Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ras Mhaigh Eo 2015

• 28-01-2015 10:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭

After a successful inaugural year, Ras Mhaigh Eo 2015 promises to be a cracking race early in the cycling season.
    Ras Mhaigh Eo will again be held over St.Patrick’s Weekend, Saturday the 14th and Sunday the 15th of March. Riders will race on the same routes as last year which proved testing on the undulating Mayo roads.

Don't miss out, enter early as we expect huge interest.
    Registration is online ONLY at www.westportcc.ie
    Like us on Facebook for updates www.facebook.com/rasmhaigheo

Visit www.westportcc.ie for info on all races:
    A2/A3 2 day stage race
    A4 race
    Youth races

1970576_426905640818085_7557690473171793738_n.jpg?oh=d1b1e5d04c78a613cf0a6e24e29ca45c&oe=555470DD&__gda__=1428600739_df99ba2efdebb91d8f070bf3d34be35f

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭PATJOE

10430473_427029047472411_2498457546410838203_n.jpg?oh=2d702c86f2ae650a92414ab129b89364&oe=55530DF1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭bwalsh1983

Looking forward to this and hopefully, if the results go my way, I can be one of the guys photoshopped onto a background of Mayo roads some time in the future ;)

bwalsh1983 wrote: »
    Looking forward to this and hopefully, if the results go my way, I can be one of the guys photoshopped onto a background of Mayo roads some time in the future ;)

Good man, haven't a clue who the guys are above, they look fast tho!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭bwalsh1983

PATJOE wrote: »
    Good man, haven't a clue who the guys are above, they look fast tho!!! :D

They are the men to beat!

Should be a good weekend, route looks great.

If anyone needs a hand or advice with accommodation just post here.

I'd recommend www.westporthotelgroup.ie or www.milltimeshotel.ie

Already huge numbers signing up with a great mix of A2, A3 and juniors from all over the country.
    Its shaping up to be another great race this year.

Our A2/A3 2Day stage race is selling out fast, we are almost at 50% capacity in only 1 week.....
    Lucan have entered a big team again this year putting down a marker. Don't miss out on the first Stage Race of the year which runs on Ras 2015 routes.....

www.westportcc.ie for more info and registration

New sponsor this year, The Wyatt Hotel, its a city centre hotel and in an ideal location for sign on race starts.

Check their website for info
    www.wyatthotel.com/

Route details for the A2/A3 2 day stage race

Stage 1
    stage%201_zpsckiwkqmw.jpg

Stage 2a TT
    stage%202a_zpsnnr7byir.jpg

Stage 2b

stage%202b_zpstf6cqkpj.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Just signed up today, looks good. Day one looks a toughie.

Gallant_JJ wrote: »
    Just signed up today, looks good. Day one looks a toughie.

Yes day 1 can be tough, there is no big climbs but the road is lumpy. Open road in spots too so wind can play a part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

Signed up a couple of weeks ago and really looking forward to it. A few of our lads rode this last year and raved about it for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Coming down for the A4 and to cheer on our lads in A3.

PATJOE - do you have a route for the A4 race?

daragh_ wrote: »
    Coming down for the A4 and to cheer on our lads in A3.

PATJOE - do you have a route for the A4 race?

Good stuff.

www.westportcc.ie for all the info but it's the same route as the A3 race with the first 10k neutralised.

Registration for the A2/A3 race will more than likely close earlier than Friday. There is very limited places available (10 to be exact!!)

www.westportcc.ie

What sort of numbers will be rolling out at max capacity Patjoe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭dermabrasion

How many up for A4 Patjoe?

Gallant_JJ wrote: »
    What sort of numbers will be rolling out at max capacity Patjoe?

Cap is 140 for online registration :D

How many up for A4 Patjoe?

Low enough registration so far for A4 but we'd expect a group of about 50 to race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Can you register on the day fo A4? Not sure I will be for Sunday just yet.

There should be places available on the day for the A4 race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭barry75

Hi
    What time is sign on and race start times fo A2 and A3 Saturday and Sunday?

barry75 wrote: »
    Hi
    What time is sign on and race start times fo A2 and A3 Saturday and Sunday?

All info is on our website www.westportcc.ie

I'll be sending an email Fridat to all that are registered with info too.

A2/A3 registration is going to be closing soon! Under pressure to get start list to timers....

A2/A3 registration is now CLOSED..... Very limited spaces are available, please send us an email westportcc@gmail.com
    (Youth and A4 registration is still open)

Race preview and start list
    http://www.westportcc.ie/2015/03/12/ras-mhaigh-eo-race-preview/

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Good luck to all doing this, Ill be the one doing the registration ;) And I wont be the one with the long brown hair! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Farloo

Have many registered online for the A4 race?!?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Farloo wrote: »
    Have many registered online for the A4 race?!?

Around 50 from what I understand

Some Boardsies did very well today! Well done folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

(Summary: Racing is fun, but hard. And arseholes will be utter arseholes!)

I’d been intending to ride A4 in the Boyne GP this weekend but the crazy idea of driving to Westport and back popped into my head at the last minute. It appealed on a number of levels, I’ve enjoyed cycling the roads there before but never raced them and the whole thing would get my head free of a bunch of hassles that have been wrecking it in Dublin recently. Plus it would be good preparation for another long race, the Des Hanlon, next week. My wife was all for it. We even considered turning it into a family day out, bringing 3 bikes so that she could take our daughter cycling locally while I raced. We decided that 6 hours in a car in a day would be too much for any 5 year old to bear so it was going to be a solo drive for me. If I’d been better organised I could have travelled with one of my clubmates but chaos just seems to come naturally so I went with the flow of it.

So I planned an early night on Saturday night, which didn’t happen. I planned to hop out of bed at 07h00 the next morning, which didn’t happen. I planned to be on the road by 08h30, which didn’t happen.

Despite having left late I made good time and 3 hours later I was signing on in Westport. It was a lovely day, despite the cold. I wasn’t sure how a preparation of minimal sleep followed by a lengthy drive was going to work out for me but my brief warm-up didn’t bode well, I wasn’t feeling great.

Once the race started I didn’t feel any better. I often feel rubbish for the first while so i waited to see if I’d settle. I didn’t really, every effort felt like a hard slog. Plus I needed to pee - someone flicked a switch overnight which shrunk my bladder to the size of pea, it seemed like I’d been peeing every 5 minutes before the race yet I needed to go again. NOW! Maybe it’s an age thing, maybe this is my life for the foreseeable future. It gave me another excuse to pull out of the race, I even considered trying y first acrobatic pee from a moving bike but decided that the results could vary wildly - at best I’d fill my shoes, at worst I’d fill the shoes of everyone within a short range within the bunch. So I just gritted my teeth.

I was a cross-legged passenger in the race for the first 50km or so. I contributed nothing. Well, nothing other than a snide remark to a rider that chucked his empty bike bottle into a ditch that is - who travels to one of the more scenic races in Ireland and litters the place with their shyte? And in A4 too - does a 100g bottle really spell the difference between victory and defeat in A4, I know it would make sod all difference to my performance anyway. Maybe I should have retrieved it, peed in it, and given it back to him. Next time, next time.

Anyway, I was struggling a lot at times, I might well have been dropped completely at one point had a club mate not given me his wheel and dragged me back on (thanks daragh_!). I can’t remember the point where I decided to get the finger out, it was with either 30km or 20km to go I think. I decided that tired legs would scream louder than an explosive bladder, the former would hopefully drown out the latter before the exact reverse happened. So I rode to the front and started to finally contribute to the race.

It hurt, as ever I expected to blow up at any moment. But I tend to recover quickly after hard efforts and this was following that same pattern. Myself and a Wheelworx rider took turns on the front. I think he’d spent quite a bit of time there already but he was still much stronger than me. When I found I couldn’t hold his wheel at one point I flicked an elbow for the guy behind to come past. He gave out to me, more than once. We clearly weren’t friends. I was now determined to drop him if I could. My chance came as two other riders rode past and I jumped onto their wheels. That *really* hurt. Suddenly the four of us had a gap though.

Shortly afterwards we were joined by a few more riders, I’m not sure how many of us there were now, certainly 7 and maybe a few more. A few of us started working, the others sat on. I could hardly complain, I’d done sod all for so much of the race that I couldn’t justifiably moan about anyone else sitting in. Mind you, I can’t see the point of joining a break if you don’t plan to contribute, it just increases the chances of the break being caught and wasting an opportunity.

Anyway, I dug in and worked hard. I was actually feeling relatively okay, everything was hurting but I wasn’t blowing up. The very last kick up in the road nearly finished me though, my legs suddenly stopped working, they clearly didn’t approve of my choice of gearing, they threatened to let me just topple over, I very nearly came to a complete halt. Several riders came past me. More gritting of teeth, more digging deep, and I got back on to the wheels ahead as we reached the top of the climb with, I thought, about 10km of descending to go to the finish line.

Work was intermittent for the next while, there was some work and some attacking and lots of sitting on by some. I glanced back to see the rear car behind our group of 6, we must have had a decent gap but I didn’t want to risk being caught at the last minute so I buried myself on the front a few times.

I had no idea where the finish line was, I didn’t know the roads that well. I saw the 5km mark on the road and added that mentally to the distance showing on my speedometer. That would allow me to keep track of how far was left. Well, that was the plan anyway, but it turns out that at the tail end of a hard race my brain considers basic addition and subtraction as quite complex tasks. The total distance to the finish was going to be 89km or thereabouts, but upon reading a distance so far of 87.2km on my speedo my brain just shrugged and reported a remaining distance of “yerra fukkit, I don’t know”.

So when a Westport rider seemed to sprint off the front I reckoned the line must be imminent, sure he’d know the circuit surely. So I jumped on his wheel. A Wheelworx rider went past, I jumped on his wheel. Then I went round him. Thinking the line must be within sight I gave it everything. I put my head down and kicked. I looked up. “Where’s the line?”, I thought. I put my head down again. No-one came round me. I looked up again “Where’s. The. Fukkin. Line?”, I thought, I may even had voiced the words, particularly the weary ones. The road ahead was looking a bit blurry.

Coming to a bend in the road I heard shouting. It’s the marshals shouting at the line, I thought. Optimistically. It wasn’t. I still don’t know what they were shouting, I even briefly thought they were saying I/we should turn right. I was very confused, god love me. I hit the bend fast and actually struggled around it. I spotted the line in the distances at the same time as I saw 3 riders come round me. It was miles away. MILES! Something in me died. I nearly gave up at that point but I convinced myself to give another kick.

The two lead riders were pulling away from the third guy. I wasn’t going to catch them but I might snatch third place. I got up to the third rider and went left of him. He was dying, and I was definitely going to get past him. But he glanced left, saw me, and veered left. He drove me straight towards a bunch of spectators, kids and adult, standing on our side of the finish line. I had to slam on the brakes and only narrowly avoided colliding with them. I got fourth, I was screaming at the rider in third as I crossed the line.

I chased after him beyond the finish line. He stopped and doubled over his bars, I pulled up beside him and asked what he was doing trying to make me crash into the spectators. “I was racing”, he replied. I had expected a response suggesting that he’d reacted in the heat of the moment and maybe even an apology. I hadn’t expected a “fcuk you” instead. I told him that wasn’t racing, I then told him exactly what I thought of him. Quite loudly probably, I was well and truly pissed off.

In an instant the race had changed from a fun and hard challenge into the very real prospect of not making it home to my family in one piece that evening. I was shocked that a rider could justify deliberately almost causing a crash, I’m still shocked by that now. And all for 3rd place in an A4 race, there was so little at stake here that it would be laughable if it weren’t so screwed up. That guy sums up the worst of sport, he clearly believes that it is perfectly okay to play by a different set of rules to everyone else. Most people would not deliberately harm someone else in their pursuit of a placing, this guy clearly would. Today he considered it perfectly reasonable to cause a crash by driving me into the crowd, tomorrow maybe he’ll consider it perfectly reasonably to stick a pump in someone’s spokes in a fight for a win. It doesn’t matter that other people wouldn’t do it to him, in his world view his rules are clearly king.

I reported him to the commissaire afterwards. He told me that if I wanted to formally complain it would have to be in writing. I told him I didn’t care about getting awarded 3rd place, I cared about the fact that this guy considered such behaviour perfectly acceptable and would likely do it again in similar circumstances. I wanted him to be reminded that he couldn’t bend the rules to suit himself regardless of the impact on others. The commissaire said he’d talk to him, and I hope that happened.

So he got his third place, which will be forgotten about in a day or too. He also represented himself as a complete and utter obnoxious and reckless arsehole, that’ll linger in my memory, and perhaps the memories of others that saw it happen, for a long time. So well done you. Ya pr1ck.

Anyway, that’s me up to A3 now. That seemed like a good target before but now that the reality of longer and faster races sinks in I’m beginning to wonder what I was thinking. A future of obscurity in the bunch, or out the back of it more like, seems likely.

Well done and congrats on the upgrade. Just in time for the Des Hanlon!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

daragh_ wrote: »
    Well done and congrats on the upgrade. Just in time for the Des Hanlon!!!

This is a good representation of my current inner “calm” at that prospect (and at the prospect of every future race actually), time to get out my crayons and go to work on my helmet:

9569.jpg

In other news, my daughter woke me up at 04h00, for a general chat. She asked about my upgrade, which my wife had mentioned to her earlier. I was chuffed that she took an interest. She asked me what prize I got. Cash, I told her. She asked how much. I told her. She then mentioned that we were out of her favourite ice-cream (Haagen Daz - she has expensive tastes!) and asked me to get more. “Hmm, it’s very expensive, we’ll have to wait a while before buying more”, I said, thinking I’d dealt with that well. “You can buy some with your prize money”, she said, accompanied by a big doe-eyed look and an adorable smile. For the second time in 24 hours I was completely outgunned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

Did the 2 day and enjoyed it. Huge field made for some tough racing but survived it. Narrowly avoided a crash on the first stage as we turned right into the headwind and a few other close calls over the weekend, but overall I thought it was a good weekend.

Stunning scenery, when I managed a managed a quick glance out of the bear pit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

Yep, it's a fantastic event and really well run. I'd love to head back and ride those roads at a really slow pace on a cloudless day at mid 20 degrees. Day one was really tough racing with those exposed roads and side winds.

Day two had its moments but for the most part was relatively comfortable compared to day one.

Mhaigh Eo 2 day is up there with the best stage races in Ireland, great event.

Thank you to Westport Convey Wheelers.

Think there were a few crashes in A4? Someone came off on the drag out of Louisburgh. Think I saw someone go in a ditch on the right hand side. Hope they are ok.

Very well run race in A4. Sedate enough to start but it picked up with some strong riders doing a good bit of work - Ballina and Westport in particular. I should have sat in more coming up the N59 from the lake and hid behind Doozerie. Was behind the wrong wheel when the elastic snapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭dermabrasion

Super race again Covey!
    T'was my 2nd A4 race this season, There was a break in both. I burnt too many matches before to make it into the break yesterday, but I'm really delighted to see that A4 races are having breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 pmurp141

like the detailed report, felt like i was there!! any result list for the A4 race? will name and shame said *rseh*le

Well done to Patjoe and all the crew on a fantastic weekends racing. Thoroughly enjoyed it, finishing just outside the top 10 in GC. Finish to stage 2 was manic, a lot to contend with, exhilarating stuff. Looking forward to seeing some more of the photographs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭buffalo

Aye, top class racing - well marshalled, great routes, good prizes. One to put in the diary for next year for certain. Gorgeous scenery when I had a chance to glimpse it - will definitely be back to Westport for a few more relaxed days.

Only gripe was the delay in the final results (and an error with my own), but I know these things can by their nature take time. 5pm was ambitious in hindsight. :)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Thanks to all at Westport CC for a fantastic weekend's racing. Loved the stage routes. Spectacular scenery, which I managed to notice on the odd occasion I wasn't chewing my handlebars.

Cheers for the comments lads. Some very tired racers and race committee members today, no work today helps! :D

Any feedback positive or negative taken onboard, we aim to improve every year. If there is anything that ye thought was badly done or could be tweaked or anything that worked really well please PM myself and/or Patjoe.

The 2nd stage finish was insane, I was doing camera on the line and thought there was going to be a pile up, but a great finish to the weekend.

No serious injuries from what he I understand, a few scratches and bruises.
    From what I understand the A4 winner went over the handlebars, got back up and won the race.

Thanks again for all the comments, hopefully we will see ye guys next year.

buffalo wrote: »
    Aye, top class racing - well marshalled, great routes, good prizes. One to put in the diary for next year for certain. Gorgeous scenery when I had a chance to glimpse it - will definitely be back to Westport for a few more relaxed days.

Only gripe was the delay in the final results (and an error with my own), but I know these things can by their nature take time. 5pm was ambitious in hindsight. :)

Never had anything to do with the results until Saturday night, we spent 2.5 hours doing them trying to get the placings correct using the photo finish camera and videos.

If there was an issue with the placing do contact the organiser.

Very quick response from Westport Covey on the results once they looked into it. My only gripe is significantly diminished! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Any chance of A4 results?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Really enjoyed the report doozerie. Sad to hear of such an a-hole though but congrats on the upgrade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Great race. Loved it. Thanks to all those involved in organising it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭markusz

was in the chase group in the A4. great race as always and great for chance of a breakaway. I pushed the pace coming up from Leenaun and when the elastic broke i was the wrong side of the break... c'est l'vie!
    we had to call off the chase 3km from home as we got caught behind 6 cars and with cars coming into us safety was a priority. we could see the break up the road! some of the lads were fecked & were missing turns so i doubt we'd have caught it.
    with the cars in front of us on the way into town, a car braked and one of the lads went down. you could see it happening... the cars should have been stopped at the Aughagower turnoff.

i think the finish in town is a bad idea (the incident with the car door last year!) and should be finished on the hill outside town where you cross over to the Leenaun road. https://www.google.ie/maps/place/53%C2%B047%2731.3%22N+9%C2%B030%2737.6%22W/@53.792026,-9.510449,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m2!3m1!1s0x0:0x0?hl=en
    it rises 30metres or so and would be a good test but it mightn't suit a bunch finish.

an enjoyable day overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 AlexMer

Any links or facebook pages for photos of the second day time trail and stage event please guys?