Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Georgian style house for new build

• 05-02-2015 3:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭

I'm hoping to build from scratch.,I like the Georgian style houses.
    Can someone refer me to a web page/ book/ magazines that I could use to bring to an architect/ engineer.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

what year between 1730 to 1830 are you building in?

sarcastic i know, but making a point.....

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 10,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭BryanF

digzy wrote: »
    Can someone refer me to a web page/ book/ magazines that I could use to bring to an architect/ engineer.

Start here http://www.corkcoco.ie/co/pdf/578944050.pdf

Edit: what co co are you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭lownhard

http://www.irishbooksdirect.ie/biography-memoirs-historic-biography/biography-memoirs-historic-biography/james-gandon-and-his-times

Why do people do this? It is a tragedy.

I recall the episode of Grand Designs where this control-freak lady built a faux Georgian house in Surrey, I think it was.

Never heard Kevin as cruel about a project; and deservedly so.

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/grand-designs/on-demand/29444-003

Build a house of our time, but borrow the good things from Georgian....high ceilings etc. That would be my motto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

sydthebeat wrote: »

I hope you're proud of yourself:rolleyes:

What's your point

BryanF wrote: »
    Start here http://www.corkcoco.ie/co/pdf/578944050.pdf

Edit: what co co are you in?

Tipp

lownhard wrote: »
    http://www.irishbooksdirect.ie/biography-memoirs-historic-biography/biography-memoirs-historic-biography/james-gandon-and-his-times

Why do people do this? It is a tragedy.

I recall the episode of Grand Designs where this control-freak lady built a faux Georgian house in Surrey, I think it was.

Never heard Kevin as cruel about a project; and deservedly so.

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/grand-designs/on-demand/29444-003

Build a house of our time, but borrow the good things from Georgian....high ceilings etc. That would be my motto

What's that waffle about?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 10,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭BryanF

Tipp

http://www.tipperarycoco.ie/sites/default/files/Chapter%205%20Housing.pdf
    I'm not seeing anything in the development plan about building a Georgian house

I recommend you review the link in my earlier post form Cork coco
    http://www.clarecoco.ie/planning/publications/clare-rural-house-design-guide-5486.pdf See page 66/67 , I'm afraid I can't see any mention of Georgian new house design ( can't see any mention of Georgian house design I n the cork coco document either)

Digzy,
    Talk to a few local architects, they will advise you about what house type/style is suitable for your site. Best of luck.

Ps don't take the comments Presonnally
    It's just 'mock Georgian' in architecture is the equivalent of pimping a micra in the motor world.

Edit: Syd & lownhard, we've made the 'suitability' point and so we'll leave it at that, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭kkelliher

BryanF wrote: »
    http://www.tipperarycoco.ie/sites/default/files/Chapter%205%20Housing.pdf
    I'm not seeing anything in the development plan about building a Georgian house

I recommend you review the link in my earlier post form Cork coco
    http://www.clarecoco.ie/planning/publications/clare-rural-house-design-guide-5486.pdf See page 66/67 , I'm afraid I can't see any mention of Georgian new house design ( can't see any mention of Georgian house design I n the cork coco document either)

Digzy,
    Talk to a few local architects, they will advise you about what house type/style is suitable for your site. Best of luck.

Ps don't take the comments Presonnally
    It's just 'mock Georgian' in architecture is the equivalent of pimping a micra in the motor world.

Edit: Syd & lownhard, we've made the 'suitability' point and so we'll leave it at that, thanks

Now that is my vote for quote of the week. Classic and bang on the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Strolling Bones

all form an orderly queue - no pushing

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,447 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Not sure why you all jumping on the OP? There is Georgian and there is Georgian...the latter being where you stick on faux columns and quoins!

There are loads of examples of Georgian style architecture in the CorkCoCo guide (and used/highlighted as 'good' examples of traditional architecture at that).

All the OP needs to do is get a good architect to interpret/tease out the OPs requirements and come up with modern/contemporary design with classical proportions.

A question of taste I suppose often provokes a strong reaction.

who would choose this when you could have this

Poll anyone?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,447 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Poll anyone?

Horses for courses!

I would have clients who have specific requirements as to what they want their house to look like...and one recently said 'don't come back to me with any of that box sh*te!'.

'Modern' is not for everybody. I believe you can do 'classical' in a contemporary manner.

For the avoidance of doubt...I do not mean along this sort of lines! http://www.daft.ie/sales/butlersbridge-butlersbridge-cavan-cavan/625768/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

who would choose this when you could have this

Poll anyone?

Not everyone is into the neo-google-sketchup architectural style. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

DOCARCH wrote: »
    Horses for courses!

I would have clients who have specific requirements as to what they want their house to look like...and one recently said 'don't come back to me with any of that box sh*te!'.

'Modern' is not for everybody. I believe you can do 'classical' in a contemporary manner.

For the avoidance of doubt...I do not mean along this sort of lines! http://www.daft.ie/sales/butlersbridge-butlersbridge-cavan-cavan/625768/

This is it exactly. The op is looking for something that will still resemble a house in twenty years time. While the "cool modern" architect designed house will look ok for a few years it will soon become very dated looking in Tipperary.
    After all it is the countryside in Co.Tipperary not Cahuenga Pass in the Hollywood Hills.

Sorry lads there's a big difference between a Palladian farmhouse and a "Georgian style" house. .... with the former being a constant vernacular in Ireland, the other ending in 1830 .... or becoming pastiche.

I'd start to get very worried if somebody looked for a Palladian style house...porticos and the works! Let's just stick with Georgian.

Palladian had been the principles of Irish farmhouse design since the beginning? ?

Georgian spanned across Europe and America. .... so what Georgian style is applicable? Tennessee colonial mansions? ;)

Can we see some pictures or links to Georgian done with a modern twist?

A neighbour of mine built a faux Georgian recently. Timberframe house, external block, sash windows on the front only. Big sliders at the back. Quoins and columns. It is a tragedy to look at. Antithesis of design. And don't give me the eye of the beholder stuff.

Have another friend doing the same. Pvc sash windows at the front only, big slider at the front! Georgian with a moder twist!

Drive through Cavan someday. Massive "Georgian" houses perched on top of drumlins. Quoins and columns galore. Whole county seems like a p*ssing contest on who could build the biggest house with the biggest gates and the least amount of taste or design.

Unless the OP is already trawling the salvage yards of the country looking for the brick from the houses demolished on Fitzwilliam St to build the Esb offices, I'd forget about Georgian. Plenty of great designs in Cork Rural design guide that have a classical twist, without being "box sh*te"

To be fair guys, I only mentioned a guide before I meet an architect on the thing. I haven't specified what size or type of house I like.

It's a question of taste. Nearly all the new 2 storey houses in the south tipp area have a similar look. We've all seen them, the central portion with the front door and window overhead, the 2 sides with the windows downstairs and up, with a ground floor wing "sunroom" if you will. Or else it's the one along the style of 'slievebrook' on the goffs website in Carrick on suir Allbeit on a much smaller scale. They've all been plucked out of a book.

Just cos we're all familiar with room to improve, through the course of work I meet 15 clients per day. Casually discussing the programme the vast majority don't like the 'boxy ****e' that he puts together. Architecturally I'm sure it's fantastic but I don't like it either. It's a question of taste. Contrast with Moynsha house, also on the goffs website. That house has been restored at what I imagine was at some expense. What's the relevance if it is a completely new build or a renovation job. I like it as I imagine most would.Looking at one architect website in particular-I won't mention names but he's likelg to be my guy.He's worked for people I know who've found him excellent. I wouldn't like most of the designs on his website but he does make reference to 'georgian' houses. To be fair, I think Georgian refers to a style in the vernacular as opposed to the specific time period!

Contrast with Moynsha house, also on the goffs website. That house has been restored at what I imagine was at some expense. What's the relevance if it is a completely new build or a renovation job. I like it as I imagine most would.Looking at one architect website in particular-I won't mention names but he's likelg to be my guy.He's worked for people I know who've found him excellent. I wouldn't like most of the designs on his website but he does make reference to 'georgian' houses. To be fair, I think Georgian refers to a style in the vernacular as opposed to the specific time period!

I looked up that Moynsha place. Awful gaff imo. Adding a floor of dormer windows and putting in pvc windows is hardly at the heart of good conservation/restoration. Taste is subjective but class is objective. Both those houses are tasteless and classless imo.

I think I've made my point...moving on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Whatever about pimping, or taste issues - and Kevin doesn't hold a monopoly on that either (he has a style he prefers too btw), bungalow Bliss has been criticised by many.

If everyone keeps using Cork CoCo designs as the template for everything, then we'll end up in the same place again eventually.

Prescribed design - of any kind - is a bad idea. Like Kevin, Cork Co Co does not have a monopoly on taste. ....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Boxy ?

Inspiring-modern-house-exterior-design-with-gentle-curved-roof-style-and-wooden-ceiling-with-orange-wall-paint-also-rustic-wooden-deck-near-pool.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Boxy ?
    Hipster house, or Mickey Mouse's head?

=-=

Taste is subjective. OP; do you have any examples of houses that you like, or what features you hope to take from them?

galwaytt wrote: »
    Whatever about pimping, or taste issues - and Kevin doesn't hold a monopoly on that either (he has a style he prefers too btw), bungalow Bliss has been criticised by many.

If everyone keeps using Cork CoCo designs as the template for everything, then we'll end up in the same place again eventually.

Prescribed design - of any kind - is a bad idea. Like Kevin, Cork Co Co does not have a monopoly on taste. ....

kevin_zpsacb8a107.jpg

Who, or where is Kevin?

the_syco wrote: »
    Hipster house, or Mickey Mouse's head?

You'll love this so.

cool-modern-houses-and-plans-10.jpg

looking for something that will still resemble a house in twenty years time.

What a house looks like is limited only by our imagination - or lack of

Rolling-Homes-by-DO-Architects-7-537x329.jpeg

so why be the same

8915253.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Is there any chance you know who designed these? If so could you find out who his LSD dealer is and pass the number on post haste!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭893bet

Just because they are different doesn't make them "better" or older traditional designs worse.

I'm not ranking one approach above another. Just pointing out the incredible and unlimited possibilities. Keep an open mind is all I am saying.

Is there any chance you know who designed these? If so could you find out who his LSD dealer is and pass the number on post haste!

Without imagination or the desire to try new things we would not have the internet for you post that message.

People think they know what they want when really they want what they know.

*not my words ;)

lownhard wrote: »
    I looked up that Moynsha place. Awful gaff imo. Adding a floor of dormer windows and putting in pvc windows is hardly at the heart of good conservation/restoration. Taste is subjective but class is objective. Both those houses are tasteless and classless imo.

I think I've made my point...moving on...

For the third time......
    I asked for suggestions regarding magazines/ books etc that I can present to an architect to explain what I want in a house that I'll be living in:rolleyes: can you not read.
    I didn't ask you for an opinion. I've no interest.
    However, I've my own taste and I'll spend my money on what I like irrespective of your opinions.

I'm not ranking one approach above another. Just pointing out the incredible and unlimited possibilities. Keep an open mind is all I am saying.

Fair point. Different designs are usually associated with a higher cost, or the normal joe soap perceive them to be! Where they are or not is another thing of course but that is the perception of grand design type houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I asked for suggestions regarding magazines/ books etc that I can present to an architect to explain what I want in a house that I'll be living in:rolleyes: can you not read.
    May be worth contacting these; www.igs.ie

Check when this is doing tours again; www.castletown.ie it was saved by Desmond Guinness and the Irish Georgian Society. Have gone again recently, and it looks a lot better than it did.

They probably have a list of houses that they've helped preserve, and may have a few tips for where you can source certain prefabricated parts?

OP you could look here

http://www.fingalcoco.ie/planning-and-buildings/apply-or-search-for-a-planning-application/view-or-search-planning-applications/

and search using the keyword "Abington".

A Celtic Tiger development of "Georgian" mansions. Each looking like it really belongs in a country estate but in fact located in a North Dublin housing estate.

There you will see plans and elevations of how some of our "celebreties" spent thier money on "Georgian Style"

Also have a nosey around the place on google maps here

The biggest problem is that when you say 'Georgian' all sorts of images spring to mind!

What a lot of people think of as Georgian architecture may not be Georgian architecture at all...but...built in the Georgian period (i.e. approx. 1770 to 1830)...there were a lot of Palladian style houses built during that period...but...that does not mean that style is Georgian architecture.

I could work with somebody who said they liked this...good example of Georgian...
    885D508952A9426FAB626A1B25C5FFFF-0000335757-0003725136-00600L-3C67FE17709E46A391736BEB7C579816.jpg

I could not work with somebody who said they liked this...(very) bad example of (mock/pastiche) Georgian...
    B451BB6CDE5643EF873000C0786784FC-0000335757-0003725135-00640L-ACF2A6F8EA77468B92661A6B4A8F2EDE.jpg

Note that I would not choose to build and live in a Georgian house myself...but I would not mock somebody whose preference is that style...that's their choice (...and, by the way, not a question of 'class'!).

As an architect, if somebody said they really wanted a Georgian house, I would not turn my nose up...I would work with them to make sure they did not end up with something like the second photo above!

In musical parlance - why choose One Direction for the soundtrack to your life when you could choose Florence and the Machine....

It's subjective...there is no right answer...that's the answer!

DOCARCH wrote: »
    It's subjective...there is no right answer...that's the answer!

Strolling bones (their current user name) is right and everyone else jus has poor taste

893bet wrote: »
    Strolling bones (their current user name) is right and everyone else jus has poor taste

I have contributed a link to dozens of built examples in response to the OP query.

What have you done to assist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Tedddy

Georgian houses are easy to design with the right proportions, right windows, right doors. They will also not go out of fashion like the majority of recently built houses which will be seen as outdated in 10 years such as pebble dash, mock georgian and bungalow blight houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 FarmersSon

No connection with this firm, but I have admired their work for a long time. I think they have traditional and classic style architecture in new build houses down to a T.

Top end of the fee spectrum, but I guess you get what you pay for.

-snip- . com (still unable to post links . . grr) Based up North.

If I had the money at the time, I would have engaged with them from the get go on my build.

I've been through 3 redesigns with two different architects, from big boxy house, to a simplified style, and now on to a Victorian style single story dwelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭BarneyMc

...or getting an architect to be able to design this, or cost, or planning permission, or ability of local builder to build...

I know.
    Just trying raise sights a little....

i think the big difference between the arguments over "taste" is that its not just the aesthetics that are to be considered.

People may or may not like the look of modern "boxy sh!te" .... but very few people would actually have lived in these homes therefore again its a case of "wanting what you know" rather than knowing what you want.
    Its in these cases where the faux georgian deep plan homes fall down and properly designed and orientated homes win out.

One doesn't have to have a box design - just free oneself from Georgian - or any other fixed "style".
    At the very least do not turn ones back on the advancement in glass technology in recent years to maximize views , natural internal light and solar heat gains.

8822duffy_cottage_02.jpg

Modern-Spanish-Countryside-Home-Design-01.jpg

landscape-room-house-1.jpg

Egeon-Architecture-timber-frame-house-5-537x359.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Dermot brought his home owners to the Sligo gaff in the third Photo on Room to Improve the other night.

Did not know that