Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog Traning Thread

• 12-02-2015 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭

Lads with every springer thread spiraling out of control and getting closed do you think a single dog training thread would work with a strict just relevant questions and answers and a no criticizing policy so if you dont agree with somebody tough luck just give your bit of advice and move on.
    Look at the thread last night where a game of guess who developed and a somebody whos greatest achievement in dog training is bringing a dropper pup for a walk criticizing lads who know what they are talking about.
    Just for the record the 30 dogs in 3 years is fairly easy to believe so should not be ridiculed , 2-3 bitches in the pen coming in to heat every 6 months with most litters averaging 6-10 pups , most i have had is 13 .Most lads who breed dogs will hold them for 3-4 months and see which progresses most.I know a few lads who bring a dog to a good standard with little effort and can command 600-800 for the dog because the papers are right ,so this keeps the shooting bank balance up ,so lads being slatted for letting dogs off just shows how little them lads know when it comes to breeding.
    So lads do you think it would be a good idea and it might keep a thread open longer than one day, because some very good tips and advice is being lost with them being closed , so anyone who breaks the rules and start abusing lads can be banned ,burnt at stake or whatever.Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

Lads with every springer thread spiraling out of control and getting closed do you think a single dog training thread would work with a strict just relevant questions and answers and a no criticizing policy so if you dont agree with somebody tough luck just give your bit of advice and move on.
    Look at the thread last night where a game of guess who developed and a somebody whos greatest achievement in dog training is bringing a dropper pup for a walk criticizing lads who know what they are talking about.
    Just for the record the 30 dogs in 3 years is fairly easy to believe so should not be ridiculed , 2-3 bitches in the pen coming in to heat every 6 months with most litters averaging 6-10 pups , most i have had is 13 .Most lads who breed dogs will hold them for 3-4 months and see which progresses most.I know a few lads who bring a dog to a good standard with little effort and can command 600-800 for the dog because the papers are right ,so this keeps the shooting bank balance up ,so lads being slatted for letting dogs off just shows how little them lads know when it comes to breeding.
    So lads do you think it would be a good idea and it might keep a thread open longer than one day, because some very good tips and advice is being lost with them being closed , so anyone who breaks the rules and start abusing lads can be banned ,burnt at stake or whatever.Just a thought.
    Good man,great idea,a bit of common sense .Hope you can get it off the ground,I would be glad to contribute,I've had gundogs for over 30 years and might be able to contribute something useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

Just what needed. Iv'e been shooting 35 years and been out with a lot of lads and there dogs but unless asked would never run a lad's dog down' but if he ask's my advice and i think it's a sooner i'll tell him . Watching a lad train his dog is great and there on scoring or cup for the best dog so If a lad can only get his dog to come back on the whistle well good on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Just for the record the 30 dogs in 3 years is fairly easy to believe so should not be ridiculed

The next group up posters to bring up this topic again will be infracted or given temporary bans. This goes for anyone, no matter which side of the topic they fall on. It has already caused the closure of multiple threads.

Vegeta wrote: »
    The next group up posters to bring up this topic again will be infracted or given temporary bans. This goes for anyone, no matter which side of the topic they fall on. It has already caused the closer of multiple threads.
    Will this Threat be allowed to run as per the rules stated ?

snipe49 wrote: »
    Will this Threat be allowed to run as per the rules stated ?

Absolutely.

As long as all personal spats are left out it will run fine. If people start posting more ad hominem comments it will be closed.

Any more queries then please PM me and let the thread run its course.

I'll put my 2 vids on here then. For anyone that hasn't seen them. these are my cocker daisy 12 months old just got her a few week ago had no training this is after a week.And milly also a year and only just got her and nothing done until a week ago.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFTbLwCwHoE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QoZBkMHs6q8

I'll put my 2 vids on here then. For anyone that hasn't seen them. these are my cocker daisy 12 months old just got her a few week ago had no training this is after a week.And milly also a year and only just got her and nothing done until a week ago.

Come on lads send in the training video's Mary send in this one. She'll get there.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aovCEY7-27Ire.

DAISY.
    One week on and she is just starting to sit on command. Not easy but the penny dropped so she know what i want from her. I did take Milly out but she has a sore pad so did nothing with her today i'll see how she is tomorrow.
    http://youtu.be/bXRl41gHy4A

Look like i'm the only one training a dog at the mo or the only one that goes to the bother of filming it. I see a lot of lad having a look but no comments bar one pm.

correction,you are not alone,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 electrichunter

hi all have not been on in a while busy with family work etc although i read a lot of the treads, anyway my question for the more experienced lads as i was a late comer to the sport is i have two springers one of which i got trained back in the day and is fine , my second girl is just gone two and i never put the time into her and i would at least give it ago over the next few months . so what do ye think the chances are to train her or have i missed the boat . thanks in advance .

It's kinda risky giving advice re dogs on here at the moment,you wouldn't know who you're talking to,but anyway here goes,your dog may not be too late to train,a lot depends on what bad habits she has picked up and how hard it is to retrain her into good habits.Also,some dogs are more hardheaded than others,the only way you are gonna know is to bring her out and give it a go.

Well it all depends on the dog and what u let her get away with.For example' if u let her work say out at 50 yard chase every thing she comes across work for herself and not for u. Then u have a job on. What is she doing or not doing. ?

hathcock wrote: »
    It's kinda risky giving advice re dogs on here at the moment,you wouldn't know who you're talking to,but anyway here goes,your dog may not be too late to train,a lot depends on what bad habits she has picked up and how hard it is to retrain her into good habits.Also,some dogs are more hardheaded than others,the only way you are gonna know is to bring her out and give it a go.

cheers i know wat you mean regarding other treads , i will take advice from anyone who has done more than me anyway . so onwards and upwards with the training i will keep ye informed and no dought look for more advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

To be honest I thought it would be set up Like some of the other threads on its own at the top of the page with rules and guides lines set out,so it won't get lost and anybody can just go in and add to it .A bit like the photo thread

Yes i for one would like to see that. May one of the Mod's might put it our there to see if lads would go along with that. !

The photo thread is not a stuck thread, or sticky and it has 45 pages if viewing 40 posts a page. This won't be a sticky either. It may get a link in the popular threads sticky but it currently only has 17 posts. We will see how it turns out and then if popular enough it will get added.

Vegeta wrote: »
    The photo thread is not a stuck thread, or sticky and it has 45 pages if viewing 40 posts a page. This won't be a sticky either. It may get a link in the popular threads sticky but it currently only has 17 posts. We will see how it turns out and then if popular enough it will get added.
    That sounds fair to me. So lad if ye want a Training Threat get posting its only a bit of crack and may help a lad or 2.

Fully in favour of a dog training thread,bring it on.

Well it all depends on the dog and what u let her get away with.For example' if u let her work say out at 50 yard chase every thing she comes across work for herself and not for u. Then u have a job on. What is she doing or not doing. ?

Well at moment she's not gone pure wild she will generally stay around me and come back ,although I had both out front of house lately and they were bounding about in aboggy field when she started bumping into snipe and she got fair wound up and giving a bit of tongue it took a while to call here up.i also get them to sit when feeding so it keeps it in the head she will sit for me in the field but needs more work So i will concentrate on the sit and stay and slowly add a bit more with constant revision, sounds like a exam hopfully she will come on for me , i will keep ye informed

Have a go. 10 or 15 mins in the eve start on the lead try with walking to heel for a start. Good luck with it.

Have u done anything with the dog's since. ?

This is today with milly after 3 weeks of training didn't do a video last week as she had a cut pad.
    http://youtu.be/0Mt2YzPxx5A

This is today with milly after 3 weeks of training didn't do a video last week as she had a cut pad.

Will someone put a training video up here please i'm lonely all on my own.

DAISY ;
    This is how i'm getting on with Daisy so far not easy see will fight me all the way.http://youtu.be/X8VpjLUL_oU

DAISY ;
    This is how i'm getting on with Daisy so far not easy see will fight me all the way.http://youtu.be/X8VpjLUL_oU

Daisy is mad for scent John,I'd keep her on concrete,she won't be as distracted then,it would make her training easier.

Very true that was the first time i brought her in the field hard ground for her for a while.

Will someone put a training video up here please i'm lonely all on my own.

Boought milly to a spot where there are a few rabbits . A few ran in into light cover as we got close she didn,t see them and when she came to the sent tra ked it a little then moved off it. She did them on the next few until i saw 2 in the corner of the field as we got near one dropped down so i knew this was the test i made right for it and as we got close it bolted now she seen this one and took off after it ,she went about 30 yards then stkp looked back at me and went again.The rabbit went into a falling white thorn tree with brajrs and the like growing over it, she ran around it for a minute then in she went penny dropped and after that she was a different dog ,can,t beat the rabbits to let u what what sort of dog u have.

It 's me again just letting anyone that wan't to see how the training 2 of my dogs is going this is after 4 weeks . Enjoy !

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joO_iXVXc4A

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMNVJZI9xGg

I got myself a nice cocker bitch 7 months old will start on training her at the weekend fingers cross she'll be a goodin.

It 's me again just letting anyone that wan't to see how the training 2 of my dogs is going this is after 4 weeks . Enjoy !

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joO_iXVXc4A

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMNVJZI9xGg
    DAISY:
    Daisy 5 weeks into training slow going but getting somewhere i hope. Sorry about the sun.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obfkywzvKxc
    Milly 5 weeks into training . sorry about the sun.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2w-7DbfxQ4

Let me know what ye think lad's. !

DAISY:
    Daisy 5 weeks into training slow going but getting somewhere i hope. Sorry about the sun.

Anyone use rabbit's when training there springers. ?

DAISY:

Back again lads . here a few vid's from today and last sunday. Pass a hour if nothing else.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHQdRY9tOEg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GMPZK5tFIcg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2T3E4uLPyuI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fEFPTWFbILg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭springer man

Well lads I haven't posted in a while.
    Heres my 11 months lab that I am training up.
    Two weks ago I gave him the retrieve when the river wasn't as high and he failed. I was adamant to go back up there yesterday and try It again. Although it is not perfectly polished I was pretty pleased with it as it was his first time crossing a river and onto another piece of land.

Also I gave his first introduction to retrieving over obstacles.
    I didn't plan it so well cause I didn't know where he could get out.

Anyway, enjoy!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPPZ41M2Wqw