Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the Real World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

annapr wrote: »
    come on, you missed it by a whole 19 seconds!! :)

Excuuuuuse me!

"Add a mini-sprint finish and you'd be sub 41:30" translates as 41:16 in everyone's book!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

belcarra wrote: »
    Excuuuuuse me!

"Add a mini-sprint finish and you'd be sub 41:30" translates as 41:16 in everyone's book!!:pac:

oh yes, fair enough, you were right :) I'll trust the Belcarra calculator from now on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Well done Anna.
    Looking forward to getting my own back in Cork :D

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Well done Anna.
    Looking forward to getting my own back in Cork :D

If by that you mean providing well-meaning encouragement, cool!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

If by that you mean providing well-meaning encouragement, cool!! :D

....and a good honest appraisal of how you look in the last mile :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Great running yesterday Anna. Hope Cork goes really well for you too.

FBOT01 wrote: »
    ....and a good honest appraisal of how you look in the last mile :p

Yes that's what I was afraid it meant :eek: will I ever live that down?!

RedRunner wrote: »
    Great running yesterday Anna. Hope Cork goes really well for you too.

Thanks R! I hope your return goes smoothly too.

Tuesday, 19 May: 55 Mins Easy
    5 mi/8k in 50 mins + 1k on treadmill in about 6 mins

First outing since the Terenure Triumph as it will be known from now on :) Treated myself to a new pair of runners yesterday... the nice people at Runhub said try them out on a treadmill and if they're not working for you, we'll exchange them. Fair enough. Took myself up to DCU gym (most underused membership in history), after 1k on the treadmill, said right, they're grand, I need to get out of here. I think I spent longer getting my locker locked than using the equipment.

Did the next 50 minutes down through Albert College Park, down to Drumcondra and back up with another loop or so of the Albo. Good to get a bit of uphill. And I managed to avoid the wacky weather, other than the usual wind. Was it always this windy in Ireland or do I just notice it more now that I'm running into it constantly?

anyhow, this run felt GREAT, really enjoyed it... no ill effects from Sunday, although I could feel my leg muscles for sure.

For the shoe fetishists among us (you know who yiz are), pity about the dayglo green: http://verticalrunner.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/MIN11W1-1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

For the shoe fetishists among us (you know who yiz are), pity about the dayglo green: http://verticalrunner.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/MIN11W1-1.jpg

ooh lovely! they have Cork PB written all over them... :) +1 to the wind, its definitely worse this year than I ever remember it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Oohhh they look pretty!

Wednesday, 20 May -- Rest
    I've had a niggle in my left leg since the marathon - never getting worse, but not going away either, so I made the traditional Boards pilgrimage to Walkinstown. Where I was introduced to my piriformis muscle, which is apparently tight but not strained and screamed loudly throughout. :eek:

I was advised only easy running for a few days, stretch it regularly and foam roll from now on.

Thursday, 21 May
    50 mins easy with accidental 25 min at HMP (oops)
    9k @ 5:39/km; 5.6 mi @ 9:06/mi avg

Following advice, I set out to do an easy run. When the 2nd K beeped at 5:27, I thought, HMP, should slow down, but it felt so good... the wind was at my back, the tide was in, sun glittering off the sea... ended up doing 4k at HMPish, almost 22 mins. ooops. I suppose I should count that as my tempo run for the week, even though it didn't feel like a tempo, it felt easy and comfortable.

Turning back into the breeze, I made a conscious effort to slow down to easy pace and the breeze helped... coming towards Fairview Park I came up behind a girl in dayglo pink and imagined myself in one of DG or Career Move's race reports... decided her name was Eileen and flew past her with about 100m of strides!

Beautiful day, very enjoyable run. Life is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Sounds like you are in great form for Cork Anna - what are you aiming for ?

kit3 wrote: »
    Sounds like you are in great form for Cork Anna - what are you aiming for ?

Hoping to break the magic 2 hour barrier, Kit. Have been training for HMP at 5:30-35/km... which would get me 1:57... which would give me a cushion on the day, if needed!

I am feeling good but my biggest fear is heat and/or humidity... but I can't control that, so no point worrying about it.

Friday, May 22nd

50 mins easy.. 5mi/8k @ 10:00/6:10... warm on the seafront and breezy... voted afterwards.

Very emotional today reading all the #hometovote stuff, very nervous about the outcome...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Could've joined you for this. Did same distance and pace this morning, just on the Raheny 5 loop. Then voted. Too early for any real predictions I guess ?

Friday, May 22nd

Very emotional today reading all the #hometovote stuff, very nervous about the outcome...

it is isn't it? one guy interviewed at the airport flew home, voted and flew back again in a matter of hours, really hope all the trouble they've gone to will be worth it.

Saturday, May 23
    5k @ HMP with 2k wu and 1k cd, 45 min
    4.99mi @ 9:01 avg/8:03k @ 5:36 avg;

I've switched from the Clearlier plan to the Hal Higdon HM intermediate, really for the taper. Set off this morning secure in the knowledge that it looked like a yes vote and did 5k @ HMP, as called for in the plan. Tried to do this by feel, but each time the watch beeped another Km, I had to slow myself down. My excuse is that I was listening to the radio coverage of the referendum results and that gave some extra pep in my step.

Target HMP is 5:30/km. HMP Splits were: 5:09, 5:20, 5:15, 5:27, 5:19

What a day... even in Donegal! (just about). :D:D

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Could've joined you for this. Did same distance and pace this morning, just on the Raheny 5 loop. Then voted. Too early for any real predictions I guess ?

Just seeing this now! we'll have to coordinate next time...

Monday, May 26:
    Plan 12 mile LSR;
    Actual 11.2 mi in 1:52 (10:01/mi); 18Km @ 6:14/km

This is the last long run in the HH plan, a week out from the HM. I would normally do my LSR on Sunday but had visitors, so pushed it to Monday. Got up Monday morning with a mini-dose of Delhi belly… so waited until late afternoon before attempting this. My legs were a bit jelly-like for much of it, and I had to keep noting where the nearest toilet might be if needed – not the usual landmarks :o.

I went out the sea front and up through St Anne’s for a couple of loops, taking in part of my favourite parkrun route, home via the Howth Rd, stopping briefly to buy water. I decided not to push it any further just to tick off the 12 miles, but then felt ok when I got closer to home so did a few circles of the green in Marino (very boring) before calling it a day at 18k/11.2mi.

Felt a bit wrecked afterwards but I’m glad I did it, even though I probably shouldn’t have.

Highlight of the run (apart from surviving without any emergency stops): I passed a runner in St Anne’s who was doing a loop in the opposite direction to me and we nodded. Passed him again a while later on the avenue and he said, you’re going very well. I had a smile on my face for at least a Km afterwards. Random words of encouragement, such a boost :)

WTD: 18 Km/11.2 mi*
    MTD: 165 Km/103 mi
    YTD: 662 Km/411 mi

*bloody hell, really I'm counting yesterday's LSR as part of last week, so that's a whopping 36k/22mi. Who says I don't taper!

Tuesday, May 26: Rest

Wednesday, May 27: 4 Miles Easy
    I am behaving myself and following the taper plan religiously, which means only about 60 mins more running this week... :eek:

As soon as I set off today, it started to rain (typical), kept it easy throughout but the splits surprised me... I was wondering if my Garmin had been haunted again but I know the distance on this route and it seemed fine. I felt like the effort was constant so I don't know what was going on.

splits: 5:11/8:20, 5:53/9:28, 5:38/9:04, 5:00/8:03, 6:02/9:42, 6:03/9:44 (5:36/9:01)... makes no sense to me, except the two slowest were into the wind.

So, ended up with: 4.1 miles/6.7 km in 37:31; avg pace of 9:03/mi, 5:38/km. ...another 9 miles at this pace and I'll be happy on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Best of luck on Monday Anna :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

kit3 wrote: »
    Best of luck on Monday Anna :)

Is it Monday? Good luck Anna, I'm sure you'll hit that goal, the training has been very consistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

All the best Anna hope all the training comes together for you and you have a great run Monday.

Yes, the very best of luck! and above all I hope you enjoy it :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

+1 to all the good wishes.
    Just remember the man from the park in your ear if you're struggling....."You're going well" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Best of luck Anna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

yaboya1 wrote: »
    +1 to all the good wishes.
    Just remember the man from the park in your ear if you're struggling....."You're going well" ;)

And don't forget that P will be in the crowd to tell how $h1t you looked afterwards cheer you on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

No partying in the Murph household this weekend I assume!! No doubt you'll both be celebrating come Monday evening :) Best of luck