Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The unstoppable Suzuki Celerio megathread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Stupid name alert. Introducing the Suzuki Celerio

http://www.suzuki.ie/cars/celerio

Very Sandero-esque at the front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

1.0 litres of Suzukis finest.... it will sell well here :rolleyes:
    Ah lads, check out the equipment section.. particularly the comfort part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

bear1 wrote: »

Why would you buy a GLX over a GL though, the spec seems identical :confused:

Interestingly (??) the automatic is supposedly more economical than the manual. Which can only mean its dreadful.

Why would you buy a GLX over a GL though, the spec seems identical :confused:

Interestingly (??) the automatic is supposedly more economical than the manual. Which can only mean its dreadful.

The spec is identical... makes no sense.
    But if you want front fogs it will set you back over 200e. There are just 4 extra options you can have.

Fogs
    Alloys
    Spoiler
    The plastic moulds to protect against bumps around the body.

I'd rather spend my 12k on something not so basic.

The spec is identical... makes no sense.
    But if you want front fogs it will set you back over 200e. There are just 4 extra options you can have.

Fogs
    Alloys
    Spoiler
    The plastic moulds to protect against bumps around the body.

I'd rather spend my 12k on something not so basic.

I'm thinking the GLX is automatic.

Actually maybe it isn't.

Brochure says it has Bluetooth and aircon

Auto box is one of those shoite automated manual yokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

They come with a lot of extras infairness for example power steering, central locking and even a heater :D :pac:

I'm thinking the GLX is automatic.

I'd say you're right, the GLX is 13k ex-works then. Quite expensive considering you get more standard features in a barn.
    I'd rather spend the 11995 on a Panda

So would I but I'd have nowhere to put him.

Just set him free Colm... just set him free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭Old diesel

WTF

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars/suzuki-celerio-sales-halted-following-brake-failure-during-autocar-tests

Reminds me of the A class rolling over during the Elk tests

Painfully embarrassing for Suzuki - and even if they get it sorted - I imagine the Celerios rep will ALWAYS have a black mark on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Thank God sales have been stopped. It's fugly

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Thank God sales have been stopped. It's fugly

I imagine they will be stopped for a while - I fear it will turn out something like the Rolls Royce engine saga on the A380 a few years ago.

They will have to find the cause of the issue - find a solution - THEN test the durability of the solution - so they don't end up with the embarrassment of having a fix that works short term - but then fails after 10,000 miles.

Nightmare

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Old diesel wrote: »
    WTF

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars/suzuki-celerio-sales-halted-following-brake-failure-during-autocar-tests

Painfully embarrassing for Suzuki - and even if they get it sorted - I imagine the Celerios rep will ALWAYS have a black mark on it.

Considering the average driver is an 80 year old frail woman nipping to the shops on a Sunday, I doubt that the 80 year old lady would be racing around the shopping car park at 80kmph and then emergency brake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Old diesel wrote: »
    WTF

Would Suzuki not have had to test all of those capabilities? Seems odd to not catch a brake failure!

Exactly - hence why it will be PAINFULLY embarrassing for them.

The only positive for them is that at least it was on a test track and not on the road with a customer causing an accident.

It may not be Suzukis fault, as they would have initially tested random Celerios.

The fault might be with an out sourced Supplier of a bad batch of springs/brake mechanism components, which may only affect a narrower range of Celerios and not every Celerio produced.

Dia1988 wrote: »
    It may not be Suzukis fault, as they would have initially tested random Celerios.

The fault might be with an out sourced Supplier of a bad batch of springs/brake mechanism components, which may only affect a narrower range of Celerios and not every Celerio produced.

A fair point

Its a weird one though - the brake pedal gets STUCK - and you lose all braking.

I can understand the pedal sticking - OR the brake failue.

But BOTH happening is a weird mystery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭noelf

During testing by Autocar and whatcar 2 Suzuki Celerio suffered total brake failure . I checked beepbeep stats 37 were sold here in January they shouldn't be driven ..

Kinda knew that by looking at them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Could make a good marketing slogan.

"Suzuki - There's no stopping us"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Could make a good marketing slogan.

"Suzuki - There's no stopping us"

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

noelf wrote: »
    During testing by Autocar and whatcar 2 Suzuki Celerio suffered total brake failure . I checked beepbeep stats 37 were sold here in January they shouldn't be driven ..

Interesting how they will be handled by the dealers, probably need to call to each owners house in person given the "do not drive" warning. Surely a temporary replacement car would be provided to all of them.

I didn't see any warning about this on any Irish media yesterday, surely it warranted a mention?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

The car in charge of looking after the brakes

seppukuS.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

"Affected owners will be given courtesy cars until the issue is rectified."

not another Celerio I hope

DUBLIN reg on Autocar test car ..

Somebody needs to tell this Dealer about this Thread!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/suzuki-celerio-glx-5dr/8464588?offset=1

And this Dealer

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/suzuki-celerio-glx-5dr/8562676?offset=2

Or are they just going to chance it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

noelf wrote: »
    DUBLIN reg on Autocar test car ..

I'd imagine that's a Suzuki Ireland promo shot rather than one from the actual test.

I wonder will it be in this weeks Autocar ..

I wonder how many of these are not demos or hire cars. I wouldn't say that many people actually bought them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Was this thread renamed or was it always 'unstoppable'?

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I wonder how many of these are not demos or hire cars. I wouldn't say that many people actually bought them?

I was behind one 2 weeks ago. I didn't know what it was at first but it turned out to be one of these. Id say it was only a few days old and the one driving it was absolutely crawling at about 40km under the speed limit. So even if the brakes failed that one would of been ok and just rolled to a stop :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Yer man Shane O'Donoghue (think that's his name - Irish journo anyway) is writing bits for/selling bits to them now.

From Sniffpetrol
    Suzuki braking news
    by Sniff Petrol on Tuesday, February 3rd, 2015

The Suzuki Celery, yesterday

Suzuki has stopped sales of its new Celerio model after two cars suffered complete brake failure while being helmsmanised by Autocar magazine.

The Japanese company is advising anyone behind the wheel of a Celeriac to ‘drive really slowly’ and only to undertake journeys where the destination is ‘very soft and squishy’.

However, Suzuki says it expects no injuries to result from braking problems thanks to a ‘built-in safety feature’ of its deeply dismal and unattractive appearance which has had a 100 percent success rate in repelling customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭mossy50

AINT NO STOPPIN US NOW we got the groove

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

"Fear stalks Celerio Owners".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

That car is almost as bad as the Suzuki website!

Where's the Jimny, Grand Vitara and sedan Sx4 gone? See lots of them over here still.

HHOCPy.jpg

HHOCPy.jpg

You just made it less ugly!

It wasn't me, it was the good folk at sniffpetrol.com