Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Housing cattle

• 31-01-2015 9:45pm
    Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭

I'll try keep this short, we have a small suckler herd on thirty acres. We have the bare minimum shed wise and and have always out wintered stock which in fairness doesn't do them any harm. The same can't be said for the land which obviously gets cut up! We hope to expand our herd so housing for the winter will be needed. It's great having so few overheads but still the condition of the land is so important IMO

So what's the cheapest way to do it? Anyone ever bothered building sheds for small herds of say 25 to 30 animals (what I'd hope to get to)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Jimlh86 wrote: »
    I'll try keep this short, we have a small suckler herd on thirty acres. We have the bare minimum shed wise and and have always out wintered stock which in fairness doesn't do them any harm. The same can't be said for the land which obviously gets cut up! We hope to expand our herd so housing for the winter will be needed. It's great having so few overheads but still the condition of the land is so important IMO

So what's the cheapest way to do it? Anyone ever bothered building sheds for small herds of say 25 to 30 animals (what I'd hope to get to)

Your going to have to build a shed. Out wintering is fine but personally I prefer animals inside. Something like a 3 bay slatted unit with creep or lay back.
    Have you any existing sheds.

Reminds me of a time I had to take the quad up to a neighbour who was out wintering his cows to bring a dead calf up to the yard after a hard calving case outside. Collected the calf and on my way up I came across another cow calving. She was red mad and I couldn't get near her. Told the neighbour that she'd need a house to calf her.
    He said and I quote "she'll calf or die out there". When I protested he said sure tis grand for you, you've plenty of sheds.
    Youd swear they fell outta the fcuking sky. Moral of the story is nobody likes paying for them but if you want to run a easily managed professional operation then there a necessity.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Your going to have to build a shed. Out wintering is fine but personally I prefer animals inside. Something like a 3 bay slatted unit with creep or lay back.
    Have you any existing sheds.

Reminds me of a time I had to take the quad up to a neighbour who was out wintering his cows to bring a dead calf up to the yard after a hard calving case outside. Collected the calf and on my way up I came across another cow calving. She was red mad and I couldn't get near her. Told the neighbour that she'd need a house to calf her.
    He said and I quote "she'll calf or die out there". When I protested he said sure tis grand for you, you've plenty of sheds.
    Youd swear they fell outta the fcuking sky. Moral of the story is nobody likes paying for them but if you want to run a easily managed professional operation then there a necessity.

Yea that's what I'm thinking we have old stone sheds and a couple of two bay hay sheds nothing major but enough that an animal would never be left out calving or sick. What kind of money for the slatted shed you mentioned would you say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Yea that's what I'm thinking we have old stone sheds and a couple of two bay hay sheds nothing major but enough that an animal would never be left out calving or sick. What kind of money for the slatted shed you mentioned would you say?
    Would not cost the earth to put walls into the two bay hay shed and add a lean too and make it a bedded shed with feed barriers and separate calving pens.
    With 30 acres I would not consider investing in a slatted unit and the fact that I personally consider them inhumane for in calf cows.

There's been a few threads on here about it if you want to have a look. There's a pile of variables depending on the site and where your located but Your properly looking at somewhere between 40 and 50k. One of the lads on here built something similar for around 26k I think doing allot of the work himself.
    There's a grant out this year so it might suit you.
    Trust me a good set up takes away a pile of hardship for both man and beast and makes everything quicker and more enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

what kind of housing you talkin about

3 bed semi's

or detached?

couldn't resist

There's been a few threads on here about it if you want to have a look. There's a pile of variables depending on the site and where your located but Your properly looking at somewhere between 40 and 50k. One of the lads on here built something similar for around 26k I think doing allot of the work himself.
    Trust me a good set up takes away a pile of hardship for both man and beast and makes everything quicker and more enjoyable.

Ha for the money that's being suggested I'd nearly throw straw down in a couple of the bedrooms! At least I wouldn't have to go at to check them

Base price wrote: »
    Would not cost the earth to put walls into the two bay hay shed and add a lean too and make it a bedded shed with feed barriers and separate calving pens.
    With 30 acres I would not consider investing in a slatted unit and the fact that I personally consider them inhumane for in calf cows.

He's got plenty of space for calving pens. Who calves cows on slats when they have the space these days.
    Don't like the thought of it myself.

He's got plenty of space for calving pens. Who calves cows on slats when they have the space these days.

100%. that's not a problem at the moment as it is, the old stone sheds bedded with straw are perfect for that, it's getting them in from the fields when the ground Is most vunerable is my main concern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Believe me I have been on many farms where the only accommodation is a slatted unit, I think it is a throw back from the 70's when slats were all the rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

100%. that's not a problem at the moment as it is, the old stone sheds bedded with straw are perfect for that, it's getting them in from the fields when the ground Is most vunerable is my main concern

we have 14 cows and ewes on 46ac we have a 4 bay slatted shed but make sure that -you are able. to put cows into the calvig shed easy and you have a decent sized creep for young calves

Did ye put that up recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Ch, how many ewes are you carrying on the land. Just curious? Tks, Mac

Did ye put that up recently?

no 1991 i was just telling you not to make the same mistakes as we did e.g small creps

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Ch, how many ewes are you carrying on the land. Just curious? Tks, Mac

100 we have a purebred angus and two purebred charolais we sell all the sucklers as weanlings we buy in suck calves in apr for a freisan and another cow who has a huge bag of milk we keep our own heifers and buy in a few hoggets every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

100%. that's not a problem at the moment as it is, the old stone sheds bedded with straw are perfect for that, it's getting them in from the fields when the ground Is most vunerable is my main concern[/QUOTE/]
    Have you reasonably dry land or would you have a short enough winter where you are ?
    Seems as you are already outwintering would you get away with a straw bedded lean to off the other hay shed that would hold the cows and maybe just have creep gates to let the calves back out on the land . That would keep the heaviest animals from poaching and let the calves stay hardy outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I'm trying to get a replacement shed built this year too. Presently using a cow byre that was built in the 1950s, but it has come to the end of its useful life. The cattle have access to the shed and go in and out as they want, and that's what I plan to continue with. Hope to get a 3 bay as it won't be much more than a 2 bay to build and the extra space will be mighty.
    A lad is going to do it on a shoestring for me. The plan is to get it as far as we can with whatever money I can beg, steal or borrow and come the autumn when I sell stock I hope to have the money to do the rest. I'll get stuff to the max on my account so that I'll have the money to pay the lad and then worry about paying back later! Not ideal, but unless I win the Lotto it's the only way I can think of doing it. We reckon we can do a good bit with 20K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I've a few bits left to finish including one gable and a bit of flashing that il get to some quiet day. The only piece of advice I'd give is to go big enough I'm regretting not going 6 bay.

Miname wrote: »
    I've a few bits left to finish including one gable and a bit of flashing that il get to some quiet day. The only piece of advice I'd give is to go big enough I'm regretting not going 6 bay.

A fine looking job and fine looking stock too.
    I know you probably answered this somewhere else already M but if you could oblige me.
    The tank, 4 bay ya?
    Cost of putting it in all in?
    I know your handy but I presume you got a lad to do the tank?

I know you probably answered this somewhere else already M but if you could oblige me.
    The tank, 4 bay ya?

4 bay mixing points both ends. 74' with a12,6" slat. I've the breakdown done its with the accountant at the moment for the profit monitor but il get it for you. I got a mate to do the tank and fell in with his lads doing it. He was good about the whole job . A lot of lads don't want you around them when there working. Really it was the silly things that I hadn't costed with it like the extra couple of load of stones. Getting drains for yard and down pipes and such. The problem is when you start building round a yard it's hard to stop

If you wouldn't mind that would be great.
    Sure everyday in the yard im spending money in my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

KatyMac wrote: »
    I'm trying to get a replacement shed built this year too. Presently using a cow byre that was built in the 1950s, but it has come to the end of its useful life. The cattle have access to the shed and go in and out as they want, and that's what I plan to continue with. Hope to get a 3 bay as it won't be much more than a 2 bay to build and the extra space will be mighty.
    A lad is going to do it on a shoestring for me. The plan is to get it as far as we can with whatever money I can beg, steal or borrow and come the autumn when I sell stock I hope to have the money to do the rest. I'll get stuff to the max on my account so that I'll have the money to pay the lad and then worry about paying back later! Not ideal, but unless I win the Lotto it's the only way I can think of doing it. We reckon we can do a good bit with 20K.

There is supposed to be a tams scheme out this year. With a 40% grant (60% young trained farmer) you should be able to get shed done handy for 20K.

The tank, 4 bay ya?
    E1464 for digging,stone, concrete, steel, shuttering 18 ft apron in front , 12' creep to the back, 7' walls to the back and over the tank and an 84' wall off one end for a new handling unit. The shed gates and drinkers came to another 9600. The final figures have actually came in lower cause I'd forgotten to deduct vat off a few invoices but the accountant sorted it this evening. So I'm pretty happy with how it worked out. Vat to be reclaimed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

Base price wrote: »

Totally disagree with this statement as there's nothing worse than looking at animals lying in 'Sh**e" in straw bed. Plus you have to factor in cost of straw and finally your going to need another shed to store the straw in.

I will say one good thing would be the dung you would have for the land but again your gonna need a dungsted to store it and also pay to get it spread so not too cheap of an option all things considered.

IMO go for slatted shed with mats for cow comfort.

E1464 for digging,stone, concrete, steel, shuttering 18 ft apron in front , 12' creep to the back, 7' walls to the back and over the tank and an 84' wall off one end for a new handling unit. The shed gates and drinkers came to another 9600. The final figures have actually came in lower cause I'd forgotten to deduct vat off a few invoices but the accountant sorted it this evening. So I'm pretty happy with how it worked out. Vat to be reclaimed now.

Jesus you did well.
    Fair play for that and well wear with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Robson99

Sami23 wrote: »
    Totally disagree with this statement as there's nothing worse than looking at animals lying in 'Sh**e" in straw bed.
    Thats very debatable. Straw bed under cattle is much warmer than they lying on mats in a slattd shed. It doesn't matter if its clean or not, once it builds up there will be heat rising off the dung. Always find cattle thrive better in a straw bed shed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Robson99 wrote: »
    Thats very debatable. Straw bed under cattle is much warmer than they lying on mats in a slattd shed. It doesn't matter if its clean or not, once it builds up there will be heat rising off the dung. Always find cattle thrive better in a straw bed shed

Not if they are well fed. Always struggled to keep straw under cattle even on goodish silage not to mind if feeding a bit of meal with it. In the long run slats are cheapest method of housing cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

Lads, I'm hoping to build a simple 2 bay slatted shed (11' 6" slats, 7' tank) with canopy over the feed area to the front. No lie back / creep area.
    Would any of ye be able to hazard a guess as to how much it is likely to cost me ? :confused:

Any opinions or advice would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Not if they are well fed. Always struggled to keep straw under cattle even on goodish silage not to mind if feeding a bit of meal with it. In the long run slats are cheapest method of housing cattle

Depends on a lot of things. Ventilation, stocking rate, diet, cows bulling and calving, weather, fall of floor etc. I normally let the bed build up to about 10-12 inches then leave it for a while, maybe throw a bale under them to soak up the wet but generally speaking it's good to soak at that stage. They don't get overly dirty either but we can lock them off during the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

OP any chance you could post a rough drawing of your farmyard layout as it is now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Totally disagree with this statement as there's nothing worse than looking at animals lying in 'Sh**e" in straw bed. Plus you have to factor in cost of straw and finally your going to need another shed to store the straw in.

I will say one good thing would be the dung you would have for the land but again your gonna need a dungsted to store it and also pay to get it spread so not too cheap of an option all things considered.

Slatted shed is better for bigger heavier cattle but for cows cubicles or straw bedding is better. For yearlings or young cattle then straw bedding is good too. If you are close enough to a tillage area then you ll always be able to lay your hands on straw.

We straw bed the yearlings and leave the straw at the back of the pen, waste of time bedding the whole pen as they will dung up the front. Don't use a dung stead let it build up until the close season opens then clean them out do it again when they go out a few weeks later.

Other thing is loose shed is more flexible for the cost as you don't need to use each bay all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

We always remove old bed every few days. It keeps the cattle dry and the straw lasts longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Robson99

As I said its very debatable. There is a big outlay in building a slatted shed and as another poster said a straw bed shed can be utilised in other farming systems if the farmer decides to change.
    The quality of the straw being used is as big a factor as the diet of the cattle in the lasting of the bed under them.
    Everyone will have there own preference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Bull****e. Every animal here on straw. In the lap of luxury. I'm using a bale per 30 cows every day.
    Dry cow shed the dung is up 4 ft at back.
    Yeah can wrap the straw one layer will do.
    I worked it out before it'd take me 10 yrs to get pay back if I put in cubicles for the cost of straw.

Only thing I would say is bulling cows is not ideal on straw. If I had cubicles for my winter milkers I'd have no problem leaving everything else on straw.

If dairy cows can hack it in straw so can sucklers .

Provided you can get cheap straw

J DEERE wrote: »
    OP any chance you could post a rough drawing of your farmyard layout as it is now?

I'll try put up a drawing later on, it's pretty basic on the main block of land where any building would take place! I note someone on here mentioned teagasc prices, surely things can be done cheaper than these figures? They seem pretty high across the board ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

I'll try put up a drawing later on, it's pretty basic on the main block of land where any building would take place! I note someone on here mentioned teagasc prices, surely things can be done cheaper than these figures? They seem pretty high across the board ?

If your going for a grant you need to price it along the DOA pricing as that is what the value of the grant on. If you can built it to dept spec for lower then thier costing the value of the grant will be on the lower price. If that is the case you can rise your costing by adding in your own labour time.