Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PayPal - Get your return shipping costs covered

• 02-02-2015 1:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭

Got an email from Paypal. They are now offering a refund on return shipping costs if you have used paypal to buy the items in the first place. One return per transaction up to a value of €30 and you can use the service up to 6 times in the initial period which is February 2nd, 2015 to July 31st, 2015

https://www.paypal.eu/ie/returns/generalconditions/

Mods: Feel free to move if its felt this isn't a BA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,157 ✭✭✭✭Berty

donnacha wrote: »
    Got an email from Paypal. They are now offering a refund on return shipping costs if you have used paypal to buy the items in the first place. One return per transaction up to a value of €30 and you can use the service up to 6 times in the initial period which is February 2nd, 2015 to July 31st, 2015

https://www.paypal.eu/ie/returns/generalconditions/

Mods: Feel free to move if its felt this isn't a BA.

Got that email and although I was nearly sure it was legit paypal phishing emails are frequent so figured I'd wait till I got home to research their own website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭T-Bird

Pretty sure it's a scam.

Best not enter details, if it is s scam then you will just have given them access.

Could be wrong, that's just my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

T-Bird wrote: »
    Pretty sure it's a scam.

Best not enter details, if it is s scam then you will just have given them access.

It does look that way, I don't think it is though.
    If anyone is worried just log in to the PayPal site as usual and the offer should be available from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Definitely not a scam

https://www.paypal.eu/ie/returns/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭mistress_gi

It is genuine, I logged into my paypal account and it is there as well! Happy days.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Got the email too, was a bit fishy about clicking the link also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Logged into Paypal. Its genuine. But I never ever follow links in emails especially financial ones. Phishing bank emails coming into me from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭muckety

I got the email but don't see it when I log into my account. Like others, I'm not risking clicking a link from an email -= where should I see it in my account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

I picked it up on my phone so less chance of getting riddled with malware by clicking on the links. One thing I noticed immediately is that one of the links in the e-mail about "View Online" ultimately took you to a non PayPal site - would have thought PayPal would have more cop on than that. The site is an eBay companies site but still not good idea to have that linked off an e-mail from PayPal.

The e-mail is legit though as it came from the PayPal e-mail servers and all all the headers check out.

Still cagey...:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭JoeCat

I got it too. It is genuine. If it was already great paying with PayPal, now even better with the return fees covered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭tantipie

I usually get sus emails sent to my junk from them..never open them but last week got one to my regular email saying I needed to update my details..which I didn't .logged on this morn and they didn't ask for any details. .got nothing about free returns either:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Once i got an email from someone & just enquired for more info from paypal, they told me to send it onto afaik it was spoof@paypal.com to verify it & true enough it was a phishing email!

Wasn't enough to catch me, pun intended :D but they are getting better, althoug i barely look at my gmail much anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

If I click the link it now gives me a security error saying its a phishing attack :eek:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Interestingly, when I clicked on it, I got all phising warnings popping up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Hogzy wrote: »
    If I click the link it now gives me a security error saying its a phishing attack :eek:
    antodeco wrote: »
    Interestingly, when I clicked on it, I got all phising warnings popping up!

Disregard👍 its legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭NightshadeCX5

I reported it to PP, got a mail back around 30 mins later with the usual "
    Thank you for being a proactive contributor by reporting
    suspicious-looking emails to PayPal's Abuse Department. Our security
    team is working to identify if the email you forwarded to us is a
    malicious email."

But now after around 4 hours I got this second one from them "

Thank you for reporting this fake website. We continuously work...etcetc..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭dohouch

Got the email in my Gmail account and it had the yellow key symbol which Gmail uses to guarantee the sender is genuine.

Another thread here Online Buying & Auctions

🧐IMHO, God wants us all to ENJOY many,many ice-creams , 🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Kencollins

Ah here,

I don't know what to make of this...as far as I can see the paypal.eu and paypal.com address are pointing to the same 3 DNS servers, which suggests they are in the same place. It does look suspect though. It didn't ask me for a password though, which makes me feel better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭T-Bird

If it is true then they are breaking the "we will never send emails with links" protocol inline with other financial institutions.

Edit: it's legit but I still stand by above comment regarding links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭PUnited

so is it a scam or not lads going from the above reply to that email?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Buddy97mm

Offer appears on Paypal home page when I log in, so presume it has to be 100% legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

PUnited wrote: »
    so is it a scam or not lads going from the above reply to that email?

337459.jpg

Legit. 1000%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Interesting. I have to return a faulty android box to gear best so will I get these costs refunded by PP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭PUnited

nice one cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

I got one also. Gmail and McAfee Internet Security/McAfee Site Advisor flagged it as phishing.

I'm not too sure as I don't know who to believe. Oh, I don't have a Paypal account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

dodzy wrote: »
    337459.jpg

Legit. 1000%

From https://www.paypal.eu/refundedreturns/generalconditions/
    How do I know if I am eligible for the Paypal Refunded Returns service?
    The Paypal Refunded Returns service is only available to holders of a Czech, Finnish, Greek, Hungarian, Romanian, Slovak, Bulgarian, Lithuanian, Slovenian, Croatian, Latvian, Estonian, Cypriot or Maltese PayPal account whose access has not been suspended or limited and who have activated the Service by leaving their email address on the https://www.paypal.eu/returns/ web page.

No reference to Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

I see nothing on the home page about it ? . deleted the email didn't wanna risk it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Reedsie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭charlie_says

I'm slightly dubious about this, I checked the WHOIS (information on the domain and who has registered it) and is says registrar NOT DISCLOSED. This usually indicates someone who doesn't want to be found. Large corporations don't usually do this and include an address, telephone number and other relevant details in this publicly accessible record.

This is unlike the WHOIS for paypal.com http://whois.domaintools.com/paypal.com

Have a look at the one from the email, the DNS servers are the same but that doesn't really prove anything http://whois.domaintools.com/paypal.eu

I'd be very cautious about this and would report it to paypa.coml directly to see their response.

Better be certain with your financial details.
    paypal.com wrote:
    Fake emails, also known as 'phishing' or 'spoof' emails, attempt to trick you into revealing personal or financial information such as bank account details, credit card details and passwords etc. These fake emails often link to fake (spoof) websites where your information can be collected if you type it.
    You’ll know that an email is not from PayPal when:
    The email uses a generic greeting like ‘Dear user’ or ‘Hello, PayPal member.’ We'll always address you by your first and last name or the business name on your PayPal account.
    The email requests financial and other personal information. A real email from us will never ask for your bank account number, debit or credit card number etc. Also we'll never ask for your full name, your account password, or the answers to your PayPal security questions in an email.
    The email asks you to provide the tracking number of a dispatched item, before you've received the payment into your PayPal account
    The email includes a software update to install on your computer.
    Here are some security tips to help you stay protected online:
    Even if a URL contains the word 'PayPal', it may not be a PayPal webpage.
    When using PayPal, always ensure that the URL address listed at the top of the browser displays as https://www.paypal.com/. The 's' in ‘https’ means the website is secure.
    Look for the 'lock' symbol that appears in the address bar. This symbol indicates that the site you are visiting is secure.
    If you think you’ve received a phishing email, forward it to spoof@paypal.co.uk and then delete the fake email from your mailbox. If you‘ve responded to a fraudulent email and believe your PayPal account may now have been accessed, you should report the unauthorised access immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭kc90

T-Bird wrote: »
    Pretty sure it's a scam.

It's not.

All the same, I wouldn't advise anyone to use the link. Log into paypal and accept from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Jeez you all have me worried now. I got ripped off a few months ago because i taught a spoof e mail was legit but i clicked the link yesterday.

It had my name on it so i guessed it was real. I didnt have to log into my account though. I also didnt have to enter any personal info. Im guessing paypal just add it to your account due to your reply.

I will keep an eye on my account now to see if anything dodgy happens..fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭anonymousjunkie

I don't believe its real lads, got caught out with this yesterday, clicked and logged in through the link. Forgot about it, then when I saw this thread last night, cancelled my credit card. Don't see any reason why PayPal would be offering to pay for your returns, doesn't make any sense. I didn't see any details on this offer on the paypal site, only through the link provided in that email.

... I think I provided some login info!! did I??... will be kicking myself now if that's not the case as per Ken Tucky's post above... ah well, better safe than sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭nava

I don't believe its real lads, got caught out with this yesterday, clicked and logged in through the link. Forgot about it, then when I saw this thread last night, cancelled my credit card. Don't see any reason why PayPal would be offering to pay for your returns, doesn't make any sense. I didn't see any details on this offer on the paypal site, only through the link provided in that email.

... I think I provided some login info!! did I??... will be kicking myself now if that's not the case as per Ken Tucky's post above... ah well, better safe than sorry

Did you had to logon to paypal when you clicked the link? I didn't, as soon as I clicked on the link I got message I had opted for free returns. I would worried if I had to login to avail to it after clicking on the link. But no logon so no way they could get my credit card details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭anonymousjunkie

Thought I had, but after reading your post I wasn't so sure. Think I may have logged in from the confirmation page that was thrown up to say you'd activated the option though. Screw you PayPal if you've made me cancel my card for no good reason! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭nephster

It *is* mentioned on the Paypal site, see screenshot.
    As to why they are doing it - it's to make you use Paypal as your payment option of choice (and hence earn them fees from the sellers) over a straight credit card transaction. They have clearly worked out the amount of people actually using it to make a return will be minimal. Why do sellers offer free returns? As an incentive to use them over alternatives. Works too.

Agree that PayPal have made an almighty balls of reassuring users this is genuine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

The service is legit, they're advertising it to businesses and encouraging them to promote it to their customers.
    It's also the first thing I see when I log into my account.

Whether the individual emails people have received are legit or not is obviously another question. Though it sounds like they probably are, but they're probably registering false positives with various phishing detecting algorithms since that's exactly what they look like.

Still, if in doubt just login to Paypal and activate it from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

I'm slightly dubious about this, I checked the WHOIS (information on the domain and who has registered it) and is says registrar NOT DISCLOSED. This usually indicates someone who doesn't want to be found. Large corporations don't usually do this and include an address, telephone number and other relevant details in this publicly accessible record.

This is unlike the WHOIS for paypal.com http://whois.domaintools.com/paypal.com

Have a look at the one from the email, the DNS servers are the same but that doesn't really prove anything http://whois.domaintools.com/paypal.eu

I'd be very cautious about this and would report it to paypa.coml directly to see their response.

Better be certain with your financial details.

A whois for *any* .eu domain returns "not disclosed", and directs you to the EURid European registry.

A whois there shows it's registered to Paypal, complete with contact information and a detailed history