Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you do that gives other people energy?

• 12-02-2015 5:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

I just watched an interview in which a dancer said he thought his jumps gave his partner energy because she watched them from the side.

For some people it's cooking or telling jokes. Or sports.

How do you give positive energy to others?

Also I know I have not answered because I am still trying to figure out how I do or even how I can. :o

But I just thought it was interesting. I think singers get energy from the choir etc. And people get positive energy from animals or music or nature etc.

I think when you truly have given positive energy you don't feel drained but energized.

Anyway sorry if this seems weird or silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

The good food that I make! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

My speed of speech (fast) - terrifies people.

It's all that spanish livin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭MrWalsh

I really dont like when people are in a bad mood over one thing and they take that bad mood out on other people around them by being nasty or abrupt or rude. I just think its a bad way to be, having people walk on eggshells around you to see what kind of form youre in before they dare to have a laugh with you or whatever. It makes life har din work but more so at home.

So Ive always made a deliberate effort not to be like this. I am considered even tempered as a result and I think that its better to be someone that people dont wonder "oh what kind of mood will herself be in today" about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

bluewolf wrote: »
    It's all that spanish livin

They've commented many times on how fast I talk Spanish. Take from that what you will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭AlteredStates

Sit for people with purpose of giving energy.. healing gives people energy.. lots of different ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Amica

"giving energy" sounds so hippy but I know what you're talking about! I think you give different people energy in different ways but in general, I think I give others energy by listening to their problems without judging them (as wrong or damaged or "needing professional help"), and helping them to see their power to choose and decide. Also, hugs, checking in regularly, and being happy myself. That last one is pretty important. When you're around somebody who is genuinely happy and friendly, that positive energy is contagious. Never underestimate the power of positivity - you might just make someone's day - or save their life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

cooking a big fry for the father, on a wet windy day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

There's this guy I work with who's just absolutely lovely. Always wearing a smile, always happy, always stops for a chat, really really helpful at any chance.

He's a tall guy, from Texas originally and hasn't lost the southern charm. When he smiles his whole face lights up and he'll turn every stressful, crap situation into an opportunity for a giggle.

I really admire people who just live for joy like that and make any room they walk into that bit brighter and better just for being there, so I said it to him in passing the last day. "You're the happiest, most easy going guy ever and that's a bloody rare thing around here. You're a joy to be around. Fair play to ya!"

I think his smile got even wider after that. I think it gave him energy, just like his niceness does for me. And I think that's one thing I've learned the value of over the years. Giving an unexpected compliment, just because someone is great and you think they should know it and feck it, it might just make their day.

Compliments are the business.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

MrWalsh wrote: »
    I really dont like when people are in a bad mood over one thing and they take that bad mood out on other people around them by being nasty or abrupt or rude. I just think its a bad way to be, having people walk on eggshells around you to see what kind of form youre in before they dare to have a laugh with you or whatever. It makes life har din work but more so at home.

So Ive always made a deliberate effort not to be like this. I am considered even tempered as a result and I think that its better to be someone that people dont wonder "oh what kind of mood will herself be in today" about.

I don't get this myself. I get stressed at work frequently. It got so bad one evening that I roared so loudly at the machine I was using (it was acting up) that someone came in and asked if I was ok. I just smiled and said the thing didn't like me and that all was well otherwise.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Wobbly_Legs

Im not sure if this is classed as giving energy, but as beks101 said.. Even the smallest compliment can mean the world to somebody, I also believe smiles are contagious :) Pass them on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Agreeing with Wobbly. You smile at someone, their face relaxes. You feel great. Win win!
    Touching someone - a hug or a pat - you both benefit from the oxytocin.
    And praise is FREE!

Also, shared laughter can be one of the most bonding, curative things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I help operate on them.

And prescribe effective medications.

I sit and chat, and share important information.

I reassure them when they're anxious.

Re my loved ones, I give them cuddles and make tea. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

I help operate on them.

And prescribe effective medications.

I sit and chat, and share important information.

I reassure them when they're anxious.

Re my loved ones, I give them cuddles and make tea. :)
    Awh you sound awesome!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Make 'em laugh :)