Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lol @ the annual NFL bandwagoners for the Superbowl

• 31-01-2015 8:04am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭

It's getting worse as the years go by. This is not directed towards you readers who have a genuine interest in the sport and follow it throughout the season, this is towards the absolute losers who don't know the first thing about American Football and never watch a single match besides the Superbowl and who never once mention anything about the sport who suddenly, on the week leading up to the Superbowl, start letting on that they know sh!t about the game.

To everyone else who has no interest in the sport and doesn't apologise for that or pretend that they do, fair play for not being dickheads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Does this not happen in most sports ?

F1,soccer,golf,Gaelic football/hurling,rugby boxing, Conor mc Gregor etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

lol at the idiots who get annoyed at the people who want to watch the biggest sporting show on earth. and in order to not seem like fools some of them actually talk about it in the lead up to it!!!!!!!

ah, no wonder the sport just cant get much traction over here when theres people like you about....."im a fan, i watch ALL the games so unless you do THAT then you cant be a fan too"

do i watch nfl ....sometimes, i actually like watching it! will i watch the superbowl? probably

"To everyone else who has no interest in the sport and doesn't apologise for that or pretend that they do, fair play for not being dickheads."

is the op a dickhead? absolutely .........................i do hope your team loses, iwant to see the seabirds win the thing in the stadium

Is it the biggest sporting show on earth?

I saw some nfl player yesterday saying nfl was the most popular sport in the world too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,524 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

It's getting worse as the years go by. This is not directed towards you readers who have a genuine interest in the sport and follow it throughout the season, this is towards the absolute losers who don't know the first thing about American Football and never watch a single match besides the Superbowl and who never once mention anything about the sport who suddenly, on the week leading up to the Superbowl, start letting on that they know sh!t about the game.

To everyone else who has no interest in the sport and doesn't apologise for that or pretend that they do, fair play for not being dickheads.

What a moronic post to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

T-Maxx wrote: »

huh? huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I hope Ian Botham hits a home run.

I hope they play laces out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,252 ✭✭✭Wompa1

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Is it the biggest sporting show on earth?

No, it's not the biggest sporting event on earth. World Cup and Champions League get more viewers. I believe they bill it as the greatest spectacle...which you could make an argument for, I suppose. I'll probably watch the puppy bowl again...

Team Fluff vs Team Ruff with a special half time show by Caty Perry....

Caty Perry

http://www.today.com/pets/puppy-bowl-ix-meet-super-bowl-puppies-starting-lineup-2D80453546

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I remember when the Superbowl was played in a ball alley out the Dublin road and it was only watched by a few aul fellas going home from mass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Oh you're sooooo cool, OP. Grow up!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

LOL:D

People love bandwagons. Conor McGregor/UFC is the latest one. Garth Brookes last year. Anytime Ireland qualify for a soccer tournament. OP have you never got on a bandwagon? The only thing that annoys me is the amount of 'experts' that come out of the woodwork. They wouldn't know the difference between a wristwatch and a wristlock but will tell you that Conor will batter yer man Aldo no bother or that the Irish Rugby team should have done this or that when in reality they probably don't even know the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

I watch a bit of NFL throughout the year, but I never miss the Super Bowl. Personally, the stop/start nature of the sport and the amount of commercial breaks means I don't regularly sit through live games. But I've as much a right to watch and talk about the Super Bowl as anyone else.

I wonder how many of the people that are suddenly excited by the Super Bowl are excited because they're sporting people and enjoy the buzz of a final? And I wonder how many die hard NFL fans are fat losers that can't see their own dicks, let alone actually participate in competitive sports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭s8n

get off your hipster bandwagon OP !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Us Irish are event junkies, we love a big thing to watch/go to/talk about.

Bandwagoners, the lot of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I watch the superbowl with some friends most years. It's just an excuse to eat stupid food and argue about what the rules are.

Are we not allowed watch once off events now? can I not place a bet on the grand national unless I'm in gamblers anonymous?

NIMAN wrote: »
    Us Irish are event junkies, we love a big thing to watch/go to/talk about.

Bandwagoners, the lot of us.

Get off the 'Ireland loves bandwagons' bandwagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭gazzamc

If I want to watch sport I watch, rugby, soccer or Gaelic (or any other sport that flows).. If I want to watch ads or product placements I'll watch the Super Bowl (Or youtube without Adblock)..

The Super Bowl is more about advertising than about the sport itself (I don't mind some of the ads btw).. It's on too late and I usually ended up regretting staying up the next morning cuz it's usually crap with a whole lot of ads in between..

Honestly the amount of breaks after play stops is ridiculous.. I don't mind madden though cuz I can skip the ****e in between.

the skys english? no idea what you are on about.....

its always been soccer in blanch???? i have never heard anyone from ireland call football soccer but thats neither here nor there....this is after hours...dont take offence mate!

jaysus those nfl lovers are very sensitive :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Really is the worst sport I've ever seen. But a bit of Hollywood and OTT marketing is all you need to dress it up. Shows how easily led people are. Its amazing how the AFL Grand Final or the Super League final doesn't get such a bandwagon and endless articles on The Score/42. Nothing do with those sports not having Al Pacino speeches of course.
    Anyway looking forward to a weekend of Premiership and GAA with 6 Nations on the horizon. That'll do pig that'll do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Sports hipsters.

I wonder are the US NFL fans cringing when they read threads like this by a bunch of Paddys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,280 ✭✭✭shamrock55

People can like more then one sport you know its not exclusive to you,

This is exactly why we wish the people that don't understand would just stay away from everything about it.

Trust me i will

PS rugby is vastly superior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

I welcome even casual occasional interest.
    The more the merrier.

I think (open to correction) that the American Football forum here is busier than the GAA forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

No offence but that makes you seem very petty. Cant enjoy a game because of bandwagoners...**** sake

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I saw some nfl player yesterday saying nfl was the most popular sport in the world too.

He probably even believed it.

But it's not much different than Premier League footballers hyping up the Best League in the World™.

They're all ambassadors for their brand.

The most ridiculous aspect of the Super Bowl is when the winners are crowned World Champions. Last year I erupted in laughter when I heard it. The best moment of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

It's an excuse to stay up late with mates, drink beer, and devour a load of wings and nachos. The game itself is secondary for most.

Football or Soccer. Either/or. Hate that debate. The national team is and always was called the Republic of Ireland Football Team and it's run by the FAI, Football Association of Ireland. Nearly all of our clubs have F.C. after them too such as Sligo Rovers Football Club and Cork City Football Club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

Unless the Packers are playing I never watch the regular season games live, way too many commercials.

But I do watch at least 50% of games, avoiding the F/T score and downloading them the next morning. The downloads have the commercials cut out, which makes a huge difference.

Gonna watch the Superbowl with a bunch of friends who have 0 interest in NFL the rest of the year, no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭gazzamc

This is exactly why we wish the people that don't understand would just stay away from everything about it. It works better for everyone that way.

Though lol at rugger buggers saying it's an awful sport :D

Who said I didn't understand the sport? It isn't very complex to begin with and I've played enough madden to understand the rules ect..

I just think there's far too many breaks.. I never said it wasn't entertaining when they actually show some plays.

He probably even believed it.

But it's not much different than Premier League footballers hyping up the Best League in the World™.

They're all ambassadors for their brand.

The most ridiculous aspect of the Super Bowl is when the winners are crowned World Champions. Last year I erupted in laughter when I heard it. The best moment of the night.

Sure Kilkenny are World Champions in hurling technically so, 35 times in fact!

I do find non-American gridiron fans to be the touchiest of sports fans around. Cannot handle any critisism of it and usually cant bellow the 'you dont understand' line quick enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,280 ✭✭✭shamrock55

I have no problem with folk who never watch nfl wanting to watch the sb, but at the same time why would they when they dont even know the rules or whats going on, must be all watching the ht show:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It really is better :)

But I'll hold a "je Suis Charlie" banner just for you. ;)

Fair enough that it works for you like that. Just saying a lot of people call it football including competitors, fans and organisers, that was just my point. Both terms are equally as acceptable as each other really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭AnotherYear

lol at the idiots who get annoyed at the people who want to watch the biggest sporting show on earth. and in order to not seem like fools some of them actually talk about it in the lead up to it!!!!!!!

ah, no wonder the sport just cant get much traction over here when theres people like you about....."im a fan, i watch ALL the games so unless you do THAT then you cant be a fan too"

do i watch nfl ....sometimes, i actually like watching it! will i watch the superbowl? probably

"To everyone else who has no interest in the sport and doesn't apologise for that or pretend that they do, fair play for not being dickheads."

is the op a dickhead? absolutely .........................i do hope your team loses, iwant to see the seabirds win the thing in the stadium

Biggest sporting show in the world? Deluded comment. The world cup final. Need I say more. Billions watch the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'd rather watch darts than NFL

Biggest sporting event in the world? Deluded comment. The world cup final. Need I say more. Billions watch the final

It's amazing people actually believe that nfl marketing depts boast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Je suis septic tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

Most people who are not hardcore/"serious" sports fans find sport pretty dull to watch, but almost anything can be interesting to watch when performed with peak skill. The final of any sporting league or championship generally represents the height of ability in whatever skill is involved, so therefore commands a certain level of interest from non-fans, because even they can admire the mastery on display. Couple that with the fact that people, generally, tend to take an interest in something that gets a lot of media attention (since they keep hearing about it, and it gives them something to talk about with others) and of course you're going to have band-wagoning.

I can see why it would be annoying to long-term fans, but it's a completely natural and predictable phenomenon which happens with just about everything (sport, cause, musician, industry) that gets any kind of reportage. It's normal, and something "real fans" will just have to get over.

Coverage really shouldn't be geared towards those of us who are under-informed, though.