Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love Ulster Part Deux

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Where's charlie bird ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Letting it go ahead doesn't really seem like such a good decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

So people who hate Ireland are allowed to march in Irelands capital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Good. I'm no fan of Frazer but the toerags and scummers who ran riot last time need to be shown that law and order prevails in this state. Hopefully they'll be beaten off the street if they even raise their inbred heads this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

im not surprised its going ahead.

the idiot element (or 'majority' as the case was with the last one) will be out throwing rocks again and the resulting mess will allow the enda party to bring in new ways/laws for dealing with protest...

..for the public safety of course. it would be cynical to think they'd want the protest laws reviewed in the current climate of protest :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

inciting a possible riot, and let do it?..if joe public asked to do it, he would be jailed!

how about St Patricks day parade as "LOVE PADDY" day on THE SHankill on March 17th?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Why not? Just don't pay any attention to'em. Unless they intend on putting up road blocks and brining Dublin to a stand still, let'em have their walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

I don't really care about this march one way or the other.....but you can't operate on the basis that some thugs might not like something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

This is probably going to cost hundreds of thousands in policing / security and god knows how many court cases afterwards for all the offences...
    And we'll all be footing the bill as usual!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

realies wrote: »
    Where's charlie bird ?

getting punched...by my fists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Riskymove wrote: »
    I don't really care about this march one way or the other.....but you can't operate on the basis that some thugs might not like something

It's just elaborate trolling, and as said elsewhere the taxpayer will pick up the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

It's just elaborate trolling, and as said elsewhere the taxpayer will pick up the bill.

"love st paddys day"

shankill rd March 17th..... bring a friend or 10.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,833 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

But O'Connell St is not a building site at least so less ammunition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,543 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

From a cost point of view this live riot training situation works best, the Gardai will know the date and time and can prepare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

the auld hammer in the shellsuit sleeve will sort that fairly quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭Bummer1234

Just a small walk from the luas works!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I think it's no harm to spend a few bob showing the more howling-mad Presbyterian hardass types that they can have their "Walkies" down here away as be playsin' em, and no-one bats an eyelid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

This is a very bad idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

From a cost point of view this live riot training situation works best, the Gardai will know the date and time and can prepare.

And both parties are keeping said date and time to themselves despite haircut saying he wasn't afraid....

Have news for the poster who said they hoped scumbags and toerags wouldn't ruin it, they will be too busy marching :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Wullie will make damn sure everyone knows the time and place of this troll parade before it happens (who okayed this ?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Wullie will make damn sure everyone knows the time and place of this troll parade before it happens (who okayed this ?).
    Earlier this month, Cllr Jim O'Callaghan submitted a motion to Dublin City Council expressing opposition to the march, though councillors did not get to vote on it as the meeting ran out of time.

amazing really...

must have been getting close to lunch

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Dublin says NO! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭circadian

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    amazing really...

must have been getting close to lunch

"We must discuss if we will approve the contentious parade led by Willie Frazer"

"Sack that, it's. 4 O'clock, TO THE PUB!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,833 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

They should have it on the same day as the next water protest and the two can meet at O'Connell Bridge and we will soon get the real side of both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Hopefully it wont pass the Italian embassy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

this march may result in me getting a half day or possibly full day off work so it has my blessing.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭6541

Not a hope this will be allowed to go ahead, I do see on some of the Republican facebook sites that they are already spoiling for a fight. The Gardaí will also see these sites and they are stating clearly if this goes ahead Dublin will burn. It won't go ahead that's my bet security concerns will not allow it. It's bluster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Any excuse to post this....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Any chance Gay pride could organise a March and mingle with them? Confuse the feck out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

What's the reason for the march?
    Is it just an ostentatious bit of antagonism or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Last time it coincided with a celtic match on tv , said match been watched in that below ground pub on o'connell st. Hopefully such a coincidence will not happen this time if it goes ahead.

Were Ireland playing Wales in the rugger the weekend of the last March/Riot? Think it was on the Sunday, I'd say the Welsh were wondering what the fook was going on!

Any chance Gay pride could organise a March and mingle with them? Confuse the feck out of them.

With their fake tan they would be literally more orange than Willie himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

iDave wrote: »
    So people who hate Ireland are allowed to march in Irelands capital.

Well if our government hasn't the balls or political maturity to tell that massive troll to 'eff off you're not welcome', it looks like it will be down to the trogolodites to brick and bottle the messege home.

So be it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Does Dublin City Council have no concern for the rate paying businesses and LPT paying residents of the city who are likely to be seriously disrupted by this stuff?

Strikes me as a totally idealistic decision. It created a very dangerous situation last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

Deranged96 wrote: »
    What's the reason for the march?
    Is it just an ostentatious bit of antagonism or what?

Yes. But our goverment want to be 'inclusive', inclusive in a manner akin to the black mayor of Washington greenlighting a Klan march to the capital buildings just to prove how inclusive he really is. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

This is a fantastic idea altogether - The last planned Love Ulster march in Dublin was such a roaring success. I remember it fondly, when our main thoroughfare was stripped of all roadworks materials and a riot ensued between locals and police before any Love Ulster heads even stepped off their buses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

chrysagon wrote: »
    "love st paddys day"

shankill rd March 17th..... bring a friend or 10.:rolleyes:

In fairness, loyalists & Unionists already celebrate St. Patricks Day and it's a National Holiday in NI.

A Love Dublin Parade would be a better opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

Does he not see the irony of wanting to march in the capitol of Ireland. In his mind he's trolling but in my mind Its effectively acknowledging Dublin as a part of the same country. I mean, you don't see him parading in Paris, berlin etc. If he really hated Dublin, surely the best thing would be to ignore its existence (like they have been doing up until now)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Will Cavan be taking part?

It's just that I can find some love in my heart for most of Ulster, just not Cavan.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/love-ulster-march-in-dublin-gets-goahead-30979343.html

Cant believe they got the go ahead for this shít storm again!

So these berks are banned from swaggering down the Garvaghy Road and they terrorise little schoolgirls going to Holy Cross and they are allowed to mince down the streets of Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

kfallon wrote: »
    Were Ireland playing Wales in the rugger the weekend of the last March/Riot? Think it was on the Sunday, I'd say the Welsh were wondering what the fook was going on!

Gavin Henson had a great game that day (for us) :D

Seriously though, I don't get why people have to take offence and react to individuals who are seeking to antagonise and create trouble. Willie Fraser is under no illusions that a parade/protest/march such as this will provoke a reaction from certain elements within society and that's presumably exactly what he wants. I'd love to hear his reaction if everybody were just to ignore it and let it happen, much like the idea of not feeding a troll like we have here.
    Sadly, I can't see that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Willie Frazer is not welcome in Dublin if he wants to stir the sectarian pot.

I was in O'Connell street when the scumbags were looting the shops even though the march was canceled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DavidRamsay99

Most of the morons who will riot - Don't you think they won't! - are not aware there is actually a plaque on Dawson Street commemorating the first meeting of the Orange Order or that there is a plaque on a house on Harcourt Street commemorating the birth place of Lord Edward Carson. They are so stupid and lazy they never bother to tear them down. Ask the muppets how many counties are part of Northern Ireland and can they name them and their walnut sized brained will explode. They wear Celtic jerseys but have no idea what connection Glasgow Celtic has with Ireland. They don't know why the Irish flag is green, white and orange and if you tell them that the orange represents Protestantism they will loudly claim it is gold not orange. They litter and graffiti the very streets on which the rebels of 1916 fought the British Army and they claim to be proud of the fight for Irish freedom but unaware that their great grandfathers and great granduncles were probably Tommys on the Western Front in World War I. When Queen Victoria visited Dublin their likes at the time were probably waving Union Jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Gavin Henson had a great game that day (for us) :D

Seriously though, I don't get why people have to take offence and react to individuals who are seeking to antagonise and create trouble. Willie Fraser is under no illusions that a parade/protest/march such as this will provoke a reaction from certain elements within society and that's presumably exactly what he wants. I'd love to hear his reaction if everybody were just to ignore it and let it happen, much like the idea of not feeding a troll like we have here.
    Sadly, I can't see that happening.

For the majority of people in this country an orange march down O'Connell St is at best a comical example of the kind of triumphalism which dominates politics in the north, and at worst an attempt to provoke us into a reaction which is best ignored with a bit of an eye-roll. Unfortunately in every society there exist those who can't simply laugh or roll their eyes but who must rise up to provocation. O'Connell St is not the Garvaghy Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

They litter and graffiti the very streets on which the rebels of 1916 fought the British Army
    Yeah this an interesting one, plenty of salt of the earth true blue patriots around Dublin city centre who make no attempt to find a bin at and throw litter on the streets indiscriminately. Dirty fcukers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

Good job there's no Luas works nearby with a ready supply of rocks for protesters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Stocking up on bricks, Celtic jerseys and tri colour flags. Run these lads ragged out of Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

ricero wrote: »
    Stocking up on bricks, Celtic jerseys and tri colour flags. Run these lads ragged out of Dublin

Come back, you forgot your dutch gold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DavidRamsay99

Wait until the 1916 juggernaut gets going and we will hear an amount of bullsh*t from the Celtic jersey wearing shower.
    The ancestors of the scum who will inevitably be attacking the Love Ulster II parade were the people pelting the captured rebels in 1916 with rotten fruit and vegetables and the contents of chamberpots when they were being marched off to captive in Frongoch.
    Only a few hundred rebels actually turned out in 1916 and the majority of them were middle class actors, artists, teachers and professors but you would swear from the conversations you would have with locals that the whole city turned out to fight. In fact the locals used the opportunity to loot shops.