Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to Australia with €10,000 savings. Am I wasting my money?

• 29-01-2015 2:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

What's up AH? I'm 24 and disillusioned with life at home. Social life is sh*t as mates are all whipped, weather is ****, hate my job and I love travelling. I have 10k in the bank and am thinking of going on the 1 year Oz working holiday visa.

My plan is to spend a month in Thailand, a country I've been to twice and adore. My spending will be minimal as the previous 2 times I drank way too much. This time i'm there for relaxation, food and gym.

After that I plan to fly to Sydney on 14th March. I've no idea what job I even want over there and that's the part that worries me. I'm going without a real plan of action. I've also heard Sydney is extremely expensive so i'm starting to doubt if I should even start there. Maybe go to the farms and build up more savings doing the fruit picking work?

Or alternatively, maybe I shouldn't go to Australia at all. I had been thinking of going teaching English in Thailand or possibly South Korea but the issue with that plan is that i'm shy as **** and the thought of standing in front of a class right now terrifies me. Another idea would be to try my hand at starting an online source of income while living in Thailand.

If anyone has any actual advice on my situation that'd be nice. I expect a lot of piss taking posts with this being AH but hopefully some decent perspectives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

*place holder joke about Lady boys here*

going to a place full of Irish people drinking in irish bars, only jobs you can get is working with other irish people on a farm. Think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Try the works & Jobs forum for serious answers!

or sit back, and enjoy the puns and fun that awaits...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

roro1990 wrote: »
    Maybe go to the farms and build up more savings doing the fruit picking work?

Fruit picking work is poorly paid, back-breaking labour. It's only a reasonable option for people passing through who haven't a pot to piss in, and there are always plenty of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

The worst thing about Australia is that it's full of Australians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

F*ck it, do it; it'll be the best thing you've ever done in your life. A year working in Australia having the craic will be brilliant and it could well set you up to put in a few months travelling around Asia. Go to Nepal, it's great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Do it, I've done something very similar teaching English in Asia, saved the same as you and travelled the world first.

best decision I've ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

I had been thinking of going teaching English in Thailand or possibly South Korea but the issue with that plan is that i'm shy as **** and the thought of standing in front of a class right now terrifies me. Another idea would be to try my hand at starting an online source of income while living in Thailand.

Have you got a TOEFL or CELTA qualification? Look into getting one before you leave if you don't.
    After that I plan to fly to Sydney on 14th March

Days before Paddys day. Pound the pavements with your CV and try all the Irish pubs. Should be able to get a start somewhere, even if it's only collecting glasses or working as a KP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

OP, I was in your exact position 3 years ago when I went to Australia.

From my experience:
    - Given current exchange rates, your euros don't go very far over there. So just get on the plane and make your money in AUD rather than Euro.

- You'll need the euros you have to get your first hostels, find a job etc. Go to Asia on the way home, not the way there. Otherwise you'll probably blow too much of your money on cocktails and massages and you'll regret it when you're panicking for a job in Sydney/Melbourne/wherever.

- If you've got enough resources to last a few weeks in Australia without a job, then you'll have time to search properly and pick something half decent up. I'd just graduated and it probably took me 4 weeks to get something decent, it all worked out in the end.

- Worst case scenario is you come back home early. No big deal.... Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

You're 24 and you've 10k savings? That could partly explain your **** social life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

FTA69 wrote: »
    F*ck it, do it; it'll be the best thing you've ever done in your life. A year working in Australia having the craic will be brilliant and it could well set you up to put in a few months travelling around Asia. Go to Nepal, it's great craic.

It can be but it can also not work out. You might not make as much as you think. I had a friend return after a year worse off and another that had problems meeting people until moved cities. It can be great or terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Two questions to ask yourself - why are you going and what do you want to get out of your time there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

Fruit picking work is poorly paid, back-breaking labour. It's only a reasonable option for people passing through who haven't a pot to piss in, and there are always plenty of those.

I heard it's horrible but easy to get and means you can get a second year over there.

Two questions to ask yourself - why are you going and what do you want to get out of your time there?

Because I love travelling. I hope to meet loads of new people, have great experiences and I hope to open my eyes to possible new career paths as I don't particularly enjoy my current one. I'm in this sort of quarter life crisis of not knowing wtf I really wanna do in life in terms of my career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

What's up AH? I'm 24 and disillusioned with life at home. Social life is sh*t as mates are all whipped, weather is ****, hate my job and I love travelling. I have 10k in the bank and am thinking of going on the 1 year Oz working holiday visa.

My plan is to spend a month in Thailand, a country I've been to twice and adore. My spending will be minimal as the previous 2 times I drank way too much. This time i'm there for relaxation, food and gym.

After that I plan to fly to Sydney on 14th March. I've no idea what job I even want over there and that's the part that worries me. I'm going without a real plan of action. I've also heard Sydney is extremely expensive so i'm starting to doubt if I should even start there. Maybe go to the farms and build up more savings doing the fruit picking work?

Or alternatively, maybe I shouldn't go to Australia at all. I had been thinking of going teaching English in Thailand or possibly South Korea but the issue with that plan is that i'm shy as **** and the thought of standing in front of a class right now terrifies me. Another idea would be to try my hand at starting an online source of income while living in Thailand.

If anyone has any actual advice on my situation that'd be nice. I expect a lot of piss taking posts with this being AH but hopefully some decent perspectives.

You seem very disillusioned with life in Ireland, have you considered returning to education to try and further your career opportunites instead of squandering that money by travelling to the other side of the world?

In saying that, life is short and you may regret not going someday. This year out could turn things around for you, give you a new pep in your step and travel does really broaden the mind, even if it is only to Australia. Maybe you'll gain nothing from the trip but at least you'll be able to say you did it and at least have a few tales to tell to the grand-children. It'll be one less thing you may regret not doing. You also seem to have a genuine plan which is a massive positive.

I say go for it. It could be the best year of your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

go to Australia, best year of your life, also travel to new Zealand, Fiji, south America, you wont regret it

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Try the works & Jobs forum for serious answers!

or sit back, and enjoy the puns and fun that awaits...

I can take the puns and all that jazz, I knew this forum would get more answers so that's why I posted here. among all the piss taking there might be solid advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Daenarys

SuprSi wrote: »
    You're 24 and you've 10k savings? That could partly explain your **** social life!

I'm shocked this wasn't the first post! OP how in gods name have you got 10k saved at 24 years of age???

Daenarys wrote: »
    I'm shocked this wasn't the first post! OP how in gods name have you got 10k saved at 24 years of age???

How do you not? I'd a deposit for a gaff at 22(thanks, in part to a redundancy package. But still).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Go teach English in Asia for a bit. Almost any native speaker can get a job and it's a piece of piss. As well as that, you'll generally earn good money and can save, as well as travel around.

WARNING: DO NOT turn TEFL into a career. Do not do it in Europe. The industry is dying and it won't be long before Asia follows the route of Europe. TEFL nowadays is just a gap-year job, or something to do part-time for extra money. Turn it into a career and you'll be eating pot noodles for the rest of your life.

I'm from a working class background I got a scholarship to go to university of 7,500 a year for doing well in the leaving cert...it's called The All Ireland Scholarship. and I've been working for the last 10 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Could you not just buy some GAA shirts and deck out your local pub with sun lamps to recreate the Irish Australian experience on the cheap?

How do you not? I'd a deposit for a gaff at 22(thanks, in part to a redundancy package. But still).

Paying back student loan, Rent, Bills, Car insurance,tax, mechanic, fuel barely enough for socialising after that when I was 24 not to mind save. I guess OSI is right all 20 somethings now must stay with Mammy & Daddy!

anncoates wrote: »
    Could you not just buy some GAA shirts and deck out your local pub with sun lamps to recreate the Irish Australian experience on the cheap?

I don't even like GAA. Not all Irish people are the same, shockingly

I'm from a working class background I got a scholarship to go to university of 7,500 a year for doing well in the leaving cert...it's called The All Ireland Scholarship. and I've been working for the last 10 months.

Well done on getting the scholarship, not to easy to get those! Go to Australia, it's the best thing I ever did and I went with 2k in my pocket :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Bitterness from the wageslaves is strong in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I'd say if you've already been to places like Thailand and have some travel experience under your belt, (I had gotten to the Uk by 24!) then maybe use that money for something more sensible like more education in order to get into a field of work you actually like. You will still have plenty of time to see the world in a few years time. Maybe not time for bumming around for a year abroad but enough to enable you to go every year for a spell anyway.
    Thats the point of view of someone who would abhor the whole "lets go to Oz and get twisted with other Irish people on a fruit farm" idea. But if you are that way inclined, at 24 with zero commitments and plenty of dosh, go right ahead.

Well on getting the scholarship! Go to Australia, it's the best thing I ever did and I went with 2k in my pocket :D

Cheers. any particular recommendations for places to live in? I'm torn between Syndey and Melbourne. Did you do farm work at all? How long did the 2k last?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

You might as well, get it out of your system and such. Be prepared to have a horrible time and come back broke. Then you'll be delighted when it goes reasonably well, as it probably will. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Go and check it out. If you like it stay, if not move on. Life's short, in 15 years you'll most likely have a family and not the opportunity.

Agricola wrote: »
    Thats the point of view of someone who would abhor the whole "lets go to Oz and get twisted with other Irish people on a fruit farm" idea. But if you are that way inclined, at 24 with zero commitments and plenty of dosh, go right ahead.

Well that's not exactly what I had planned to do. I like a drink yes, but 2 people I know that went to Oz say they were never hanging around with any Irish people over there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Do it OP, only young once. Live the dream.

Cheers. any particular recommendations for places to live in? I'm torn between Syndey and Melbourne. Did you do farm work at all? How long did the 2k last?

I went to Sydney because I knew a girl who would put me up for a few nights for free. 2k didn't last long and believe me when I was there it was cheaper than it is now. You'll be fine with 10k, lots of room to find your feet and change things if needs be.

I've soft hands so I didn't do farm work :D I did office temping, bar work, cleaner, anything I could get my hands on to fund the rest of my travels around. I LOVE Sydney and I will go back. Melbourne is a fabulously relaxed city to live in aswell though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Do it. Seriously, if it feels right, then go for it. This is my third year in the UAE and it was the best move I could have made. I'm moving to China in August for a three year contract and, while part of me is scared sh!tless by the prospect, I'm also excited as hell. I was in a different position in that I had to move to get a job but if you love travelling, experiencing new people and cultures, then there's no better way than living abroad.

As for the teaching, I am one and it can be tough especially if you're shy (which I'm not). However, from what I understand of Korea and the rest of Asia in general, the students are exceptionally motivated and well behaved, so maybe take that into consideration before writing it off completely.

Good luck!

Einhard wrote: »
    As for the teaching, I am one and it can be tough especially if you're shy (which I'm not). However, from what I understand of Korea and the rest of Asia in general, the students are exceptionally motivated and well behaved, so maybe take that into consideration before writing it off completely.
    Good luck!

Yeah, I was thinking that maybe i'm over exaggerating how tough it would be to stand in front of a class when you're shy but I dunno. Good post though :)

dRNk SAnTA wrote: »
    OP, I was in your exact position 3 years ago when I went to Australia.

From my experience:
    - Given current exchange rates, your euros don't go very far over there. So just get on the plane and make your money in AUD rather than Euro.

- You'll need the euros you have to get your first hostels, find a job etc. Go to Asia on the way home, not the way there. Otherwise you'll probably blow too much of your money on cocktails and massages and you'll regret it when you're panicking for a job in Sydney/Melbourne/wherever.

- If you've got enough resources to last a few weeks in Australia without a job, then you'll have time to search properly and pick something half decent up. I'd just graduated and it probably took me 4 weeks to get something decent, it all worked out in the end.

- Worst case scenario is you come back home early. No big deal.... Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Cheers for the helpful post, only noticed it there now. Asia is unavoidable as I have a flight to BKK booked already. I'd like to think I have the discipline to not spend much over in Thailand having been there twice and knowing how much of my budget can go on booze.

Quick question, how much roughly would you reckon I'd spend in 2 months of looking for a job? I'm putting that down as my limit on finding a job and if I don't I'll either come home or maybe try teaching English. Also, which city did you live in? I'm torn between Sydney & Melbourne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

OSI wrote: »
    Living with the mammy and daddy like all 20 somethings before they go travelling to "spread their wings"
    I saved six grand in six months in my early 20's working in a minimum wage job and living alone.

Then spent it in Asia.

Currently saving for round two. Living in a different country to mammy and daddy now.

Saving money is not hard to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

The worst thing about Australia is that it's full of Australians.

7 posts in… you guys are getting slow. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,515 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

take as little euro as possible, leave it with your parents (provided you trust them) and they can deposit more if necessary.

stop in thailand on way over. you won't spend too much there really if you fly into islands from kuala lumpar. bangkok is expensive, the islands are cheap and good fun.

like someone mentioned, only the desperate, and hipsters, go on farm work. unless it's on a proper farm and you drive a truck or combine, not one of the donkeys picking fruit. if you need it to do your 3 months rural work , the whole of south australia counts as rural, so go work in a bar in Adelade, much easier. plus side you don't have to deal with the australians that do the fruit picking. think Deliverance.

if you don't know many there, easiest thing head straight for sydney. easiest to pick up work quickly. very very expensive, especially with the conversion at present, but once you start work you will only be spending the money you make and not your savings.

i was there for a year 10 years ago, and back 2 times in last few years. definitely worth going. many of my friends are still there, and some are back, but got their residence and can return there if they want.

edit: only seen you are flying through bangkok , islands are still cheap to get to, but KL is much better option. also likes of Bali very cheap from KL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

'
    whats the 'mates are all whipped ' :-/ are you into some bondage games with the lads ?

'
    whats the 'mates are all whipped ' :-/ are you into some bondage games with the lads ?

Lame effort...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

going to a place full of Irish people drinking in irish bars, only jobs you can get is working with other irish people on a farm. Think about it.

I take it you've never been there then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭krustycustomer

Go, loads of Irish there should be taken as a positive, I'm aching to go. Forget the negative views of people saying its full of Irish - So is Ireland! Embrace them over there, best crack and good source how to get setup. There's reasons so many have fled. Potential to make money, good weather, social life, work/life balance in a native English speaking country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

2smiggy wrote: »
    take as little euro as possible, leave it with your parents (provided you trust them) and they can deposit more if necessary.

stop in thailand on way over. you won't spend too much there really if you fly into islands from kuala lumpar. bangkok is expensive, the islands are cheap and good fun.

like someone mentioned, only the desperate, and hipsters, go on farm work. unless it's on a proper farm and you drive a truck or combine, not one of the donkeys picking fruit. if you need it to do your 3 months rural work , the whole of south australia counts as rural, so go work in a bar in Adelade, much easier. plus side you don't have to deal with the australians that do the fruit picking. think Deliverance.

if you don't know many there, easiest thing head straight for sydney. easiest to pick up work quickly. very very expensive, especially with the conversion at present, but once you start work you will only be spending the money you make and not your savings.

i was there for a year 10 years ago, and back 2 times in last few years. definitely worth going. many of my friends are still there, and some are back, but got their residence and can return there if they want.

edit: only seen you are flying through bangkok , islands are still cheap to get to, but KL is much better option. also likes of Bali very cheap from KL
    Working in a bar won't get you a second year visa no matter what part of Australia you are in.
    OP you should definitely go but don't be in any hurry to get to Australia. Go through Asia where your money will go alot further and you will experience alot more different things that you wouldn't in Australia. Teaching English is a good option at your age and will probably be of more benefit to you in terms of life experiences than picking fruit in the backend of Australia. I live in Australia and have no plans to ever leave so obviously have nothing against the place but I think at your age Asia would be a good experience. I've seen alot of young Irish guys come here with lots of money and no real qualifications and piss their money away and really struggle. Another piece of advice would be to leave some of your money at home as an emergency fund.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

OSI wrote: »
    You saved a grand a month out of €1,400 while paying rent and bills and feeding yourself?
    Not far off it. It was slightly short of six grand and slightly longer than six months.

aido79 wrote: »
    Working in a bar won't get you a second year visa no matter what part of Australia you are in.
    OP you should definitely go but don't be in any hurry to get to Australia. Go through Asia where your money will go alot further and you will experience alot more different things that you wouldn't in Australia. Teaching English is a good option at your age and will probably be of more benefit to you in terms of life experiences than picking fruit in the backend of Australia. I live in Australia and have no plans to ever leave so obviously have nothing against the place but I think at your age Asia would be a good experience. I've seen alot of young Irish guys come here with lots of money and no real qualifications and piss their money away and really struggle. Another piece of advice would be to leave some of your money at home as an emergency fund.

Thanks for the advice. My main concern about teaching is the fact that I am really shy as in the kinda guy to go red when I'm the centre of attention (such as in a classroom). If I wasn't shy I'd honestly love to try it.

In terms of qualifications, I have a decent bachelors degree so i'm not doing too bad there. I've been around a bit of Asia, I saw Thailand, cambodia (only briefly) and Laos. The teaching would be cool to do but if I do that, then save up more and go to Oz, by the time i'm back in Ireland in say 2.5 years, employers might frown on me being that long away. I dunno tho i'm probably just being pessimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭CPSW

Go for it, one regret I have is that I never did the same thing when I was your age.

Best of luck

Thanks for the advice. My main concern about teaching is the fact that I am really shy as in the kinda guy to go red when I'm the centre of attention (such as in a classroom). If I wasn't shy I'd honestly love to try it.

Teaching may help you overcome your shyness and become a little bit more confident in yourself. The kids probably wouldn't even pick up on it.

True. But going to Oz for a year may also increase confidence as its a naturally sociable environment with loads of backpackers to interact with and lose my shyness with. I'm torn between the two though to be honest. It's either go to Oz and look for a job for 2 months or go to Thailand/South Korea and try teach English. I'm just worried if I end up doing both that my chances of employment when i'm home will be slim

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

I'd head to Korea personally, great food, free apartment, cheap booze , hot women and you'll save about 5 grand a year if you have your wits about ya. Lots to see and do and pretty cheap to do it!