Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the last CD you bought?

• 01-02-2015 8:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭

I hardly ever buy CDs anymore although I prefer it. My husband popped into the CD shop today and came back with 'Fine Young Cannibals', just a greatest hits for me :o

No-one seems to buy CDs anymore. What was the last CD you bought, if you can remember?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Future Islands - Singles.

Absolutely top notch too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,138 ✭✭✭gipi

Back to Front Live - Peter Gabriel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Zippie84

Too many years ago to remember (must easily be at least ten years)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Mick Flannery 'White Lies', a long time ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Kila - Suas Síos last week. First CD I bought in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The latest one direction one...it wasn't for me, I swear.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Assuming you mean Physical CD, Shatteried Skies - The World We Used to Know

I'd rarely buy a physical CD, but this is the debut album from an Irish band I've been following for a good while so wanted to get it.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

simon and garfunkel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

It's all good - The best of damien dempsey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Been gradually moving away from CDs & towards vinyl & FLACs so it's been a while since I've bought one of the shiny silver discs. Think the last one was either Tom Petty's Wildflowers or The Dave Brubeck Quartet's Jazz Impressions Of Japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Zack Morris

Nirvana, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Saralee4

Turtyturd wrote: »
    The latest one direction one...it wasn't for me, I swear.

Thou doth protest too much.

Closet 1D fans always give themselves away :pac:

Custardpi wrote: »
    Been gradually moving away from CDs & towards vinyl & FLACs so it's been a while since I've bought one of the shiny silver discs. Think the last one was either Tom Petty's Wildflowers or The Dave Brubeck Quartet's Jazz Impressions Of Japan.

yea Vinyl seems to be more popular but expensive. What is the appeal, the sound or actually owning the piece as part of collection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Saralee4 wrote: »
    Thou doth protest too much.

Closet 1D fans always give themselves away :pac:

It looks even worse when I am certain the 2nd last cd I bought was the previous One Direction cd.

One of my kids liking One Direction is my biggest parenting failure. :pac:

Turtyturd wrote: »
    It looks even worse when I am certain the 2nd last cd I bought was the previous One Direction cd.

One of my kids liking One Direction is my biggest parenting failure. :pac:

let that be a lesson to all parents!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

yea Vinyl seems to be more popular but expensive. What is the appeal, the sound or actually owning the piece as part of collection?

Bit of both really. You need a quality setup to get the benefits of the sound, which isn't cheap & vinyl itself can be quite expensive, though you can find some gems through crate digging. The fact that it is that bit harder to acquire makes you think more about the music that you get & listen to, which makes it less disposable. The physicality of a vinyl album is also lovely, the artwork & texture of a sleeve can be part of the listening experience in a way that flimsy CD booklets can't, or at least not to the same extent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Taylor Swift's 1989. Gotta collect them polaroids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Chinese Democracy 2008.

What a terrible album.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

I'd still rather buy CDs than expensive, rip-off vinyl. Last CDs I bought recently were:

Pere Ubu - The Modern Dance
    Anathema - Judgement
    Anathema - A Natural Disaster
    Anathema - A Fine Day to Exit
    Elbow - The Seldom Seen Kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭nibble

REM - Document. Got it before Christmas for €7, not a bad price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Last few I got were:

Jupiter - The History of Genesis
    Nightmare - Anima
    Lynch. - The Buried
    Vamps - Sex Blood Rock'n'Roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Think it was The Gaslight Anthem's most recent one (Get Hurt) a few months ago. I have hundreds of CDs and love buying them, but I moved away from home and don't currently have a CD player over here :(

Hoping to get a decent vinyl player whenever I get a real job though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Public order
    New whirl order
    The rental car wouldn't play my CD-R s so I bought it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

I'm not sure..

Think it was Richard Hawley, Lady's Bridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Songs of Innocence,U2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Damien Rice - O. Love that record. Bought it last week for 6 yo yos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Sonic Highways: Foo Fighters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Custardpi wrote: »
    Bit of both really. You need a quality setup to get the benefits of the sound

Actually I'd take some issue with that, I've got an old ferguson record player from the 70's to play metal lp's on, it's a bit rough and ready but it's perfect for playing stuff like black metal on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

My last one was the new one direction for my daughter before Christmas. For myself the last was Bob Dylan's Desire about 12 years ago. I did have it on cassette before that but it broke from over play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

There is literally no advantage to vinyl. It's just a matter of taste and hobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭deadybai

Bought the u2 one the other day. Before that it was Taylor Swifts new one the week before and Bruno Mars Unorthodox Jukebox the week before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Salmon Leap

World on Fire - Myles Kennedy & the Conspirators feat. Slash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Latest one from The War on Drugs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Rory Gallagher!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Rory Gallagher!
    Which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

The Bothy Band - After Hours (weirdly enough) from that wonderful Mulligan Records label.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,658 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I honestly can't remember.

I was given a free Seth lakeman album in 2008 or so...that's the last one I remember receiving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Over Christmas, I picked up a CD from a band that a cousin of mine is playing in. His Mother asked me would I buy a copy. Thought nothing of it, and was happy to offer my support. I even decided to listen to it. Unbelievable tripe. The lyrics seemed to involve saying the word f*cker and giving out about capitalism in an Athlone accent. Punk, my Mother tells me.

He really needs to buckle down and get his degree, as he won't be making any money from his music career. I don't think I've bought a CD in about 5 years before that. Even though I do buy/rent my music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Daft punk - discovery back in the day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

tippspur wrote: »
    Which one?

Irish tour '74 boxset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Fireblade77

Hozier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭liz lemoncello

Today I received two I had ordered online: "Time and Place" by Andrew Cash, and "Red Earth" by Crash Vegas. Awaiting another one by Crash Vegas.

Before that I have no idea when I last bought one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I'd still rather buy CDs than expensive, rip-off vinyl. Last CDs I bought recently were:

I agree, and I like the idea of owning something I really like , in a physical sense rather than virtual music - i like to see something like artwork.
    Used to have vinyl back in the day and swore I wouldn't go digital - then in the mid 90 made the jump to cd's - been collecting cd's ever since.

Last cd bought Lou reed - Coney Island baby

p.s. i now only buy stuff i really like , but damned to pay over the odds for vinyl (it is a better sound , but back in the late 80's we were told it was ****e , and cd 's were infinitely superior - lies lies lies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭Minjor

Yellow Hedgerow Dreamscape, a compilation of early Porcupine Tree archive material. Haven't listened to it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

What was the last CD you bought, if you can remember?

I think it was about 4-5 year ago and it was Rolled Gold: The Very Best of the Rolling Stones. I download everything now, so that was probably the last CD I will ever buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭parttime

Autechre L event
    Anna Falkenau Feileacan na Saoirse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

About 3 weeks ago I bought 3 albums from two lads called Sean and Zander, a support act I had just seen. They were fecking deadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,418 ✭✭✭✭rob316

What's a CD? Can I put it on my IPOD?

David Bowie Nothing Has Changed 3cd best of, bought for myself before Christmas.