunger, which could lead to tension within the group and mistakes happening due to the tiredness (Sasha the offender in both cases).

Storm scenes was pretty well done, I didn't even notice the walker in the tree till it was pointed out here!

And with the ending, I know the character is from the comics, I don't want to look up as to who he is and where he is coming from (a settled community I presume, seeing as he was spotless and I guess he had left the water there for them). Just hope it doesn't turn out to be another bad guy group, like Woodbury/Terminus, as it has been done to death at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

I think we need slower episodes like this every so often.....it can't all be running and racing and fighting. In a real life situation like this, I'd imagine there probably would be interminable days and weeks of just slogging along, looking for food and water, just trying to get to where you're going. It also gives people time to mull over what they've been through (Sasha, Maggie, Daryl) and reflect on the craziness of the world now.

I also like throughout the show how they occasionally show walkers in positions or situations that lead the viewer to ask 'what the hell happened to them?', like the poor woman tied up in the car boot, or the other woman who had made a base for herself in that little side room in the barn....we're just left to wonder what they had gone through before they died. Or in previous seasons, the walker Daryl and Andrea found hanging in the woods, or the walker squished between two vehicles just after we first meet Abraham and co.

I haven't read the comics, so I have no idea if Aaron is a good guy or a bad guy...time will tell.

There are some characters that have had hardly any decent screentime this season (Carl, Eugene, Rosita in particular) so I hope the writers throw them a few bones in the last few episodes of this season.

Incidentally, for such a tough guy, Daryl sure cries a lot!!!! Never mind Daryl, come over here, I'll make it aaaaaalll better.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sabhail

Good episode.... saw something on news about Americans who prepare for apocalypse , some to huge degree with food, guns etc stockpiled, safe cellars or underground places to live in etc... and I thought looking at last night's episode that reality would probably be more like that- hungry, thirsty, wondering, depressed a lot etc.

think whoevers in charge of ...not sure if it's design or photography... had a good episode, with them pushing against door and also the scene after the storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭LandoCalrissian

polydactyl wrote: »
    Is the clean shaven guy (as a side note I hate the way they never ever bother to freshen up) allied to Morgan maybe?? But I agree newbies are always bad :)

In fairness cant really "freshen up" if they don't even have water to drink let alone splash about in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

first time i felt like an episode was a waste of time, apart from the end it was a bit pointless and irrelevant to me as a viewer because of the huge gap between this half and the last half i really didnt feel that need for them to go on about beth etc so it didnt have any impact for me anyway, but for the show as a whole it had to be in there, it just bored me to tears really. going of the next time bit at the end im a bit iffy about the show at this stage just seems to be retreading the same thing over and over at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭tnegun

Great episode it dig drag a little but that was the point showing us the endless monotonyand making us feel it,also the relentless heat and desperation of the group. The storm was symbolism reminding them to be cautious about what they want. They where desperate for water and got it but it brought great danger to the group. They want a safe place to live and have found the new guy so what will he bring?

The barn scene was fantastic the group standing together holding back the storm and walkers was just brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I enjoyed the episode, but since I knew from the start this is the one where Aaron shows up (I'm read the comics, for the record), I was kinda just anticipating that for the entire episode, only to have him appear for 30 seconds... Roll on next week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Waaaay too much Maggie in this episode.

Anyone else think it was rich of her to judge the priest, when she herself forgot that she had a sister for months on end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

I quite enjoyed that episode. Last two episodes have had some excellent scenes shot. Barn this week and the slowmo last week they were fantastic watching. Not sure where this change came from but think its exactly what the show has been lacking.

Dont read the comics but that dude did seem creepy. looking forward to next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Waaaay too much Maggie in this episode.

Anyone else think it was rich of her to judge the priest, when she herself forgot that she had a sister for months on end.

I can't stand maggie although she's the best to look at besides Rosita

In fairness cant really "freshen up" if they don't even have water to drink let alone splash about in

No excuse to completely forget about fashion and style! :P

Maybe I'm on my own here but I kind of like Gabriel. I know he turned away a lot of people he should have helped but he has shown to be a good survivor despite not being good at fighting. Although they'll be more scenes of him backing out of any sort of conflict I can imagine he will survive for a long time.
    (Now that I said that queue him dying next week :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

ricero wrote: »
    I can't stand maggie although she's the best to look at besides Rosita
    The scene with her and the walker in the boot of the car really annoyed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭Jofspring

Haven't read the comics but if it turns out Aaron is a part of another terminus/Woodbury I think I'll just pack it in. Feels like the same story lines over and over. Found the episode pretty boring and nearly fell asleep twice. Didn't think it progressed the story at all.it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Jofspring wrote: »
    Haven't read the comics but if it turns out Aaron is a part of another terminus/Woodbury I think I'll just pack it in. Feels like the same story lines over and over. Found the episode pretty boring and nearly fell asleep twice. Didn't think it progressed the story at all.it
    Wut? Even if he is that should be no reason to turn it off. Woodbury was a mess but it worked. The Governor, as deranged as he was, actually had a good idea. Pretty much the same with Terminus. A good idea in theory, even if eating people is extremely heinous. They were just looking after their own.

If it is the case it is another community why would you pack it in? How do you know it's the exact same as the other two so far? It would make absolutely no sense to do so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sabhail

Agree, . In situation they're in, they're going to meet small groups and the interaction between them is going to be the drama. Same as meeting herschel, wood bury, terminus

I mentioned it before on another thread, but I kinda want the group to meet some friendly people. I know it was hinted in the previous episode that someone pretty awful found Noah's home and killed everyone, but I still want to believe that there are other good people out there who are just trying to get through, and survive as best they can. Apart from Herschel and family in season 2, the group have had little positive interaction with others, apart from Gabriel, most recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Greyjoy

Jofspring wrote: »

Yeah this episode was just re-iterating the same point (the group are almost exhausted) over & over again until the last moment when something of actual note happened (Aaron's appearance).

If Aaron's group turns out to be yet another bunch of survivors who appear normal at first but secretly abandoned their morals/humanity in order to survive (woodbury, terminus, hospital), it's going to very *very* repetitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Right, i'm done, i've had enough. That episode bored me into tears and I was simultaneously crying along with Daryl but for different reasons.

There is too many episodes in a season which results in episodes like that where by pretty much nothing happened and wastes 40+ minutes of your life. My life isn't that interesting but I could have spent it scratching myself instead.

I think best practice these days is to keep seasons to 8-12 episodes a season (Game of Thrones, True Detective, Fargo etc)

It has completely devalued the fear factor of the walkers. The first few seasons it was quite intense and a threat when they showed up, now you have scenes where Maggie doesn't even give them the respect to turn around til last second, and where a hoarde of them end up tangled in trees cause of a storm.

The characters are one dimensional inconsistent bores. Maggie makes no mention of her sister for months, but is now moping around grieving. The dialogue is awful. I was asleep until i heard Rick say walking dead which made me laugh at how cringe worthy it was.

I don't read comics so I was kind of hoping by season 5 that they would be beginning to bring a conclusion to things, but that won't happen for many many years judging by the ratings. It's a shame as I quite enjoyed the earlier seasons and characters like Merle, Shane, the governor. The walking dead goes into my pile of unfinished shows along with Homeland, and True Blood.

Just to make a pedantic point.....a few people in various threads have mentioned that certain events happened over a period of many months or whatever....that's only from OUR perspective, due to 1 weekly episode on TV and the mid-season break. Realistically, the time lapse between the group being separated at the prison and reuniting at Terminus was probably no more than a couple of weeks max, all told. (All the different storylines were happening concurrently). Similarly, it was probably only a similar length of time (or even less) between meeting Gabriel, and Beth's death. Someone (was it Glenn?) said during the last episode that "it's been three weeks since Atlanta", so in their world, it's probably only been 7-8 weeks since the prison fight with the Governor.

I know it's of no real significance, but I've noted it being said fairly often in various fora. Also remember how long Lori has been dead, and what age Judith is, maybe 6-9 months. But in our world, Lori has been dead for two years (since early season 3). Add on 9 months of pregnancy, plus a few months in seasons 1/2 when she wasn't pregnant, and in 'Walking Dead' world, this whole thing has only happened in the past 18 months to two years, not the five years it's been on screen.

/pedantic hat removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Anyone else think our heroes holding the barn doors closed was a dream sequence? Nobody spoke, if only to shout for help, and it cut from the doors almost being open to people waking in the morning with no guards posted. The storm couldn't have whisked all the walkers away from right beside the doors without damage to the barn.

I felt the whole thing was a metaphor, something about a miracle (the storm) saving them from the alternative (walkers bashing down the doors); a miracle brought about by their now-deceased guardian angels.

Or not.

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    I mentioned it before on another thread, but I kinda want the group to meet some friendly people. I know it was hinted in the previous episode that someone pretty awful found Noah's home and killed everyone, but I still want to believe that there are other good people out there who are just trying to get through, and survive as best they can. Apart from Herschel and family in season 2, the group have had little positive interaction with others, apart from Gabriel, most recently.

Big group season 1 but brought in glenn and techniquely Rick. Also dude with kid was good forget his name

Season 2 hershel and his family..

Season 3 two of the prisoners, Sasha and Tyresse and then what was left of woodbuyry

Season 4 Tara and the washington gang..

But i suppose ur right no one new this season bar the priest whatever happen with the upcomming story we prob pick up a few

Greyjoy wrote: »
    Yeah this episode was just re-iterating the same point (the group are almost exhausted) over & over again until the last moment when something of actual note happened (Aaron's appearance).

If Aaron's group turns out to be yet another bunch of survivors who appear normal at first but secretly abandoned their morals/humanity in order to survive (woodbury, terminus, hospital), it's going to very *very* repetitive.

When you have so few resources around and more people then those resources this is the only logical outcome in fairness to the show.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

So was Darryl too polite to wake everyone up when the walkers were pressing against the door? I was nervous for Judith when Carl set her down to help. Aaron looks like he stopped off in a wallmart to pick up clothes and supplies before he met our crew. Very suspicious of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Big group season 1 but brought in glenn and techniquely Rick. Also dude with kid was good forget his name

Don't know if you're thinking of the same person I am but you reminded me of something.

I think it was in Season 1 there was a guy with a family who told Rick he was taking his wife and two kids with him. I can't remember where. Anyway Rick as I recall wished them well and they left the group and went on their way.

Did we ever find out more about these people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

This is all I could think of when Rick said The Walking Dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

Anyone else think our heroes holding the barn doors closed was a dream sequence? Nobody spoke, if only to shout for help, and it cut from the doors almost being open to people waking in the morning with no guards posted. The storm couldn't have whisked all the walkers away from right beside the doors without damage to the barn.

I felt the whole thing was a metaphor, something about a miracle (the storm) saving them from the alternative (walkers bashing down the doors); a miracle brought about by their now-deceased guardian angels.

Or not.

I thought exactly the same. It just seemed unreal, that they would all pile in on top of each other while no one tried to pop some of the walkers.

Another odd episode. This season is such a mixed bag. It's hard to connect all the episodes together in the way that other seasons did.